Focussed vs Diversify
#21 Posted : Wednesday, August 06, 2008 2:10:00 PM

KCB. 25 - 29
jammo
#22 Posted : Wednesday, August 06, 2008 2:19:00 PM

@marktplaatz. ..no debilitatin hit anywhere.. Just an idea..different from norm...tryin something out next 22weeks..consistently buyin one counter..if opportunity to take advantage of lapse in judgement of the masses..u do. I sold of some equity at 325 when someone was asking why..at the same time managed to buy thro the lull such that as at monday..overall average cost of acquirin a share since the slow down is 282..meaning i can offload whole lot held tomorrow i'd still be comfortable..more than breakin even...at a time when everyon is running. Thing is i wish i had more cash! Just that. Plus some counters haven't moved one bit in all this equity moving..Access..a low of 32.5...a high of 34 whole month through.. Buying every week systematically consistently..a counter that is we all agree has bright prospects..this keeps it in track whateve info is out there.. To be sincere..what are the chances something stupid could happen to a share without warning signs bein highlighted here? Its an idea..if it doesn't work..i revert back.

'I have heard of You,O Lord. Now mine eyes have seen thee! Baal Perazim..the Lord of the Breakthrough!'
#23 Posted : Wednesday, August 06, 2008 2:40:00 PM

Jammo for greatest returns think like Nelson Muguku or Peter Kamau Munga. I wonder what these guys put in Equity to be worth 6 billion and 2.4 billion shillings respectively. Which company or enterprise will take in 22 million today and be worth 10,20,100 times more in 10 or 20 years??? That is the Nelson Mugukus worth in Equity stock shillings question!! I can however guess this,the company may not be in the NSE now or it could just be a piece of paper right now or an idea in someones head.

Weusi wa nywele za mshtakiwa zaonyesha ujinga alio nao
jammo
#24 Posted : Wednesday, August 06, 2008 4:01:00 PM

@ALL..please get me right. I want to try buy one counter..only..consistently every week for the next 22 weeks...cash outlay..22m.. 1m every week..ensuring NO two identical buys..if price doesn't change..i postpon buyin.. I want to do this for the next 22weeks.. I understand time value for money so money not needed for this in th immediate is in kind..other counters..when needed i can easily access it. The purpose of this thread is analytical support..what counter amongst Equity,Access,Nic..growth counters mainly..i'm not tryin to be muguku or the like...am bein jammo. Anyone ever tried/done/heard of this? Just that. Sijaribu kuwa genius Am more inclined to equity because its relatively easy for 1m to be taken up.

'I have heard of You,O Lord. Now mine eyes have seen thee! Baal Perazim..the Lord of the Breakthrough!'
BW1
#25 Posted : Wednesday, August 06, 2008 5:46:00 PM

Hey dude...yeah Ive heard of this before.....it takes alot of time and effort. And the chaps you will changa with will bother u quite frequently.
But Im sure you're up for the task.......Go for it and goodluck!!
Hi-Lo
#26 Posted : Thursday, August 07, 2008 5:53:00 AM

My advice,Jammo,get out of SK...rather NSE. With an outstanding portfolio of Ksh 22m you can do much better elsewhere. Go to Transcentury.co.ke (or rather their interviews) and note that they moved on Sameer-Cables with only Ksh 24m; same amount as yours!! Think VERY BIG and VERY LONG TERM... for instance takeover Orchards and turn it around; in the meantime the rest of us can struggle to build our portfolios to your level in bear times...

In a situation like this,what would one do?
Jedi
#27 Posted : Monday, September 07, 2009 9:24:00 AM

jammo.,where did u go?.
seems u took hi-lo's advice rather serious.. please get in touch..need yourhelp
jaydee@gmail.com. Thankx.

..when all is said n done..all that will matter is the hearts u touched.
Seles83
#28 Posted : Monday, September 07, 2009 10:59:00 AM

Guys remember that Jammo is trading with Clients Monies

In the end....nothing really matters!!
More monies, more problems...
#29 Posted : Wednesday, September 09, 2009 4:24:00 AM

Jammo,if u really followed ua conscience as per the date of the post,u must hav made a windfall fm the march lows....wewe iko wapi?

The only reason why some people are still alive is coz its illegal to shoot them!!
Ken K
#30 Posted : Wednesday, September 09, 2009 12:52:00 PM

Simon Kabz

Kengen at 22 and KQ at 42 cannot qualify to be windfalls bwana.

I would be crying all the way to the bank.

#31 Posted : Wednesday, September 09, 2009 1:07:00 PM

@ken,but if the dude did the 1m a month fm oct last year,by march he had about 18m to go. Now lets assume he put all that in mumias at 3.30 or EB at 90 bob in March.....Dude would b in stitches all the way to the bank!

The only reason why some people are still alive is coz its illegal to shoot them!!
Ericks
#32 Posted : Wednesday, September 09, 2009 1:27:00 PM

basic instincts tells me that u cant do without both unless u dont mind losing or u r just plainly lucky..
u have to diversify then focus on the diversified portfolio.. the same way plants do well in different seasons,some thrive in rainy days others do so in scotching sun..

Its just me
whatever choice you make in life make sure that you can live with it.
Burgess
#33 Posted : Wednesday, September 09, 2009 10:38:00 PM

If I had just one choice to make,I would choose Access. I think the company not only present short term opportunity for growth but its likely to be a very serious contender in the next decade or so. This is on the basis of where the IT and internet services is going in our economy. The management also appears sober and focused.

Long-term planning is not about making long-term decisions; it’s about understanding the future consequences of today's decisions.
#34 Posted : Thursday, December 31, 2009 6:27:43 AM

Wow! Look what I've dug up from the archives. Today is the last day of the year and it's fair to say:

-Warren Buffet said wide diversification is only required when investors do not understand what they are doing

-If @Jammo invested exclusively in Equity, Access, NIC on 06-Aug-09 he would have lost moneeeyyy about 17%, 14%, 15% respectively

-@Cowpoke right on the money with the Safaricom Call. In fact top gainers were WTK, KQ, SCOM.

I know it's easy to be a genius/critic looking back.
Invest wisely in 2010, and remember the race is not to the swift, nor the battle to the strong, neither yet bread to the wise, nor yet riches to men of understanding, nor yet favor to men of skill; but time and chance happens to them all.
#35 Posted : Thursday, December 31, 2009 7:32:16 AM

Warren Buffett is diversified through Berkshire Hathaway but primarily invests in FINANCIAL firms.

Other major sectors for BH include transport & energy.

The purchase of Burlington Railway was a partial energy play. BNP will probably be a major carrier of coal...
#36 Posted : Thursday, December 31, 2009 8:11:07 AM

So;
Does anyone know what became of jammo?
#37 Posted : Thursday, December 31, 2009 8:27:12 AM

d'oh! Been wondering the same too. Probably has reincarnated and has a new screen name.
omega
#38 Posted : Friday, January 01, 2010 3:35:19 PM

The key is "investment criteria" rather than diversification.

Warren Buffet and other master investors have clear investment criteria and only invest in stocks that meet their criteria.

To quote WB “Diversification is a protection against ignorance. It makes very little sense for those who know what they're doing”
#39 Posted : Friday, January 01, 2010 4:31:04 PM

A non-diversified investor does not know a good night's sleep. As a new investor i made some good money on my first 2 stocks, SCB and BOC. Emboldened, i put quite an amount in ICDC (as per my finances then). Then my stock started sliding, 1 bob, 2, then 3, by this time i couldn't eat or sleep. And at 5 bob loss i panicked big time and sold. Lol quite an experience.
#40 Posted : Friday, January 01, 2010 7:15:27 PM

@sparkly - Even a diversified investor can't always sleep... Look at NSE in 2009 where some focused investments did far better than the general market.

@omega quoted WB “Diversification is a protection against ignorance. It makes very little sense for those who know what they're doing”