wazua Sun, Jan 5, 2025

Boda Boda concept, public service
#21 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2018 4:04:16 PM

mzeekijana wrote:
For those who have worked in this field,Is this job (Boda Boda) really profitable? I mean if I buy one motor bike and assign it to a driver (who they say) will be bringing 400 per day. Any advise on this?

Never been in that field but I think it can work. Buy 10 used boda bodas at @40k total 400k. Returns will be 4k each day or 120k per month. You'd have paid back your money in 3.5 months. And you would have created 10 jobs.

NB you'd need to buy a 25m apartment to get 120k rent pm.

tiriririri, better said than done
#22 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2018 4:19:56 PM

freiks wrote:
mzeekijana wrote:
For those who have worked in this field,Is this job (Boda Boda) really profitable? I mean if I buy one motor bike and assign it to a driver (who they say) will be bringing 400 per day. Any advise on this?

Never been in that field but I think it can work. Buy 10 used boda bodas at @40k total 400k. Returns will be 4k each day or 120k per month. You'd have paid back your money in 3.5 months. And you would have created 10 jobs.

Many would be billionaires if it was that easy, the first guys made money, the laggards even lost their motorcyles since the riders disappeared with them. The remaining guys in boda business are the former employed riders who now own their own motorcyles through loans, savings or running away with someones pikipiki
#23 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 2:22:26 AM

freiks wrote:
mzeekijana wrote:

It only works if the owner is the rider. Just like in Matatus, stories galore and no cash at the end of the day. Its much better to sell spares for Mbikes to cash o n maintenance as that would be much more manageable.

mzeekijana
#24 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 8:34:47 AM

mzeekijana wrote:

It's a good idea but I think we have to start small. Going for 10 bikes might be difficult to control especially when one is new in the industry. Going for a used machine is also risky. A new Bajaj Boxer will definitely last longer and the payback period is only 1 year. I feel a 1 year bay back period is good for a start.
#25 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 11:00:44 AM

Gathige wrote:
freiks wrote:
mzeekijana wrote:

It only works if the owner is the rider. Just like in Matatus, stories galore and no cash at the end of the day. Its much better to sell spares for Mbikes to cash o n maintenance as that would be much more manageable.

What about importing bikes for sale?
Thitifini
#26 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 12:22:52 PM

Gathige wrote:
freiks wrote:
mzeekijana wrote:

What about importing bikes for sale?

Has been taken over by Indians and Chinese who have direct contracts with companies.

You can't compete with them or match their profit margins if importing directly.

Some have assembly plants in Thika area to enjoy further government subsidies.

You can hack tho with some innovations.

60% Learning, 30% synthesizing, 10% Debating
#27 Posted : Thursday, June 27, 2019 12:42:24 PM

V8 tuk tuk introduced in Kenia, even has AC. Hakuna kunyeshewa tena....