wazua Tue, Dec 24, 2024

Use of mobile phone in an aircraft
tmatekwa
#21 Posted : Thursday, July 30, 2009 3:57:00 PM

myks
#22 Posted : Thursday, July 30, 2009 6:22:00 PM

'... Does this also explain why the kq Cameroon crash 2 yrs ago took a whole week to locate coz they could not risk installing a 'car track' device on the plane since it might interfere with the pilots communication system! Ndege sio kite or a DVD player,fm radio ama TV ati it will conc out coz of a ringing phone...'

maze jo!!

face your fears live your dreams
#23 Posted : Thursday, July 30, 2009 9:32:00 PM

@ ali buda,ILS,Instrument Landing System.

The only reason why some people are still alive is coz its illegal to shoot them!!
Informer
#24 Posted : Friday, July 31, 2009 3:59:00 AM

http://www.thefreelibrar...lowed+%3F-a01073968768.

Do you know why mobile phones are not allowed to be used in aircraft during flight One reason for this is channel reuse

Do you know why mobile phones are not allowed to be used in aircraft during flight? One reason for this is channel reuse. Actually,if we go to technicalities,it would be quite hard for us to understand the many technical jumbo mumbo that are there,so let us just put it on the simplest way of explanation that we can. You see,our mobile phones are designed for use with low power output. This is because the transmission and reception of signals are based on channel reuse. What I mean about the word channel are the different frequencies that a mobile phone uses to transmit and received signals like for example 120 kHz or 100 MHz. These channels of frequencies are expressed in hertz. A particular mobile phone operating at 100 MHz. will have interruption of signal if another mobile phone also operating at the same channel will be using the same cell site or tower.

With regards to cell sites or towers,I think you are more or less particular about them already. They are like very small Eiffel tower like construction that you can see jutting out of the farm landscape,sometimes even inside cities and urban areas. In fact,in our locality,a cell site or tower is now under construction in the backyard of a house,several blocks away from our residence.

Now,going back to why mobile phones are not permitted to be used in aircraft during flight,because of channel reuse. The reason why mobile phones can be used by many without interruptions even when they operate on the same channel is channel reuse. Because mobile phones are designed to have limited power,a mobile phone in operation utilizing the nearest cell site or tower would not be able to utilize another cell site or tower even if that cell tower is only several kilometers away. This will make possible for other mobile phones having the same frequency with the first mobile phone to use the other cell site or tower without interruption to the signal of the first mobile phone,even if it has the same operating frequency as that of the first mobile phone.

It was pointed out by authorities that if you are using a mobile phone in an airplane and the altitude of the plane is within range of the many ground cell sites or towers,the speed by which the plane is moving will dislocate the receiving and transmission of signals on most cell sites or towers resulting to interference of signals to other mobile phone users operating on the same frequency as your mobile phone. In effect,the result will have a negative effect on the fundamental operation of mobile phones which is channel reuse. This is the basic reason of most governmental regulating agencies why they do not allow mobile phones to be used in aircraft during flight.

The second reason would be in terms of electro magnetic interference to electronic devices of the airplane. It was likewise pointed out by authorities that a plane in flight even if it would still be within range of ground cell sites or towers,will make the transmission and reception of signals to and from a mobile phone weak because of the speed of travel. This will make the mobile phone unit to automatically use more power to send and receive signals from cell sites or towers which would have the possibility of affecting the workings of electromagnetic devices of the airplane. So,for the safety of all,why don?t we just shut off our mobile phones during flight?

SECURITY STARTS WITH YOU
alerts.you@gmail.com
whatever is done in the dark will always come to the light and find its way to bite u in the ass (SO DO THE RIGHT THING EVEN WHEN NO-ONE IS WATCHING)
premio
#25 Posted : Friday, July 31, 2009 6:03:00 AM

Hahahaha!!!! Alibaba you are wrong but very right. The landing system that utilise radio base beacons is called the Instruments landing system (ILS). Planes use the to locate the flight path and help them land not just into the runaway but at the correct runaway in airports with over 2 runaways. We also have DME (Distance measurement equipment) that is why a massive KQ boeing 777 will land exactly approx 300m from runaway at 15 degrees nose up without causing a tail strike. On takeooff aircrafts rely heavily on these beacons to make correct turns and intercept the various airways to varius destinations for exampla emirates flight EK 722 to Dubai will climb to 5000feet and intercept ladaro VOR beacon and turn north. These equipments can be interfered by signals emitted by phones but also by any electronic device and issue errors that may lead to a mid air collision. While boarding a plane try looking at the body and you will see so many antennas attached to the body which send and receive signals from ground beacons. Normal radio communications btn pilots and Air traffic controllers will not receive interference but signals will.
Ali Baba
#26 Posted : Friday, July 31, 2009 6:37:00 AM

I apologize for my error.I meant instrument landing system.I think the aviator in me is getting rusty.Should be time to make my 'three take-offs and landings' to stay current!!

Ali Baba
brightstar
#27 Posted : Friday, July 31, 2009 8:27:00 AM

@informer,simonkabz and all others thank you for your free technical consultancy.
#28 Posted : Friday, July 31, 2009 1:52:00 PM

@premio,2 questions since you seem to know these things. TOGA ni nini? (in relation to the comment you made on EK taking off) Why do they dim cabin lights during takeoff and landing?
And1589
#29 Posted : Friday, July 31, 2009 8:22:00 PM

@premio
naona wewe mwenyeji kabisa,zingine kama NV,NAKAT,PARIN should be familiar to you too!

Becoming number one is easier than remaining number one
premio
#30 Posted : Saturday, August 01, 2009 7:26:00 AM

TOGA stands for take off go around. contraly to the term take off,an aircraft utilising this operation will be airborne and most likely landing or on final approach to a runway and then aborts landing. The pilots may realise they are too low on approach,too high,a hazard on the runway like a plane or birds or are coming too fast for a good landing. The pilot is required to engage thrust levers to TOGA position and climb to the prescribed level by Air traffic controllers and make a 360 4 a second attempt. An aircraft that has taken off and is climbing suddenly has a stall warning whether real or false the procedure for recovery is thrust levers at TOGA position so that power is recovered.

Missed approach are common at JKIA especilay from 7pm when its busy with landings

Cabin lights are dimmed for two reasons. One is as part of an international legal requirement so that passengers eyes are fixed on the emergency exit lights just incase of an emegency .the other reason is so the cabin and flight deck crew eyes are adjusted to the dark as well as the passengers and emergency exits and details outside the aircraft are more easily visible in the event of problems. Hence also the reason for window blinds needing to be open for takeoff and landing.

another school of thought is the electrical load is reduced on the engines making it less possible for engine failure during take-off

#31 Posted : Saturday, August 01, 2009 9:07:00 AM

@premio,thats quite some nice details. Can u xplain the cost implication of a missed approach-with regard to airport/navigational charges. My understanding is,a missed approach/go round is considered as a fullstop landing n hence charged the same?? Pilots strive to make only one good approach n landing per flight otherwise watanyongwa na employer,kweli?

The only reason why some people are still alive is coz its illegal to shoot them!!
premio
#32 Posted : Saturday, August 01, 2009 11:07:00 AM

Am not sure that one is currently being enforced to the letter but that would be dependednt on the reasons behind the aborted landing. All airlines have their flight manuals that prescribe sitations when pilots should abandon an approach and attempt a second or head to the next alternate airport.

For example just about 3 days ago a kenya Airways Boeing 777 flight KQ 103 from London Heathrow aborted landing and overshot JKIA runway 06 after a DHL light aircraft which was ahead of the big jet had a tyre burst after a relative safe landing. KQ 103 was about 400 metres from the threshhold of runway 06 and quite low with altimeter callouts at around 600. The jet with 319 pax diverted to mombasa moi airport.In this case it was beyond the control of the crew and so cannot be billed as an actual landing. Most other missed approach are related to bad weather and low visiblility with minima allowed visibility levels varying from AC type to type I.e a Boeing 777 with its advanced navigation aids will land at visibility below 50m while its cousin the B767 may have to divert but this vary from airline to airline,plane maker manual and approach equipments available at that particular airport.