wazua Fri, Jul 25, 2025

SAFARICOM and the BIG announcement
#21 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2011 12:02:10 PM

Its too late to issue a profit warning...their FY ends I think this month.Probably the Next FY.

The last time I checked SAF had abt 8M Mpesa customers am sure these customer would stick with the company until ZAP offers a meaningful challenge.

Airtel is hoping on riding on the Migrants to grow revenues but if their strategy is to use low pricing as a strategy they should be very careful not to attract serial 'flashers' who know how to use their Airtime 'wisely'.

3G is still safaricoms domain, airtel is yet to launch their 3G network. They should have launched at least a good product by now so as to ride on this MNP wave.The way I see it airtel will continue lagging behind on innovation as most of its decision will be coming from India which is lil bit behind in terms of telecommunication advancement.
ProverB
#22 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2011 12:04:15 PM

overtime most subscribers have more than one line...same number but different prefix... of this lot..do you think really that so many will bother with porting? Cheaper options have existed since the best options.. but safcom retained numbers//why lose out now? those in safcom are there for value added services..m-pesa..G3 internet etc.. they have not moved to cheaper alternatives to date..why move now?
Yu is probably the cheapest service provider..how many have considered moving there?

Number portability might on the contrary do safcom good..not work for airtel..mess up orange..cripple yu..

the first few portings will reflect the opportunity cost for those who do it..and with porting fee so high.. i doubt anyone is willing to lose out on fastest data and m-pesa totally just to be save miniscule costs.
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
#23 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2011 12:25:11 PM

ProverB wrote:
Number portability might on the contrary do safcom good..not work for airtel..mess up orange..cripple yu..

Very true. If I need to port I'd rather port to scom than away from. Anyway I think this portability thing is overrated, @ 200bob I'd rather buy another sim card plus who said Kenyans want to carry one handset? How will people know umefika?

#24 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2011 12:28:10 PM

What a stupid business idea?ati airtel will pay porting fees for you.for how long can they throw money away when still making losses?...they pay 4 me and i dump the line after 14days.
#25 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2011 12:32:03 PM

8M Mpesa customers from 15M subscribers.

That means 7M subscribers up for grabs.

Interesting numbers.
#26 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2011 1:04:12 PM

@ 200bob I'd rather buy another sim card

I thought Airtel were paying for guys to switch networks, ama?
#27 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2011 1:17:17 PM

mlennyma wrote:
What a stupid business idea?ati airtel will pay porting fees for you.for how long can they throw money away when still making losses?...they pay 4 me and i dump the line after 14days.

YOu will have to wait for 60 days (2months)after a successful port to port to another network.
Genghis Khan
#28 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2011 2:21:54 PM

MNP will have NO effect on Safcom, the same way Airtel's price war had NO effect on Safcom.

No man is happy without a delusion of some kind. Delusions are as necessary to our happiness as realities.

Are you serious?

They had to kill old tariffs like Ongea (10/-) to the current 2-3/- per min...

Are you serious?

Unless they don't make much from voiceEh? ... but they do!!! most of it!

I'm surprised there's been no profit warning... lets wait & see how the cook books... I just know they are doing badly.

I'll swallow my tongue if there is no profit dip. Infact I expect a drop in revenues as well.
"I'd rather be lucky than clever... every time!" - ME
"The problem is not what we don't know... it's what we know for sure that just ain't!" - MARK TWAIN
"Space we can recover... time never!" - NAPOLEON BONAPARTE
#29 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2011 2:34:24 PM

Genghis Khan wrote:
MNP will have NO effect on Safcom, the same way Airtel's price war had NO effect on Safcom.

No man is happy without a delusion of some kind. Delusions are as necessary to our happiness as realities.

Are you serious?

I'm surprised there's been no profit warning... lets wait & see how the cook books... I just know they are doing badly.

I'll swallow my tongue if there is no profit dip. Infact I expect a drop in revenues as well.

Its hard to push sarcasm here...
#30 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2011 2:42:50 PM

Genghis Khan wrote:

Are you serious?

That was sarcasm from KulaRaha
cnn
#31 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2011 2:45:14 PM

Genghis Khan wrote:

Are you serious?

You crack a joke on Sunday,they will laugh on Friday.
Caveman
#32 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2011 2:56:50 PM

#33 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2011 2:59:11 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

Yaani guys have concluded that everyone switching is switching to Airtel peke? And who's spreading rumours that they'll pay for you to switch?

#34 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2011 3:05:08 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

Yaani guys have concluded that everyone switching is switching to Airtel peke? And who's spreading rumours that they'll pay for you to switch?

The CEO was on TV saying It 'we will foot the bill for those wishing to port into our network'....Unless he changed his mind without informing us.
Genghis Khan
#35 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2011 3:46:58 PM

Genghis Khan wrote:

Are you serious?

Silenced Silenced Silenced Silenced Silenced Silenced Silenced Silenced Silenced

Pole...

At least I'm not delusionalsmile
"The problem is not what we don't know... it's what we know for sure that just ain't!" - MARK TWAIN
#36 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2011 3:52:19 PM

Wow! If 1mn people port from Safaricom to Airtel... how much does Safaricom make? Free pesa if you ask me!
Genghis Khan
#37 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2011 3:54:14 PM

Wow! If 1mn people port from Safaricom to Airtel... how much does Safaricom make? Free pesa if you ask me!

Safcom should be paying guys not to port... loyalty points... 200bob free airtime per month!
#38 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2011 3:55:59 PM

Those who will port will probably be those with multiple sims and therefore were not contributing anything to Safaricom.

Safaricom will make a killing from those who will not know what the 3 beeps mean.
#39 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2011 4:00:17 PM

selah wrote:

Those who will port will probably be those with multiple sims and therefore were not contributing anything to Safaricom.

Safaricom will make a killing from those who will not know what the 3 beeps mean.
This porting business might be a great profit [not just revenues] maker for Safaricom!
Silk
#40 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2011 4:27:43 PM

From what i can see here, expect some goodies tomorrow, to counter porting or whatever it is.