wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

8 Pages<1234>»
Km/Litre
innovator
#21 Posted : Tuesday, January 03, 2012 5:33:13 PM

I would think no car beats a toyota prius in consuption, with my own experience the car preseves the braking energy in the battery when doing downhill and uses it uphill. An example is driving to nakuru whereby from fryover around kinungi to nakuru you can run on battery alone zero litres and engine off.

I only need 3ltrs to drive from nairobi city centre to limuru and back.
nyari
#22 Posted : Tuesday, January 03, 2012 5:37:15 PM

I'm checking out this site and Subarus seem to be upping their game in terms of fuel efficiency. I think Kenyans are too miffed with Toyotas

http://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/mostViewed.shtml

Wagons
1. 2012 Toyota Prius v
2. 2012 Audi A3
3. 2012 Volkswagen Jetta SportWagen
4. 2012 Subaru Impreza Wagon/Outback Sport AWD
5. 2012 Subaru Outback Wagon AWD
SUV's
1. 2012 Ford Escape Hybrid FWD
2. 2012 Honda CR-V 4WD
3. 2012 Honda CR-V 2WD
4. 2012 Subaru Outback Wagon AWD
5. 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4WD

tuvok
#23 Posted : Wednesday, January 04, 2012 10:33:58 AM

Stats for the 1.4 TDI Polo are quite good.

Also UK (imperial) mpg is not the same as US mpg. I find it easier to do calculations in km/l or l/km
#24 Posted : Wednesday, January 04, 2012 9:11:58 PM

mukiha wrote:
[quote=JkMwatha]Drive barefoot or with your big toe and get 116mpg or 50km/l...

... well, not exactly.

http://www.treehugger.co...ius-to-get-116-mpg.html

Better still, take lessons from this Kibe Kamunyu guy who drove a 2,000cc Alfa Romeo 156 from Westlands to Naivasha on only 1.75L of fuel... 48km/L!!!

He should start an Efficient Driving School...

LINK: http://www.the-star.co.k...-quartz-economy-run-win[/quote]

that's possible especially if u use the Narok road...u can even switch off the car and just roll downhill.
Thiong'o
#25 Posted : Wednesday, January 04, 2012 9:37:01 PM

mukiha wrote:
[quote=JkMwatha]Drive barefoot or with your big toe and get 116mpg or 50km/l...

... well, not exactly.

http://www.treehugger.co...ius-to-get-116-mpg.html

Better still, take lessons from this Kibe Kamunyu guy who drove a 2,000cc Alfa Romeo 156 from Westlands to Naivasha on only 1.75L of fuel... 48km/L!!!

He should start an Efficient Driving School...

LINK: http://www.the-star.co.k...-quartz-economy-run-win[/quote]

that's possible especially if u use the Narok road...u can even switch off the car and just roll downhill.

Better still, sue
http://autos.yahoo.com/n...r-mileage-20120103.html
Heather Peters says her car never came close to getting the promised 50 miles per gallon, and as its battery deteriorated, it was getting only 30 mpg. She wants Honda to pay for her trouble and the extra money she spent on gas.
ZILLION
#26 Posted : Wednesday, January 04, 2012 10:16:34 PM

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! Kenyans and Toyota is like bread and butter.Ati kananusa mafuta ,Toyota should pick some lines for marketing from Kenyans.Someone Was bragging to me ati NZE yake inakunywa maji.All said Km/Litre depends on various variances and factors.
#27 Posted : Wednesday, January 04, 2012 10:27:26 PM

ZILLION wrote:
d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! Kenyans and Toyota is like bread and butter.Ati kananusa mafuta ,Toyota should pick some lines for marketing from Kenyans.Someone Was bragging to me ati NZE yake inakunywa maji.All said Km/Litre depends on various variances and factors.

For Auto trans, go for the latest electrical actuated clutch-system vis-a-vis the hydraulic coupled.
The newshape premio D4 (2005 and up)is one such car, quite economical but Onyango will spoil it the moment you take it to him on the his roadside kiosk!

#28 Posted : Thursday, January 05, 2012 2:02:34 PM

innovator wrote:
I would think no car beats a toyota prius in consuption, with my own experience the car preseves the braking energy in the battery when doing downhill and uses it uphill. An example is driving to nakuru whereby from fryover around kinungi to nakuru you can run on battery alone zero litres and engine off.

Here we go again praising Toyotas! Have you driven a Honda Insight? 1.0L, 3cyl engine producing almost the same power as a prius. The consumption though, is also similar.
innovator
#29 Posted : Thursday, January 05, 2012 2:35:01 PM

mukiha wrote:
innovator wrote:

Here we go again praising Toyotas! Have you driven a Honda Insight? 1.0L, 3cyl engine producing almost the same power as a prius. The consumption though, is also similar.

@mukiha A toyota prius hybrid has 1.5ltr engine, on accerelation it combines the battery stored power and the engine.
You may compare it with honda hybrid which has a slightly better efficiency than a prius. i have only seen one honda hybrid in kenya.
#30 Posted : Thursday, January 05, 2012 4:55:36 PM

innovator wrote:
mukiha wrote:
innovator wrote:

@mukiha A toyota prius hybrid has 1.5ltr engine, on accerelation it combines the battery stored power and the engine.
You may compare it with honda hybrid which has a slightly better efficiency than a prius. i have only seen one honda hybrid in kenya.

Insight is also hybrid, with a smaller engine - 1.0L, 3cylinder
#31 Posted : Friday, January 06, 2012 11:28:32 AM

As for the diesel practical stats. A Land Rover 2.5 TDI gives me 10.36km to 11.20 Km per litre town service. I do not switch off in traffic at all. Long distance it can give up to 14 Km per litre.

The Prius actually gives 22 to 24 Km per litre in Nairobi.
#32 Posted : Friday, January 06, 2012 4:47:51 PM

Injere wrote:
And talking about Mitsubishi, why are these passenger cars (lancers?) so popular with the Asian Community in Genya? Ni nini wanajua....?

Daaah...
Simba Colt... Not Asians but Indians. These guys stick to their own.

Spend.thrift
#33 Posted : Friday, January 06, 2012 6:12:23 PM

Injere wrote:
And talking about Mitsubishi, why are these passenger cars (lancers?) so popular with the Asian Community in Genya? Ni nini wanajua....?

Daaah...

@2012. That up here sounds like a very shallow observation. I'm sure you mean that the government is also Asian.

Just take a look out on th streets and see how many running (locally sold)Mitsubishi KAAs, KAHs up to KAMs there are in excellent condition. Even the one imported from Japan, especially the CK1A and the CK2A frames- you will find KAQs in very good condition -yet some are already grounded. I drive a 12 year old and sometimes, I laugh when my friends ask me "where do I get the money to maintain this car?" I laugh because on the other hand, my mechanic aks me "kwani unafikiri kazi yangu ni kubadilisha oil na brake pads". Whenever I call him to reschedule my service he always comments that nimepotea sana. The only replacement he has ever done on the car is the timing belt and engine mountings.

The truth is that the Mitsubishi Lancer or even Galant is a great car. I also need to add that the car is very unforgiving to careless or ignorant owners. Just in the same breadth you find people complaining about the GDI engine, there are those who would not touch anything else. But if you buy your Mitsubishi and want to be saving on your service (Take Note; BKR5EGP plugs (Kshs. 4000 - 7,500 depending on where you buy but can run for upto 15K km even though manufacturers say 20K km), Synthetic oils and V-Power fuel or clean Super/Premium), then you will always be mourning. And your mechanic needs to have a good attitude towards a Mitsubishi.

About resale value; If you're in the business of changing cars every 20 months like a teenager, dont buy one, you will cry because the attitude of the average Kenyan towards this car has been decomposed over time. 2012 take note that there are Asians who also dread the GDI engine, which is very fuel effient.

Keep buying Toyotas. That will keep the demand for great alternatives like Mitsubishis, Opel, Hyundai and Subarus low and therefore the prices lower- which is good for people like me. I cannot understand someone asking 1.15 million for a Toyota RUNX and worse someone else paying for it and then having to fix "nyororos" to the side mirrors .
#34 Posted : Saturday, January 07, 2012 10:50:03 PM

Spend.thrift wrote:
Injere wrote:

Daaah...

@2012. That up here sounds like a very shallow observation. I'm sure you mean that the government is also Asian.

Just take a look out on th streets and see how many running (locally sold)Mitsubishi KAAs, KAHs up to KAMs there are in excellent condition. Even the one imported from Japan, especially the CK1A and the CK2A frames- you will find KAQs in very good condition -yet some are already grounded. I drive a 12 year old and sometimes, I laugh when my friends ask me "where do I get the money to maintain this car?" I laugh because on the other hand, my mechanic aks me "kwani unafikiri kazi yangu ni kubadilisha oil na brake pads". Whenever I call him to reschedule my service he always comments that nimepotea sana. The only replacement he has ever done on the car is the timing belt and engine mountings.

The truth is that the Mitsubishi Lancer or even Galant is a great car. I also need to add that the car is very unforgiving to careless or ignorant owners. Just in the same breadth you find people complaining about the GDI engine, there are those who would not touch anything else. But if you buy your Mitsubishi and want to be saving on your service (Take Note; BKR5EGP plugs (Kshs. 4000 - 7,500 depending on where you buy but can run for upto 15K km even though manufacturers say 20K km), Synthetic oils and V-Power fuel or clean Super/Premium), then you will always be mourning. And your mechanic needs to have a good attitude towards a Mitsubishi.

About resale value; If you're in the business of changing cars every 20 months like a teenager, dont buy one, you will cry because the attitude of the average Kenyan towards this car has been decomposed over time. 2012 take note that there are Asians who also dread the GDI engine, which is very fuel effient.

Keep buying Toyotas. That will keep the demand for great alternatives like Mitsubishis, Opel, Hyundai and Subarus low and therefore the prices lower- which is good for people like me. I cannot understand someone asking 1.15 million for a Toyota RUNX and worse someone else paying for it and then having to fix "nyororos" to the side mirrors .

Ati nyororos! That killed me!

Anyway; your experience with that Mits sounds like mine. I had one some years back and people used to ask me "where do you buy spares?" and I'd ask back "Which spares?"

I'm also having similar experience with the Mazda Familia...
innovator
#35 Posted : Sunday, January 08, 2012 5:46:09 PM

bwenyenye wrote:
As for the diesel practical stats. A Land Rover 2.5 TDI gives me 10.36km to 11.20 Km per litre town service. I do not switch off in traffic at all. Long distance it can give up to 14 Km per litre.

True for a prius 22 to 24 km/ltr in nairobi, and 25 to 35km/ltr in highway depending on driving and the car condition.
#36 Posted : Monday, January 09, 2012 10:01:53 AM

innovator wrote:
bwenyenye wrote:

True for a prius 22 to 24 km/ltr in nairobi, and 25 to 35km/ltr in highway depending on driving and the car condition.

I'm told a premio 1800cc vvti yields the same desired km/l as a 1300cc toyota 110 auto-transmission?
Kweli rongo?

#37 Posted : Monday, January 09, 2012 12:42:37 PM

mukiha wrote:
Spend.thrift wrote:
Injere wrote:

Daaah...

Ati nyororos! That killed me!

Anyway; your experience with that Mits sounds like mine. I had one some years back and people used to ask me "where do you buy spares?" and I'd ask back "Which spares?"

I'm also having similar experience with the Mazda Familia...

Psssst!! guys.. quiet on the Mits.. You will make every tom, dick and harry jump onto the bandwagon and then all of a sudden tutaanza kuweka nyororos on our beaus..

all said..as i commented earlier.. did almost 1000km during the holidays on a 14year old Mits.. the car hasnt even squealed.. No heating up, no strange noises, im even scared. Had it checked and the only thing niliambiwa nirekebishe ni Rangi cos some goats decided to use the bonnet as a ladder to reach some shrubs!!! siamini
tuvok
#38 Posted : Monday, January 09, 2012 5:08:21 PM

Plugs - Drive a D4 (put in the same don't touch category) uses its genuine platinum plugs (about 6000 / 4pc) and now doing almost 20k - some on line research shows that some of these plugs can much more than that.

>>>>fix "nyororos" to the side mirrors . Apt description :) .

@poundfoolish, hoof marks and horns took care of some of the paint eh. kwanza if there were nyororos, they might have tried to chew them (depending on the colour of the car :) )
mmarto
#39 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2012 9:15:34 AM

i am one of those that have ditched toyota. I had an NZE till Nov last year and previous tothat corollas i.e ae91 then ae100. I now have a mits lancer. I cant complain. Better road handling,(though heavier that nze by 100kgs) does btwn 14-15km/litre. Bye toyota...
The only time you should be looking down on others is when you are helping them up.
Sigiriri
#40 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2012 10:34:48 AM

Finally brethren - whatsoever things are true.....

The truth set @mmarto free....who else will jump off the toy bandwagon? Honestly many buy toys because their 'mechanic' advises to buy toys...if you own a toy, you never admit it's not the best your money can buy for fear of looking 'unwise'. I am one major contrarian when it comes to beliefs on cars and in particular toys and Hondas when it comes to motorbikes (for those who ride). Names mean nothing! Always buy value - every coin MUST be made to count.
I drive Opel and would not change it for a toy - not even at gunpoint! I get 12km/l combined (it's a 1.8). It can be parked anywhere and does not need to have any alarm, cartrack, gearlock, steering lock, nyororos for mirrors and rivets for insignia etc - heck, I might even leave it parked and unlocked and all 'they' will 'borrow' is the stereo!! I got it for like 150K less than the Toy fielder 4 years back ex-japan. This 150K is fuel and service for a year! Then consider the toy fielder guy had to do the below:

Tropicalization - shocks, bushes etc.
Alarm
Car tracking
Gear Lock
Cut out
Steering lock
minyororo ya mirrors (these are the ugliest security devices ever!)
Rivet every letter and number on the insignia
(Can those who know cost the above?)

So, even if my car loses 100K in a year off the value - it's not actually money I spent extra. But for the toy - after above work, you cant sell it for more than it was imported at anyway, so one still losses. Just to let you know it's not the best decision you made
- how often have you changed cars in the name of 'upgrading'?
- how many times did you wake up early just to drive your car?

Changing cars is an expensive affair. Guys are now selling NZE's to buy 'Wish'es - anyone who spent less than 200k more on such a change - mikono juu!!

Wacha niwachie hapo - I pray to God every day that I will never need to drive a toyota, mimi, watoto wangu, watoto wao and upto 3 generations of sigiris.