Culture
Disastrous Nairobi Public Transport
When I started driving I finally understood why Prof. Obel shot that matatu driver...I thought it was impunity but later came to the conclusion that it was temporary insanity...only that in Nairobi it can become permanent insanity. BEER IS LIVING PROOF THAT GOD LOVES US AND WANTS US TO BE HAPPY!
Spend.thrift wrote:
Think about it as you vote your governor next year.
...very true...our transport system is just crazy,i rem Ps.Ndemo saying last week that most of us lack MMS (minimum moral standards),we do things without caring about others and the laws put in place,even if you are calmest of people this buses and matatus can make u flip,their behaviours and mannerisms are just out of this world,we need strict rules,hefty penalties thats the only way we kan deal with them,lets invest in cameras get an independent,incorruptible group of people who review the played back version of the real time happenings,jot down a list of all offendors plates,then let the cops and court follow up on fines,trust me if ua slapped with a 10k fine for overlapping or blocking the road as the matatus do you will NEVER see them doing it,word in this sector spreads fast,when they know thingz are serious they will tow the line,life will be much easier...but who is there to listen when those who are meant to legislate,break rules,the top guns have traffic cleared for them,while being driven in the state of the art Mercedes benz complete with chase cars,a stretch that takes you 2 hours coz of overlapping,obstruction etc takes them 10mins,they'l never know what you the commoner is going through. possunt quia posse videntur
Star bus are the most uncouth, arrogant and disaffectionate crew in NBI. Kabete Police dont bother with them, my guess is they pay them off. Terrible...
Any Wazuan using beba card service by citihoppa? http://www.beba.co.ke/
QD wrote:2012 wrote:When Citi hoppa were recruiting drivers, they should have told the drivers that the vehicles are bigger than the 14 seaters they were used to. On my way home I'm almost guaranteed to find a hoppa in an accident, stalled or pulling the most craziest of stunts to get through traffic. I'm not saying KBS and Double M are any better, they are getting there as well, something went wrong after the owner of Double M passed away. Now, if we thought getting rid of 14 seaters is the end of our problem and the way forward, we need to think again.
On a different note, do the matatus own the title deed to Naivasha Road and Kawangware? Where are the traffic police? You're saying the lady who told us how double M came about died? This then will indicate how family businesses fail when the originators dies and no clear succession plan is in place. When the business remains to kids who never took keen interest on the businesses but partying are left to now manage them. Its Mr.Mandevu and not the wifey. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
essyk wrote:Listing in order of 'ugliness' from most to least 1.Hoppa 2.Shuttle 3.Forwarders 4.Githurai 5.Star. Kenyans have suffered eyesores. Jamani give them design,colour and good names. And where do you put Embakassava? They are still fairly new but driven like dumpers! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Impunity wrote:Try Dandora long-ches nini-buses and u will know KENYA. Its all madness on that road. I stopped using it for fear of a heart attack Lord, thank you!
bwenyenye wrote:Paradiso... very very very very terrible impunity... some dude was telling me how the new ones have a cabin for the driver that is impenetrable and so there is nothing a cop can do even if the idiot parka across Thika road.. the cabin is meant to keep away council askaris, the traffic cops are feared especially the motor bike ones.
2012 wrote:Clearly, public transport in Nairobi is a disaster. I've been trying to get any interested media house to do a jicho pevu on the nightmare they cause and impunity but no luck yet. I just can't understand how a matatu parks in the middle of the road blocking traffic waiting for customers to fill up? if passengers were not at that point it wouldn't stop, its a very competitive business - they go where money is
essyk wrote:I gave hoppa and another one a blackout the moment they showed face on our roads! Those things I believe are made of tins.Throw away tins. Lemmie give an honest analysis and please prove me wrong cz I will upload a pic or video. 1. They are DIRTY.there is always this funny lingering smell inside those buses. 2. The conductors are rude,noisy and not neat. 3. The seats are worse than bench ya Muliro gardens4.They carry pax like potatoes. 5.They don't issue receipts 6.They do not have fixed fare. 7.They are slow,noisy metal,keep breaking down often. 8.Loose hanging doors,broken windows covered with polythene. Who owns these ugly things? esp those plying airport route zina aibu mob to sana. When MM put new KB's to ply that route,Hoppas brought compe by putting KZ's. very ugly things, Jesus Christ!!!!! ...besides, the presence of a safe alone does not signify that there is money inside...
mukiha wrote:..."The love of money is the root of all evil"... This applies very well to the drivers and touts... But to the vehicle owner the addage changes to: ..." The love of evil is the root of all money"... So, who is the satan and the demon here??? ...besides, the presence of a safe alone does not signify that there is money inside...
Rank: New-farer Joined: 6/11/2010 Posts: 90 Location: kenya
QD wrote:2012 wrote:When Citi hoppa were recruiting drivers, they should have told the drivers that the vehicles are bigger than the 14 seaters they were used to. On my way home I'm almost guaranteed to find a hoppa in an accident, stalled or pulling the most craziest of stunts to get through traffic. I'm not saying KBS and Double M are any better, they are getting there as well, something went wrong after the owner of Double M passed away. Now, if we thought getting rid of 14 seaters is the end of our problem and the way forward, we need to think again.
On a different note, do the matatus own the title deed to Naivasha Road and Kawangware? Where are the traffic police? You're saying the lady who told us how double M came about died? This then will indicate how family businesses fail when the originators dies and no clear succession plan is in place. When the business remains to kids who never took keen interest on the businesses but partying are left to now manage them. Politics is what is killing Double M. i read in yesterday sunday nation that the Lady who owns the Double M will vie for the Makandara seat
doubtfire wrote:QD wrote:2012 wrote:When Citi hoppa were recruiting drivers, they should have told the drivers that the vehicles are bigger than the 14 seaters they were used to. On my way home I'm almost guaranteed to find a hoppa in an accident, stalled or pulling the most craziest of stunts to get through traffic. I'm not saying KBS and Double M are any better, they are getting there as well, something went wrong after the owner of Double M passed away. Now, if we thought getting rid of 14 seaters is the end of our problem and the way forward, we need to think again.
On a different note, do the matatus own the title deed to Naivasha Road and Kawangware? Where are the traffic police? You're saying the lady who told us how double M came about died? This then will indicate how family businesses fail when the originators dies and no clear succession plan is in place. When the business remains to kids who never took keen interest on the businesses but partying are left to now manage them. Politics is what is killing Double M. i read in yesterday sunday nation that the Lady who owns the Double M will vie for the Makandara seat Where is Makandara constituency? I cane see it HERE.. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Impunity wrote:doubtfire wrote:QD wrote:2012 wrote:When Citi hoppa were recruiting drivers, they should have told the drivers that the vehicles are bigger than the 14 seaters they were used to. On my way home I'm almost guaranteed to find a hoppa in an accident, stalled or pulling the most craziest of stunts to get through traffic. I'm not saying KBS and Double M are any better, they are getting there as well, something went wrong after the owner of Double M passed away. Now, if we thought getting rid of 14 seaters is the end of our problem and the way forward, we need to think again.
On a different note, do the matatus own the title deed to Naivasha Road and Kawangware? Where are the traffic police? You're saying the lady who told us how double M came about died? This then will indicate how family businesses fail when the originators dies and no clear succession plan is in place. When the business remains to kids who never took keen interest on the businesses but partying are left to now manage them. Politics is what is killing Double M. i read in yesterday sunday nation that the Lady who owns the Double M will vie for the Makandara seat Where is Makandara constituency? I cane see it HERE.. no.13 in nairobi county without an N i guess
doubtfire wrote:Impunity wrote:doubtfire wrote:QD wrote:2012 wrote:When Citi hoppa were recruiting drivers, they should have told the drivers that the vehicles are bigger than the 14 seaters they were used to. On my way home I'm almost guaranteed to find a hoppa in an accident, stalled or pulling the most craziest of stunts to get through traffic. I'm not saying KBS and Double M are any better, they are getting there as well, something went wrong after the owner of Double M passed away. Now, if we thought getting rid of 14 seaters is the end of our problem and the way forward, we need to think again.
On a different note, do the matatus own the title deed to Naivasha Road and Kawangware? Where are the traffic police? You're saying the lady who told us how double M came about died? This then will indicate how family businesses fail when the originators dies and no clear succession plan is in place. When the business remains to kids who never took keen interest on the businesses but partying are left to now manage them. Politics is what is killing Double M. i read in yesterday sunday nation that the Lady who owns the Double M will vie for the Makandara seat Where is Makandara constituency? I cane see it HERE.. no.13 in nairobi county without an N i guess Kwa hivyo ilikuwa ni chida na matamchi? Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
How does this work? Suppose I board a Karen hopper but alight at Dago, will I be charged Kes. 70 or Kes. 40 (since they charge 70 to Karen and 40 bob to Dago paying Wanjiku style yaani cash-cash) Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Impunity wrote:doubtfire wrote:Impunity wrote:doubtfire wrote:QD wrote:2012 wrote:When Citi hoppa were recruiting drivers, they should have told the drivers that the vehicles are bigger than the 14 seaters they were used to. On my way home I'm almost guaranteed to find a hoppa in an accident, stalled or pulling the most craziest of stunts to get through traffic. I'm not saying KBS and Double M are any better, they are getting there as well, something went wrong after the owner of Double M passed away. Now, if we thought getting rid of 14 seaters is the end of our problem and the way forward, we need to think again.
On a different note, do the matatus own the title deed to Naivasha Road and Kawangware? Where are the traffic police? You're saying the lady who told us how double M came about died? This then will indicate how family businesses fail when the originators dies and no clear succession plan is in place. When the business remains to kids who never took keen interest on the businesses but partying are left to now manage them. Politics is what is killing Double M. i read in yesterday sunday nation that the Lady who owns the Double M will vie for the Makandara seat Where is Makandara constituency? I cane see it HERE.. no.13 in nairobi county without an N i guess Kwa hivyo ilikuwa ni chida na matamchi? he he he @impunity i was born and brought up in the slopes and am proud
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/3/2010 Posts: 1,797 Location: Kenya
Impunity wrote:essyk wrote:Listing in order of 'ugliness' from most to least 1.Hoppa 2.Shuttle 3.Forwarders 4.Githurai 5.Star. Kenyans have suffered eyesores. Jamani give them design,colour and good names. And where do you put Embakassava? They are still fairly new but driven like dumpers! 7. Mwi sacco! these ones just do uturn abruptly at hispeed I may be wrong..but then I could be right
Then there are these purple-ish buses that use Thika Rd that have a biblical name cant even remember what they're called. If you're driving a vitz like me utaona cha mtema kuni! “People will believe a big lie sooner than a little one, and if you repeat it frequently enough, people will sooner or later believe it.” ― Walter C. Langer
essyk wrote:Listing in order of 'ugliness' from most to least 1.Hoppa 2.Shuttle 3.Forwarders 4.Githurai 5.Star. Kenyans have suffered eyesores. Jamani give them design,colour and good names. Last I checked, the githurai buses are very cute, nice graffiti. Rank top in indiscipline and stupidity though. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Culture
Disastrous Nairobi Public Transport