wazua Sun, Jan 5, 2025

7 Pages<1234>»
Your first car
Djinn
#21 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 11:26:00 AM

Exercise caution with Peugeot 305's and steer clear of Peugeot 309's as you would steer clear of Mahindra's.

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
gmain
#22 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 11:34:00 AM

My 1st car was Nissan B something not very sure at 120k frm a close friend.After 3months i heard another guy close to me talking about buying a car.i told him to buy mine at 240k,,,,,,he requested for the car key for inspection and when returned the car key,,,,he came with cash 240k,,,,didnt know what to do.It was a kill but i was bila other cash to get an EFI and better car.
Took the cash and used matatu for 4months the bought ae91 at 350k and sold it after 3yrs at 370k

When you choose the lesser of two evils,always remember that its still an Evil.
Poggie
#23 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 11:42:00 AM

@Mkristo.

The 406 was a joy to ride and don't forget it was new. The suspension is unrivalled and the engine had serious poke. I was in sales so I hit the road all over the country at the slightest excuse. I felt really good. I don't remember if there was ever a time when anyone overtook me while riding that machine. Surely not until the day I lost my job and had to return the damn company car. I had not seen it coming. That was one seriously curved ball life threw at me. When it hit home that I was bila job and with a second new born baby I knew the s*** had hit the fan. I blamed it on the fact that I had read the booklet 'The Prayer of Jabez' and my ambitious prayer to God to expand my horizon had led to my loss of a job. I had not stolen or under performed,my Zimbabwean boss saw me as a threat and thus gave me the white farmer treatment. Anyway to cut a long story short,we had to start all over again from scratch and by God's grace I have managed to pull myself by my boot straps. I have never earned a salary from then though. I have created wealth to my satisfaction. But that's a story for any day. Sorry eli,for hijacking your thread,but I coundn't help it. It makes me laugh too,you know!

As a man thinketh so is he
As A Man Thinketh So is He
Lyanne
#24 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 11:45:00 AM

Gosh Poggie,i think ive cracked a rib. You're quite funny i must say ! I think you should write a humuor book,you never know where it will lead to. I can be your publisher !

My first car was a Peugot 504 bought from a Mhindi for 165K. The problem with the Peugos is the doors. I had developed biceps from opening the doors. I actually had a pair of pliers for opening the locks.

Then it also had a problem with the starter. Believe it or not i used to hit the starter with an iron rod that used to lie below the seat. One day took it for a car wash and the guys disposed off the rod,and the next morning i leaned over to get it and it wasnt there. I called my mechanic and he advised i hit the starter with a rock! Which was then kept under the seat.

The Hedonist
Poggie
#25 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 11:59:00 AM

@Lyanne. Thanks for the compliment and the offer to be my publisher. I actually have some works but they have never seen the light of day.

Now a story about rocks in your car. In Luhya custom; should a vehicle carrying a coffin experience mechanical problems,the mourners will straight away say that the deceased has wekelead his/her heels down and does not want to go and be planted in shagz. The solution to this problem is to wekelea a small rock next to the coffin. You should not expect problems thereafter. If the problem persists,open the coffin and slide the stone beside the chap. Now I know why your Finchot toiled on like a beast of burden. It was the mawe!

Djinn
#26 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 12:05:00 PM

Lyanne - your narrative epitomises the greatest problem with 504's (and most any other car) - this problem usually exists between the front driving seat and the steering - the owner.

Why on God's green earth would you want to keep hitting the starter? Why not replace it instead? If you got a 504 at 165 I can only guess then that a starter was less than 5k at the time and probably costs around the same now.

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
Pablo
#27 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 12:11:00 PM

Mine was a peugeot 305. I got it for the 21,000/- i spent in 1999 to fix the clutch and pressure plates that had made it get thrown away.

Going shaggs my bros had to take a matt as I had to carry 2 mechanics and a drum of water for cooling.

And as Lyanne says,whats up with peugeot doors? At one point all the doors were faulty except the passenger door.

Want to be a millionaire.... plant a million cabbages and sell them at a bob...
#28 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 12:19:00 PM

@Lyanne

i agree with you... those peugs are a real prob... my friend had one.. the doors never worked... infact,she never used to lock it coz if she does,she would have a prob opening it... when inside,she had to knock on the door for someone to open for her... then the window thing (to move it up and down) wasnt working so there is this time she had parked,the window was slightly down and she dint have someone to call ot open for her.. so she decided to put her hand through the open place and open the door from outside..... she is pretty well endowed so she got stuck! in that position! Damn!!! until a guy(her college hearthrob who worked in our building - quite handsome i must say) passed by and opened for her... mmmmmh,she was so embarrassed...

Then another time she was stopped by police... then the car refused to start...t he policemen had to push her.. then one of the policemen told her - 'sasa,wewe ni msichana mrembo na huyu bwana wako anakuacha unaendesha gari kama hii.... hata mimi na ni polisi naweza kununulia wewe gari ya maana!!!' hehehehe!

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
Poggie
#29 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 12:20:00 PM

@pablo. Thanks man for that insightfully witty line about your bros hiking a mat while you laden your Phinjot with mecs and a drum of water. ROFLMAO!!!

Sasha
#30 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 12:20:00 PM

@Pablo: ROTFLMFAO! You've made my day!

Immorality: The morality of those who are having a better time!
#31 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 12:29:00 PM

Good people,

This thread reminds me of beautiful days gone by. My first car was a Toyota AE91. Those days the car salesman told me not to buy a moti with power windows or even an efi mechanism because they cannot be repaired. I bought one anyway.The next day i went down to Naks and you would want to imagine how the road was back then. So I took a buddy and the temperature guage would oscilate form hot to cold ( kumbe ni thermostat!).Having come from driving a Peugeot,I thought this thing was spoilt so I stopped by buy bottled water pretending that it was for drinking but then told my buddy abakishe moja just incase the moti overheated ( I was carrying my in-laws to be and you do not want to imagine the tension). I called her 'Monica'. When i decided to get rid of her,the power window failed and one time on Moi Avenue a choko came at me with s***** and said nipe pesa ama ni rushe hii kitu huko ndani I chucked like three sock... luckily the guy walked away... She was a good car .... Monica was good to me

@mkristo I too am fan of Peugeot. Actually i learnt to drive in a one. I love classiques and I am looking for a good 404 just to redo and enjoy on weekends just for old times sake! I think that was one of the most beautiful cars ever made..
se7en
#32 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 12:35:00 PM

a 1984 Toyota MR2... manual... insanely good!! YES,it may be a 1984 but no one pitas me :) Eli... those salvage cars are pure luck,you may or may not be shafted with 'tuvitus' shaking in the car after you've fixed and have been given a clean sheet of health by your mech about the last 'tuvitus' that were shaking...another alternative would be to go to www.almostauctioned.com with your brother mech(yo damn lucky!!) and chunguza those motis... some of those prices there sound too good!!

if you can not be kind,at least have the decency to be vague
speak softly and carry a big stick, you will go far... Theodore Roosevelt
sheep
#33 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 12:44:00 PM

@wendz....are you sure that 504 is not yours?
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
mkristo
#34 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 12:52:00 PM

@ bweny

I think people have varying tastes for cars. I used to dirve two office Toyotas Premio and Corolla. Honestly speaking,Toyotas are good,they are user friendly and I think that is why most Kenyans go for them.

On the Contraly,I have owned and driven Opel Astra and Peugeot 405. No comparison to Toyota. One other thing I must say is,if you buy a European car and live with it carelessly like majority of Toyota or Nissan owners,you regret to pain they can cause. They are not to be mishandled and chokorwad by every Tom Dick and Mustafa type of mechanics.

For example the 405 has unique bolts and nuts that require only their kind of spaners. Also there is a way to open and lock several fixutures on Pujos that most mechanics do not know. When a toyota mech work on your Pujo,they only translate Toyota knowledge to pujo something that is impossible if you wish to keep it in good working order.

Mine is a 1996 and is as good as new. If I were to sell it I would ask for 450K but I know no one would offer that,thus I'd rather keep it.

the voice of reason
#35 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 12:55:00 PM

Datsun SSS.I bought it at 21K way back in 89.

@Se7en,

Is the MR2 a convertible?

Yombo dhier....!!
Pablo
#36 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 1:06:00 PM

I agree with you mkristo. I once took my peugeot to replace the brakes and rear shocks. The problem was that the shock absober mechanism makes the shocks lie horizontally parallel to the ground,they had never seen anything like it but ofcourse they never admit not knowing. When they were done fixing the brakes,they decided to test them so when the car was still lifted off the ground they decided to start the engine,rev and then apply the brakes to see if the wheels will stop. It didnt work. they drained the brake fluid,changed the brakes again but nothing doing.

From 2pm till kitu 6pm they tried everything. Its only after they gave up and i had to go (no car sleeps at the kipande rd garages) they told me to drive slowly mpaka home bila brakes. The funny thing... that pugeot had brake compensators i.e brakes only work when the car is on the ground. They were actually using toyota knowledge.

Want to be a millionaire.... plant a million cabbages and sell them at a bob...
se7en
#37 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 1:07:00 PM

@ njunge nope,but its a 2 door with almost steel mabati's

if you can not be kind,at least have the decency to be vague
speak softly and carry a big stick, you will go far... Theodore Roosevelt
Jalofg
#38 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 1:08:00 PM

@ Njung'e

You bought it in 1989!!.... Wow..wooooiii .. i was still struggling with botanical names.

Jalofg
mkristo
#39 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 1:16:00 PM

@ Pablo

LOL...pole sana. By the way I really like the suspension system of Pujo,it is of course not the best in the world,can't compare it to a Benz,but one thing it does is cos of the horrizantal rear shocks,the impact is spread out horrizantally as opposed to vertical. Other cars have their shocks fitted vertically which means that even though they absorb the road shock,the impact is still relayed vertically to the body of the car eg as in crossing over a bump. The buts of other cars are almost thrown up in the skys,but for Pujo the body too is carried over the bump,,thus the occupant feel less the impact.

the voice of reason
Sasha
#40 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 1:21:00 PM

Its official! People who bought bijutis as their first cars had losts of fun with them! Pity the rest of us who's first cars were automatic!

My dad still has his first car, a 1984 Ford Escort 1.6L Gt! That car was built using some diamond mabatis! Everytime it gets grounded he asks me to buy him some parts I'd never heard of! January this year he told me to buy him a guskette! What is that? Then last week, he calls to tell me ati, 'magneto imeharibika'! What is a magneto? And I find out that this magneto thing costs 20k! Aiiiigh bwana!

@Wendz: I also have a sneaky feeling that that 504 is yours and that stuck girl was you! he he he! What a sight!

Immorality: The morality of those who are having a better time!