SHARK tank
richdad wrote:essyk wrote:richdad wrote:A good show, but you shouldn't wait every friday, they started production in 2008, get DVD and watch  no need watching old shows. I really enjoyed today's. $150k/$600k! for 50% stake!! The red eyed guy was very very smart. Bald headed guy I don't like Desmond of Fubu is my guy. Not sure what you mean by today's show but NTV is showing season one. (2008). Where did you watch today's show? I am interested. Anyone with an idea where I can get a DVD?
It's on now. They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,822 Location: Nairobi
this thread alerted me to its being televised - thanks guys! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
washiku wrote:richdad wrote:essyk wrote:richdad wrote:A good show, but you shouldn't wait every friday, they started production in 2008, get DVD and watch  no need watching old shows. I really enjoyed today's. $150k/$600k! for 50% stake!! The red eyed guy was very very smart. Bald headed guy I don't like Desmond of Fubu is my guy. Not sure what you mean by today's show but NTV is showing season one. (2008). Where did you watch today's show? I am interested. Anyone with an idea where I can get a DVD? dvd mingi tembea town...the other guy looks like Merali btw... possunt quia posse videntur
NTV has signed an cooperaton agreemnt between KCB, Sony pictures and QBT for kenya's version of shark tank called Lion's den If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/22/2009 Posts: 2,449 Location: Africa
Swenani wrote:NTV has signed an cooperaton agreemnt between KCB, Sony pictures and QBT for kenya's version of shark tank called Lion's den Interesting. Who will the Lions be?
Shak wrote:Swenani wrote:NTV has signed an cooperaton agreemnt between KCB, Sony pictures and QBT for kenya's version of shark tank called Lion's den Interesting. Who will the Lions be? Local mirrionaires,expect to see characters who have been adversely mentioned in corruption appearing on the program If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/3/2010 Posts: 1,797 Location: Kenya
unaitas chama show is quite revealing I may be wrong..but then I could be right
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/19/2015 Posts: 2,871 Location: hapo
I have a question Who is this going to be stupid enough to go on national tv to discuss his business explaining how it works to sharks in Kenya? Like seriously. These fellows shall take your business and bury you. Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
Shak wrote:Swenani wrote:NTV has signed an cooperaton agreemnt between KCB, Sony pictures and QBT for kenya's version of shark tank called Lion's den Interesting. Who will the Lions be? Myke Rabar of Homeboyz is the first one to be revealed: Post Kibaki era there are many clean businessmen who are in Kenya and can appear on this show, let's give them a chance and see who's next. And @alma1 if that's your attitude towards pitching to investors, then entrepreneurship is not for you.
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,330 Location: Masada
Inaanza siku gani? Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
But in all honesty can this lions den help someone who has an idea/concept? Ama aim ni ku make show tu then the whole of Kenya waibe ideas zako?
TSi wrote:But in all honesty can this lions den help someone who has an idea/concept? Ama aim ni ku make show tu then the whole of Kenya waibe ideas zako? First of all, good entrepreneurs know that you should first get some small traction in your company using savings, friends and family money before approaching serious investors. This approach is better for everyone because it shows the investors you're serious, it lessens the risk for the investors because you have proven the idea to an extent, and it allays fears that the entrepreneur might have of people stealing the idea. Watch Shark Tank/Dragons Den, you will realise that pattern. Investors hardly invest in ideas. Ideas are cheap boss, and investors are not idlers waiting to prey on ideas, they have their own biasharas going on. They are looking to just put money in someone serious and go on with their lives, the same way Wazuans put money in stocks and go back to work
Mike Ock wrote:TSi wrote:But in all honesty can this lions den help someone who has an idea/concept? Ama aim ni ku make show tu then the whole of Kenya waibe ideas zako? First of all, good entrepreneurs know that you should first get some small traction in your company using savings, friends and family money before approaching serious investors. This approach is better for everyone because it shows the investors you're serious, it lessens the risk for the investors because you have proven the idea to an extent, and it allays fears that the entrepreneur might have of people stealing the idea. Watch Shark Tank/Dragons Den, you will realise that pattern. Investors hardly invest in ideas. Ideas are cheap boss, and investors are not idlers waiting to prey on ideas, they have their own biasharas going on. They are looking to just put money in someone serious and go on with their lives, the same way Wazuans put money in stocks and go back to work In that case let me hold on to what I have been thinking about, try to build on it b4 I approach anyone.
TSi wrote:Mike Ock wrote:TSi wrote:But in all honesty can this lions den help someone who has an idea/concept? Ama aim ni ku make show tu then the whole of Kenya waibe ideas zako? First of all, good entrepreneurs know that you should first get some small traction in your company using savings, friends and family money before approaching serious investors. This approach is better for everyone because it shows the investors you're serious, it lessens the risk for the investors because you have proven the idea to an extent, and it allays fears that the entrepreneur might have of people stealing the idea. Watch Shark Tank/Dragons Den, you will realise that pattern. Investors hardly invest in ideas. Ideas are cheap boss, and investors are not idlers waiting to prey on ideas, they have their own biasharas going on. They are looking to just put money in someone serious and go on with their lives, the same way Wazuans put money in stocks and go back to work In that case let me hold on to what I have been thinking about, try to build on it b4 I approach anyone. what is your idea? You are in wazua,Mike Ock could convince Angela angwenyito invest in your idea ...you never know If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,822 Location: Nairobi
TSi wrote:Mike Ock wrote:TSi wrote:But in all honesty can this lions den help someone who has an idea/concept? Ama aim ni ku make show tu then the whole of Kenya waibe ideas zako? First of all, good entrepreneurs know that you should first get some small traction in your company using savings, friends and family money before approaching serious investors. This approach is better for everyone because it shows the investors you're serious, it lessens the risk for the investors because you have proven the idea to an extent, and it allays fears that the entrepreneur might have of people stealing the idea. Watch Shark Tank/Dragons Den, you will realise that pattern. Investors hardly invest in ideas. Ideas are cheap boss, and investors are not idlers waiting to prey on ideas, they have their own biasharas going on. They are looking to just put money in someone serious and go on with their lives, the same way Wazuans put money in stocks and go back to work In that case let me hold on to what I have been thinking about, try to build on it b4 I approach anyone. Ideas are dime in a dozen. it's indeed unlikely that your 'idea' is actually unique or just occurred to you alone. No sane investor invests in ideas only. from what I have seen they invest in a small team, that has traction i.e. tested that the idea will actually work and people will accept it and are willing to pay some cash for it,a business that has some cash flow. basically the investor comes to scale the thing. few investors will give you their money for you to go experiment on it... All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Darshan Chandaria the next Lion to be unveiled:
Full list of Lions leaked:
- Kris Senanu, former MD and shareholder at Access Kenya - Wandia Gichuru, founder of Vivo Activewear - Myke Rabar, CEO of Homeboyz - Darshan Chandaria, CEO of Chandaria Industries and Manu Chandaria's son - Olive Gachara, founder of Couture Magazine
On the bright side, this is a relatively clean list of people who made an honest buck, unlike the Eurobond beneficiaries some were cynically expecting.
On the other hand, apart from Chandaria, the rest are not heavy hitters with a lot of cash to spend. In fact, the two ladies are only starting out themselves! Olive started Couture in late 2013,and Wandia started Vivo in 2011, surely, do they have enough free cash and experience to call themselves investors? Hapa I foresee a lot of entrepreneurs being told "I'm out, I'm out" all the time.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/25/2014 Posts: 2,301 Location: kenya
Mike Ock wrote:Full list of Lions leaked:
- Kris Senanu, former MD and shareholder at Access Kenya - Wandia Gichuru, founder of Vivo Activewear - Myke Rabar, CEO of Homeboyz - Darshan Chandaria, CEO of Chandaria Industries and Manu Chandaria's son - Olive Gachara, founder of Couture Magazine
On the bright side, this is a relatively clean list of people who made an honest buck, unlike the Eurobond beneficiaries some were cynically expecting.
On the other hand, apart from Chandaria, the rest are not heavy hitters with a lot of cash to spend. In fact, the two ladies are only starting out themselves! Olive started Couture in late 2013,and Wandia started Vivo in 2011, surely, do they have enough free cash and experience to call themselves investors? Hapa I foresee a lot of entrepreneurs being told "I'm out, I'm out" all the time. Hii ni mapendeleo why not DJ CK in panel?
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/15/2013 Posts: 1,977 Location: Here
masukuma wrote:TSi wrote:Mike Ock wrote:TSi wrote:But in all honesty can this lions den help someone who has an idea/concept? Ama aim ni ku make show tu then the whole of Kenya waibe ideas zako? First of all, good entrepreneurs know that you should first get some small traction in your company using savings, friends and family money before approaching serious investors. This approach is better for everyone because it shows the investors you're serious, it lessens the risk for the investors because you have proven the idea to an extent, and it allays fears that the entrepreneur might have of people stealing the idea. Watch Shark Tank/Dragons Den, you will realise that pattern. Investors hardly invest in ideas. Ideas are cheap boss, and investors are not idlers waiting to prey on ideas, they have their own biasharas going on. They are looking to just put money in someone serious and go on with their lives, the same way Wazuans put money in stocks and go back to work In that case let me hold on to what I have been thinking about, try to build on it b4 I approach anyone. Ideas are dime in a dozen. it's indeed unlikely that your 'idea' is actually unique or just occurred to you alone. No sane investor invests in ideas only. from what I have seen they invest in a small team, that has traction i.e. tested that the idea will actually work and people will accept it and are willing to pay some cash for it,a business that has some cash flow. basically the investor comes to scale the thing. few investors will give you their money for you to go experiment on it... The sharks normally ask what have been your sales in past years or period, Competitors and future flow of the business.. NOT business idea. Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
SHARK tank