wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

Safaricom unveils new offer on call rates - NO THANKS!
akowally
#21 Posted : Wednesday, July 25, 2012 2:37:40 AM

I am no hater but I say the truth.

The best thing about Safaricom is their 10 bob unlimited smss and the fact that MPesa is everywhere. Their internet is also fast and stable though the same is true for Airtel and Orange.

Very few people talk for 4 minutes so they may just save the 1 bob on the second call.

If you are on Safaricom, just dial *777# before finishing this thread. You'll save something. I have done it even if I'll not use it.

Yu is very popular with the kids, Safcom needs to find a way to tap into this generation.

Airtel is the current best in my opinion. They have great rates, great numbers and the best and cheapest unlimited internet. The only thing they need to do is to stop spamming our inboxes, they send too many promotional texts.

All in all, each provider has their own pros and cons. Choose what you love and stick to it or get a twin sim like me.

JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
#22 Posted : Thursday, July 26, 2012 5:14:58 PM

These guys lied when this thingy started the 6am to 6pm time frame wasnt there...
#23 Posted : Thursday, July 26, 2012 7:36:20 PM

These guys lied when this thingy started the 6am to 6pm time frame wasnt there...

They didn't lie...just that some don't read the devil in the details.
See the terms and conditions
2. The Promotion will run from 0600 hrs 24
th July 2012 to 1800 hrs 23 rd August 2012.

Take note of this
Upon subscription, Off Peak rate on the Uwezo Tariff and Individual PostPay Tariff will not be applicable between 6.00am-8.00am.

Implications

After 1800hrs, the call rate is 4/- per minute upto 10pm. Between 10pm-6am, the rate is 2/-.

Its common knowledge that most customers make long calls in the evening. That means that people are delaying to press the end call button thinking they are calling at 1/- after the 4th minute.

Safaricom is ripping off unsuspecting customers!!!!!!!! PERIOD

#24 Posted : Thursday, July 26, 2012 8:21:57 PM

saga wrote:
MatataMingi wrote:
lexx wrote:
and why do i have to subscribe, i thought it should be automatic!

This. It should be automatic. Dont they have the tecnoligy or what. Bura Sana
Sad Sad Shame on you

Safcom can not automatically subscribe you to a service, you have to agree to the terms and conditions of this offer.

Tell them @saga. People never understand, no matter how much learned they are.
#25 Posted : Thursday, July 26, 2012 8:28:01 PM

kenmac wrote:

Wee hama! There are so many people who make long calls (calls, not the loo-type), business or personal, during the day as well. Enda YU for free calls so that you are not ripped off.
#26 Posted : Thursday, July 26, 2012 8:30:50 PM

kenmac wrote:

Wee hama! There are so many people who make long calls (calls, not the loo-type), business or personal, during the day as well. Enda YU for free calls so that you are not ripped off.

Ditto!!! I wonder what the bile is all about yet he has an option of choice.
#27 Posted : Thursday, July 26, 2012 10:11:05 PM

saga wrote:
MatataMingi wrote:
lexx wrote:

Sad Sad Shame on you

Safcom can not automatically subscribe you to a service, you have to agree to the terms and conditions of this offer.

nobody was given a chance to choose whether or not to migrate to uwezo tariff. everybody was automatically subscribed to it. Get your facts right.
chris79
#28 Posted : Friday, July 27, 2012 8:38:12 AM

kenmac wrote:

They didn't lie...just that some don't read the devil in the details.
See the terms and conditions
2. The Promotion will run from 0600 hrs 24
th July 2012 to 1800 hrs 23 rd August 2012.

Take note of this
Upon subscription, Off Peak rate on the Uwezo Tariff and Individual PostPay Tariff will not be applicable between 6.00am-8.00am.

Implications

After 1800hrs, the call rate is 4/- per minute upto 10pm. Between 10pm-6am, the rate is 2/-.

Its common knowledge that most customers make long calls in the evening. That means that people are delaying to press the end call button thinking they are calling at 1/- after the 4th minute.

Now how is it a rip-off if you have read the terms and conditions and have clearly understood the implications? And i'm very sure you don't have a safaricom line so what's the bile about? Let those want to enjoy the service do so, it's their choice.. I remember there was a time saf introduced free calls in the evenings and some complained saying that that was a tariff for nightrunners. Clearly you can't please everyone all at once...
#29 Posted : Friday, July 27, 2012 3:37:35 PM

kenmac wrote:
saga wrote:
MatataMingi wrote:
lexx wrote:

Sad Sad Shame on you

nobody was given a chance to choose whether or not to migrate to uwezo tariff. everybody was automatically subscribed to it. Get your facts right.

There's a difference between introduction of a new tariff and a new promotion d'oh! . Surely, you must know that by now. Do we really need this back and forth? Get your facts right!Brick wall Brick wall Shame on you
#30 Posted : Friday, July 27, 2012 4:20:00 PM

People are not seeing the bigger picture. As a condition for reduction of MTR, the telcos have asked that the minimum calling rate should be KES 4 per min. Safcom is just easing you to the higher calling rate! More like the story of the toad who was put in cold water and slooooooowly heated to boil. When the so called offer ends, you will be calling at KES 4 flat rate.
#31 Posted : Saturday, July 28, 2012 8:18:06 PM

People are not seeing the bigger picture. As a condition for reduction of MTR, the telcos have asked that the minimum calling rate should be KES 4 per min. Safcom is just easing you to the higher calling rate! More like the story of the toad who was put in cold water and slooooooowly heated to boil. When the so called offer ends, you will be calling at KES 4 flat rate.

Before the offer the call rate was sh4. After the offer, sh4. So which is higher?
#32 Posted : Sunday, July 29, 2012 9:13:04 PM

kenmac wrote:
saga wrote:
MatataMingi wrote:
lexx wrote:

Sad Sad Shame on you

There's a difference between introduction of a new tariff and a new promotion d'oh! . Surely, you must know that by now. Do we really need this back and forth? Get your facts right!Brick wall Brick wall Shame on you

@Blazin, let me jog your memory kidogo to see whose facts are right. First, customers had always had a choice to of their tariff until the 'one size fits all' uwezo tariff was introduced.

Around 2007, safaricom introduced four tariffs namely; Saasa, Super Tariffic, Jambo and Super Taifa. Among these four tariffs, customers subscribed to their tariff of choice. Before the introduction of these four tariffs we were accustomed to Sema, Tariffic, and
Taifa tariffs. The migration was by choice. In 2008, Jimbabie tariff was introduced and reduced calls by almost 70% as a measure of retaining market share due to increased competition. After that, we have had Ongea and now Uwezo- the tariff that had initially promised 1 bob per minute 10pm-10am forever-.

Among the major promotions that safaricom has conducted include 'Lipua', 'guruma ibambe', 'Furahi na Safaricom',and 'Masonko na Safaricom' among others. All these promotions were common in that the customers had a chance to win millions or vehicles.

Compare that with this 'Wakenya tuongee' promotion and you will realize that it doesn't deserve to be called a promotion. Its somehow concocted to make all the shillings flow to Safaricom vaults.

What percentage of customers make 4 minute-long calls between 6am to 6pm?

Its not about being cynical, its about customer satisfaction. Since the current CEO took reins from my favorite Michael Joseph, we have had an increase in Mpesa charges, Higher calling rates in the market, twisted data usage terms and conditions and several other unfriendly terms in almost everything.

The CEO seems very preoccupied with keeping the numbers in the range of 20 billion. If its about supernormal profits, we may as well have Safariom in South Sudan, in Uganda, even across the continent. Otherwise, exhibiting monopoly behaviour to attain obscene profits is unjustifiable.
kaption
#33 Posted : Sunday, July 29, 2012 11:26:55 PM

akowally wrote:
I am no hater but I say the truth.

The best thing about Safaricom is their 10 bob unlimited smss and the fact that MPesa is everywhere. Their internet is also fast and stable though the same is true for Airtel and Orange.

Very few people talk for 4 minutes so they may just save the 1 bob on the second call.

If you are on Safaricom, just dial *777# before finishing this thread. You'll save something. I have done it even if I'll not use it.

Yu is very popular with the kids, Safcom needs to find a way to tap into this generation.

Airtel is the current best in my opinion. They have great rates, great numbers and the best and cheapest unlimited internet. The only thing they need to do is to stop spamming our inboxes, they send too many promotional texts.

All in all, each provider has their own pros and cons. Choose what you love and stick to it or get a twin sim like me.

I totally concur with you. Airtel is at the top of the range for the rational consumers who are not so brainwashed by safaricom.
As for the Spamming .. I got sorted you just need to call them and tell them to stop it.
If you are the rational type you need a Twin sim phone(Safcon doesnt sell these) and all five network sims.

#34 Posted : Wednesday, October 24, 2012 10:16:22 AM

Ngai!!! Kumbe this thing was an offer that ended on Aug 23rd. Nimenyonywa for 2 months. Wish I had come across this thread earlier.
#35 Posted : Wednesday, October 24, 2012 10:49:46 AM

I don't know whether I'd say I am the average Safaricom customer but I was surprised yesterday to learn that this '4/3/2/1' offer is long gone.

At the end of the day the most profitable business is 'human nature'
- banks encourage unnecessary consumption with their credit
- entertainment focuses on instant fleeting delight
- politicans sell imaginary dreams to hook us
- brands promote a desire for vanity

and I'd warrant Safaricom knows they make much more when they are perceived as 'cheap, caring and Kenyan'. But hey, that's life!

#36 Posted : Wednesday, October 24, 2012 11:27:08 AM

@Bkismat, How much credit do you spend per month? If you spend over 30bob per day on credit, then have a look at the postpay tariff 1000.

you get 900 on net minutes,

100 offnet minutes,

100 mb etc.

see: http://www.safaricom.co....f-plans/classic-postpay

You no longer have to rush through calls to save credit.

#37 Posted : Wednesday, October 24, 2012 1:33:59 PM

kenmac wrote:
@Bkismat, How much credit do you spend per month? If you spend over 30bob per day on credit, then have a look at the postpay tariff 1000.

100 offnet minutes,

100 mb etc.

True, Postpay1000 is a good idea. For sh1000 you get sh3600 worth on-net minutes and sh500 off-net minutes. Talk of savings.
#38 Posted : Wednesday, October 24, 2012 3:12:11 PM

kenmac wrote:

100 offnet minutes,

100 mb etc.

True, Postpay1000 is a good idea. For sh1000 you get sh3600 worth on-net minutes and sh500 off-net minutes. Talk of savings.

Threw my away in river nyando, you end up talking for more and you end up bursting your limit.
#39 Posted : Wednesday, October 24, 2012 3:20:17 PM

kenmac wrote:

100 offnet minutes,

100 mb etc.

Threw my away in river nyando, you end up talking for more and you end up bursting your limit.

Mambo ni kuchukua control.
mungaits
#40 Posted : Wednesday, October 24, 2012 8:12:58 PM

Very true, this is the tariff ya nguvu. I have accumulated over 4,000 minutes! I wish there was a way of sambazaing or selling the minutes.