6 Pages<1234>»
SAfcon Have done it. No more unlimited internet
alustaadh
#21 Posted : Thursday, May 03, 2012 6:49:46 AM

slickyoz wrote:
QW25091985 wrote:
i heard bob collymore is now called bob con me more . lol

He..heLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

No. It is BOB not so COoL anY MORE
It is humiliating to be associated with thieves and murderers.
Ash Ock
#22 Posted : Thursday, May 03, 2012 7:41:48 AM

Actually, the decision to ban the unlimited packages was smart, from a company point of view.

What will happen is this; the heavy downloaders will complain and ditch Safcon, leaving only the “normal” users, those who just want to use email, Facebook, twitter, etc, using low volumes on internet enabled phones which for Safcon are more profitable.

The heavy users, who need unlimited for massive downloads, will gnash their teeth and move to either Orange or Airtel, leading to these two companies shouldering the burden of the heavy downloaders. The normal user on Safcon couldn’t care less about the demise of the unlimited packages as they never use them. In any case, as in all ISP’s worldwide, the heavy users are only a tiny fraction of the total yet in terms of bandwidth usage, they consume a sizable proportion which is not profitable for the companies (that’s why capping came into play). That is what Safcon ditched, the loss making users.

Take me as an example. I ran to Airtel as soon as the announcement was made. My missus remains as happy as can be on Safcon with her monthly bundles, making Safcon’s Collymore happy.
Sent from my Black Nokia 3310
Lucid_Iam
#23 Posted : Thursday, May 03, 2012 7:49:31 AM

I couldn't agree more @Ash Ock
#24 Posted : Thursday, May 03, 2012 8:50:09 AM

alustaadh wrote:
slickyoz wrote:
QW25091985 wrote:

He..heLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

ama bob connymore
#25 Posted : Thursday, May 03, 2012 8:53:56 AM

alustaadh wrote:
slickyoz wrote:
QW25091985 wrote:

ama bob connymore
mapengo
#26 Posted : Thursday, May 03, 2012 11:33:40 AM

There are softwares called packet analysers that i bet Scom could have used to tame the guys who do 35GB download perday.... just slash the bandwith to half for that specific dude or block his activity. Zuku have done it and it seems to be working well for them..... Removing Un-limited is not the best Option
#27 Posted : Thursday, May 03, 2012 1:10:08 PM

Ash Ock wrote:
Actually, the decision to ban the unlimited packages was smart, from a company point of view.

What will happen is this; the heavy downloaders will complain and ditch Safcon, leaving only the “normal” users, those who just want to use email, Facebook, twitter, etc, using low volumes on internet enabled phones which for Safcon are more profitable.

The heavy users, who need unlimited for massive downloads, will gnash their teeth and move to either Orange or Airtel, leading to these two companies shouldering the burden of the heavy downloaders. The normal user on Safcon couldn’t care less about the demise of the unlimited packages as they never use them. In any case, as in all ISP’s worldwide, the heavy users are only a tiny fraction of the total yet in terms of bandwidth usage, they consume a sizable proportion which is not profitable for the companies (that’s why capping came into play). That is what Safcon ditched, the loss making users.

Take me as an example. I ran to Airtel as soon as the announcement was made. My missus remains as happy as can be on Safcon with her monthly bundles, making Safcon’s Collymore happy.

That might work for ISPs who charge monthly - but in case of safaricon if they only remain with the guys who do not use internet much, that will mean fewer purchased bundles thus less income.
Plus its not as if the extra bandwith will make more money for safcon, they need it utilized to the maximum, I am sure they buy that bandwith from somewhere
Ash Ock
#28 Posted : Thursday, May 03, 2012 4:29:06 PM

That might work for ISPs who charge monthly - but in case of safaricon if they only remain with the guys who do not use internet much, that will mean fewer purchased bundles thus less income.
Plus its not as if the extra bandwith will make more money for safcon, they need it utilized to the maximum, I am sure they buy that bandwith from somewhere

That's a wrong assumption.

For example, take an unlimited package of (to keeps things simple) 100/- per week unlimited.

Then take a bundle price of 100/- for 3GB valid for 30 days.

The unlimited user then goes to download 30GB in one week while the bundle user can only download max 3GB in the same week.

What's the per MB revenue from each user vs. the cost of providing the bandwidth? The heavy unlimited user's per MB revenue stunk and that's why Safcon bailed out and left Airtel / Orange to serve them.
Sent from my Black Nokia 3310
QW25091985
#29 Posted : Thursday, May 03, 2012 5:18:24 PM

I really donot get it . we have Orange and Airtel offering cheaper truly UNLIMITED Internet and people still go to safaricm to be caped on their bandwidth . Does it really make any sense ?

I hope the two orange and airtel harness this opportunity and rack in more customers .
seeker*
#30 Posted : Thursday, May 03, 2012 9:56:10 PM

Ash Ock wrote:

Its nothing personal,just business and safaricom is not an NGO!
Don't fight a battle if you gain nothing by winning.” Erwin Rommel
When I was a child, I spoke like a child, thought like a child, and reasoned like a child. When I became an adult, I no longer used childish ways.
#31 Posted : Friday, May 04, 2012 10:22:35 AM

Guys guys guys!!! No need to be emotional. Safcom made a very intelligent business decision. According to statistics 1% of Safcom users were using 70% of the bandwidth leaving only 30% for the other 99%. Most of them were on unlimited!

Safcom had better piss off 1% of their customer and have a very happy 99% - and save on bandwidth usage at the same time. Talk of killing two birds with one stone.

As @Ash Ock said, most of these unlimited subscribers are a total loss. Downloading 30GB at 1,000/= ni hasara tupu. "Normal" users [who form 99% of the clientele] would pay 20,000/= for the same and be happy because the network is now faster!

NB: I am not a Safcom employee but I can see their business sense.
#32 Posted : Friday, May 04, 2012 11:12:19 AM

i thought with the entry of the fiber, internet was supposed to be cheap, dirt cheap. what happened 4yrs later?
#33 Posted : Friday, May 04, 2012 12:09:21 PM

Guys guys guys!!! No need to be emotional. Safcom made a very intelligent business decision. According to statistics 1% of Safcom users were using 70% of the bandwidth leaving only 30% for the other 99%. Most of them were on unlimited!

Safcom had better piss off 1% of their customer and have a very happy 99% - and save on bandwidth usage at the same time. Talk of killing two birds with one stone.

I use 200MB per month at a cost of 250 normal usage but whenever I want to download you-tube clips, pdf books, music and videos surely I will need unlimited bundle!
#34 Posted : Friday, May 04, 2012 12:15:39 PM

What safcom did makes perfect business sense for me!!!
#35 Posted : Friday, May 04, 2012 3:03:11 PM

Tebes wrote:

I use 200MB per month at a cost of 250 normal usage but whenever I want to download you-tube clips, pdf books, music and videos surely I will need unlimited bundle!

I understand. And unfortunately you are an "innocent" bystanders.

Guess what you are going to do. You are going to stick with Safcom and when you want to download, you do it on Orange or Airtel [hence clogging those networks with other downloaders] and then come back to Safcom for your hustle free "normal" browsing. It will even get worse for those networks with "unlimited" offers because with time people will start batching their downloads. You simply identify all the books, videos, movies, youtube clips/lectures etc you want to download over a given period of time and then get yourself "unlimited" and leave you machine on 24/7 downloading for a couple of days. Guess what that will do to these networks and their speeds. Eventually most people will be on Safcom - for normal everyday surfing and switch to Orange/Airtel for the occasional bandwidth hogging, loss making [extremely low cost per mb ratio] downloading. Guess who will be laughing all the way to the bank!
#36 Posted : Friday, May 04, 2012 3:20:13 PM

What safcom did makes perfect business sense for me!!!

I don't know why things that are obvious in normal life all over sudden become "complicated" when people decide to make them so.

If I had a restaurant where you could pay kawaida and be served depending on your money or you can also pay a fixed amount for an all you can eat buffet [unlimited bundle] I would of course analyze the situation from a business point of view.

If I realize the "unlimited" customers form 1% of my clientele and actually eat 70% of the food and in the process only pay 1/20th [5%] per unit of food compared to the "normal" customers, guess what? The "all you can eat" buffet [unlimited bundle] is gone. Let me be left with 99% of my customers who I can now actually afford to serve larger portions and still make MORE PROFIT. 1% of my customers are mad as hell, 99% of my customers are happier than they were earlier, and am also happy. It is a no brainer really!!!
#37 Posted : Friday, May 04, 2012 3:29:35 PM

kyt wrote:
i thought with the entry of the fiber, internet was supposed to be cheap, dirt cheap. what happened 4yrs later?

Internet costs have gone down by a HUGE margin. In the office for example, we have 4 times the bandwidth we had four years ago and we are paying less than half what we were paying back then. Do the math.

Obviously in most cases, Kenyans would want the cost to go down to zero!

These companies have to recoup the capital investment before passing all the benefits to the customers. And even then, they don't have to. As someone said, these businesses are not charitable organizations. If I can make 200% or 300% profit why would I want to reduce it without demand and supply pressures. Small time business people make such profits everyday. Why not me? And in any case, that money is what I will use to bring in new products to the market. Do you think Apple and Microsoft would be where they are if they were "broke" companies borrowing to fund innovations and acquire competitors?

I agree with you though. Prices can still go lower and they will. But we've made great strides!
Allank
#38 Posted : Friday, May 04, 2012 4:10:47 PM

Yap! Yap! Yap! surely BobconMAN has lost it!!. Kwani Fibre optic was 4 what if we cant surf unlimited?. Tunaomba CCK watusaidie
Kama kuoga ni usafi taulo lachafukani?
#39 Posted : Friday, May 04, 2012 4:59:02 PM

Allank wrote:
Yap! Yap! Yap! surely BobconMAN has lost it!!. Kwani Fibre optic was 4 what if we cant surf unlimited?. Tunaomba CCK watusaidie

You are the kind of guys Moi used to tell things like "Safaricom sio ya mama yako!".

This is a liberalized market and Safcom is NOT a monopoly. Vote with your feet. If you can't afford a cab to Westlands, take a matatu [nissan]. If you can't afford that take a Starbus. It doesn't help to yap about how the cab is charging 1,000/= and how the government should ingilia kati and yet there is a starbus with the conductor screaming "Ten bob Westlands". Get into the starbus and let the cab price itself out of the market if it gets to that.

Even with simple things like yoghurt and the like, prices differ tremendously! There is yoghurt from brookside for example, that goes for 270/= for a 500ml pack and yet others are selling the "same" at 80/= and less. Pick the one you want or think is worth it and hit the road!

For things that are monopolized or you are FORCED like NHIF contributions, you can complain. The rest you make a choice.
QW25091985
#40 Posted : Friday, May 04, 2012 5:02:16 PM

Allank wrote:

You are the kind of guys Moi used to tell things like "Safaricom sio ya mama yako!".

This is a liberalized market and Safcom is NOT a monopoly. Vote with your feet. If you can't afford a cab to Westlands, take a matatu [nissan]. If you can't afford that take a Starbus. It doesn't help to yap about how the cab is charging 1,000/= and how the government should ingilia kati and yet there is a starbus with the conductor screaming "Ten bob town". Get into the starbus and let the cab price itself out of the market if it gets to that.

Even with simple things like yoghurt and the like, prices differ tremendously! There is yoghurt from brookside for example, that goes for 270/= for a 500ml pack and yet others are selling the "same" at 80/= and less. Pick the one you want or think is worth it and hit the road!

@ MaichBlack . you are on point ! . i just wonder what people are complaining about . especially on facebook and twitter . it really beyond my understanding.