wazua Wed, Jul 23, 2025

5 Pages<1234>»
New NHIF rates now see wazuans losing Kes,2,000 p.m.
#21 Posted : Thursday, March 29, 2012 3:59:41 PM

I'm so against this thing! Can they force me to pay it?
This is just a bad idea. You can get a very good medical cover for 24k per annum than lining up on a stretcher at KNH. It should be made voluntary!

This to me is an obvious avenue for corruption. What's easier stealing insurance money? If pension money which is refundable at some day is easily stolen what of insurance money which expires almost as soon?

GGK
#22 Posted : Thursday, March 29, 2012 4:19:13 PM

Proposed Benefits

In addition to the current benefits, under the proposed out-patient cover, members will enjoy the following benefits:

=> Prescribed laboratory tests/investigations
=> Drugs/medicines
=> Prescribed X-rays and ultra sound diagnosis
=> Treatment of Sexually Transmitted Infections
=> Treatment, dressing or diagnostic testing
=> Family planning
=> Ante-natal and post-natal care
=> Clinical counseling services
=> Health and wellness education
=> General consultation with GPs

"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
Kirika
#23 Posted : Thursday, March 29, 2012 4:19:56 PM

For me this is daylight robbery !

NHIF should clearly show the extra services i will enjoy by paying an extra Ksh 1,680.

How did they arrive at Ksh 2,000 and not Ksh 5,000 or even 1,000 ?

Wish there was a way i could avoid paying this.

Has COTU filed an appeal ?
wilyum
#24 Posted : Thursday, March 29, 2012 5:04:05 PM

Hii Kenya yetu tuko na sida

They are so quick to say when the deduction should start,bt silence on when i should start enjoying the service.

who is there to stand up for kenyans, and mpigs will be going round giving us lies,yet noone can address this.

Huyu mchamaaa wa KOTU ama inaitwa aje,amepewa nini? ameenda underground on this,hata kwa news,he is nowhere to be found.

#25 Posted : Thursday, March 29, 2012 5:50:56 PM

Brari Bure Kabisa.

Day Light Highway Robbery!!!

Nothing more to say!!!
#26 Posted : Thursday, March 29, 2012 6:01:40 PM

This to me is an obvious avenue for corruption. What's easier stealing insurance money? If pension money which is refundable at some day is easily stolen what of insurance money which expires almost as soon?

You are right. This maybe a quick route to wealth for some guys.

The amounts are just too huge. I am annoyed at the lack of any major benefit accruing to the contributors to this scheme.

Will we then have free health care for all?
#27 Posted : Thursday, March 29, 2012 6:27:47 PM

Robbery!!!.....it's twentetwerof!!!
XSK
#28 Posted : Thursday, March 29, 2012 7:28:56 PM

Doba

Wacha wa kenya wa mapato ya chini pia wafaidike. smile
You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
#29 Posted : Thursday, March 29, 2012 8:17:29 PM

Suppose you have an employer medical scheme which'deduct more or less the same amount?Should one be allowed to discontinue the employer scheme?

#30 Posted : Thursday, March 29, 2012 10:29:46 PM

GGK wrote:
theman192000 wrote:

P.S. if I'm self-employed but make less than 12K per month, what amount am I supposed to remit?

If you are self employed, you pay 500/=irrespective of what you make per month

Very interesting. To me it seems these guys who come up with the formulas try and evade the most convenient methods. Say if they were to like put a structure where a certain contribution for those who are self employed will give you access more services etc...then there would be less public outcry.
Then for those in formal employment these amounts they are proposing should have been gradual say over a period of 5 years to cushion both the employer and the employee. Is it really that hard?

#31 Posted : Friday, March 30, 2012 9:00:12 AM

Kratos wrote:

So, if I'm self employed and I have an employee earning over 100k, he/she will pay 2k while I pay 500/-?

Very interesting indeed.

Dash
#32 Posted : Friday, March 30, 2012 9:23:13 AM

Kratos wrote:

So, if I'm self employed and I have an employee earning over 100k, he/she will pay 2k while I pay 500/-?

Very interesting indeed.

mkeiyd
#33 Posted : Friday, March 30, 2012 9:36:59 AM

madhaquer wrote:
NHIF needs to employ doctors and nurses. Sponsor needy medical students and build hospitals. This is one of those parastatals that lack a development minded vision. They collect billions, the claims are in the millions yet there is nothing much to show for it's excess.

It will be interesting to see how they differentiate the self employed from the unemployed.

They don't have to differentiate.
If you go to them for cover and say you are self-employed, they will just treat you as such.
Why would they bother to know that you are unemployed if you can pay?
madhaquer
#34 Posted : Friday, March 30, 2012 9:37:23 AM

The challenge they have taken on is the free benefit to the unemployed.

How do they prove that a claimant is unemployed ?
How do they prove that a self employed person is not claiming to be unemployed ?
How will they handle the huge number of foreseen 'unemployed claimants' ?

With the 1 month they have given as the effective date, I sure hope they are working very hard in the background to get their act together.
#35 Posted : Friday, March 30, 2012 10:20:34 AM

habari ndio hiyo!!!
#36 Posted : Friday, March 30, 2012 10:36:07 AM

Kratos wrote:

Very interesting indeed.

Thiking outside the mbox.
Imagine Njenga Karume paying 500 while his mboch paying 2000!

mkeiyd
#37 Posted : Friday, March 30, 2012 10:38:58 AM

I think the free access we be to a very low limit,benefit wise. That will make it sensible to pay if you can afford. If you are self-employed and you make loads of cash, then no need for NHIF when you can afford Jubilee/Resolution etc.
kimiri
#38 Posted : Friday, March 30, 2012 11:06:50 AM

I am also quite unhappy with NHIF about this one. Like cotu says, why can’t the government cater for the health needs of the unemployed from the taxes it collects? But perhaps it is not all lost because COTU is planning to block the execution of the new rates pending the hearing and determination of an appeal it is planning to lodge (see link below).
http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/3bbki5z/-/index.html
pariah
#39 Posted : Friday, March 30, 2012 11:17:39 AM

the entire middo crass misses the point, what kind of healthcare do u expect for 350 bob?
theman192000
#40 Posted : Friday, March 30, 2012 11:42:18 AM

FundamentAli wrote:
This is a tax. We cannot ask them what they do with the money just like government tax.

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

Yes we CAN ask the government what they do with our taxes. That is why treasury presents a budget.

During the financial period ending June 2010, NHIF had claims of 3.1 billion from 2.8 million members.

http://www.businessdaily.../-/iim5dfz/-/index.html

At 320/- per member, annual revenues for the same period was 10.75B. Did the balance of 7.65B all go towards salaries and expenses?