Culture
a crime to hike house rents!!!??.....Githae the pig.
@Kaigz, relax... The govt wants to tax you but it allows you to claim related expenses! Get yourself a tax consultant to advise you on the expenses that you can claim. If after this you find the tax burden too heavy, then you may increase the rents. It's your property. Move to court if anyone stops you. But you must respect the provisions of the lease agreement you have with your tenant. You should not hike the rents mid-term but instead wait for the expiry of the leases before increasing the rents. You don't want litigation at this time, do you? Also see http://wazua.co.ke/forum...&m=290432#post290432
Kaigangio wrote:i really don't quite understand what this fellow pig minister githae had smoked when he declared that it will an offence to raise the house rents....just because he will make the landlords pay taxes....bloody bure kabisa!!!! see the link:
haiyaa, kaigz ni MP!!
http://www.nation.co.ke/...46/-/nnthvy/-/index.htmlNothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Aha.I am beginning to understand it all so well. Kaigangio you are but a tax evader!! Other landlords have been paying tax and have no reason to raise a storm over this. Now I expect all landlords to be aware of these taxes at the time of construction so why are you acting like you are getting to know it now? You ought to have adjusted your rent before renting us your houses so don't pass it on me because I did not know and why ? cz I didn't build! See we rent because we don't have the money to build so stop making it look like we tenants are the ones having a ball and you the sufferer!. You went into construction because you had the money to invest and repay! why the cries now? Am still selling my kaimatis to be able to build my own.Stop the comparison. Infact I believe every landlord that goes about increasing rent should be jailed because it means they have been evading it for years. So who do we complain to ? where should we report the kaigagios before they show on up our doorsteps? Haki yetu. silipi na sihami. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
alma wrote:@kaigangio I do feel for you but I guess we are having a failure to communicate.
VAT is a tax that is SUPPOSED to be passed on to the consumer. If you don't buy goods or services, then you won't pay that tax.
Rental income is not new. It has been in Kenya since independence. So there has been no tax increase.
It's just that you have not been paying it, hence evading taxes, hence a criminal if proven in a court of law.
Kaigangio its ok for you to increase your rents. But I would hazard to guess that these aren't the days of harassing tenants with auctioneers.
So therein lies the warning from Githae. They haven't completed gathering info on who should pay income tax. But I'm guessing if you increase your rents now, your tenants will complain and KRA will surely know.
Lipa ushuru jameni. If you increase rents some guys will stay other may leave. Lakini ushuru ripa! you see alma tax in kenya is tax irrespective of its nature...the fact that i was not paying did not make me an evader, reason being that if KRA had made it mandatory and enforced it to the letter all of us would pay..these KRA is very thorough at following taxpayers...why didn't they in my case??? there is no problem...ushuru nitalipa lakini rent nitaongeza...i do not have to suffer to please the tenant or githae!!! there are many options... ...besides, the presence of a safe alone does not signify that there is money inside...
Lolest! wrote:Kaigangio wrote:i really don't quite understand what this fellow pig minister githae had smoked when he declared that it will an offence to raise the house rents....just because he will make the landlords pay taxes....bloody bure kabisa!!!! see the link:
haiyaa, kaigz ni MP!! no way!!i am not an mpig and i have never wished...but i pride myself in being the receptionist, secretary, accountant, general manager, director, CEO and board chaiman of Kaigangio Property Management Limited (KPML). ...besides, the presence of a safe alone does not signify that there is money inside...
Kaigangio wrote: tax in kenya is tax irrespective of its nature...the fact that i was not paying did not make me an evader, reason being that if KRA had made it mandatory and enforced it to the letter all of us would pay..these KRA is very thorough at following taxpayers...why didn't they in my case???
aaiiiiii??? sasa Kaigangio how can you argue like that?surely are we donkeys that must be beaten before we move? where is your Conscience? It's even better to say you were not aware but ignorance is no defence. Your case is worse now.You knew but were waiting for a beating! You shouldn't complain because umekulakula for a while.Time to pay. Sincerely, if I were you I think I would be left with no option but to share it with tenants but again that is not fair on them because it's not their fault but yours! You caused it! So its okay to assume that landlords who will not hike rents were the law abiding ones while those who do are the evaders. Washtakiwe "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
I think Githae cleverly played us. Have you realised that in addition to increasing rent he added VAT on essential commodities like food and also electricity meaning the cost of production will also go up? BBI will solve it :)
Lolest! wrote:Kaigangio wrote:i really don't quite understand what this fellow pig minister githae had smoked when he declared that it will an offence to raise the house rents....just because he will make the landlords pay taxes....bloody bure kabisa!!!! see the link:
haiyaa, kaigz ni MP!! Current Kieni MP, Nemesiuos Warugongo, of the mchidi fame. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
essyk wrote:Aha.I am beginning to understand it all so well. Kaigangio you are but a tax evader!! Other landlords have been paying tax and have no reason to raise a storm over this. Now I expect all landlords to be aware of these taxes at the time of construction so why are you acting like you are getting to know it now? You ought to have adjusted your rent before renting us your houses so don't pass it on me because I did not know and why ? cz I didn't build! See we rent because we don't have the money to build so stop making it look like we tenants are the ones having a ball and you the sufferer!. You went into construction because you had the money to invest and repay! why the cries now? Am still selling my kaimatis to be able to build my own.Stop the comparison. Infact I believe every landlord that goes about increasing rent should be jailed because it means they have been evading it for years. So who do we complain to ? where should we report the kaigagios before they show on up our doorsteps? Haki yetu. silipi na sihami. hey!! go easy on me...i only exploited a loophole that existed due to KRA's is it laxity or non-interest on this, just like any ordinary or average Kenyan does. However, before you take me to court just ask yourself what kind of lease you signed with me because as far as i remember ours was monthly (very sad)...so i don't think i will expect any trouble from you when i increase the rent... i am also grand that you own a side business of making and selling kaimatis...mine was a full biz selling eggs and i sold even those of "ngware" to construct... all in all guys, like i said before all of you tenants become irrelevant once ceasar collects his dues!!! just you wait essyk and you will tell me...it is a matter of time... ...besides, the presence of a safe alone does not signify that there is money inside...
2012 wrote:I think Githae cleverly played us. Have you realised that in addition to increasing rent he added VAT on essential commodities like food and also electricity meaning the cost of production will also go up? phew!! believe me, nobody will go after the farmers, supermarkets or even the KPLC for increasing the costs of their products...but everybody is after the poor landlords neck ...besides, the presence of a safe alone does not signify that there is money inside...
2012 wrote:I think Githae cleverly played us. Have you realised that in addition to increasing rent he added VAT on essential commodities like food and also electricity meaning the cost of production will also go up? In addition he sneaked something on phombe. From now the prices will be reviewed every 3 months and the tax will be applied at the consumption point and not at the production point. It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt... -Mark Twain
Kaigangio wrote: you see alma tax in kenya is tax irrespective of its nature...the fact that i was not paying did not make me an evader, reason being that if KRA had made it mandatory and enforced it to the letter all of us would pay..these KRA is very thorough at following taxpayers...why didn't they in my case???
@kaigz, you and dozens of other real estate investors are tax evaders! It has always been mandatory and KRA annual return forms even have a section on rental income! You should thank govt if it doesn't ask you to pay all arrears plus penalties!!
Impunity wrote:Lolest! wrote:Kaigangio wrote:i really don't quite understand what this fellow pig minister githae had smoked when he declared that it will an offence to raise the house rents....just because he will make the landlords pay taxes....bloody bure kabisa!!!! see the link:
haiyaa, kaigz ni MP!! Current Kieni MP, Nemesiuos Warugongo, of the mchidi fame. @ impunity are you saing that: N.Warugongo = kaigangio X...besides, the presence of a safe alone does not signify that there is money inside...
Rents have always been increased over the years. It will be hard to tell any court that rent is being increased due to the taxes. Landlords will not have a problem paying taxes if mapping is enforced. The problem is, the tenants will be the conduit used to ensure the landlord doesn't suffer reduced net income as a result. That, sadly, is the fact to @essyk, @alma, et al. Luck is when Preparation meets Opportunity. ~ Lucius Annaeus Seneca
Jus Blazin wrote:Rents have always been increased over the years. It will be hard to tell any court that rent is being increased due to the taxes. Landlords will not have a problem paying taxes if mapping is enforced. The problem is, the tenants will be the conduit used to ensure the landlord doesn't suffer reduced net income as a result. That, sadly, is the fact to @essyk, @alma, et al. thanks jus blazing...that is what i have been trying to tell them tenants but could not have put it in a better way... ...besides, the presence of a safe alone does not signify that there is money inside...
Rank: Member Joined: 11/8/2011 Posts: 482 Location: Nairobi
Kaigangio wrote:Jus Blazin wrote:Rents have always been increased over the years. It will be hard to tell any court that rent is being increased due to the taxes. Landlords will not have a problem paying taxes if mapping is enforced. The problem is, the tenants will be the conduit used to ensure the landlord doesn't suffer reduced net income as a result. That, sadly, is the fact to @essyk, @alma, et al. thanks jus blazing...that is what i have been trying to tell them tenants but could not have put it in a better way... Tenants, Ati you will go to Court? If you cannot meet, the 30% increase, where to you get money to pay the lawyer, Court Filling Fees, etc.? At the end of it 'Willing Buyer, Willing Seller'? Just relocate, instead of calling us tax evaders, na uko kwa mali ya wenyewe!
Kaigangio & manyala, please hurumia wanjiku, her salary is still the same....
Manyala wrote:Kaigangio wrote:Jus Blazin wrote:Rents have always been increased over the years. It will be hard to tell any court that rent is being increased due to the taxes. Landlords will not have a problem paying taxes if mapping is enforced. The problem is, the tenants will be the conduit used to ensure the landlord doesn't suffer reduced net income as a result. That, sadly, is the fact to @essyk, @alma, et al. thanks jus blazing...that is what i have been trying to tell them tenants but could not have put it in a better way... Tenants, Ati you will go to Court? If you cannot meet, the 30% increase, where to you get money to pay the lawyer, Court Filling Fees, etc.? At the end of it 'Willing Buyer, Willing Seller'? Just relocate, instead of calling us tax evaders, na uko kwa mali ya wenyewe! manyala wacha masarau! Most of you Landlords are poorer than us tenants .Servicing loans worth millions is no mean task,but shauri yenyuSi unaona kaigangio was begging us 'tenants to do a harambee for his family's upkeep cz debts are driving him crazy. We have Atwoli on our side. Besides we don't need individual lawyers. Team work will do. Nyinyi landlords ndio mutahama!"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
YesuWangu wrote:Kaigangio & manyala, please hurumia wanjiku, her salary is still the same.... after the treatment they are planning to give us...that is taking us to court??? an the property that they are enjoying is mine?? @yesu...we only charge wanjikus kitu kidogo for keeping or storing their goods and ware in our property, but others like cooking, washing, sleeping and parking in the property are absolutely FREE....on a serious note where else can you receive such generosity? i am not going to hurumia anybody...kwanza essyk will be the first to leave my property...eviction if necessary... @ manyara...what you say??? utahurumia wanjiku??? ...besides, the presence of a safe alone does not signify that there is money inside...
Culture
a crime to hike house rents!!!??.....Githae the pig.