wazua Sun, Feb 2, 2025

now in the promised land!!!
nanfor
#21 Posted : Thursday, March 19, 2009 9:44:00 AM

thanks Sasha,

I just get tired hearing advice from people who have never done it.

The biggest crime you can ever do to yourself is failing to start. You are told to go get an education. Good idea but it means you never start. If you waste time thinking,planning,reading,re-planning and geting fired up,YOU WILL NEVER START.

Let me give you the reasons I have been given for not starting any of my passions.

Get enough capital - No one tells you that even the rich do not have enough capital
lack of knowledge - Its like a virgin telling you how good sex is. You really don't know how bad it is until you do it.
Go back to school - To learn from someone who has never run a business
Go to those 'discover your inner you' seminars - If there is something I hate is someone telling me how stupid I am since I don't behave like them. Notice they follow business principles. Their business is to make you listen to crap.
It can never be done - I believe that if you think it cannot be done,it never will be done. however,start and you will find a way to do it.

I don't care what business you start. There is no huge competitor you cannot destroy if you do what you know needs to be done.

Saitoti. I left college,got a job,quit 3 jobs in 2 weeks. It is still a record and my mom went ballistic! Went to shags and rented a pickup to sell nyanyas is marikiti. I was called stupid. I learned those women are sharper than all the people here combined. Bought my own pickup with cash as my classmates had great names such as CEO of something or another.

Rented a farm. Planted some watermelons and got my own ticket to USA. I met a guy shining shoes. We did it together,moved on to buying our own trucks and did it again. All this time,I was told it was impossible and I was doing a stupid business. Now I am back in Kenya and guess what. I still see more money to be made in stupid businesses than the wonderful CEO,loan car,mortgage houses. The women in marikiti you ask? They are more loaded than ever and still have the stalls selling the tomatoes.

Now who's the fool in all this.

Saitoti. Start what you want to do now! This firing up business belongs in 'how to be a millionaire by age 30' books and seminars.

Oh by the way,my classmates are not broke,but they are still firing up and ready to going!
nanfor
#22 Posted : Thursday, March 19, 2009 10:09:00 AM

By the way,as a business tip,you can to go http://emasaa.com

..............I know the two guys are looking for guys to train on internet marketing. Last they told me they had too much work to even manage their site yet cannot find anyone from Kenya to do some of the work they have. They go to the Philipines instead
ngwono
#23 Posted : Thursday, March 19, 2009 1:32:00 PM

@nanfor

You are really sober.I like the words of encouragements you have given to Saitoti.

@all,this is a challange.when things seems to be going the wrong direction and you humbles yourself then you will surely get what you want.Thats what Saitoti has done.

@Saitoti,that was nice,take heed of what you have been tought here and dont proscrastinate

Without Holiness no man shall see God.Dear God,mould me to be a vessel of honour at this End times,to remain Obedient to your Word in all situations.Amen!
eli
#24 Posted : Thursday, March 19, 2009 6:07:00 PM

I hope you've been helped. Right?

But you shall remember the LORD your God,for it is He who is giving you power to make wealth,that He may confirm His covenant which He swore to your fathers,as it is this day. Deu 8:18
mseiya
#25 Posted : Friday, March 20, 2009 11:21:00 PM

@Saitoti

You will make it. You got what it takes. I read in you passion,consistency,persistence,objectivity. Just from the way you have argued your point man. You have really inspired me. Now take the advise given by nanfor and eli and you will make it. Besides this,I will advise,consider some quiet time with your maker. He might just release the idea you need...and may be in a way you dont expect. Keep your eyes,ears open. What works for me may not work for you and v v. ....

@all

Thanks to nanfor and eli for advise. It has helped me too,though employed but not in Kenya(Bermuda). Before I came here people told me I cud never make it here without 3yrs experience....I tried. I made it with 7 months experience(accounting). People have a way of projecting their thoughts of limitation to others... Call it discouraging. But believe still and it will come to be.

One thing though. Lets not put off others. Sometimes stupid ideas will turn wise ideas (depends on whose hands it is)...were it not for saitoti...I would not have become inspired (wiser) today.

GBU

....be it unto me according to your word ohh God!
The market, like the Lord, helps those who help themselves. But, unlike the Lord, the market does not forgive those who know not what they do. - Warren Buffett

MARREX
#26 Posted : Saturday, March 21, 2009 9:00:00 AM

@nanfor........yenyewe,For the first time........Av got sound advice i can believe in frm SK

stocksmaster! am back!
saitoti
#27 Posted : Saturday, March 21, 2009 8:45:00 PM

@ shak,“mobile phone accessories…” you read that straight from my mind. I’ve been thinking of this idea for sometime now but the good thing is that I have already started on it. First of all,I did a market analysis to see the viability of joining the seemingly crowded industry of telephony. I found out there were a lot of people who had expensive phones,could afford to pay for quality repair but,due to the almost total inexistency of professional repairers,they took them to some ill trained fundis who did some trial and error till the phone behaves,albeit for sometime before the cycle starts again. I went to a phone repair training at oracle training institute in Luthuli and cleared within a month. As we speak,I’m drafting my business plan and have started repairing phones for comrades here within the halls of residence in campus. One challenge though,I’m still in the process of acquiring the tools of trade.

Personally,I think the mobile telephony sector is very promising. As I write this,I have in mind softwares,professional repair,accessories(blue tooth range of devices,data cables,screens….).there are endless opportunities and who knows,maybe a another wave is coming up very soon-remember how scratchcard agents,simu ya jamii,china phones,m-pesa come,hit and made some folks good(real good)cash. Let’s do it!

WE ARE ONE UNITED KENYA.
saitoti
#28 Posted : Saturday, March 21, 2009 9:03:00 PM

@ eli,I”ve been helped,really helped. Its been like four years of learning condensed in the discussion. this is the education that's missing in our schooling.Talk of opening one’s mind. you made me realise thatnobody can dim the light which shines from within.

WE ARE ONE UNITED KENYA.
saitoti
#29 Posted : Saturday, March 21, 2009 9:23:00 PM

@ nanfor,like everything else on the path to success,gratitude is a choice. You can choose to wait for some meaningful pleasant situation to arise then feel gratitude in response,or you can choose to be grateful at all times,in all circumstances,and watch as the world conspires to assist you in your path. I choose the latter.
I’m very grateful for your succinct insights and timeless advice.

WE ARE ONE UNITED KENYA.
saitoti
#30 Posted : Saturday, March 21, 2009 9:35:00 PM

by replying to this post,you made me to close both eyes and see with the the other eye.
I'm very grateful.
thanks every one.

WE ARE ONE UNITED KENYA.
KURUTU
#31 Posted : Wednesday, March 25, 2009 10:10:00 AM

@saitoti,you have demonstrated from your brief that you have been one to identify an existing need in the prevailing environment and offer solutions to such identified needs. That is oneof the characteristics of an entrepreneur and which I urge you to continue exploiting. We may offer you suggestions but these notwithstanding,you need to scan your environs and determine that which makes sense there. Seeing that you are stilll in college,the most appropriate biz for you needs to be one within your college to enabel you effectively manage it as well as work on your academics.
georgee
#32 Posted : Wednesday, March 25, 2009 4:00:00 PM

Thanks for the advice to saitoti am actually the guy who wanted to start a matatu

business with 3m and almost everyone discouraged and wondered why other people

are still in it if it's that bad big up to you we need more positive people with heart like you .

I like your phrase 'Just do it' just like nike

GM
kabwato
#33 Posted : Wednesday, March 25, 2009 7:14:00 PM

saitoti i think u have already told us that u HAVE made it so far ... if u made it i primary today on campo u are more that able to achieve even better and more refined ideas dont let go that spirit u had go yes u feel u need some suport but with what u can access ..use it to the maximum .
Seq Lu
#34 Posted : Saturday, March 28, 2009 6:09:00 AM

I was looking for Njung'es shot on this

If a man hasn't discovered anything he can die for,then he is not worth living!
They keep moving the cheese

stolen from opensuse forums :)
Seq Lu
#35 Posted : Saturday, March 28, 2009 6:20:00 AM

Saitoti,

do whateva comes along,I completed Campo last year,with my little savings,i established this water vendor biz in my neighborhood &lt;started with 1 mkokoteni,now got 3&gt;,today I pay rent,my fare to work and meals frm the biz; I've also created job for 3 guys each gets over 300 per day. Try anything,it will work. Currently saving for a mobile phone and accessories shop/stall. Focus

all the best!!

If a man hasn't discovered anything he can die for,then he is not worth living!
They keep moving the cheese

stolen from opensuse forums :)
saitoti
#36 Posted : Sunday, March 29, 2009 7:32:00 PM

@ Xtina,Kurutu,Georgee and Seq Lu,thank you.
You are real Kenyans doing real Things. I’m visualizing Seq Lu doing the water vendor business and on the side running a mobile phone and accessories shop. Meanwhile,Xtina is engaged in,among other businesses,feeding the nation. Your entrepreneurship life stories are awakening and inspiring . Kudos!!!

WE ARE ONE UNITED KENYA.
saitoti
#37 Posted : Sunday, March 29, 2009 7:39:00 PM

@Sanjack,Luxel,Willin2learn and Muchknow-I'm still waiting for your reply,we have some unfinished business: you do remember,right?

WE ARE ONE UNITED KENYA.
saitoti
#38 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2009 6:03:00 AM

I was attending a mindspeak club meeting at nu metro cinemas in westgate on the 7th of February this year. I vividly remember one of the guests,the CEO of Radio Africa Group saying that he was once seeling fax machines and computers in Uganda on the side while being a senior employee of a world wide news agency. By his own words,he made good money from the trade.

I have also witnessed my primary school headmaster start a petrol station from a humble beginning of selling kerosene in soda bottles from some jua kali pump some seven years ago.

As I grew up in my home district,I witnessed some smart people buy large parcels of land,divide them into plots,and sell them after about 2 years making handsome profits.
Over this weekend,I managed to visit Narok. Cabbages that were usually being sold for 5/ were going for not less than 50/. A little research showed that this farmers had taken little advantage of the river in the town to irrigate the vegetables in some shambas they had leased in the area,it must have cost them peanuts considering what they’ll reap after the selling their produce. It’s a case of so many farms,so many owners but so little farmers. BTW,i met a head hunter over the weekend who told me that PWC produces an annual report of employment (best paying jobs,best paying fields,....) that they sell at 2000/ at their offices.

WE ARE ONE UNITED KENYA.
saitoti
#39 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2009 7:21:00 AM

-Please read through to the end,thanks-

As technology seeps down the economy,Kenya is about to witness a rampant growth in content development and provision. With this,there will come a chance for all Kenyans to localise their international experience by working on their money minting ideas and situations. To come up with a business to reckon with,especially if you are in Diaspora,you might need a hand in Kenya. I could,or any other SK member for that matter,be that hand.

It may be that you fly often,or you know someone who does,and you could be importing some real good stuff (neither illegal nor contraband) to Kenya. Think of laptops,digital cameras,camcorders,mobile phones,jewellery,clothing,watches,wines,flashdisks and phone memory cards. Trust me; there is a large market for this. I hear some airlines staff do this and it has handsome returns.

Nobody is so poor that he has nothing to give; nobody is so rich that he has nothing to receive. WE,the Kenyan people,have repeatedly displayed incredible resilience and persistence against sometimes massive odds. In the entrepreneurial bankruptcy of this materialistic society,WE are determined to make a difference. WE say we cannot afford the absurdity of living in a country so rich yet so poor. Remember,this thread was started for the purpose of brainstorming ideas that could be transformed into profitable,sustainable and promising businesses. Stand up and be counted. God bless Kenya.

WE ARE ONE UNITED KENYA.
Pablo
#40 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2009 9:06:00 AM

Boss.

If you can go into agriculture. Start by planting low risk food crops i.e dry foods,beans,peas,etc. You can then move to higher risk(and return crops) e.g tomatoes,cabbages etc. You dont have to own the land lease it. Start with like 5 acres. Your advantage is that youve not yet been brainwashed that people who wear ties are the ones who are doing well.

In another 3 - 5 yrs youll be really far off.

Be greedy when others are fearful,be fearful when others are greedy.