Market
Pennywise
Fellows, She has booted you, how do you keep your hard earned house?
Rank: Member Joined: 10/4/2010 Posts: 223 Location: Afghanistan
webish wrote:Jus Blazin wrote:@all, marriages will work if we want them to work. We are spending so much time planning on what to do when things go south instead of working on things that will sustain it. We are running scared. Consulting 'kitchen cabinets' and 'my mboys'. People are trying to protect themselves legally before they marry. If you are not sure of marriage to that particular person, just dont do it. We say vows we dont mean. Ecclesiastes 5:5 says Its better not to vow than to make a vow and not fulfil it. kwisha maneno, alaaar! Do not get married. You can practice serial monogamy. The rich have money working for them; the poor and the middle class are going to work for money.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 7/5/2010 Posts: 2,061 Location: Nairobi
Jus Blazin wrote:@all, marriages will work if we want them to work. We are spending so much time planning on what to do when things go south instead of working on things that will sustain it. We are running scared. Consulting 'kitchen cabinets' and 'my mboys'. People are trying to protect themselves legally before they marry. If you are not sure of marriage to that particular person, just dont do it. We say vows we dont mean. Ecclesiastes 5:5 says Its better not to vow than to make a vow and not fulfil it. @Blazin: Apparently you might not have met any evil, deceitful people (yet). They take your goodwill and kindness and p*** on it. People change, mostly for the worse, that's a fact. Some things will just not work regardless of whether the Archbishop officiated or was undersigned in blood. This is where we look to the law for justice/equitability. It is 2011, wake up.
Wendz wrote:Aki wanaume wako na shida....... I can only but laugh... heheheee the vice versa can apply any property earned before marriage is not considered property earned during the commission of marriage - but the ball game changes kabisaa if he/she modifies any part of the house - ithat inlcudes changing even a brick. Court would most likely consider u have added value to an existing property and give the johnny-come-lately a share.
@quicksand, are you married? If you are, sorry for what you may be going through. If you are not, dont get married. Period. Just live your life, since you believe that you will most likely get a wicked, conniving woman. There are many women out there of good morals and character. But you will be busy trying to build a fortress of legal framework to notice them. Let me ask you, what is the purpose of marriage? Marriage is supposed to be enjoyed. While I agree that there are people who have been caught up in bad marriages, it doesnt mean that since it happened to them it will happen to you. Ask these Wazuans who are happily married. Ask me. I dont spend time thinking if my wife will change for the worse, because that will only build a wedge and act as a catalyst. I'm busy enjoying my marriage. The fact that they can change for the worse means they can change for the better too. So its not about the year, its about you. Dont rush to get married, just take your time and you will find that one person that you will give yourself to wholeheartedly. They are there. A woman not interested in what you have, a woman interested in you. Luck is when Preparation meets Opportunity. ~ Lucius Annaeus Seneca
@quicksand, check @Dod's signature. Luck is when Preparation meets Opportunity. ~ Lucius Annaeus Seneca
Jus Blazin wrote:@quicksand, are you married? If you are, sorry for what you may be going through.
If you are not, dont get married. Period. Just live your life, since you believe that you will most likely get a wicked, conniving woman. There are many women out there of good morals and character. But you will be busy trying to build a fortress of legal framework to notice them. Let me ask you, what is the purpose of marriage? Marriage is supposed to be enjoyed.
While I agree that there are people who have been caught up in bad marriages, it doesnt mean that since it happened to them it will happen to you. Ask these Wazuans who are happily married. Ask me. I dont spend time thinking if my wife will change for the worse, because that will only build a wedge and act as a catalyst. I'm busy enjoying my marriage. The fact that they can change for the worse means they can change for the better too. So its not about the year, its about you. Dont rush to get married, just take your time and you will find that one person that you will give yourself to wholeheartedly. They are there. A woman not interested in what you have, a woman interested in you.  Umeongea kama watu saba ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Rank: Veteran Joined: 7/5/2010 Posts: 2,061 Location: Nairobi
@JusBlazin: I hear you. You make a sensible argument, but we all have fears, esp. when you have been burnt (not married, long time partner though, she went to UG to study, took some chunk of cash and then went silent). After this fiasco, I am not able to be all in  . Its no different than when you tell a business partner the he/she needs to put in a reserve of so much $$$ for you to do business.
The property stuff worries me a lot. It's true and fair to say we have of good morals and character and another set of people with negation of that. However, my question is, what happens to the entities that fellow Wazuans who are single have set up and have prospects of huge success in the near or far future? Does any law govern such scenarios when divorce is unavoidable.
It really cant get messy both in the boardroom and the corridors especially if the two partners are directly running the company. I just want to understand the correct law behind it.
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/11/2007 Posts: 1,680 Location: nairobi
my mother always insisted on how wise it would be to marry when you have nothing..i tried and it didnt work,so i got something and it seemed to work..then hell broke lose..in my next life..i will counter jimmy gathus mpango wa kando adverts.
quicksand wrote:@JusBlazin: esp. when you have been burnt (not married, long time partner though, she went to UG to study, took some chunk of cash and then went silent). After this fiasco, I am not able to be all in  . @quicksand, What has this to do with your initial question?
Market
Pennywise
Fellows, She has booted you, how do you keep your hard earned house?