wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

How much do you pay in rent?
#21 Posted : Thursday, October 11, 2012 12:53:46 PM

You all sound single. Anyone with a family? I don't know whether you'd fit a family in a 15k house and I'm talking of locations that are not too inconveniencing for work and school for the kids.

Not unless am in the wrong club, i grew up in a city slum where a room of 3.5m by 4m was shared as the kitchen, bedroom, living etc.
Am now in a 2b/r very spacious flat in roysambu. 100k rent is a NO for me. Hiyo ni ploti Ruai Laughing out loudly

#22 Posted : Thursday, October 11, 2012 12:58:04 PM

aemathenge wrote:
mkeiyd wrote:
@2012, There are locations out there you get 2-3 bed-roomed houses for less than 15k,the kids go to school and parents get working.

I believe the question was how much is too much when it comes to rent.

I'm not disputing, it's just that I saw many quoting around 15. Anyway which locations can you get a 3bedroom for 20k and under?

Kanyotu (Muthaiga) Estate, Kerugoya. 8k for 3 bedroom master en-suite.

Nairobi, not machinani.
#23 Posted : Thursday, October 11, 2012 1:11:38 PM

aemathenge wrote:
mkeiyd wrote:
@2012, There are locations out there you get 2-3 bed-roomed houses for less than 15k,the kids go to school and parents get working.

I'm not disputing, it's just that I saw many quoting around 15. Anyway which locations can you get a 3bedroom for 20k and under?

Kanyotu (Muthaiga) Estate, Kerugoya. 8k for 3 bedroom master en-suite.

Nairobi, not machinani.

It is now official.

In the Gospel according to @jaggernaut, All Citizens of the Virtual Republic of Wazua should not comment on this thread in particular and Wazua in General unless you reside in Nairobbery.
#24 Posted : Thursday, October 11, 2012 1:20:09 PM

Rent should not be more than 30% of your net income. That said i always wonder how much people earn coz all rental properties, even in upmarket areas charging over 200k pm have tenants.

...boss kuna watu wanazo,if someone can take 2m plus a month,200k rent a month is nothing.
wanyee
#25 Posted : Thursday, October 11, 2012 1:32:46 PM

During 2007 PEV , it became apparent that you may need to consider locations where there is security or open multiple escape routes from the city or vicinity to to an airport and access to supplies whilst avoiding the CBD. Areas around or near to JKIA,wilson or oryx airport(Kajiado) , near or around Thika/Msa rd come to mind
XSK
#26 Posted : Thursday, October 11, 2012 1:34:13 PM

mkeiyd wrote:

Lucky Summer huko kwa Conje.

Insecurity nayo!
You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
#27 Posted : Thursday, October 11, 2012 1:38:17 PM

XSK wrote:
mkeiyd wrote:

Lucky Summer huko kwa Conje.

Insecurity nayo!

More secure than Karen.
Residents there are united in poverty.

wanyee
#28 Posted : Thursday, October 11, 2012 1:45:00 PM

anything beyond 50k is a no no no whether it is 20% or not of gross income
#29 Posted : Thursday, October 11, 2012 2:07:06 PM

Those percentages of one's salary are misleading.what for instance is the correct percentage for a couple living together and sharing expenditure or an officer manning a public kitty e.g District Accountant who rakes in 15k lunch daily from clients?
#30 Posted : Thursday, October 11, 2012 2:09:24 PM

Those percentages of one's salary are misleading.what for instance is the correct percentage for a couple living together and sharing expenditure or an officer manning a public kitty e.g District Accountant who rakes in 15k lunch daily from clients yet his gross salary is 65k,what about the unemployed?
#31 Posted : Thursday, October 11, 2012 2:15:07 PM

You all sound single. Anyone with a family? I don't know whether you'd fit a family in a 15k house and I'm talking of locations that are not too inconveniencing for work and school for the kids.

Asi!! Na si hii ni matusi yaawa?Sad Sad Liar
wanyee
#32 Posted : Thursday, October 11, 2012 2:20:16 PM

It depends if one treats rent as a transitive or an intransitive cost of their overall expenditure
#33 Posted : Thursday, October 11, 2012 2:22:25 PM

wanyee wrote:
During 2007 PEV , it became apparent that you may need to consider locations where there is security or open multiple escape routes from the city or vicinity to to an airport and access to supplies whilst avoiding the CBD. Areas around or near to JKIA,wilson or oryx airport(Kajiado) , near or around Thika/Msa rd come to mind

An escape route may just lead you to the hands of those who are baying for your blood...remember the road blocks out of Nairobi....
wanyee
#34 Posted : Thursday, October 11, 2012 2:35:59 PM

wanyee wrote:

An escape route may just lead you to the hands of those who are baying for your blood...remember the road blocks out of Nairobi....

yeah thats why they have to be multiplesmile
#35 Posted : Thursday, October 11, 2012 3:22:54 PM

Asi!! Na si hii ni matusi yaawa?Sad Sad Liar

Why would a married Bachelor (wife, kids not around) stay in a Ksh 50K house? even 30K is still on a higher side. However, I know of families who stay with nearly the whole clan - wife's sisters, nephews, nieces etc. A four bedroom + double SQ is a must for them
#36 Posted : Thursday, October 11, 2012 4:20:02 PM

However, I know of families who stay with nearly the whole clan - [u wrote:
w[/u]ife's sisters

Hapo sasa umenenaApplause Applause Applause

But on a serious note, if you are doing 40k rent per month better watch out. Consider mortgage, expensive in the short run, useful in the long run
wanyee
#37 Posted : Thursday, October 11, 2012 5:19:51 PM

w[/u]ife's sisters

But on a serious note, if you are doing 40k rent per month better watch out. Consider mortgage, expensive in the short run, useful in the long run

What kind of mortgage(or for what kind of a house) can you get with monthly repayment of 40k?
#38 Posted : Thursday, October 11, 2012 5:49:02 PM

w[/u]ife's sisters

What do you call "short run"? 15-20 years? Some times, depending on what you are paying on your rent, mortgage may be more expensive and riskier. If i am not building my own house, i am not touching mortgage in this market with a long pole in the near future..... dynamics of the real estate - pricing, interest rates etc have to change first for me to consider 'mortgaged house' as a viable investment... unless i have completely ran out of ideas... which of course will be a very sad situation.
#39 Posted : Thursday, October 11, 2012 6:38:36 PM

I am really surprised at the figures quoted here for rent.

Kwani everyone in Wazua lives in eastlands or in the outskirts of Nairobi.
#40 Posted : Thursday, October 11, 2012 7:55:32 PM

w[/u]ife's sisters

What do you call "short run"? 15-20 years? Some times, depending on what you are paying on your rent, mortgage may be more expensive and riskier. If i am not building my own house, i am not touching mortgage in this market with a long pole in the near future..... dynamics of the real estate - pricing, interest rates etc have to change first for me to consider 'mortgaged house' as a viable investment... unless i have completely ran out of ideas... which of course will be a very sad situation.

@Wanyee If you look hard enough you'll find a place, be it in Thika, Kite or environs with the sign 'Drive safely and welcome back to Nairobi'.
@Wendz, Why is mortgage so unthinkable? Start with a small house/flat, upgrade as you grow. Worst case scenario where one has to sell, then dispose, pay off debt and you are left with the rent you'd have paid.