wazua Thu, Jul 17, 2025

Fuel Price reduced
bebeto
#21 Posted : Thursday, December 15, 2011 11:17:19 AM

Adjustments are yet to be made, hAIYA!
at OIL LIBYA(BURU), the claim 'kuna hitilafu fulani'....we'll adjust as soon as its over.
wondering, if it had been an increament, would the said 'hitilafu' be there? Shame on you
"The chief danger in life is that you may take too many precautions" - Alfred adler
Kihangeri
#22 Posted : Thursday, December 15, 2011 11:53:11 AM

mukiha wrote:
Kihangeri wrote:
11.1 Oil Industry statistics indicate that petroleum dealers are currently enjoying Retail Margins ranging from Ksh.2.30/Litre to Ksh.2.50/Litre for Premium Motor Gasoline (PMS) and Regular Motor Gasoline (RMS); and Ksh.2.15/Litre for Automotive Gas Oil (AGO) and Illuminating Kerosene (IK). The submissions made to the Commission by Station Dealers indicate these margins have been fixed by the suppliers for the last four years and therefore insufficient due to erosion by inflation. This information is also collaborated by the high turnover of Petrol Station Dealers in the country.

11.2 To ensure that the retail business is whole, it is proposed that ERC recommend a 20% escalation of the existing retail margin to a maximum Ksh.3.00/Litre for super and regular petrol and ksh 2.80per litre for kerosene and diesel. These retail margins will also include station operational losses of about 0.5%.

How is KK able to give a discount of 5 shillings per litre and still remain in business? What happened to the 4.5 or is it 6.5 billion they were awarded payable by Kenya Refinery or is it KPC? Can you see a disconnect here?

The MAX wholesale margin is KSh6.00; the MAX retail margin is KSh3.00. This gives KK a whole KSh9.00 for the fuel sold through their own stations. In addition, if they are able keep their costs below the averages used by ERC, you can see how they can raise their margin to KSh10.00.... Now add the effect of the increased volumes due to lowered prices and you will see their logic.

I think it was a brilliant move by them, and so I bought the shares!

Thank you sir. You speak like a man in the know. You must be in the oil industry. Am in the coffee industry.
By inference, the man is all that Mr Phantom is not: an untrustworthy radical, divisive, too many enemies, a dictator, and a persistent liar...
Gaitho dialogues.

#23 Posted : Thursday, December 15, 2011 12:50:25 PM

bebeto wrote:
at OIL LIBYA(BURU), the claim 'kuna hitilafu fulani'....we'll adjust as soon as its over.
wondering, if it had been an increament, would the said 'hitilafu' be there? Shame on you

There is no law criminalizing this? Prices should have immediate effect
#24 Posted : Thursday, December 15, 2011 1:43:34 PM

bebeto wrote:

Please report them to ERC: info@erc.go.ke

The penalty is something like Sh5m and cancellation of licence.

Report them please and watch what happens.

If their machines have a problem, they shouldn't be selling at all.
bebeto
#25 Posted : Thursday, December 15, 2011 2:16:30 PM

just did(report)..lets see if they'll rein on them.
"The chief danger in life is that you may take too many precautions" - Alfred adler
QD
#26 Posted : Thursday, December 15, 2011 2:46:10 PM

On my way to work all petrol stations along ngong had not adjusted the prices hope they have now within the day.
The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts while the stupid ones are full of confidence
majimaji
#27 Posted : Thursday, December 15, 2011 2:54:37 PM

@ Mukiha, per litre of petrol, how much does the Gok take in taxes?

What is the revenue yearly from fuel taxes?

What is the cost of transporting fuel through pipeline to say Nairobi?
What would happen if the Kenya Refinery monopoly is removed and private players invited to refine crude?
In my view, the difference between Developed and Developing countries is the amount of energy for growth that they have. It's good we are catching up on vehicle highways, now we should be having a fuel 'highway' that is also efficient. A small cartel is controlling matters fuel in this country, and i'm sure they would like it to remain as opaque as long as possible.
#28 Posted : Thursday, December 15, 2011 3:10:15 PM

@majimaji; I don't have the figures you seek. But on the refinery, I spent the whole of last week with an engineer from there. He told me an interesting thing: That the facility is now running at 50% capacity - they have shut down one of their two processing lines because there is not enough crude.

Importers are delaying deliveries...for their own reasons. This is why we have a shortage of LPG.

Despite the negative media stories we hear about the refinery being inefficient and old tech; my discussions with this engineer convinced me otherwise. KPRL is quite efficient in its operations.
#29 Posted : Thursday, December 15, 2011 3:19:34 PM

why dont we exploit coal? It is plenty in Londokwe . Look at todays Daily Nation.
http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/no3x6hz/-/index.html

We are very coal rich .First class quality .But Somebody has to benefit from expensive oil imports .

If only coal was near Nairobid'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! Pray Pray Pray Pray.If only a big person owned some tracts of land in Londokwes Mui coal basind'oh! d'oh! d'oh! If only Mzungu stayed longerd'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

But just because it is in Londokwe where we have no leaders , we sufferShame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you .
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
#30 Posted : Thursday, December 15, 2011 3:32:23 PM

'user' wrote:
why dont we exploit coal? It is plenty in Londokwe . Look at todays Daily Nation.We are very coal rich .First class quality .But Somebody has to benefit from expensive oil imports .

If only coal was near Nairobid'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! Pray Pray Pray Pray.If only a big person owned some tracts of land in Londokwes Mui coal basind'oh! d'oh! d'oh! If only Mzungu stayed longerd'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

But just because it is in Londokwe where we have no leaders , we sufferShame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you .

The story of coal in Kenya is rather baffling. How can such a valuable resource lie unused while we suffer the high electricity prices? What is wrong?
majimaji
#31 Posted : Thursday, December 15, 2011 4:11:06 PM

@ Mukiha, quite a dilemma for the refinery: no crude, how do oil marketers make money if they are not buying crude? How is the shareholding of the plant anyway, they should float shares.
#32 Posted : Friday, December 16, 2011 8:01:19 AM

majimaji wrote:

@ Mukiha, quite a dilemma for the refinery: no crude, how do oil marketers make money if they are not buying crude? How is the shareholding of the plant anyway, they should float shares.

51% GoK; 49% ESSAR

The Indians have figured that the plant is efficient and quite profitable, so they have not made any changes in processes and procedures. Even the top management is still almost intact - they only brought a new CEO...
#33 Posted : Friday, December 16, 2011 8:10:03 AM

'user' wrote:
why dont we exploit coal? It is plenty in Londokwe . Look at todays Daily Nation.We are very coal rich .First class quality .But Somebody has to benefit from expensive oil imports .

The story of coal in Kenya is rather baffling. How can such a valuable resource lie unused while we suffer the high electricity prices? What is wrong?

@simonkabz; ARM are putting up a 25MW coal fired generator at Kaloleni.
#34 Posted : Friday, December 16, 2011 9:32:00 AM

mukiha wrote:
'user' wrote:

@simonkabz; ARM are putting up a 25MW coal fired generator at Kaloleni.

Ok. That is quite a step. We need to see more of such.
#35 Posted : Saturday, January 14, 2012 12:33:46 PM

Super down by sh 7.11, diesel down by 3bob
#36 Posted : Saturday, January 14, 2012 4:33:00 PM

And people were suggesting that we disband ERC!

I tell you the truth, without ERC formula, we'd be paying 130-something today with no sign of turning down.
majay
#37 Posted : Saturday, January 14, 2012 10:04:41 PM

This is very good news indeed. I do hope the price will go much lower come FebruaryApplause
all about Kenya in 2011
Dash
#38 Posted : Sunday, January 15, 2012 9:46:32 AM

Where are they down? I am yet to see even a single station with reduced prices
#39 Posted : Sunday, January 15, 2012 9:47:50 AM

good news but wait for the shortages .kenyans lack a value system all that rules is greed.both corporate and individual greed
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
#40 Posted : Tuesday, April 14, 2020 8:42:21 AM

What story is the ERC waiting to tell us today..anything above ksh80 for petrol is a scandal