Q TV
YoungMulla
#21 Posted : Thursday, April 12, 2012 2:18:23 PM

Cardinal wrote:
So unfortunate that E tv won't be available anymore

I will miss Rhythm City and WWE Raw sana

Nation media should have given us at least a one week notice

Q TV is full of manilla soap operas. Can't stand it!!

Applause Very true. Seems like every tv station these days just wants to broadcast naija and bongo movies.Sad

Qtv is just a MAJOR flop for me
Before I die - i will touch the sky!!
#22 Posted : Thursday, April 12, 2012 2:56:44 PM

They include Nigerian, Kenyan and Tanzanian movies and soaps.

Woi! more witchcraft on our screens.Nollywood and these soaps are extremely substandard. Are they offered free?
Hakuna anything like maendeleo wilayani kusaidia youths except silly soaps and nollywood?

'The channel, which takes over what was E-Africa, has adopted its name from NMG’s Kiswahili radio station, QFM. Mr Gitahi said the success realised in the Kiswahili radio ventures had inspired the launch of the TV station.

Why do we always make such assumptions?? And to make it worse,you proceed to offer stale stuff through your latest invention.
Nothing extraordinary or unique to keep us glued?
Now local channels have been left to house helps cz of those soaps and witchcraft

Next watatoa Nation herbal soap cz tv and radio is doing well?
wilyum
#23 Posted : Thursday, April 12, 2012 4:07:26 PM

Bure Kabisa!

Tok of hogwash journalism to now hogwash stations.

Monkey see Monkey do!
#24 Posted : Thursday, April 12, 2012 4:11:37 PM

Ati usiseme Boring, Sema Q tv
#25 Posted : Thursday, April 12, 2012 4:47:06 PM

Ati usiseme Boring, Sema Q tv

They said theirs will be an only Kiswahili station yet they have been beaming Naija and Phillipino movies all night until 10am when I left my house.
Kwani Naija/Phillipino wanaongea kiswahili pia?

#26 Posted : Thursday, April 12, 2012 5:10:36 PM

Kenyan stations and their programming is absolute makaratasi. No wonder Dstv becomes some sort of addiction. You can wake up on a weekend and watch CI, National Geographic, Wild etc and you will not know where the day went - assuming you just wanted to laze around the house. Try that with our local stations!

In the evening it is Mexican, Indian and Philipino crap in the name of soaps interspersed with crappy "talk shows" discussing obvious political & business manenos that don't add any value to your life.

I miss the days of Full House, Boston Legal, ER, Boston High, Friends, Mr. Cooper and the only soap I actually enjoyed, Melrose Place.

But I understand that what we have on our screens is adviced by two things.

1) Those Mexican, Indian and Philipino soaps are dirt cheap compared to (proper) local & Hollywood productions.

2) The Mexican, Indian and Philipino crap are rarely pirated - for whatever reason. Start airing season 1 of a popular series and in a month season 1 to 8 of the same will be available on the streets at 50 bob a piece. And that is what you were planning to air for the next 4 - 8 years!!!
wilyum
#27 Posted : Thursday, April 12, 2012 5:13:37 PM

Maich Black wrote
Kenyan stations and their programming is absolute makaratasi. No wonder Dstv becomes some sort of addiction. You can wake up on a weekend and watch CI, National Geographic, Wild etc and you will not know where the day went - assuming you just wanted to laze around the house. Try that with our local stations!

In the evening it is Mexican, Indian and Philipino crap in the name of soaps interspersed with crappy "talk shows" discussing obvious political & business manenos that don't add any value to your life.

I miss the days of Full House, Boston Legal, ER, Boston High, Friends, Mr. Cooper and the only soap I actually enjoyed, Melrose Place.

But I understand that what we have on our screens is adviced by two things.

1) Those Mexican, Indian and Philipino soaps are dirt cheap compared to (proper) local & Hollywood productions.

2) The Mexican, Indian and Philipino crap are rarely pirated - for whatever reason. Start airing season 1 of a popular series and in a month season 1 to 8 of the same will be available on the streets at 50 bob a piece. And that is what you were planning to air for the next 4 - 8 years!!

ditto!
i better pay the price of dstv than tune in and all i can watch i oga oga or espanyoooooool
#28 Posted : Thursday, April 12, 2012 7:58:16 PM

Mtu Biz wrote:
kingfisher wrote:
how much is it to start a TV station??? am thinking W TV

One of the most innovative tech companies gives startup broadcasters like you a chance to start small... very small.

As Small as $0.00/-

which tech company?
Sandu
#29 Posted : Friday, April 13, 2012 10:04:58 AM

They include Nigerian, Kenyan and Tanzanian movies and soaps.

Woi! more witchcraft on our screens.Nollywood and these soaps are extremely substandard. Are they offered free?
Hakuna anything like maendeleo wilayani kusaidia youths except silly soaps and nollywood?

'The channel, which takes over what was E-Africa, has adopted its name from NMG’s Kiswahili radio station, QFM. Mr Gitahi said the success realised in the Kiswahili radio ventures had inspired the launch of the TV station.

Why do we always make such assumptions?? And to make it worse,you proceed to offer stale stuff through your latest invention.
Nothing extraordinary or unique to keep us glued?
Now local channels have been left to house helps cz of those soaps and witchcraft

Next watatoa Nation herbal soap cz tv and radio is doing well?

Content is the Key thing. How do you expect to get audience with shaky movies and such.
#30 Posted : Friday, April 13, 2012 10:59:54 AM

Sandu wrote:

Content is the Key thing. How do you expect to get audience with shaky movies and such.

Nollywood and spanish soaps appeal to female folks cz they stir up emotions.
They make them cry all the time,relate and feel.
Unfortunately there are more men in urban areas compared to their female counterparts.

Besides,women in rural areas are always busy working not sitting idly to watch tv.

Instead of educating the masses through worthwhile programs and empowering people,they are making the few women live in fantasy world.

That's pushing the country backwards.
#31 Posted : Friday, April 13, 2012 11:29:29 AM

To me, things being broadcast nowadays are of negligible value.

Negligible, till I rarely watch tv. I use the set instead to watch interesting video that I have acquired, borrowed etc.
redondo
#32 Posted : Friday, April 13, 2012 11:29:41 AM

kingfisher wrote:

One market segment that i feel has remained undeserved by free to air channels in Kenya is that of Sports lovers. Yes i know we are all glued to Super Sport for EPL but what if someone served us with soccer from other leagues like the Brazilian league or smaller European leagues plus other sports? I remember KBC airing the Brazilian league in the late 90's. That was quite something

@ kingfisher, andika business plan utafute investors smile
QW25091985
#33 Posted : Friday, April 13, 2012 11:35:24 AM

redondo wrote:
kingfisher wrote:

One market segment that i feel has remained undeserved by free to air channels in Kenya is that of Sports lovers. Yes i know we are all glued to Super Sport for EPL but what if someone served us with soccer from other leagues like the Brazilian league or smaller European leagues plus other sports? I remember KCB airing the Brazilian league in the late 90's. That was quite something

you think getting those broadcasting rights is a joke ?
redondo
#34 Posted : Friday, April 13, 2012 11:56:21 AM

QW25091985 wrote:
redondo wrote:
kingfisher wrote:

One market segment that i feel has remained undeserved by free to air channels in Kenya is that of Sports lovers. Yes i know we are all glued to Super Sport for EPL but what if someone served us with soccer from other leagues like the Brazilian league or smaller European leagues plus other sports? I remember KCB airing the Brazilian league in the late 90's. That was quite something

you think getting those broadcasting rights is a joke ?

@ QW25091985, Quite true. They come at a premium and are scarce as well. I just wish that those who have them would put them to better and more creative use
cattyruth
#35 Posted : Monday, April 16, 2012 12:55:53 PM

QTV should be renamed Cheap TV!! NTV, instead of giving us more variety, you took away so many prgrammes to put this drivel on?? Can't you see that no one is watching now?? And all to beat others who are bringing vernacular stations. By the way, all your movies on NTV are just repeats, repeats, repeats..... is there nothing new about you guys??
#36 Posted : Monday, April 16, 2012 1:31:00 PM

Cardinal wrote:
So unfortunate that E tv won't be available anymore

I will miss Rythm City and WWE Raw sana

Nation media should have given us at least a one week notice

Q TV is full of manilla soap operas. Can't stand it!!

E tv is still there on channel 144 on DSTV. NTV were just rebroadcasting it on their channel just like they do with CNN.
#37 Posted : Monday, April 16, 2012 1:37:54 PM

I used to hate watching movies on Etv. Ads every 5 minutes. Good riddance

Etv is a private SA company and thus relies on ads for revenue. During those commercial breaks they are actually airing SA specific ads (Always, Omo, Royco etc) back home in SA, but because they haven't been paid to air those ads in Kenya, they bring those repetitive facts etc.
#38 Posted : Monday, April 16, 2012 2:35:19 PM

heheh and yesterday I decided to watch one vernacular programme on Q.
Lol is all I can say.From translation to the actors and drama? Ujinga mtupu and village romance by old men.
That is not tv stuff cz standards are lower than high school plays.
mungaits
#39 Posted : Saturday, May 05, 2012 11:45:13 PM

@sandu, do you still do FTA installation?

Am interested.