wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Need your advice wazuans.
#21 Posted : Thursday, December 06, 2012 8:46:49 AM

As far as I know, I have not kid of my own smile (how does one go about that by the way? smile )

@iKenya, that bit about parents reminded me about this doc in Agha Khan who told my friend and his wife that the 4 months old baby had not problem but it's them (first time parents) who needed help!
accelriskconsult
#22 Posted : Thursday, December 06, 2012 11:54:38 AM

Motomoto wrote:
Amurabi. wrote:
I have always trusted wazua as a place where one can get help. Three weeks ago i had the honour of being a dad.( didn't it feels so to be one)
Point is where can i get a good paedetrician?
Am asking this cos i feel need one whom i can rely on .

The kid may not need one. I was never taken to one when I was a child. Wacha kujitafututia njia ya kuharibu pesa. Even in your neighborhood, you will always find a doctor who can handle a child's issues. You only need a permanent pediatrician when your child has a condition. Lakini kama wewe ni wale watu wameshajatengeneza kaburi na jeneza tayari, I cant stop you from looking for one. This is a broke man's advice anyway!

Mine happens to be allergic to penicillin. Ignorant paeditricians at the Nairobi Hospital nearly sent him to an early grave a year ago. He had a fever and they put him on penicillin. His His condition got worse. His body temperature kept on shooting to 39.8 degrees C. When I took him back they wanted to change his maedication to Zinnat which has the same molecular formula as penicillin. Only the intervention of Dr Nyambura Kariuki saved the day and since then I have to make sure that no one prescribes penicillin based medications for him.

If he must go to hospital I take him to Gertrudes. That hospital has doctors who understand babies.

Yes, there are bad and good paeditricians and its important to have a reliable one.
#23 Posted : Monday, December 10, 2012 3:40:29 AM

haha.Apha.
Don't get baby used to fever reliefs,pain reliefs,cough reliefs,yawn reliefs,colic reliefs,stress reliefs,fart reliefs,let the baby live and enjoy natures way.
I mean baby industry is like Victoria Secrets Industry.Booming!
That kabody needs to harden a bit bwana cz one day a small cough may knock baby out.
But like I said on another thread,by the time the 3rd baby comes,you shall have forgotten all these medicines.
The first borns are imho guinea pigs.

Facts right there.Nowonder there are very few modern day kids who'll watch a rainbow without catching a coughsmile .....Gone are the days when we used to give them boiled concotionsPray while their moms would feed on tonnes of "njahi" and produce milk like fresian cows.At age 4/5,the kids would be outdoors playing "ndethe" in the rains....Don't try this at home!