On the Nairobi-Mombasa flight, I do not need a sandwich or soda. What I want is a 'late' check-in i.e. For a 10am flight I want to check in as late as 9.45am not 9am.
I want a 'cheap' fare & I am happy with 'tight' seating for a 1 hour flight! If you are fat then buy 2 seats or fly in cargo.
I want multiple flights daily & flexibility. Like a matatu service lakini a Double M not City Hoppa!
@VVS, hear hear, this is what truly no-frills low-cost airlines offer (I have heard of Ryan Air is king in this), and this is what we need on our national routes; I hope Jambo jet will be the real McCoy where Flamingo failed, and help drive fares even lower.
Coupla weeks ago I took a KQ flight to Kisum city for KShs 3k and was amused to some passengers and even
Cucus in slippers/ flip flops,slappers and i reflected flying has been demystified with common wananchi using them compared to the scenario many years ago - si hiyo ni kama matatu?! And maybe,if they didn't serve us ndugu karanja (aka njugu karanga) and some juice it may even have been some hundred of shillings cheaper!
@StatsM and Horton, so what are the runway length requirements of an A380? I assume since more and more are being bought by major airlines which are plying the NBO route Emirates, Virgin, etc) then KAA will need factor in this in their ongoing enhancement of jkia as a regional hub? Are such plans on?
What about new smaller but efficient airlines like Air Uganda that always maintain their schedules? I think their market shares will grow.
@mukiha, could Flamingo have been a knee-jerk reaction, rather than a well-thought ot diversification?