wazua Fri, May 23, 2025

KQ Retrenchment
kollabo
#21 Posted : Thursday, September 06, 2012 11:18:58 AM

StatMeister wrote:
Just wondering when they expand their fleet will they re hire again?

Outsourcing, its today's business mantra

Only a klutz will outsource core services
Jamani
#22 Posted : Thursday, September 06, 2012 11:46:47 AM

Kenya Airways has finalised its Sh800million retrenchment programme that has seen 578 employees leave the company.

Releasing the numbers Thursday morning, the airline said out of the 578 that left only 125 opted for the early retirement package.
This means that 453 employees were declared redundant. Kenya Airways said the exercise will cost Sh800 million to foot the severance pay of the affected workers.

Chief Executive Titus Naikuni said the layoffs will see it save about Sh1billion per year.

"We had told the union that the pay hike we gave the employees during the strike was unsustainable in the long run. I guess the chicken have now come home to roost,” Mr Naikuni said Thursday but declined to comment on why the airline ignored a directive from Prime Minister Raila Odinga to suspend the layoffs.
Pierce
#23 Posted : Thursday, September 06, 2012 11:56:50 AM

Jamani wrote:
Kenya Airways has finalised its Sh800million retrenchment programme that has seen 578 employees leave the company.

Releasing the numbers Thursday morning, the airline said out of the 578 that left only 125 opted for the early retirement package.
This means that 453 employees were declared redundant. Kenya Airways said the exercise will cost Sh800 million to foot the severance pay of the affected workers.

Chief Executive Titus Naikuni said the layoffs will see it save about Sh1billion per year.

"We had told the union that the pay hike we gave the employees during the strike was unsustainable in the long run. I guess the chicken have now come home to roost,” Mr Naikuni said Thursday but declined to comment on why the airline ignored a directive from Prime Minister Raila Odinga to suspend the layoffs.

Rink....
StatMeister
#24 Posted : Thursday, September 06, 2012 11:57:37 AM

kollabo wrote:
StatMeister wrote:

If you read KQ financials, there is an item called Crew route expenses, which in 2011 was 2.2b. These are costs associated with keeping pilots, engineers and cabin crew in the air and in far off places. A prime area of cost cutting.

http://investinginafrica..._Annual_Report_2011.pdf

If you don't believe, think Safcon outsourcing customer service
A bad day fishing is better than a good day at work
kollabo
#25 Posted : Thursday, September 06, 2012 12:34:50 PM

StatMeister wrote:
kollabo wrote:
StatMeister wrote:

If you read KQ financials, there is an item called Crew route expenses, which in 2011 was 2.2b. These are costs associated with keeping pilots, engineers and cabin crew in the air and in far off places. A prime area of cost cutting.

OK so how do you outsource that?
#26 Posted : Thursday, September 06, 2012 12:35:15 PM

StatMeister wrote:
kollabo wrote:
StatMeister wrote:

My head is spinning. If pilots too can be outsourced what then is the business of KQ?
StatMeister
#27 Posted : Thursday, September 06, 2012 12:50:55 PM

Cabin crew & engineers are easily outsourced. Pilots, well they are the identity of any airline, so they stay.
#28 Posted : Thursday, September 06, 2012 1:04:40 PM

StatMeister wrote:
Cabin crew & engineers are easily outsourced. Pilots, well they are the identity of any airline, so they stay.

Are the pilots or the cabin crew the identity of KQ? When you fly how many times do you see the pilot? My take is that Cabin crews are the identity since they interact with the customers!
samsa
#29 Posted : Thursday, September 06, 2012 1:55:46 PM

StatMeister wrote:

So if I would have pursued craft engineering I would be looking for consultancy services at KQ.
FUNKY
#30 Posted : Thursday, September 06, 2012 2:22:31 PM

StatMeister
#31 Posted : Thursday, September 06, 2012 2:40:51 PM

StatMeister wrote:

Are the pilots or the cabin crew the identity of KQ? When you fly how many times do you see the pilot? My take is that Cabin crews are the identity since they interact with the customers!

OUTSOURCING

"The airline, 26.7 percent owned by Air France KLM and one of the largest carriers in Africa alongside Ethiopia Airlines, said it would shed 578 employees through voluntary retirement, redundancies and outsourcing of non-core roles"
StatMeister
#32 Posted : Thursday, September 06, 2012 2:42:51 PM

Further, if you pump negative 800m in its first half results (remember Eurozone, fuel . . .), you'll be lucky to make any money at all in H1
#33 Posted : Thursday, September 06, 2012 3:12:39 PM

bkismat wrote:

My head is spinning. If pilots too can be outsourced what then is the business of KQ?

To transport passengers and cargo from point A to point B, not to employ people, even the pilots and that's why we have autopilots.

Older generations aircrafts had 4 cockpit crew; pilot and co-pilot, flight engineer and navigator.

mkeiyd
#34 Posted : Thursday, September 06, 2012 4:21:59 PM

The unfair thing about this retrenchment is that Kenyans are losing jobs while KQ continues hiring foreigners to do basic jobs!

Anybody in the know of the positions and locations of these foreigners?
Could it be that they are those manning KQ offices in Bangkok, Hong Kong, West Africa and the like?
waza
#35 Posted : Thursday, September 06, 2012 4:34:21 PM

chicken have now come home to roost- T Nai..kuni

Rinkd'oh!
Every day I get up and look through the Forbes list of the richest people in the World. If I'm not there, I go to work.
#36 Posted : Thursday, September 06, 2012 4:42:34 PM

waza wrote:
chicken have now come home to roost- T Nai..kuni

Rinkd'oh!

How is the send off package like?
ralp_mutu
#37 Posted : Thursday, September 06, 2012 4:45:23 PM

@Magigi si hii kitu its already been discussed here http://wazua.co.ke/forum...20379&p=2#post314864
My folks told me that my very first word was 'billionaire'
#38 Posted : Thursday, September 06, 2012 4:48:11 PM

bkismat wrote:

To transport passengers and cargo from point A to point B, not to employ people, even the pilots and that's why we have autopilots.

Older generations aircrafts had 4 cockpit crew; pilot and co-pilot, flight engineer and navigator.

Dont be stupid. The planes cannot move themselves from point A to B.
#39 Posted : Thursday, September 06, 2012 6:50:02 PM

bkismat wrote:

Dont be stupid. The planes cannot move themselves from point A to B.

DRONE!

#40 Posted : Thursday, September 06, 2012 11:54:40 PM

Kq pilots are not being outsourced. For now. KALPA has a standing agreement with Kq which prevents this. And also foreign pilots have to convert to a kenyan CPL. But the day is coming ...and soon when KQ will mow down the agreement with KALPA ...its just a matter of time.
Pilots out there are a frustrated lot, with global aviation still being bleak, there are pilots who will do anything to keep flying, keep the hours up and licences current, that means they will take rock bottom wages. This is how management of airlines treat crew. The net is full of sob stories ..BA, Qantas, Ryanair, American Airlines ...etc etc ...Aviation is a rude business. And Naikuni is just getting started. You can take that to the bank.