Culture
Understanding dowry terms in intermarriages
Njung'e wrote:This is where i say "Ihii ititumaguo uthoni" ....Simply said,the "uncircumspected" are not to be sent to dowry negotiations....Literally... and i do not mean any offence or disrespect pliz!......First,Gachie is almost in the middle of Nairobi.Why pray would you want to take goats to your in-laws who live in the city?Here,common sense should have prevailed.Second,the Agikuyu dowry laws allow for part payment and the rest can be done in instalments,thus 10 goats would have sufficed and the remaining 30 paid over a life time.Third and most important,estimates for goats given here are for those sourced from Kia-Maiko.....The Agikuyu (And i know it also happens to many other communities) have a different benchmark for pricing of "animals of blood" (Indo cia thakame).........At current a goat wouldn't be more than Kshs 1500. And so it's easy.Kshs 60,000.00 was probably the asking price and an initial 15K would have been good enough......You blew it for your friend . ...at first i believed that we did not have any real kiuks here when i was reading the posts on this, until you came in. ...tell them @ guka, and i am quite sure they were told "ciunagwo rukomo kimenyi akamenya ikiunwo"...a normal agikuyu dowry goat actually costs much less than ksh 1000...i really dont understand why the boy was told pay 40 and not the normal 200... @essyk...your friends inlaws to be did not want live goats...if they did he would have been told to take one or two...they should have asked which "type" of goats they were being asked to deliver... ...besides, the presence of a safe alone does not signify that there is money inside...
cmk wrote:essyk wrote:Quote:This is where i say "Ihii ititumaguo uthoni" You guys don't know Bukunyes well then I have lived among them and calling one a 'Kihii' is an insult of the highest degree. The groom party didn't consist of 'ihiis' They are fully grown ndurumes you are yet to get the point??ask njung'e to translate for you..kihii here means unexperienced Haiyaa.I have in all my years known it means 'uncircumspected'. kihii> without exp?? ok. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
essyk wrote:Quote:This is where i say "Ihii ititumaguo uthoni" You guys don't know Bukunyes well then I have lived among them and calling one a 'Kihii' is an insult of the highest degree. The groom party didn't consist of 'ihiis' They are fully grown ndurumes @ essyk!!!...seems you don't understand what you are being told... ...besides, the presence of a safe alone does not signify that there is money inside...
Quote:a normal agikuyu dowry goat actually costs much less than ksh 1000..i really dont understand why the boy was told pay 40 and not the normal 200... Can't believe I was discussing the goat size with my friend. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
quote=essyk] Quote:This is where i say "Ihii ititumaguo uthoni" You guys don't know Bukunyes well then I have lived among them and calling one a 'Kihii' is an insult of the highest degree. The groom party didn't consist of 'ihiis' They are fully grown ndurumes[/quote] You took it literally.....In this statement,the word "cicunspect" is in inverted comas with a good reason.....Indeed to be reffered to a 'kihii" does not mean you are uncircumsised.....My grown up sons are my 'Ihiis'....and so am i to my dad....That's a lesson for another day. On the honey part,this has long been replaced by sugar.....and since i find you to be a "good" bargainer,can my son have your daughter pliiiiiZ?? Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
@essyk, some "kihii's" took a beehive to inlaws with bees and honey, they did not understand. Imagine the commotion. Consultation nimuhimu sana. A New Kenya
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
Quote:[Njung'e] Quote: [essyk] Quote:This is where i say "Ihii ititumaguo uthoni" You guys don't know Bukunyes well then I have lived among them and calling one a 'Kihii' is an insult of the highest degree. The groom party didn't consist of 'ihiis' They are fully grown ndurumes You took it literally.....In this statement,the word "cicunspect" is in inverted comas with a good reason.....Indeed to be reffered to a 'kihii" does not mean you are uncircumsised.....My grown up sons are my 'Ihiis'....and so am i to my dad....That's a lesson for another day. On the honey part,this has long been replaced by sugar.....and since i find you to be a "good" bargainer,can my son have your daughter pliiiiiZ?? @essyk don't miss the point here. Some of these expressions should not be taken literally. They're used to just drive a point home. That's why it's inverted comas. You know how wazees talk bana.
Much Know wrote:@essyk, some "kihii's" took a beehive to inlaws with bees and honey, they did not understand. Imagine the commotion. Consultation nimuhimu sana. Asali they were to carry from Bukusu land.That was easy. And Njuge says it's no longer asali but sugar? sasa wameacha mila? Oh God I hope they got it right. @ Njuge,I need to go back % learn 'DEEP mila za kienyeji first before I get myself and others into trouble again. Quote:My grown up sons are my 'Ihiis'....and so am i to my dad.. Eh!! until now I would have taken that as an insult. But I guess its only your dad who can call you that and nobody else lest you take offence? I have 9 daughters.Utalipaa simba hapana mbuzi. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
Njung'e wrote:This is where i say "Ihii ititumaguo uthoni" ....Simply said,the "uncircumspected" are not to be sent to dowry negotiations....Literally... and i do not mean any offence or disrespect pliz!......First,Gachie is almost in the middle of Nairobi.Why pray would you want to take goats to your in-laws who live in the city?Here,common sense should have prevailed.Second,the Agikuyu dowry laws allow for part payment and the rest can be done in instalments,thus 10 goats would have sufficed and the remaining 30 paid over a life time.Third and most important,estimates for goats given here are for those sourced from Kia-Maiko.....The Agikuyu (And i know it also happens to many other communities) have a different benchmark for pricing of "animals of blood" (Indo cia thakame).........At current a goat wouldn't be more than Kshs 1500. And so it's easy.Kshs 60,000.00 was probably the asking price and an initial 15K would have been good enough......You blew it for your friend . I concur with mzee. We also say " ruracio rutithiraga" simply translated, dowry payment never ends. in fact it would be termed rude if you were to clear all your dowry in the first seating even if you had the cash. This would mean that once you get the wench , then mambo ya hiyo family imeishia hapo! Bari itu itagia mburi 100, harika, uki wa athuri (this is beer for the wazee),nyungu cia atumia - cant recall the other items.
nyangao wrote:Njung'e wrote:This is where i say "Ihii ititumaguo uthoni" ....Simply said,the "uncircumspected" are not to be sent to dowry negotiations....Literally... and i do not mean any offence or disrespect pliz!......First,Gachie is almost in the middle of Nairobi.Why pray would you want to take goats to your in-laws who live in the city?Here,common sense should have prevailed.Second,the Agikuyu dowry laws allow for part payment and the rest can be done in instalments,thus 10 goats would have sufficed and the remaining 30 paid over a life time.Third and most important,estimates for goats given here are for those sourced from Kia-Maiko.....The Agikuyu (And i know it also happens to many other communities) have a different benchmark for pricing of "animals of blood" (Indo cia thakame).........At current a goat wouldn't be more than Kshs 1500. And so it's easy.Kshs 60,000.00 was probably the asking price and an initial 15K would have been good enough......You blew it for your friend . I concur with mzee. We also say " ruracio rutithiraga" simply translated, dowry payment never ends. in fact it would be termed rude if you were to clear all your dowry in the first seating even if you had the cash. This would mean that once you get the wench , then mambo ya hiyo family imeishia hapo! Surely lemmie ask this,if this present generation dont know these traditions,meanings and stuff and they are the same people with sons and daughters playing online games,what will happen in future? Traditions will just die. Most Kyuks don't even know these things. They just go 'come we try' to avoid the stress. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
[quote=essyk But I guess its only your dad who can call you that and nobody else lest you take offence? I have 9 daughters.Utalipaa simba hapana mbuzi. [/quote] On the contrary,NO!....My father's agemates will call me a "kihii" any day and there is no offence in that......as long as they have sons and daughters too. Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
its funny that some claims to understand the traditions of the kikuyu, even quoting some deep proverbs and yet they go ahead and say that goats don't represent the real goats but the cash equivalent and the honey represents sugar.
Njung'e wrote: On the contrary,NO!....My father's agemates will call me a "kihii" any day and there is no offence in that......as long as they have sons and daughters too.
I take it to mean that it's offensive 4 a married fellow with no kids to call you a kihii?? Quote:its funny that some claims to understand the traditions of the kikuyu, even quoting some deep proverbs and yet they go ahead and say that goats don't represent the real goats but the cash equivalent and the honey represents sugar. This is where I get discombobulated. I think it's tradition metamorphosising into modern? See why I say Traditions will die? cz years later everything will be done online on Amazon.com. Shop and Cart away and shipping of bride will be done at your doorstep. Talk of door to door. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
nyangao wrote:Njung'e wrote:Why pray would you want to take goats to your in-laws who live in the city?Here,common sense should have prevailed.Second,the Agikuyu dowry laws allow for part payment and the rest can be done in instalments,thus 10 goats would have sufficed and the remaining 30 paid over a life time.....You blew it for your friend . I concur with mzee. We also say " ruracio rutithiraga" simply translated, dowry payment never ends. in fact it would be termed rude if you were to clear all your dowry in the first seating even if you had the cash. This would mean that once you get the wench , then mambo ya hiyo family imeishia hapo! @ESSYK was busy working out commission she would get on each ngoat as well as transport brokerage fees! @Nyangao True dowry is not the selling price but rather the bonding symbol between the two new families of the bride and the groom. Therefore it should never be paid in full all at once as it would demean its purpose. Also there is more respect between the groom and his in-laws when he knows he is still indebted to them. "Never regret, if its good, its wonderful. If its bad, its experience."
nakujua wrote:its funny that some claims to understand the traditions of the kikuyu, even quoting some deep proverbs and yet they go ahead and say that goats don't represent the real goats but the cash equivalent and the honey represents sugar.
kaigangio and i have said that much and as far as i know,where intermarriages are involved,this is acceptable.Think,if you daughter marries a Ghanaian boy,would you expect your in-laws to ship goats and honey from Kumasi? @Essyk, Absolute yes.........It is assumed that they have nothing to show (With due respect to the childless.I should not be viewed as being insensitive pliz ) Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Tebes wrote:@ESSYK was busy working out commission she would get on each ngoat as well as transport brokerage fees! True but trying to help a friend too. @Nyangao True dowry is not the selling price but rather the bonding symbol between the two new families of the bride and the groom. Therefore it should never be paid in full all at once as it would demean its purpose. Also there is more respect between the groom and his in-laws when he knows he is still indebted to them. YOU see why people will NVER stop burying LIVE CALVES? Because the inlaws die before they have received full dowry payment leavin the living with outrageous demands. Pay finish and live in peace without debt. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
Politics made the word 'kihii' be seen as offensive. I remember sometime back when Uhuru was defending Kibaki from ODM attacks and he asked 'Mareciria Kibaki ni kihii kiao?' NTV translated this to mean 'They think Kibaki is uncircumcised?'. This was clearly wrong. I remember wazuans, even the respected older ones who you'd expect to understand and interpret correctly siding with the NTV mistranslation. The other misunderstood word is 'nyukwa'.
Lolest! wrote:Politics made the word 'kihii' be seen as offensive. I remember sometime back when Uhuru was defending Kibaki from ODM attacks and he asked 'Mareciria Kibaki ni kihii kiao?' NTV translated this to mean 'They think Kibaki is uncircumcised?'. This was clearly wrong. I remember wazuans, even the respected older ones who you'd expect to understand and interpret correctly siding with the NTV mistranslation.
The other misunderstood word is 'nyukwa'. this means something nasty.I just dont know what. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
essyk wrote: Surely lemmie ask this,if this present generation dont know these traditions,meanings and stuff and they are the same people with sons and daughters playing online games,what will happen in future? Traditions will just die.
Some traditions should just be allowed to die. Bride price paying belongs to the same group as FGM.
Culture
Understanding dowry terms in intermarriages