wazua Tue, May 5, 2026

ERBK.... hii ni shenzi type kabisa
Burning Spear
#11 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2011 11:07:11 AM

theslim wrote:
the IEK are banking on the parliament to pass Engineers Bill 2011, (to repeal CAP 530). Among other things; part IV is about "Prohibition of employment of unregistered persons.", with clause 48 reading:
(1) A person shall not employ or continue to employ any person to offer professional engineering services or works if that person is not registered under this Act.
(2) A person shall not take up or continue in any employment as a professional engineer or consulting engineer unless that person is registered as a professional engineer or consulting engineer.
(3) An employer shall not employ or engage a graduate engineer in any work or professional engineering services or works unless that graduate engineer is under the supervision of a professional or consulting engineer.
(4) A person who contravenes any provision of this section commits an offence.

http://www.iekenya.org/

I think us engineers hatuna budi, we have to be registered. There is an interesting discussion on the same in LinkedIN.

colonial laws safeguarded by old guards to keep off competition from young result oriented and change engineers. !! If the old guards believe they are the cornerstone of Knowledge,then we should be told which qualified Engineers designed and built places like incomplete shoddy Muthurwa market and many other white elephants govt projects under ministry of public works and roads where Ironically is the head office of the IEK.

I am not an engineer but that's what I feel about the IEK.
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
#12 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2011 6:53:54 PM

kingfisher wrote:

Let me ask again. why cant the 58,000 unregistered form their own association of engineers? I mean 58000 against 1200...

Applause
But the old guard is bound to challenge the decision in court.
#13 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2011 7:16:28 PM

Can the young engineers challenge this bill in high court?

#14 Posted : Wednesday, September 21, 2011 7:57:42 AM

At which point did this debate become one of the Old Guard V/s Young Turks?