wazua Thu, Jan 9, 2025

will wazua survive?
jamplu
#21 Posted : Tuesday, March 27, 2012 8:48:22 AM

Wazua needs moderators not only an administrator.
Secondly some people in wazua need to grow up!
kelele.com
#22 Posted : Tuesday, March 27, 2012 9:00:15 AM

if there is a person who really needs to grow up (Literally) it is this wazuan that resembles Kibaki..hahahahahahaha!

http://t.co/PNm1AL0M
Sina Signature. NKT
For Sport
#23 Posted : Tuesday, March 27, 2012 9:22:17 AM

we have made this site what it is,that's why despite the dissatisfaction we have held on.its just a matter of time if the issues are not addressed members will have nothing to talk about and therefore no reason to log in.slow death.

True that. This total ban on discussing anything politics is silly. The content on the site is generated by users (yes - users). If wazua does not like the content we generate through our debates, perhaps they should change the orientation of the site such that they talk (meaning they research and post content) and we listen (i.e. log in and read).

At this rate, this site will need frequent mbuzi discussions and oil discoveries to sustain traffic.

maichblack wrote:
Whoever heads a particular ministry influences my investments & where I plan to put my money next and I'm not "allowed" to comment? Wazua must be the only Kenyan forum where this reshuffle will not be discussed. And wazuans will be the only group of Kenyans who are expected to assume this did not happen.

reduced to a bunch of ostriches, heads in the sand and all.
wazua
#24 Posted : Tuesday, March 27, 2012 9:24:37 AM

Dear Members,

Thanks to @muganda, @redondo, @Marty, @Robinhood and @jamplu for your contributions on the new rules of engagement.

We encourage everyone in the community to bring forward their view by actually posting a rule that they wish the community members to adhere to. We will collate all the rules and publish the new code of conduct.

The Politics forum and all political discussions will remain suspended until this exercise is concluded.

wazua wrote:
Rule 01. NOT SAYING what one thinks is the truth, before considering your neighbour with strong opposing views.

muganda wrote:
No personal attacks or flaming

Back up your statements; reputable links

NO hateful or tribal slurs.

Don't beat a dead horse (spamming)

Double logins (multiple accounts) are prohibited

redondo wrote:
• Define the crucial issues facing our nation
• Shape the Debate
• Choose the Candidates
• Cast Your Vote

Marty wrote:
Let admin formulate draft rules then presents them to us for review, additions or amendments. Then all of us wil own the rules and anyone who violates them wil be dealt with.

Robinhood wrote:
...further to removing offensive comments, you could also bar the persons posting such for a period of time.

jamplu wrote:
Wazua needs moderators not only an administrator.

The Wazua spirit

Chiizi
#25 Posted : Tuesday, March 27, 2012 9:26:49 AM

Bloody Bure Kabisa!!!

What the hell??? One cannot comment on the "Reshuffle" thread? This ill advised censorship and gagging has gone too far. I don't know what Lady Admin expects to achieve but I think she's way off the mark!

Whoever heads a particular ministry influences my investments & where I plan to put my money next and I'm not "allowed" to comment? Wazua must be the only Kenyan forum where this reshuffle will not be discussed. And wazuans will be the only group of Kenyans who are expected to assume this did not happen.

Just when I think we've hit the bottom, a hole is dug!

...Many years while I was serving my 3 months stint at NYS, Sergeant Githinji used to warn us before we attended the weekly talk by an invited guest...He would tell us..."Magigi dont ask stupid questions like why so and so was detained...ask useful questions like...Nani raisi wa Kenya?, Mvua ya msimu huu ikinyesha tutapanda mbegu gani na maswali ya aina hiyo..." Now go to Mbuzi season 6 and give us a recipe for Kachumbari...That is what Wazua has degenerated into.

Hehehe @Magigi, you also suffered yellowman's enthusiasm in instilling discipline? I can see I was not alone
#26 Posted : Tuesday, March 27, 2012 9:32:00 AM

wazua wrote:
Dear Members,

Thanks to......

We encourage everyone at wazua to bring forward their view by ......

The politics forum and all political discussions will remain suspended until this exercise is concluded.

The Wazua spirit

POLITICAL REPRESSION

Political repression is the persecution of an individual or group for political reasons, particularly for the purpose of restricting or preventing their ability to take political life of society.

Political repression is sometimes used synonymously with the term political discrimination (also known as politicism). It often is manifested through discriminatory policies, such as human rights violations, surveillance abuse, police brutality, imprisonment, involuntary settlement, stripping of citizen's rights, lustration and violent action or terror such as the murder, summary executions, torture, forced disappearance and other extrajudicial punishment of political activists, dissidents, or general population.

Where political repression is sanctioned and organised by the state, it may constitute state terrorism, genocide, politicide or crimes against humanity. Systemic and violent political repression is a typical feature of dictatorships, totalitarian states and similar regimes. In such regimes, acts of political repression may be carried out by secret police forces, army, paramilitary groups or death squads. Relevant activities have also been found within democratic contexts as well.

If political repression is not carried out with the approval of the state, a section of government may still be responsible. An example is the FBI COINTELPRO operations in the United States between 1956 and 1971.

In some states, "repression" can be an official term used in legislation or the names of government institutions. For example, the Soviet Union had a legal policy of repression of political opposition defined in the penal code, and Cuba under Fulgencio Batista had a secret police agency officially named the "Bureau for the Repression of Communist Activities."

Extracted from wikipedia-the free encyclopedia.

Djinn
#27 Posted : Tuesday, March 27, 2012 9:32:25 AM

I agree with Wazua Admin - when discourse takes a tangential course and ends up in the gutter, notwithstanding your constitutional rights, you gotta be muzzled. Wazua is a type of "media" and it is incumbent upon them to moderate discussions. Failing moderation it should take away any platform that certain people may want to use to promote dogmatic/bigoted/narrow minded views. We do not know who is behind every user name - some might want to inappropriately use this as a platform for hatred or propaganda.

Lets all remember the role (some of the) media played in fanning 2007-2008 PEV.

Finally, I am a bit of a dictator as much as a nursery school teacher is - if you abuse your privileges be prepared to have them taken away.

Wazua thumbs up. We need discourse even with dissent...but what we need like a hole in the head is discourse that polarises...
Djinn
#28 Posted : Tuesday, March 27, 2012 9:35:52 AM

@dunkang - nice one but if you do not want to be repressed - go LIVE in public and air your views. In Wazua people will have unfettered views knowing they are behind the comfort of a mouse and computer. They would not say the same inflammatory things in public. But if you do believe in what you say....go out there where it really matters...spread your word, air your views. On Wazua it does not amount ot repression IMHO.
#29 Posted : Tuesday, March 27, 2012 9:38:44 AM

I imagine the website can accommodate the like or dislike buttons?

Such that posts that do not carry favor with a majority of readers can be disliked?

Then a script or something written that when X dislikes are reached for a post or thread the poster is banned automatically for X days or weeks?

And his post also automatically deleted?

Si hiyo ni democracy?
#30 Posted : Tuesday, March 27, 2012 9:53:45 AM

Freedom and responsibilty is key!!!
#31 Posted : Tuesday, March 27, 2012 10:23:47 AM

one day a dog was hungry and decided to look for some food. he game across a barn full of hay and saltlick. since he couldn't eat the hay he decided to sleep in the manger. when the cows and goats came they were warded off with barks, slowly they started dispersing to greener pastuers
#32 Posted : Tuesday, March 27, 2012 10:34:46 AM

YesuWangu wrote:
I am surprised that this is not yet 'Usered', Kenyans love being extreme (wazua admin included) reacting with extremes!! its as if people will not discuss the same else where! In talking people get to know each other and understand one another - this will actually help in sorting out sterotypes. Wazua admin should be a moderator not director! wazua admin is behaving like an ostrich having its head in the sand - that as long as people are not talking on Wazua, Kenya is safe!! Kenyans need to talk what is in their hearts, not talking is dangerous!
some advice to Wazua admin - RESPOND TO ISSUES DON'T REACT TO THEM!

Masukuma, you know you have escaped.

On other matters, maybe those complaining should do instead of talk.

If they want to go they should have gone.

Let us who remain be the ones to talk about them after they have gone.

Yesuwangu, we cannot live like cowards. Lazima Wazua admin ajue kilicho moyoni mwetu. With respect we say - SHE/HE NEEDS TO CHANGE HIS/HER APPROACH TO MATTERS, THE HEAD IN THE SAND APPROACH IS MISGUIDED!
#33 Posted : Tuesday, March 27, 2012 11:03:23 AM

Wazua Admin

Good that you have taken action..Some of those posts were notoriously useless.

FACT: The noisy reprimands you may end up getting are from noisy neighbours whose only contribution is on raunchy debates and political petiness.. so BE FIRM.. NOT upper handed but firm...

Further more..you dont want to take a trip to the hague as not having moderated your users.. Sang' is actually there to serve as an example to all media houses and platforms.
So take care..

but don't be too hard on the children.. let them talk politicks, it drives traffic.. but let them know when it get off the straight and narrow..they will be usered and thread barred from comments

NIMESEMA!!!!1
#34 Posted : Tuesday, March 27, 2012 11:41:00 AM

Citizens of the Virtual Republic of Wazua.

An Executive Decision has been made. No political whatever until further notice. Period.

Can we try to live by that. No whining, moaning, bitching or harassing of the New Administrator(s) is going to change this.

However:

This is our Republic.

Ours.

And no bloody Administrator can tunya us. You (we) have made that absolutely clear to administrator, for we, the citizens make this Republic.

In the next meeting with the New Owners, I believe that the New Administrator(s) will point it out that Citizens will not be pushed. They want back their (our) politics.

That or they shut down.

In the meantime their will be a lot of guerrilla tactical posting of political posts.

Who blinks first?
Legolas
#35 Posted : Tuesday, March 27, 2012 1:58:13 PM

"We realised that where thought leaders hurl profanity and insults at each other, simple-minded folk bear arms and torch property."

nimekaa nikafikiria ati nimeingia wazua alafu kumaliza kucomment nikajam nikakimbia kuchoma nyumba ya mtu. surely admin, wacha kutu compare na watu wanafikiria kaa kuku
Mpenzi
#36 Posted : Tuesday, March 27, 2012 2:07:54 PM

Wazua Admin, stop repressing opinions and debates like the dark old days of Moism!
holycow
#37 Posted : Tuesday, March 27, 2012 2:45:51 PM

Judging by the posts of 2007/2008, Admin is very right to ban politics.
#38 Posted : Tuesday, March 27, 2012 2:52:16 PM

Djinn wrote:
I agree with Wazua Admin - when discourse takes a tangential course ...

speak english boy!!
FancyFace
#39 Posted : Tuesday, March 27, 2012 3:20:34 PM

kingfisher wrote:
Djinn wrote:
I agree with Wazua Admin - when discourse takes a tangential course ...

speak english boy!!

especially that tange.... can't even read it...genital..oops!smile

Problems can get out of proportion, and not only in the wee small hours. Don't let the problems eclipse the Master. Let the Master eclipse the problems.
kollabo
#40 Posted : Tuesday, March 27, 2012 3:51:02 PM

Djinn wrote:
@dunkang - go LIVE in public.....They would not say the same inflammatory things in public.

@Djinn nice observation. Most Wazuans hide behind the anonymity of the internet to post insults and inflammatory comments.

Wazua Admin please be objective. You have never usered vernacular posts (several going on as we speak).

You have never usered those silly, vulgar and idle posts that denigrate women.(in fact some women have been mentioned by name and described in utter obscenity).

You can censor political comments for all I care. But if you still allow the kind of trash I keep seeing here you'll end up with a cheap trash heap.