wazua Wed, Jan 29, 2025

Stocks/ Security and elections 2013.
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#21 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 5:45:16 PM

Jamani wrote:
ChessMaster wrote:
Yes we do need a leader not just a figurehead. But considering how complicated the world is and is becoming don't we also want someone who can understand these complications and help the country maneuver through them.

That person cannot be Mudavadi...

@Jamani, why judge madvd soo harshly? Dont yoy understand the season the country is headed to? That of "kufuata nyayo", that is,building on the infrastructure(read growth & development)already in place, now that we have proper institutions in place,or we are getting there. Lets compare notes just an year from now when he will be firmly in powersmile
@SufficientlyP
Jamani
#22 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 6:27:52 PM

Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:
Jamani wrote:
ChessMaster wrote:
Yes we do need a leader not just a figurehead. But considering how complicated the world is and is becoming don't we also want someone who can understand these complications and help the country maneuver through them.

That person cannot be Mudavadi...

@Jamani, why judge madvd soo harshly? Dont yoy understand the season the country is headed to? That of "kufuata nyayo", that is,building on the infrastructure(read growth & development)already in place, now that we have proper institutions in place,or we are getting there. Lets compare notes just an year from now when he will be firmly in powersmile

Hahaha huyu mtu hawazi bwana, wachana nayeye...its not harsh judgement its the reality... just check for yourself even after he went to UDF what vital thing has he done is there spark in that party? lets talk of someone else bwana our country is not for trials...... and no nyayos come with programs to eradicate poverty and spring out the country to compete with the asian tigers sio figurehead to protect billionaires at yours and my expense. This guy is clueless of why he should be president why do you want us to try him? he is a weak leader, hapo yuko imetosha no more.
#23 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 7:09:04 PM

Dangerous times esp at the coast where MRC might try to disrupt elections. The World has not forgiven us for 2007.
Jamani
#24 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 7:31:11 PM

Dangerous times esp at the coast where MRC might try to disrupt elections. The World has not forgiven us for 2007.

They might try but i assure you they will not disrupt anything not even the exams, noise makers bure kabisa. We need peace in this country, if they have any issues they can use clear channels to raise them not threats and disruptions... courts now are not controlled by the executive and they will get a fair hearing, they get one already and abused it.
Jamani
#25 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 7:35:42 PM

Let them try

While referring to the a threat by the MRC members to disrupt KCSE and KCPE national exams the president said;
“That threat is stupid (sic)…If MRC interfere with exams we will send them away, they can go to hell...” said the president with a faint smile on his face.
The President made the comments while a crackdown on the members of the MRC is intensifying in Mombasa.
Link
#26 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 9:23:33 PM

I like all the optism raised here,but we need to tread very careful a small issue in relation to the elections might trigger something serious with the idle youth all over things might turn really ugly...I hope for the best though.
tyjayden
#27 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 9:27:15 PM

MRC as far as am concerned is a threat to security, their demand are unheard of in the history of Kenya. Close proximity to lawlessness Somalia compounds issues. Their links with Alshabaab militia cannot be wished away since, If you have been keen during the group demonstrations you will note presence of young men from our neighbouring country and they are the ones leading street battles against the police. The Tana River crushes should be a signal to the country how violent the MRC group can be since they had their hands in it too. Our commander in Chief has made it clear that we they don't have a space in our country. That begs the question do we have the capability and if we have what have we been waiting for?
itz
#28 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 10:04:16 PM

Price is truth,the stock market is at times not necessarily the reflection of real economy.Too many dynamics to start going down the list here.The stock market is still rallying meaning the mkt players are confident that all this headwinds including post march 2013 will be resolved.If the market players feelings change the market could head south but so far there is no indication of that.next stop by jan 2013 is 4200.Follow price and dont over think stuff, just like Kibaki tells you everyday the election is a one day event and after that life goes on.Mudavadi or Kalonzo cannot be compared to Kibaki especially on matters economics and governance.A Rao presidency will reverse many gains made(effects will be felt in the later years) because like it or not he is not a good governor or someone who takes time to think and come up with the best policies for the country.
Jamani
#29 Posted : Saturday, October 13, 2012 6:55:30 AM

itz wrote:
Price is truth,the stock market is at times not necessarily the reflection of real economy.Too many dynamics to start going down the list here.The stock market is still rallying meaning the mkt players are confident that all this headwinds including post march 2013 will be resolved.If the market players feelings change the market could head south but so far there is no indication of that.next stop by jan 2013 is 4200.Follow price and dont over think stuff, just like Kibaki tells you everyday the election is a one day event and after that life goes on.Mudavadi or Kalonzo cannot be compared to Kibaki especially on matters economics and governance.A Rao presidency will reverse many gains made(effects will be felt in the later years) because like it or not he is not a good governor or someone who takes time to think and come up with the best policies for the country.

I beg more info on that....reverse gains? not a good governor? i request for facts on this from you so please present them, sio matusi real facts yaani he governed this way and it was wrong, he has this policy and it is wrong, he will reverse projects/gains name them ... I will be reading so that i can make an informed decision at the X box. Am yet to pick someone i will vote for but 3 including RAO are on my list
#30 Posted : Saturday, October 13, 2012 8:40:22 AM

Jamani wrote:
I will be reading so that i can make an informed decision at the X box. Am yet to pick someone i will vote for but 3 including RAO are on my list

The main issue here many Kenyans view RAO as a socialist/populist... (remember the KQ directive he issued?)

As MUCH as i LOVE Uhuru i will NEVER vote for impunity.. He should have run in 2017 because A man answering charges for murder & rape cannot be Kenya's next president!...

That said my vote is split between RAO and Mudavadi!
ekahindi
#31 Posted : Saturday, October 13, 2012 12:48:49 PM

and what do you think about Peter Kenneth???
tyjayden
#32 Posted : Saturday, October 13, 2012 10:01:41 PM

MRC mutation from a militia group to a political party but still maintains it leadership. Where is muingiki? The number of idle youths in Kenya is alarming. what will the new president do to tap in enormous energy that the idle youths carries? Evidence of that is Ngong demonstration yesterday. If a book alone can spark violence as witnessed during MM's book recently what of a hotly contested elections where the leading candidate losses during a re-run? Your guess is as good as mine.
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#33 Posted : Saturday, October 13, 2012 10:33:43 PM

Now if the unimaginable happens,like it did in 2002 when Vitendawili said Kibs tosha, and vitendawili and the prince join forces,my advice to any investor is to rush to the NSE and buy stocks in bucket loads coz 5,000 pts will be broken with ease! But like i said,it's unimaginable. Only wish that happens!
@SufficientlyP
#34 Posted : Saturday, October 13, 2012 11:02:37 PM

tyjayden wrote:
The number of idle youths in Kenya is alarming. what will the new president do to tap in enormous energy that the idle youths carries?

We should just Follow the path of other developed countries and employ them in construction & development projects.. im thinking Tatu city, konza city, Msa road, Uhuru highway, devolution & housing sector projects etc

This should be able to attempt to break the cycle of poverty!
Jamani
#35 Posted : Sunday, October 14, 2012 7:08:49 AM

guru267 wrote:
tyjayden wrote:
The number of idle youths in Kenya is alarming. what will the new president do to tap in enormous energy that the idle youths carries?

We should just Follow the path of other developed countries and employ them in construction & development projects.. im thinking Tatu city, konza city, Msa road, Uhuru highway, devolution & housing sector projects etc

Ni kweli
#36 Posted : Sunday, October 14, 2012 5:42:24 PM

guru267 wrote:
tyjayden wrote:

And we need to invest more in economic activities that earn the country more revenue. These include Tourism and agriculture. To spend on such big construction projects, we need to improve our balance of payments, encourage FDI's, use the diaspora remittances more responsibly, increase capital inflows in the stock exchange. That way, we can then increase the government expenditure without increasing debt or adopting severe fiscal policies.
Cde Monomotapa
#37 Posted : Sunday, October 14, 2012 6:59:10 PM

Interesting character this tyjayden. Would like to see some investment intelligence as well (or mostly)
tyjayden
#38 Posted : Sunday, October 14, 2012 10:09:11 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Interesting character this tyjayden. Would like to see some investment intelligence as well (or mostly)
Sir with due sincerity, my answer is 'as well'. Only a fool knows it all!
Cde Monomotapa
#39 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2012 6:46:09 AM

tyjayden wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Sir with due sincerity, my answer is 'as well'. Only a fool knows it all!

Well, I noted the hinging/leveraging on established Elders on debut now dwelling on a popular 'investment & elections ramifications' topic. Would just like to read some original, stand alone thoughts too. No offence.
hisah
#40 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 4:06:15 PM

hisah wrote:
As long as those starring on the ICC list don't attain the high seat, Mr Market's sentiments will remain intact. A Mudavadi win will likely be more bullish.
If you like studying patterns, one can clearly see that former VPs end up as KE presidents. If MK was to be upfront, he'd endorse Musalia for both political & economical stability. At a time when KE & EA have discovered potential hydrocarbons as well as other mineral resources, the president needs to be familiar with Land Economics. And Musalia has that in hand. He also has a calm demeanour like MK. That's what my political crystal ball is showing me... Godspeed to KE smile

Update - forgot to put reference - http://www.whoswho.co.ke/musalia-mudavadi

Hmmm...

https://www.standardmedi...reate-%27third-force%27

$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!