wazua Sat, Apr 25, 2026

Cashless culture in the Matatu industry via BebaPay
Museveni
#11 Posted : Tuesday, May 07, 2013 3:12:19 PM

The Phases of NFC Adoption for Both Merchants and Consumers

For consumers, there are likely four phases leading up to the adoption of NFC payments:
1. Market saturation with NFC capable devices.
2. Consumer introduction to non-payment NFC functions.
3. Consumer introduction to NFC payments.
4. Consumers gaining confidence in the effectiveness, security, and additional value of NFC payments.

No 4 will be the biggest challenge.

For merchants, the process appears simpler. In order to accept NFC payments, merchants only need to integrate a contactless receiver into their POS system.

- The phone in this test market.
Live and learn; and don’t forget, nothing ventured, nothing gained.
KiambuSubChief
#12 Posted : Tuesday, May 07, 2013 4:22:11 PM

this cant work unless on proper Sacco run fleet like Double M and even then there would be a lot to do. But with all things Kenya we can wake up kesho and find out lazima uwe na bebacard.

Now for Google, these guys are super-smart, dont take the KBO thing for granted. Imagine the amount of data they will have collected about the business and from the bank. I think their strategy in Africa is to learn and not impose until they can create models around our behaviour. Remember when you cannot see the product, then know you are the product.
Museveni
#13 Posted : Tuesday, May 07, 2013 5:01:35 PM

@BwanaSubChief

ALL matatus are SACCO based in one way or the other.

Depends on how hard they push a sell for this idea.

Convincing everyone to carry a card is the challenge.

Google's market niche is DATA.

Remember with all their [GOOG] free products, this rings true;
"If you're not paying for the product, you are the product
symbols
#14 Posted : Tuesday, May 07, 2013 10:02:04 PM

Museveni wrote:

For consumers, there are likely four phases leading up to the adoption of NFC payments:
4. Consumers gaining confidence in the effectiveness, security, and additional value of NFC payments.

For merchants, the process appears simpler. In order to accept NFC payments, merchants only need to integrate a contactless receiver into their POS system.

NFC has been on my mind since 2010 and number 2 would have been great then.The first thing that introduced me to it was a key chain that you could add someone to your social circle by just waving.

NFC won't have such a big problem being introduced to the market because people understand bluetooth and to some extent it will be marketed on those lines.Number 1 isn't the way to go IMO.

Anyone remember this video?I suggest you watch it because it lead me to the potential of mpesa and NFC.Now the concept is you go to a restaurant,the menu is a tablet or a space on the table for the NFC tag.You order,pay and get your receipt through the tag or tablet just like @Museveni has pointed out.

Now my point is,Kenyans(and Africans) react to status symbols and if NFC is marketed on those lines both new smartphones and NFC will be adopted fast but not in card form.Status is a big part of our culture and if NFC is associated with 'sophistication' and 'class' I see no problems.
symbols
#15 Posted : Tuesday, May 07, 2013 10:05:53 PM

KiambuSubChief wrote:
this cant work unless on proper Sacco run fleet like Double M and even then there would be a lot to do. But with all things Kenya we can wake up kesho and find out lazima uwe na bebacard.

Now for Google, these guys are super-smart, dont take the KBO thing for granted. Imagine the amount of data they will have collected about the business and from the bank. I think their strategy in Africa is to learn and not impose until they can create models around our behaviour. Remember when you cannot see the product, then know you are the product.

I agree,they are trying to learn us but I believe they are having a difficult time with Kenya though they see the important role we play and will play in the tech scene in Africa.
Museveni
#16 Posted : Wednesday, May 08, 2013 8:11:32 AM

symbols wrote:
Museveni wrote:

NFC has been on my mind since 2010 and number 2 would have been great then.The first thing that introduced me to it was a key chain that you could add someone to your social circle by just waving.

NFC won't have such a big problem being introduced to the market because people understand bluetooth and to some extent it will be marketed on those lines.Number 1 isn't the way to go IMO.

Anyone remember this video?I suggest you watch it because it lead me to the potential of mpesa and NFC.Now the concept is you go to a restaurant,the menu is a tablet or a space on the table for the NFC tag.You order,pay and get your receipt through the tag or tablet just like @Museveni has pointed out.

Now my point is,Kenyans(and Africans) react to status symbols and if NFC is marketed on those lines both new smartphones and NFC will be adopted fast but not in card form.Status is a big part of our culture and if NFC is associated with 'sophistication' and 'class' I see no problems.

Market saturation in this case means having many NFC-chip enabled 'consumer items' and not only phones, just as @symbols you've said e.g key holders, embedding chips on current phones [take for example a chip fixed on a Nokia 3310] and not just focusing on the Beba cards.

Getting the masses to trust these 'items' as their new wallets poses a big challenge IMHO.

Once that is done, the next phase would be to get the service integrated with other services like Mobile money services as discussed in another thread.
#17 Posted : Friday, May 10, 2013 11:56:37 AM

Now that the world that is going to end whats the point?
Museveni
#18 Posted : Friday, May 10, 2013 3:07:08 PM

Now that the world that is going to end whats the point?

Liar Laughing out loudly