wazua Sun, Jul 20, 2025

KQ plane loses wheel in air ! WTF
jasonhill
#21 Posted : Sunday, January 23, 2011 10:46:27 AM

Quick question... and pardon me ahead of time for asking this question, but I have read comments here and on Daily Nation, and it seems to me that there is a general attitude among a fair number of commentators when things like this happen that so-and-so is "not qualified", and I think that is not fair. This could have been a defective tire, loss of tire pressure, small debris on the runway that punctured the tire, bird-strike against the tire, etc. but whatever the case, there seems to always be an attitude that "this wouldn't happen in the US", or "we are unsafe, the UK is safe", etc. etc.

Why is there a general feeling that locals are not capable? KQ has a very good safety record and great pilots... well, except for that pilot that experienced spatial disorientation and banked the plane hard right and out of control... but these things happen. People should be praising KQ for the fact that JKIA was ready and process capable to support an emergency landing, that the tower saw the incident and contacted the authorities and the pilots, and that the pilots did a stellar job landing the plane sans a tire- no skidding off the runway. Can we get three cheers for that?

It's like a general feeling of self-loathing almost, and the Kenyan news media jumps right into it, and I think that it hinders progress. The media is quick to denounce the stoking of tribalism, and rightfully so. But who denounces their news-cycle tool of self-loathing and negativity? That is NOT how you raise a people up. You have to believe in yourself and your capability, and all the negativity- the biblical murmuring and complaining, will not have Kenya see Vision 2030. Confidence, patriotism, recognition of achievement, and self-pride, will.
RichVee
#22 Posted : Sunday, January 23, 2011 12:43:19 PM

I am a KQ shareholder but after travelling with them, I can't help but think something is not going right in the house.
- delays - in Jan, the NBO-JHB flight was delayed for more than an hour
-in Nov 2010, once we'd all boarded, flight jhb-nbo couldn't take off. We were kept aboard for close to half hour as they sorted out some mechanical fault(!)
- on the Jan flight, we were forced to watch a naija movie in which during the first 5 minutes, we were bombarded with some rather obscene bedroom scenes) Seriously, there were children, the old, all mix. The good thing is that people complained and the trashy movie was taken out. Shame on KQ!!!!
-On more than one occassion, the food actually ran out! and passengers were asked to please just eat this, it is all we have left.

Well Naikuni, needs a rest. He has outlived his good in KQ
Tired of mediocrity. Am going to the very top!
jasonhill
#23 Posted : Sunday, January 23, 2011 12:57:56 PM

RichVee wrote:
I am a KQ shareholder but after travelling with them, I can't help but think something is not going right in the house.
- delays - in Jan, the NBO-JHB flight was delayed for more than an hour
-in Nov 2010, once we'd all boarded, flight jhb-nbo couldn't take off. We were kept aboard for close to half hour as they sorted out some mechanical fault(!)
- on the Jan flight, we were forced to watch a naija movie in which during the first 5 minutes, we were bombarded with some rather obscene bedroom scenes) Seriously, there were children, the old, all mix. The good thing is that people complained and the trashy movie was taken out. Shame on KQ!!!!
-On more than one occassion, the food actually ran out! and passengers were asked to please just eat this, it is all we have left.

Well Naikuni, needs a rest. He has outlived his good in KQ

I've waited on the tarmac or had delays of up to nine hours at JFK, LAX, ORD and ATL among others. Delays are normal once you start to expand your routes. All growing airlines experience delays, and 30 minutes to an hour is absolutely nothing compared to the delays in US airspace and would be considered in the "excellent" range. Understand that there is an entire network of flights, security procedures, pre-flight checklists, flight prep procedures, weather, etc etc that goes into making sure that your flight departs and arrives safely. If anything, maybe KQ could do a better job explaining this to passengers... communication and customer service.

As far as mechanical faults, be glad that they caught them on the ground, not in the sky.

As far as the movie, that isn't necessarily KQ's fault, though they should of course take responsibility. Movie houses make in-house edits for "ancillary markets" in which all adult themes are removed from movies that will be viewed by all audiences. The wrong version was likely sent to KQ. They should apologize and make it part of the procedure to review all in-flight entertainment regardless of what the distributor says about its contents.

As far as food running out, maybe it was a weight restriction... food versus FUEL. Which would you pick? But again, this is where KQ could probably put some polish on its customer service skills. A coupon for dinner at the Carnivore or even Wimpy Burger to make up for the inconvenience would have done a lot to smooth things over nicely.
#24 Posted : Sunday, January 23, 2011 1:00:28 PM

jasonhill wrote:
.....there is a general attitude among a fair number of commentators when things like this happen that so-and-so is "not qualified", and I think that is not fair. This could have been a defective tire, loss of tire pressure, small debris on the runway that punctured the tire, bird-strike against the tire, etc. but whatever the case, there seems to always be an attitude that "this wouldn't happen in the US", or "we are unsafe, the UK is safe", etc. etc.

Why is there a general feeling that locals are not capable? KQ has a very good safety record and great pilots... well, except for that pilot that experienced spatial disorientation and banked the plane hard right and out of control... but these things happen. ......

Sometime back an engine fell off a US Northwest airlines jet (one of the world's leading airlines) and the pilots only noticed it had fallen when they landed.
http://www.nytimes.com/1990/01/05/us/jet-lands-after-an-engine-drops-off.html

Australia's Qantas has been having major incidents of late like exploded engines, decompressed chambers etc.
http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2010/11/06/3058911.htm

As you can see, worse things have happened to first world airlines. So KQ shouldn't be demonised.
Tommy
#25 Posted : Sunday, January 23, 2011 2:10:41 PM

this is negligence of the highest order.
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
#26 Posted : Sunday, January 23, 2011 2:11:21 PM

@jason big up! Kenyans na kupayuka! They just need to google airline mishaps n realize how safe KQ has been compared to some "major" airlines. We truly hate ourselves
drake
#27 Posted : Sunday, January 23, 2011 2:59:05 PM

As far as replacing their "aging fleet", it looks like KNAL will have to wait a bit longer... what with Boeing pushing the dreamliner debut back a further 8 months ....

First delivery is expected in October this year. Note however that Kenya Airways is number 20 something on the delivery list..... probable delivery date is likely - 2014.

It remains to be seen if TN has the cojones to switch to Airbus ...

Link:
http://atwonline.com/air...s-first-delivery-delaye

http://www.arabianbusine...-boeing-ceo-375511.html

MatataMingi
#28 Posted : Sunday, January 23, 2011 7:40:25 PM

@all. Sit back and THINK.

@ jasonhill & jaggernaut . GREAT comments. You guy are correct.
@ RichVee. pole sana bwana. What you describe as your 'problems" are nothing if you are a regular air traveller.
I am going on KQ next Sunday. Do you think I will change my mind.
I suggest you read @jasonhill earlier post. We complain about little things that go wrong with KQ - yet we accept BIG things that go wrong with western airlines. I think maybe we have a chip on our shoulder.

By the way I have been to the US more than 30 times, the Uk almost 100 times. Add to that about 50 flights to the other parts of Europe, Far East, Australia and other parts of Asia. Dont even ask me how many flights I have had withen Africa and Kenya.

Kenya Airways is as good as they come. And I DONT have any KQ shares.

Regards and peace guys & girls
qw25041985
#29 Posted : Sunday, January 23, 2011 8:21:17 PM

@ MatataMingi. i totally support u. guyz need to chill and relax and think what they are sayin.Trashin KQ lik it was an access kenya of the airline industry show allot of misinformation..i am shockd at sound minds at wazua equating tis stock to express and the like .
I wish mis placed emotions show cased her wld translate at the stock price then i wld really buy cheap from those panic selling...
KQ is a great co. and lets keep it like that..
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
the deal
#30 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 12:06:57 PM

So no effect on the share price even if tires are falling airbourne let the release 3Q passenger numbers and the haters will eat the dust...LMAO!!!!
RichVee
#31 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 12:44:11 PM

problems have to be pointed out however small. A stitch in time saves nine, the time to manage the situation is now, not when we begin to get ten hours delays. People do travel and many people like to travel safe and on time, but we all don't keep track of how many flights we've done per route lol.
Tired of mediocrity. Am going to the very top!
bendi3
#32 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 1:47:13 PM

Tommy wrote:
this is negligence of the highest order.

I agree totally.We may say that we are harsh agaist KQ but this is the result of what i would call 'reverse brand loyalty'......this is what happens when a company spends millions in building its image but does not take actual step into maintaning such image.

There was infact one instance where,after having said my prayers and settled down waiting for the heavy headed feeling that comes with taking off,we 'braked' suddenly.The captain was later to explain that one of the doors was not locked.Thank God we were not far off the run way.I wonder..........,we would have lost more than a wheel.

Having said that,I believe KQ is doing better than most African airlines and even some European and asian airlines given the turbulent conditions in which it operates,but as it endeavours to expand its market and become a true pride of Africa,let it not lose sight of the small things that matter.
And losing any part of the aircraft in air,is just pure negligence.I believe some checks are done to ensure every thing is in order before takeoff and in KQ i feel these are done hurriedly,to reduce turn around time putting the souls on board at risk.

The early worm, is the one caught by the early bird.........
theslim
#33 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 3:19:31 PM

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-10785301
the early worm is eaten by the early bird
#34 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 3:24:01 PM

@bendi wacha porojo, "hurriedly" kwani unakuwanga hapo?
#35 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 3:27:19 PM

May be looking at the brighter side of it, they have competent pilots who can land the plane safely with some wheels missing.... that is a plus by the way....

How insurable is an incidence where ones property is destroyed by a plane wheel falling on it? May be the insurance have a new innovative product right there...
bendi3
#36 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 4:03:17 PM

@bendi wacha porojo, "hurriedly" kwani unakuwanga hapo?

No am usually not.But with 53 destinations to fly to,and with some as much as 10 frequencies with only 30 aircrafts(assuming at any particular day all are servicable),simple logic demands that there will be shorter turn arounds.

This means a hurried check,so that you do not keep passengers at next destination waiting,or delay the landing of next aircraft given the limited parking bays in most of the African airports that the pride flys to.
The early worm, is the one caught by the early bird.........
#37 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 4:18:09 PM

Not to be too light, I do not think losing One wheel is such a big thing really for such a big aircraft. It is not a car that has only four. If you watch Aircrash investigations, you will realise KQ are good. The delays, as mentioned earlier, are not bad compared to the west.I always choose to fly KQ anyday if I have a choice. These guys have an excellent track record on safety and they have the best pilots in the region and they are worldclass by any standards. You will realise this when they land at JKIA. Normally it is very smooth. Just try and land here on a BA or Ethiopian .... The plane almost collides with the runway.

As an investment, I do not think that airlines is stable the world over. What with the out of control fuel prices,too many aicraft being built, too many routes etc. The next frontier is now Maglav locomotion. Ask China.
Cde Monomotapa
#38 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 6:40:21 PM

Hey pple zim is a wndrful place.was there in Dec. Flex KQ W/O delay both ways. if u r investors worth ur salt u should look at the ZSE. 75 listed companies but grossly undrvalued in comparison to major upside potential.current market cap. USD4.5B, stocks listd in USD. Check out www.zse.com, www.imara.co, www.africansuninvestor.com, www.meiklesinvestor.com. The corporates thre have bettr investor relations than the Nse with dedicatd investor websites. Check em out! Daily turnover circa USD 1.5M n coming up.
yekeyeke
#39 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 7:06:51 PM

Its not clear to me. What came off? The rubber or the metail ream with bolts or the rubber and the rim together like you would get from say a lorry on one of our roads?

If its the entire mguu, then this is very worring? How did the bolts come off when in mid air.??????
#40 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 9:31:55 PM

One fast plane dropped one of its main landing gear (entire main oleostrut + wheel assembly) during takeoff! Hapa hapa kenya n landed on two.....Things happen, bt very rarely. I wouldnt use the word negligence, rather complacency. In the airline industry, negligence equates SABOTAGE. I doubt the kq mishap was intentional, n "quick turnround" is generally fallacious. The tech guys have to certify its serviceability (written, n their jobs r on the line here) b4 pilot signs acceptance.....