wazua Sat, Jan 18, 2025

Best Stock Broker - as at October 2012
mwekez@ji
#21 Posted : Wednesday, October 24, 2012 10:09:46 AM

BTW, Kestrel deals with corporates and high networth clients only, accounts worth KES >0.5M only
#22 Posted : Wednesday, October 24, 2012 10:24:29 AM

Suntra am giving you my final chance,websites and online crashed last week and no word,tangaza inefficient,alot of shares i sold still crowd my account,system stopped updating trades only bids/asks are visible..be warned am on my way to sib.
mwekez@ji
#23 Posted : Wednesday, October 24, 2012 10:45:08 AM

mlennyma wrote:
Suntra am giving you my final chance,websites and online crashed last week and no word,tangaza inefficient,alot of shares i sold still crowd my account,system stopped updating trades only bids/asks are visible..be warned am on my way to sib.

If you are an active online trader, dont try sib. their system is a WIP, orders dont go direct to market and does not stream market data. For active online traders, CFCFS is the place.
#24 Posted : Wednesday, October 24, 2012 12:31:09 PM

@mwekezaji...thankyou my seniour
earthvoice
#25 Posted : Wednesday, October 24, 2012 12:52:36 PM

Ok, say one would like to move their portfolio from one broker to another, say Suntra to CFCFS:
What would the procedure be?
How long does it take?
Are there any charges/costs for such a move?
"All intelligent investing is value investing -- acquiring more than you are paying for. You must value the business in order to value the stock." - Charlie Munger.
Jamani
#26 Posted : Wednesday, October 24, 2012 1:29:07 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:
BTW, Kestrel deals with corporates and high networth clients only, accounts worth KES >0.5M only

Just to know is 0.5M high networth?
Aguytrying
#27 Posted : Wednesday, October 24, 2012 8:55:49 PM

earthvoice wrote:
Ok, say one would like to move their portfolio from one broker to another, say Suntra to CFCFS:
How long does it take?

You will fill some cdsc forms at your current broker/investment bank to facilitate the switch

They will tell you six weeks, but its more like 2 months.

you will be charged around 250-500 bob for moving, from your cdsc cash balance
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#28 Posted : Wednesday, October 24, 2012 10:02:41 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:
500,000/- can't even buy you a room in a SQ is most neighborhoods. Kshs 0.5mn is not what it used to be...
Ali Baba
#29 Posted : Thursday, October 25, 2012 12:30:42 AM

500k is not "high net worth",but beer money/month for the high net worth people.Maybe ksh5m can start as the prevailing "minimum" balance for the high net worth.....
#30 Posted : Thursday, October 25, 2012 2:39:16 AM

mwekez@ji wrote:
500,000/- can't even buy you a room in a SQ is most neighborhoods. Kshs 0.5mn is not what it used to be...

I guess what @mwekezaji meant was that Kestrel does not accomodate wanjiku and her sisters and brothers
mwekez@ji
#31 Posted : Thursday, October 25, 2012 9:03:55 AM

mwekez@ji wrote:

I guess what @mwekezaji meant was that Kestrel does not accomodate wanjiku and her sisters and brothers

ditto @murchr. By setting the floor, they locked out wanjiku and made a clear statement of the kind of client they want.

@mlennyma, karibu senior wangu
earthvoice
#32 Posted : Thursday, October 25, 2012 10:24:51 AM

Aguytrying wrote:
earthvoice wrote:
How long does it take?

You will fill some cdsc forms at your current broker/investment bank to facilitate the switch

Thanks mkubwa!
"All intelligent investing is value investing -- acquiring more than you are paying for. You must value the business in order to value the stock." - Charlie Munger.
DtheK
#33 Posted : Thursday, October 25, 2012 11:14:26 AM

Aguytrying wrote:
Cfc are good. my bankers cheque reflected the next day. pap.
customer care is excellent and responsive.
trading platform is more than you can ask for(except few hiccups- cant log in- very rarely). Im so happy with their service( almost emailed them to tell them)

..advantages of having a bank,with a brokerage arm.lakini hapo juu kuna mtu amezusha juu ya CFCFS

did i also say they charge 1.87 commission, even trades below 100k.

that person didnt even say their problem.

I disagree...
Online system ain't all that if fails a good 30% of the time.
You have to change passwords every 15 days.That's 24 passwords in a year.
In my case the system causes firefox to crash if password is wrong(to me this makes it malware).
They charge up to 5%.I got the statements .
KEEP OFF!
#34 Posted : Thursday, October 25, 2012 11:24:05 AM

Aguytrying wrote:
earthvoice wrote:
How long does it take?

This is the most frustrating exercise that existed on the face of this earth there is a lso a possibility that you forms might be rejected a couple of times sijui wrong signature,they dont match,you filled it wrongly yet you were assisted by the former brokerage firm employees,it might even take more than the 2 months I believe they just frustrate you so that you give up on shifting
earthvoice
#35 Posted : Thursday, October 25, 2012 12:23:44 PM

DtheK wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:
trading platform is more than you can ask for(except few hiccups- cant log in- very rarely). Im so happy with their service( almost emailed them to tell them)

..advantages of having a bank,with a brokerage arm.lakini hapo juu kuna mtu amezusha juu ya CFCFS

I disagree...
In my case the system causes firefox to crash if password is wrong(to me this makes it malware).
KEEP OFF!

Eish! So for those doing plenty of online trading, that would leave Dyer and Blair as the best option? Haven't heard any complaints about them...
plus @guru recommends them!
holycow
#36 Posted : Thursday, October 25, 2012 12:53:43 PM

DtheK wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:

I disagree...
KEEP OFF!

The commission is 1.87% as stated.Shame on you Shame on you As for passwords, why 24??? i only use 4 since the system can't allow use of the last 3 passwords.
Aguytrying
#37 Posted : Thursday, October 25, 2012 2:38:55 PM

holycow wrote:
DtheK wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:

I disagree...
KEEP OFF!

The commission is 1.87% as stated.Shame on you Shame on you As for passwords, why 24??? i only use 4 since the system can't allow use of the last 3 passwords.

cfc online platform requires a very good internet connection, with good latency( eg what enables you to stream videos properly). I would say only 5% of the time might it not work when their systems are down. When internet connection is poor it can can be 30% as @dthek has stated, and even when you get in the server will "kick out" a slow connection. Its rarely down. If you email them, they will place your order in minutes in these instances. since i joined 2 yrs ago ive had to email them i think twice and i have traded very many times through the platform.

the password thing can be annoying, but you can use similar ones as stated by @holycow. If you forget, there is a feature that resets and generates a new one sent to your email. If you lock the account, email them. in less than an hour they'll reset you.

Commission is 1.87% I have calculated from the statement myself.

The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
mkeiyd
#38 Posted : Thursday, October 25, 2012 3:01:27 PM

earthvoice wrote:
DtheK wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:

I disagree...
KEEP OFF!

Eish! So for those doing plenty of online trading, that would leave Dyer and Blair as the best option? Haven't heard any complaints about them...
plus @guru recommends them!

I use Dyer and Blair and from experience,their online platform is good. The only issue i have with them is that logging in between 9am and 10am is headache.
#39 Posted : Thursday, October 25, 2012 3:12:25 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:

ditto @murchr. By setting the floor, they locked out wanjiku and made a clear statement of the kind of client they want.

@mlennyma, karibu senior wangu
Even wanjiku has 500k in assets, if not more! Don't underestimate her. Our (now retired) maid has a 5-bedroom house in the shagz! That's more bedrooms than we had!