How do you really help people?
josiah33
#21 Posted : Wednesday, January 16, 2013 9:40:07 PM

josiah33 wrote:
You were not an intelligent 7 year old. Why didn't you turn and run?d'oh! You had the light, running would have been easier for you. Think

Hehehe! Maybe!

I rushed home to get my 'nunchaku' instead!

It's not that easy to break from a man's grip.

But then, for how long can one run with the light? Does it make sense to hide the light under the table?

Na hii 'nunchaku' ni nini sasa?

The chained thing that Bruce Lee swings in the movies.

Drunkard
#22 Posted : Thursday, January 17, 2013 2:13:00 AM

Drunkard wrote:
I think helping is something we need to rethink in Africa because we seem not to find best ways to help or atleast we are so preoccupied with our own lifes to even think about the plight of people living around us or atleast our own plight.

About three weeks ago, I was enjoying my holiday with a bunch of good friends in a popular spot at the heart of the city and I run into two drunk beautiful white girls, both age 24 yrs and after a couple of drunk people hi5s we exchange numbers and later decide to take the drinking back to my place, me being greedy I decided to ditch my friends so that I can have two girls for myself( I have always wanted a threesome).

The night did not end in a threesome but in a complete reflection of who I am and what is really important in life. These women had spend more than 6 months of their life in poorest part of Africa, including Nairobi, Rwanda and Uganda helping. They were amazed by my life and livelyhood, infact I was embarrased because there I was and I couldn't tell them a single thing I have done to help. I was even more embarrased when they ask me how much I pay for the apartment I was staying in, yes $3500 a month they both are renting an $800 apartment in their home country so that they can travel all the way to help in my country and I am paying $3500 yet my country is starving? Something is not right.

You pay $3500 a month or it is a typo?You must have a net of $15000 a month.Kweli I am poor.

Sound stupid but yeah $3500 for a two bedroom! No I don't net $15k a month.
ChessMaster
#23 Posted : Thursday, January 17, 2013 9:37:58 PM

When I was a child, a man came to our home early in the morning.So at the gate was me,my mother and the man.So the man started reminding my mum of a debt she had given him years back and how he was so grateful and had always planned to repay my mother.YEARS!!! My mum couldn't even remember him but he remembered her. Afterwards she was still shocked because all along she thought he was asking for money. I could see she regretted not giving him his money back.But I learnt a lesson that day.

Give everything to everyone be it information,money,clothes,honesty,comfort.Just give.People have thanked me for things I didn't know I helped them with.It begins with an attitude which infects others.What I have learnt,it is better to give a shilling willingly,honestly and kindly than 1million with other motives.
Uncertainty is certain.Let go
#24 Posted : Thursday, January 17, 2013 10:37:19 PM

The question was how do you help pple....i help people through Rotary/Rotaract .....the motto is service above self

http://www.rotary.org/en.../youthprograms/rotaract/
#25 Posted : Thursday, January 17, 2013 10:50:31 PM

Drunkard wrote:

Sound stupid but yeah $3500 for a two bedroom! No I don't net $15k a month.

3,500.00 USD=303,624.67 KES

Oh God where did I go wrong?Sad
what is the topic again cz I just got depressed.