wazua Sat, Jan 18, 2025

8 Pages<1234>»
Safaricom at 4 bob...
#21 Posted : Thursday, September 13, 2012 6:45:08 PM

Shady on-goings around MTR http://standardmedia.co....=2000065898&pageNo=2
FUNKY
#22 Posted : Friday, September 14, 2012 9:02:52 AM

#23 Posted : Friday, September 14, 2012 10:29:03 AM

And it has dipped ex div...it will go back to 3.30 levels previously seen
hisah
#24 Posted : Friday, September 14, 2012 11:51:24 AM

Our bet is still on. Ever heard of something called euro and USD tsunami... Just watch.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Jamani
#25 Posted : Friday, September 14, 2012 2:39:15 PM

Hold your bets, (at least for now) 97.23% bought by foreign investors

BIDS 18.52M
Quantity Price Splits Time
1.36M 4.05 2 14:36:06
12.36M 4.00 21 14:36:06
190,000 3.95 1 14:36:06
479,700 3.90 4 14:36:06
3.15M 3.85 12 14:36:06
ASKS 1.14M
47,200 4.10 6 14:36:06
57,700 4.15 7 14:36:06
160,200 4.20 14 14:36:06
435,500 4.25 18 14:36:06
324,700 4.30 8 14:36:06
TRADES
Quantity Price Time
13,000 4.05 14:36:04
300 4.05 14:35:14
900 4.05 14:34:58
40,000 4.05 14:34:26
900 4.05 14:34:05
hisah
#26 Posted : Friday, September 14, 2012 2:50:23 PM

Jamani wrote:
Hold your bets, (at least for now) 97.23% bought by foreign investors

BIDS 18.52M
1.36M 4.05 2 14:36:06
12.36M 4.00 21 14:36:06
190,000 3.95 1 14:36:06
479,700 3.90 4 14:36:06
3.15M 3.85 12 14:36:06
ASKS 1.14M
47,200 4.10 6 14:36:06
57,700 4.15 7 14:36:06
160,200 4.20 14 14:36:06
435,500 4.25 18 14:36:06
324,700 4.30 8 14:36:06
TRADES
Quantity Price Time
13,000 4.05 14:36:04
300 4.05 14:35:14
900 4.05 14:34:58
40,000 4.05 14:34:26
900 4.05 14:34:05

@Maka expects mpesa bank price to collapse due to ex div status. 3.30 can only print if & when H1 is a loss or a profit warning...
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#27 Posted : Saturday, September 15, 2012 12:04:05 AM

next time check the volumes contributing to the dip in the prices of stock before spreading panic here.

hisah
#28 Posted : Saturday, September 15, 2012 8:06:25 AM

hisah wrote:
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:
hisah wrote:
Lets put a wager on that...it wont make it to 4.40 ex div.

Thursday 13th September 2012 - Book Closure

Monday 11th November 2012 - Half- year Results announcement.

That's the calender.

Bwana Hisah,which calendar are u looking at....My calendar puts 11th November as Sunday!
Pls clarify!
All the same,im soo excited with Safari's leap into the 4s. Dont know whether to lock in profits by 13th or wait for the expected 100% yoy H1 profits in Nov.
Should the MTR remain unchanged & CBK lowers further the CBR by 300bps in early Nov when they next meet,i wouldnt be surprised to see it touch 5 bob!
But hey, should greed check in in the week i'll have no choice but to end my safari!Laughing out loudly

That November date is on their site which as you state is on a Sunday!

www.safaricom.co.ke/abou...hboard/investor-calendar

Hmmm, need to check with their investors desk to confirm that weird date.

www.safaricom.co.ke/abou...hboard/investor-contacts

investorrelations@safaricom.co.ke

The desk responded. H1 result date is Thu 8 Nov 2012.
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#29 Posted : Saturday, September 15, 2012 12:15:23 PM

It's soo sad you spoke without looking at the bigger picture.
Always good to support your statement with facts!
But then again,anything is possible even with all the economic indicators lookin green,particularly if the politics isnt handled well later on Q4 or Q1 2013!
Lets just say we hope for the best!
@SufficientlyP
#30 Posted : Saturday, September 15, 2012 12:17:10 PM

hisah wrote:
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:
hisah wrote:
Lets put a wager on that...it wont make it to 4.40 ex div.

Thursday 13th September 2012 - Book Closure

Monday 11th November 2012 - Half- year Results announcement.

That's the calender.

Bwana Hisah,which calendar are u looking at....My calendar puts 11th November as Sunday!
Pls clarify!
All the same,im soo excited with Safari's leap into the 4s. Dont know whether to lock in profits by 13th or wait for the expected 100% yoy H1 profits in Nov.
Should the MTR remain unchanged & CBK lowers further the CBR by 300bps in early Nov when they next meet,i wouldnt be surprised to see it touch 5 bob!
But hey, should greed check in in the week i'll have no choice but to end my safari!Laughing out loudly

That November date is on their site which as you state is on a Sunday!

www.safaricom.co.ke/abou...hboard/investor-calendar

Hmmm, need to check with their investors desk to confirm that weird date.

www.safaricom.co.ke/abou...hboard/investor-contacts

investorrelations@safaricom.co.ke

The desk responded. H1 result date is Thu 8 Nov 2012.

Thanks Bw.Hisah
@SufficientlyP
hisah
#31 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2012 8:41:22 AM

MS again. Until I smell a sell or see a sell from the mboys, I'm staying put.

http://mobile.businessda...l/-/585i6pz/-/index.html
#32 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2012 11:06:43 AM

[quote=hisah]MS again. Until I smell a sell or see a sell from the mboys, I'm staying put.

http://mobile.businessda.../-/585i6pz/-/index.html[/quote]
Likely to touch 4.30 before midweek.
Perfect case of pump and dump. Next round in late Oct into early November!
Good thing's that the stock has its fundies right!
@SufficientlyP
bartum
#33 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2012 1:20:22 PM

Is this true,i doubt it. Read this its a quote from Robert Alai blog''There seems to be a problem at Safaricom. East and
Central Africa’s biggest telco is facing senior
management problems as the Board of Directors of
Safaricom feel that the shareholders are not getting a
good return on their investment. Citing various touchy
issues, the board members sitting sometime last week
before the annual general meeting (AGM), were
rumoured to have demanded that Bob Collymore resign
as the CEO of the listed company.
Bob Collymore is one very flexible and hands-on
manager if you ask me. He is a keen listener and a team
player unlike Michael Joseph who was more of a dictator
and a political spin-master. But maybe the old men and
women sitting in the board of the firm have not
understoon the management style of Bob Collymore.
They are reported to have raised issue with very petty
matters like Bob Collymore’s love life during theor
sitting.
Who does not have problems in family? I can confess
that I have problems in my family and I can point to you
3 Safaricom board members who will never maintain or
successfully manage their own family. But does that
affect the delivery of Bob professionally? NO!! I guess he
knows how to handle both without any interfering with
the other.
So Bob Collymore is going through a separation with his
wife and that is a MAJOR issue at the Safaricom board.
Secondly, Safaricom board has been complaining for
some time that Bob Collymore is intellectually shallow
than his peers (read: friends) in the industry. I don’t
know what they mean by this but most of the great
managers and pioneers in innovation have not so much
“intellectual superiority.” The board came to this
conclusion having analysed Bob’s friends like Aly Khan
Satchu and Jeff Koinange who does not have any deep
grasp of the industry.
They view Jeff Koinange and Aly Khan Satchu as a
shallow, unschooled and childish bunch that they see no
value Bob get from hanging out with them. Jeff and Aly
are some close friends of Bob Collymore but none of
them is thought to have seen the inside of a university
class.
Aly Khan is believed by the industry and the wide
corporate bigwigs to rely mostly on connections to make
shallow analysis of the Kenyan financial market while Jeff
Koinange is regarded as an equal to village propagandist
who cannot really influence In fact the board members
believe that Bob cannot effectively interact with the likes
of Martin Oduor Otieno, Adan Mohammed or even not
so intellectually endowed managers like Peter Nduati of
Resolution Health.
Some major shareholders at Safaricom have also
claimed that Bob Collymore is more in cheap gossip
pages and least on business pages where he should be.
Lastly, the Safaricom board believe that Bob Collymore is
not delivering value to the shareholder while as a
consumer I believe that Safaricom is not delivering on
my end. On the exit of Michael Joseph, Safaricom
shareholders hoped that the company’s stock would rise
above Ksh 5. It has not happened and look like it will
never happen. The share price is still below the Ksh 5 IPO
price.
However, pundits believe that Bob Collymore might be a
victim of corrupt forces at Safaricom. Bob is credited
with trying to fight the strong forces of Mobitelea and
other corporate frauds at Safaricom but the same forces
represented by managers, shareholders and board
members might be fighting back.
It will be very interesting to see how long Bob Collymore
will last at Safaricom but industry analysts doubt if he
will manage to weather the storm. Already his own staff
members are not happy as late as this week when one of
the senior managers reported to work from leave and
found that her duties have been assigned to another
colleague. She has now been given some options to
chose all of which are junior to her last assignment. She
might be headed out in protest''.
hisah
#34 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2012 4:25:23 PM

@bartum - Wow! The rumours, I like smile Very bullish indeed...! Bulls climb walls of fear...

hisah
#35 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2012 6:54:32 AM

And I hope this trend continues so that institution are independent and not influenced politically.

So the MTR independent report shows the telcos benefited when MTR was slushed by half back in 2010.Very interesting to see revenues went up but profitability went down.

www.businessdailyafrica..../-/15r6vhuz/-/index.html

Will CCK implement the 1.44 MTR today or 1.60 as per the telcos agreement? Let's see if they have balls. I like good fights smile
#36 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2012 7:34:57 AM

this friday and early next week might be very important to safcom share price. This mtr and losing 680,000 customers on phones switch off are very crucial indeed. Not forgetting sim registration switch off.

#37 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2012 7:55:44 AM

3-3.50 might come again
Aguytrying
#38 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2012 8:43:45 AM

Safcom will survive. How many challenges has it overcome so far. Every one seems like it will take them down, but they come out of the ashes stronger
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
hisah
#39 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2012 5:34:12 PM

If Mpesa bank closes @4.20, KCB @28.25, Kengen @9.10 and MSC @7.00 then NSE index will be above 4000pts as long as the other bluechips prices remain flat or slightly dip.
#40 Posted : Friday, September 28, 2012 11:07:25 AM

lower mtr shelved again. Activists run to court to block 'phones switch off.'
This is definately good news for safcom shares price and investors, but how about the other kenyans?