wazua Sat, Aug 2, 2025

Coop now trading at 13 kenya shillings
mwanahisa
#21 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 5:45:13 PM

And now let's pause for a bit of thought.

2 years from now, I can bet that CoopBank will have doubled its share price from where it is today.

Sure the share price may continue to fall although a level of 9 is unlikely.

A prudent man (or woman) would be picking it up. As it falls, its relative value increases i.e. (PBV goes down while both Earnings yield and Dividend Yield increase).

This is not the time to be running scared but to be accumulating albeit cautiously and then when it turns go all out and make a real a REAL BIG PURCHASE!
ngunjiriwakamau
#22 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 8:53:30 PM

Such a loss in a day does not inspire confidence.
Hope the situation will be reversed sooner than later.
the deal
#23 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 9:03:42 PM

Biggest lessons are learned in a bear market...in 2007 when I was a novice at the NSE I was wiped out...but I came back stronger...now Coop has an EPS of 1.2 projected EPS growth is 20-30% for 2011...login applies anything below 12 would be a buy...but you have to factor in the current economic climate...probability of a RI...plus Coop need funds to expand so dividends will be paltry
Equator
#24 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 9:37:23 PM

I see lots of golden opportunities for bargain hunters. I happened to bail out of Coop at 17.50 as I was involved in another project but I won't mind getting in again if the bear run continues. My advice to those already in is to hold and add more if the down trend continues. Banks are increasing lending rates. This has the effect of increasing their margins although higher defaulting rate is expected.

In another note, how is the land value behaving during this tough times?
Aguytrying
#25 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 9:41:40 PM

@mwanahisa. I'm glad i started seeing the market, from your perspective. Happy when buying opportunitiess abound, and looking out for the bounce backs.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
githundi
#26 Posted : Wednesday, July 13, 2011 12:54:23 AM

the deal wrote:
People stop this type of posts.

I can feel you.
Democracy does not belong to the dead
#27 Posted : Wednesday, July 13, 2011 4:39:24 PM

Hey, its time to invest in the future! Buy in 5 stocks now, and your kids will never go hungry in future. i.e. starting from 2 years to come!

The following can make a good select;
i. Total Kenya at 23.00 or lower, (Why? KK is just like Airtel, it will not go anywhere)
ii. E.A Cables at 12.20 or lower, (Why? a dividend of 0.8 will drive this stock to 20.0 next FY)
iii. Safaricom at 3.90 or lower, (Why? Corporate Internet is booming with safcons)
iv. Jubilee Insurance at 180.0 or lower, (Why? A split is inevitable)
v. Kengen at 12.80 or lower, (Why? Monopolies, which business man hates it?)
vi. Barclays Bank at 16.80 or lower (Why? I DON'T KNOW!)

Stock not to touch at all, lest you want to starve!;
i. Express
ii. Olympia
iii. Eveready
iv. B.A.T
v. E.A.B.L
vi. ALL AGRICULTURE STOCKS!

Let us 'freeze' this for comparison!
I disagree on KK which I think will do great!
On the 'do not touch' I disagree with 'ALL AGRICULTURE STOCKS' for the longer term. Good agricultural land is 'disappearing' under buildings so those who have it will benefit unless we have a PEV2012
Horton
#28 Posted : Wednesday, July 13, 2011 4:48:30 PM

DUKANG. U would buy jub jes coz its going to split???!! Really??
#29 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 3:11:36 PM

This share just shows there is hope after all,what a turnaround I was waiting for it @ sub 14/=
#30 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 3:46:53 PM

jerry wrote:
lovely2010 wrote:
Sober wrote:
Insurgent wrote:
Checked the live trade at mystocks and they have it a 15 shillings per share. Are there bad news about the bank that I may not be aware of?

allow me to judge you. you own a good chunk of co-op bank shares and you have been absent from the bourse for some time. take a look at other counters e.g Total or CFCI and you ralise your counter has not received a beating.

Mwambie kweli...

=> I'm in a dilema after buying "COP" at 18/=.

you may think you are badly off untill you meet someone who missed the bonus shares for pan-afric after buying at 100/- and today trading at 38
#31 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 3:54:22 PM

the deal wrote:
People stop this type of posts.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly sawa. i have stopped
kiterunner
#32 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 8:42:28 PM

I think agriculture is good to keep to after 2012 elections, I am going on a picking spree end month
our goals are best achieved indirectly
mwekez@ji
#33 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 9:16:06 PM

Sober wrote:

you may think you are badly off untill you meet someone who missed the bonus shares for pan-afric after buying at 100/- and today trading at 38

Panafric bonus shares have hit the market. The shareholders are likely to sell the bonus at even lower prices
#34 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 9:59:13 PM

@mwekezaji. I am talking of someone who placed the bur irder on that last day and never confirmed if they were bought so that the following trading day were trading ex-rights but the order went through. He is not eligible for the bonus.
mwekez@ji
#35 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 11:22:26 PM

Sober wrote:
@mwekezaji. I am talking of someone who placed the bur irder on that last day and never confirmed if they were bought so that the following trading day were trading ex-rights but the order went through. He is not eligible for the bonus.

WTH!!!!! Thats a loss of more than 60%. I followed the trades that day and i dint see it. I pity him though he should have known better.
#36 Posted : Wednesday, July 20, 2011 10:07:29 AM

Apparently COOP revised their operating Hrs I saw their 'belly bottom' branch now operates from 8.30-6.00 pm could this be the reason for the current rise in the share price?
#37 Posted : Wednesday, July 20, 2011 10:21:06 AM

selah wrote:
Apparently COOP revised their operating Hrs I saw their 'belly bottom' branch now operates from 8.30-6.00 pm could this be the reason for the current rise in the share price?

that rise is so insignificant (2%) if this bullish environment was not around we would have considered it stagnant. Top gainers or losers in the normal scenario and usually above 5% fluctuation or over 20% when the ten percent rule is waived.
#38 Posted : Wednesday, July 20, 2011 11:04:06 AM

@sober the share was on a free fall last week the thread even predicted a 13/= so I think this latest development in terms of operating hrs might have something to do with its change of fortune.

Layman
#39 Posted : Wednesday, July 20, 2011 2:10:44 PM

selah wrote:

Co-op operates from 9am to 4pm for kawaida clients and upto 6pm for Executive clients (Advantage clients, Cloud nine clients....not wanjikus
QW25071985
#40 Posted : Wednesday, July 20, 2011 3:11:49 PM

selah wrote:

wacha ujinga bwana . no pun.