The American dream
For Sport
#11 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2011 12:59:51 PM

famooz wrote:
@Famooz,
Life is what you make it.....If you can make a million dollars in NY,you can make the same in Nairobi....and don't look across the fence too often....where i come from ,they say ndiakaguo ta ya wakini(someone help interpret).......I thank God because i don't work to be rich,but to be happy...and i am happy indeed...smile .

@ guka,i am not sure about your first sentence.
I give an example A nurse in Kenya earns about 100k ( more or less)and this is in private hospitals. Pay all those dues that people lipa nad she has take home of 70K ( again,this is on the higher side)

A nurse in the states earns per hour.last i checked,it was about 20dollars /hour. in one month a nurse will get about half a million. Mind you this nurse can decide to do 2 jobs. so factor in living expenses and whichever way you look at it,they are not the same.......

And then that small lecture of yours about working to be happy.....i can also launch a debate on it smile

I’m sure there are many similar success stories. There are even more sob stories.
The question is, is it worth it?
Once there, you forget social life as you know it. Everyone is busy busy busy. So you work hard and retire to socialize with your dollars and things your dollars can buy
For families: very few will afford domestic help, the occassional baby sitter. Which means that one parent has to be with the child(ren) at all times. And since its almost impossible to live on one income, mum will be coming from work as dad is leaving for work...serious strain on the family / marriage.
Nothing is free there. Ask people how easy it is to get anyone's time over there. You’re constantly paying bills. Most Kenyans have to hold down multiple jobs just to get by. And most of the time, you get highly educated Kenyans performing jobs which do not reflect their qualifications and expertise. The only thing holding people back from coming home is that there’s little to show for the years and years abroad, and of course the high expectations we place on them.

If you have a decent job here, there’s no need to go chasing a dream. (Nightmare).

as Njung'e says, I'm happier being happy.
#12 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2011 1:31:33 PM

famooz wrote:
@Famooz,
Life is what you make it.....If you can make a million dollars in NY,you can make the same in Nairobi....and don't look across the fence too often....where i come from ,they say ndiakaguo ta ya wakini(someone help interpret).......I thank God because i don't work to be rich,but to be happy...and i am happy indeed...smile .

I give an example A nurse in Kenya earns about 100k ( more or less)and this is in private hospitals. Pay all those dues that people lipa nad she has take home of 70K ( again,this is on the higher side)

A nurse in the states earns per hour.last i checked,it was about 20dollars /hour. in one month a nurse will get about half a million. Mind you this nurse can decide to do 2 jobs. so factor in living expenses and whichever way you look at it,they are not the same.......

And then that small lecture of yours about working to be happy.....i can also launch a debate on it smile

@famooz - For one, in the west, most employers will not recognize your Kenyan qualifications. Looking for a job there with your Kenyan degrees is like someone looking for a job here with Somali degrees - while Kenyans from 'reputable' Kenyan universities are competing for the same jobs. There is a big difference between a Kenyan who goes there 'fully qualified' carrying along his Kenyan certs and one who went there after forth form and acquired 'American degrees'. When these countries have a shortage in a certain sector though, they go for immigrants from specific countries. Kenyan nurses for example are hot cake in the west. Your story might be very different from our friend who is a nurse.

Secondly, the bills there are a killer. You can never compare people working in different localities dollar for dollar or shilling for shilling. A fellow working in your village and earning 30k will be richer than you. The fellow will have a couple of investments and will live very comfortable life. You on the other hand with your 30k will barely make it through the month. Rent and fare might chew more than half your salo not forgetting the 4 - 6 hours you waste commuting, the fellow in your village will be doing business or farming - extra income!

Click on the link provided by @waiter [post #1] and read about a Kenyan nurse in the US who has 2 jobs, works 16 hours a day and can barely pay the bills!

Try working 16 hours in Kenya and see how far you will go. And when they say "working" 16 hours a day in the west, it means exactly that! Not being at your work station 16 hours. They even have metrics to measure your productivity and the optimum productivity. Sio hii maneno ya kukaa kwa ofisi fuaaaa ukingoja 5:00pm!
#13 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2011 1:45:52 PM

For Sport wrote:
famooz wrote:
@Famooz,

I’m sure there are many similar success stories. There are even more sob stories.
The question is, is it worth it?
Once there, you forget social life as you know it. Everyone is busy busy busy. So you work hard and retire to socialize with your dollars and things your dollars can buy
For families: very few will afford domestic help, the occassional baby sitter. Which means that one parent has to be with the child(ren) at all times. And since its almost impossible to live on one income, mum will be coming from work as dad is leaving for work...serious strain on the family / marriage.
Nothing is free there. Ask people how easy it is to get anyone's time over there. You’re constantly paying bills. Most Kenyans have to hold down multiple jobs just to get by. And most of the time, you get highly educated Kenyans performing jobs which do not reflect their qualifications and expertise. The only thing holding people back from coming home is that there’s little to show for the years and years abroad, and of course the high expectations we place on them.

If you have a decent job here, there’s no need to go chasing a dream. (Nightmare).

as Njung'e says, I'm happier being happy.

@ sport relax on me......i see your point but all i am saying is that there are greater opportunities out there. personally,i have no desire to work in the states- but having worked outside Kenya,i can atest to the fact that there are opportunities out of Kenya- maybe even better depending on how you look at.......about being happier being happy- well.......each one of us has their way of defining happiness or what makes them happy- and this is not to mean that people who want some level of financial independence do not value happiness:)

Surealligator
#14 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2011 1:54:40 PM

Been reading the book 'Disposable People'. Check it out here.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qfCiQJE_sBg

My neighbour tells me that Kenyan's don't go to USA to stay, it is to make money and return to spend the same here. Otherwise, there is no dream out there.
Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own
#15 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2011 1:57:06 PM

@Famooz,
What i meant is that you do not have to break your back chasing dream riches.Think of that lady who works for 16 hours a day.Does she even have time to smile or share jokes with her loved ones leave alone being landed on?Drool ......As someone said,you may complain all your life that you may never ever get money to buy a pair of shoes......until you meet someone without legs.
#16 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2011 2:03:02 PM

famooz wrote:
@Famooz,

@famooz - For one, in the west, most employers will not recognize your Kenyan qualifications. Looking for a job there with your Kenyan degrees is like someone looking for a job here with Somali degrees - while Kenyans from 'reputable' Kenyan universities are competing for the same jobs. There is a big difference between a Kenyan who goes there 'fully qualified' carrying along his Kenyan certs and one who went there after forth form and acquired 'American degrees'. When these countries have a shortage in a certain sector though, they go for immigrants from specific countries. Kenyan nurses for example are hot cake in the west. Your story might be very different from our friend who is a nurse.

Secondly, the bills there are a killer. You can never compare people working in different localities dollar for dollar or shilling for shilling. A fellow working in your village and earning 30k will be richer than you. The fellow will have a couple of investments and will live very comfortable life. You on the other hand with your 30k will barely make it through the month. Rent and fare might chew more than half your salo not forgetting the 4 - 6 hours you waste commuting, the fellow in your village will be doing business or farming - extra income!

Click on the link provided by @waiter [post #1] and read about a Kenyan nurse in the US who has 2 jobs, works 16 hours a day and can barely pay the bills!

Try working 16 hours in Kenya and see how far you will go. And when they say "working" 16 hours a day in the west, it means exactly that! Not being at your work station 16 hours. They even have metrics to measure your productivity and the optimum productivity. Sio hii maneno ya kukaa kwa ofisi fuaaaa ukingoja 5:00pm!

@ Maich. def, if anybody wants to leave Kenya to work abroad,they have to be conversant with the regulations that govern their profession and get the relavant paper work to ensure that they can work/ find a job.

With 'recession',obviously things have changed,not only in USA but even in kenya,stuff is expensive and what that means for most people is that hakuna saving- live from hand to mouth.

I not saying that people should pack up in search of the dream/ riches and/or material stuff,but i am all for people exploring their potential- wherever they so wish on this earth as long as they are well informed.
For Sport
#17 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2011 2:10:08 PM

@ famooz,you said it right,"as long as they are well informed."

As @sure says, remember, out there, the big dream is to someday come back home. Hence the investments made here by those who can afford to do so. The biggest blunders I’ve seen involve those selling property they own here, to chase that bigger dream...and winding up worse off after draining their savings.
But as they say, its what works for you.
#18 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2011 2:11:53 PM

@Famooz,
What i meant is that you do not have to break your back chasing dream riches.Think of that lady who works for 16 hours a day.Does she even have time to smile or share jokes with her loved ones leave alone being landed on?Drool ......As someone said,you may complain all your life that you may never ever get money to buy a pair of shoes......until you meet someone without legs.

heheheheh ai ok guys!!!! I think i need a disclaimer smile

I think what i am saying is that it is not good to talk only about the negative,we need to look at the good and bad points.
It feels to me that people are quick to point at the negatives . May be my arguments are informed by the what i knew then and what i now know.

Being away from home,Do i miss home? yes,i miss nyama choma,going to the hawkers,i miss my family and friends.but i make a point to go back home every 3-4 months. I am happy,yes,am i financially independent,yes. Did i have this opportunity when i was in kenya ? no.Have i learnt something new- yes,everyday. Have i grown in my career? yes. See what i mean. Case by case basis smile

Please do not quote me again!smile

waiter
#19 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2011 2:16:49 PM

@ rasilio
@ jung'e

I think being content with what one has brings happiness. Being able to forecast an event of increasing what one has is even more pleasurable. What other preoccupation be there besides this, breathe fresh air? Regardless how we look at it, we work, gain knowledge and translate this into cash and cash into some flexibility. Unless working in weed farm and burning the chaff, it's hard just to be happy like that. one works to get cash and be fulfilled by results from it. If it's otherwise, I am going to tan cat’s skins and make merry.

Surealligator
#20 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2011 2:51:45 PM

The American dream belongs to the jews, not goyims.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2sGyG6z5PWM

You cannot live someone else dream.
Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own