wazua Wed, Jul 23, 2025

KPA Board
#21 Posted : Friday, May 04, 2012 1:12:22 AM

75% go to <10% of the tribes in kenya!! hapo iko sida mingi sana!! najua watu husema tunaomba serikali lakini hata nyinyi mnaona hata serikali inafaa "iingilie kati"!!
#22 Posted : Friday, May 04, 2012 2:15:33 PM

Equal representation of all tribes in all sectors. Is this really possible. What if we said that the tyre businesses and panel beating businesses are dominated by people from certain tribes. What are we to do about this??

The road between Gilgil and Nyahururu is full of private schools. I am sure most of the students there are from a certain tribe. These kids have for years been unequally populating our public and private universities. A B.com class at the University of Nairobi does not have an equal representation of our tribes. PwCs and Deloittes and KPMGs don't have equal representation of tribes.

So what are we to do??? Iko Chida!!

#23 Posted : Friday, May 04, 2012 3:13:26 PM

If we were to balance jobs by tribes, will we get the right people? I don't think so. I contract for a multinational where everybody is employed on merit and guess what? Believe it or not 76% of the work force is made up of two tribes and 85% is made up of three tribes. Is it making profits you'd ask, yes, figures you can't even guess.

#24 Posted : Friday, May 04, 2012 3:26:50 PM

It was only a matter of time before the see no evil, hear no evil brigade showed up on the thread!
QW25091985
#25 Posted : Friday, May 04, 2012 3:45:38 PM

Equal representation of all tribes in all sectors. Is this really possible. What if we said that the tyre businesses and panel beating businesses are dominated by people from certain tribes. What are we to do about this??

The road between Gilgil and Nyahururu is full of private schools. I am sure most of the students there are from a certain tribe. These kids have for years been unequally populating our public and private universities. A B.com class at the University of Nairobi does not have an equal representation of our tribes. PwCs and Deloittes and KPMGs don't have equal representation of tribes.

funny how you can compare kpa to PwCs and Deloittes and KPMGs. KPA is a national organization i mean it deals with stuff that's of national interest and its just right that we have regional balance in the board .i think there's also something ion the new Constitution that calls for sharing of the national cake fairly .
but for kimunya's case is just plain tribalism.
QD
#26 Posted : Friday, May 04, 2012 3:55:49 PM

Seems you are missing the bigger picture here. All of your comparisons are private entities not goverment parastatals that should have equal/near fair representation.
The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts while the stupid ones are full of confidence
kollabo
#27 Posted : Friday, May 04, 2012 4:16:36 PM

Utterly simplistic view. We are talking about a government that represents 38 million Kenyans.
#28 Posted : Friday, May 04, 2012 5:07:26 PM

kusadikika katika kuchangia kwa mada hii haujasadikika ki mawazo.
#29 Posted : Friday, May 04, 2012 6:29:47 PM

The PS Medical services added more drama when she said ' their are no shejes in NHIF'
#30 Posted : Friday, May 04, 2012 6:58:43 PM

When will we start evaluating people according to their expertise instead of tribes or regional balance? Is it the tribe that receives the salary? Who has ever gone to a hospital in pain and asked for a doc from their tribe?
wal6807
#31 Posted : Thursday, May 10, 2012 3:26:00 PM

parastatal jobs are valued for the prestige not for the actual they are supposed to accomplish. You can be sure its not the "work" people are crying for .
"Children today are tyrants. They contradict their parents, gobble their food, and tyrannize their teachers."
•Socrates (470?-399 BC)
#32 Posted : Thursday, May 10, 2012 3:46:44 PM

vinii wrote:
The PS Medical services added more drama when she said ' their are no shejes in NHIF'

That is what coalition politics (siasa ya nusu mkate) is all about. My ministry, my parastatals and my people, your ministry, your parastatals and your people. Take care of your people and I take care of mine. Kimunya, Nyongo, Ngilu and others are no exception
waza wazua
#33 Posted : Thursday, May 10, 2012 4:40:19 PM

FundamentAli wrote:
vinii wrote:

That is what coalition politics (siasa ya nusu mkate) is all about. My ministry, my parastatals and my people, your ministry, your parastatals and your people. Take care of your people and I take care of mine. Kimunya, Nyongo, Ngilu and others are no exception

Got some proof?
#34 Posted : Thursday, May 10, 2012 5:27:45 PM

When will we start evaluating people according to their expertise instead of tribes or regional balance? Is it the tribe that receives the salary? Who has ever gone to a hospital in pain and asked for a doc from their tribe?

Do you have actual proof showing that Kimunya's tribal appointees are the best qualified to lead the perenially under achieving KPA.

We can see the tribal angle very clearly, why don't you now demonstrate their superior quals. Ama its in their second names.
#35 Posted : Thursday, May 10, 2012 5:30:11 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Do you have actual proof showing that Kimunya's tribal appointees are the best qualified to lead the perenially under achieving KPA.

We can see the tribal angle very clearly, why don't you now demonstrate their superior quals. Ama its in their second names.

Why are we not asking about their qualifications but tribe? When will we start asking the important question? I dont think the tribe is what works but the brain. Who goes to a hospital and ask how many pokomos work here?
#36 Posted : Thursday, May 10, 2012 10:59:39 PM

@muchr we are following the law, dont be petty with qualifications. a state institution shall not have > 30% employees from the same tribe. bas case closed
#37 Posted : Friday, May 11, 2012 7:21:17 AM

I am sure you will not be speaking like this if you were from a minority community.
#38 Posted : Friday, May 11, 2012 7:49:58 AM

kyt wrote:
@muchr we are following the law, dont be petty with qualifications. a state institution shall not have > 30% employees from the same tribe. bas case closed

That law is not practical because it brings about discrimination. Will we fire doctors at KNH to ensure that the 42 tribes are represented? It so happens that those who aspire to be doctors are from about 5 tribes...what about the other 37? Qualifications is what matters this tribal balance bla bla is just nonsense. Then it gets worse when they start profiling the villages that one came from and where they got married...nkt!!!
#39 Posted : Friday, May 11, 2012 8:54:51 AM

kyt wrote:

That law is not practical because it brings about discrimination. Will we fire doctors at KNH to ensure that the 42 tribes are represented? It so happens that those who aspire to be doctors are from about 5 tribes...what about the other 37? Qualifications is what matters this tribal balance bla bla is just nonsense. Then it gets worse when they start profiling the villages that one came from and where they got married...nkt!!!

....for now it could be non sense....until....
#40 Posted : Friday, May 11, 2012 11:11:26 AM

IMO, the drafters of the constitution were very well meaning in imputing the 30% rule on public appointments. However, there was no mention of merit nor practicality of its implementation. For instance if we profiled the universities enrollment today, I guess 5 tribes will dominate 85% of the places. Secondly, if we were look at the relative economic (read GDP) contribution of the tribes then we'd see a similar correlation. the top 5 would dominate again.

I submit, that this balancing act is a fallacy as it assumes that the tribe benefits from the appointment of one man or woman from its own. @Machr, the salary goes to the individual. So it is only the competition at the highest level (political elites) that fuels this pugnacious feeling that ethnic appointments are necessarily beneficial to the entire ethnic group.

That said, it is imperative that we correct what went wrong, by giving opportunities for advancement to the so called "marginalzed" groups so that 20 year from today the debate about appointment revolves around merit and not ethnicity. These opportunities may come in form of subsidized education and affirmative action to ensure that the groups that feel left out have an opportunity to catch up and not mere ethnic elites/chieftains who benefit in the name of entire groups.