wazua Mon, Aug 4, 2025

Most Reliable stockbroker
qw25041985
#21 Posted : Saturday, January 22, 2011 9:35:20 PM

I also woudnt recommend Dyer . Staff are just lazy.Plain and simple.I mean gettin service is just a hustle.U can queue at he their offices until u collapse. Yani somebody better pull them out into the 21 century...And YES they have preferential treatment for the big boys thus you w/ ur small money u come last.And yes ur orders will be taken by a management trainee who still think we are in a bear market coz prices have stagnated since January !!!!!!!!!!!

D&B IS A NO NO NO NO NO NO NO ....
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
spro
#22 Posted : Sunday, January 23, 2011 1:51:55 AM

i like this one: http://www.genghis-capital.com/

no problems since I deal with them. online trading and daily / weekly market reports
gesowan
#23 Posted : Sunday, January 23, 2011 5:24:51 AM

cfc any time but that online thing is bure kabisa you cannot make changes
erifloss
#24 Posted : Sunday, January 23, 2011 6:52:24 AM

gesowan wrote:
cfc any time but that online thing is bure kabisa you cannot make changes

I have been using cfc's online trading and its the best out there. With the activelite account execution of orders is fast though if you have access to live trading data in terms of bids and asks then its even faster coz you'll know the best price to buy or sell and yes you can cancel orders real time.
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
jasonhill
#25 Posted : Sunday, January 23, 2011 10:49:02 AM

Forget the "most reliable stockbroker"... Wazuans are the center of NSE stock expertise. Young Money!

The question should be:

"How does the top Wazuan get a seat on the exchange?"

That's a real question. There are experts on this site. How would one of them go about getting their own brokerage instead of relying on "who and who" that's been around since the sixties.

You all are in the unique position to build an East African Wall Street. Think BIGGER.

In the US, you have to get your series 7 and 63 to deal securities. What is the Kenyan equivalent and does anyone here have it?
drake
#26 Posted : Sunday, January 23, 2011 11:33:50 AM

jasonhill wrote:
Forget the "most reliable stockbroker"... Wazuans are the center of NSE stock expertise. Young Money!

The question should be:

Try KES 100 Million
jasonhill
#27 Posted : Sunday, January 23, 2011 11:43:13 AM

drake wrote:
jasonhill wrote:

The question should be:

Try KES 100 Million

You'll make that money back. Focus on the finish line. That money could be raised via investors.
Jamani
#28 Posted : Sunday, January 23, 2011 12:10:25 PM

jasonhill wrote:
drake wrote:
jasonhill wrote:

The question should be:

Try KES 100 Million

You'll make that money back. Focus on the finish line. That money could be raised via investors.

Good thinking Jasonhill, lakini Kenya that amount is not small and it doesnt come that easy. Our society is not as it is in the diaspora, iko siasa mingi, hongo, na mambo mingi ya who is who, its not that straight forward even if you have that money. But i agree with your thinking in toto,
erifloss
#29 Posted : Sunday, January 23, 2011 12:21:32 PM

drake wrote:
jasonhill wrote:

The question should be:

Try KES 100 Million

When they demutualize the NSE we'll be able in one way or the other control how the 'controllers' do things coz we'll also be able to have a piece of the NSE and with it a say!
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
drake
#30 Posted : Sunday, January 23, 2011 12:26:17 PM

jasonhill wrote:
drake wrote:
jasonhill wrote:

The question should be:

Try KES 100 Million

On what do you base that piece of analysis? I know some Russians that would be very interested in talking to you....
jasonhill
#31 Posted : Sunday, January 23, 2011 12:41:28 PM

I base it on the fact that brokerage houses exist. They wouldn't exist if they didn't make money. They make money via fees. If someone is doing it, you can do it. I like this dialog. It is good to bring up the barriers and issues, so long as we figure out ways to bring them down.
drake
#32 Posted : Sunday, January 23, 2011 12:59:26 PM

jasonhill wrote:
This is totally unacceptable in financial services and banking to have any systems outage longer than about an hour or two total PER YEAR. I personally built such systems at one of the largest banks in the US, and our Service Level Agreement was 99.999% uptime, and anything less was not tolerated. We ran IBM servers (as well as HP). The hardware is not the issue. It's the implementation and management of the systems that cause such outages.

I guess I know who my first IT consulting prospect will be when I land in Nairobi.

Congratulations! It would seem you have just found your next consulting prospect. Keep this up, and you won't have to buy 'junk bonds'... as earlier contemplated.

jasonhill
#33 Posted : Sunday, January 23, 2011 1:08:20 PM

Well remember, Mike Milken made billions of dollars off of junk bonds, so I have much love for junk! I'm sure that in Kenya's large informal economy, that there are quite a few junk-rated (lacking a formal credit rating) investments that have huge returns. I want more junk! As long as I have an hand in the operations.
drake
#34 Posted : Sunday, January 23, 2011 2:11:21 PM

Mike Milken was sentenced to 10 years and barred by the SEC ...but I digress....

@Sarrouniya, the quality of service at your broker (or most places for that matter) is proportional to the size of your portfolio and the frequency of your trades ... along with other "ancillary benefits" that you may from time to time, procure from them ...investing in their in-house funds, discretionary account, buying research, etc.

How much do you plan to invest?
jasonhill
#35 Posted : Sunday, January 23, 2011 3:25:47 PM

I would do 10 years in prison standing on my head wearing Gucci pumps and an ankle chain for one-hundred sixty billion shillings, which is what Milken made. But I myself digress. That's two billion dollars. I could build a 400-lane water desalinization plant in Mombasa, the world's largest wind farm in Turkana, a huge Geothermal plant in the Rift Valley, and ten lanes of fiber from the sea to Nairobi, Eldoret, Kisumu, and Nakuru with that kind of money, give it all away to Kenyans for FREE, and still have more money than I could spend in my lifetime from the interest.

Mike Milken is a hero.
DaveM
#36 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 5:02:05 AM

the original question was "
Who is the best stockbroker in town? In terms of reliability."
#37 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 8:45:34 AM

DaveM wrote:
the original question was "
Who is the best stockbroker in town? In terms of reliability."

With Milken's money any broker in town will be reliable! That's the final answer.

QD
#38 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 1:20:48 PM

Anyone who may know do afrika investment bank trade online en what is their credibiliy.
The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts while the stupid ones are full of confidence
jerry
#39 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 3:27:38 PM

QD wrote:
Anyone who may know do afrika investment bank trade online en what is their credibiliy.

@QD; Sounds musical! In case you didn't have access to yesters DN, there will be a special article in friday's BD Africa on online trading.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
Agra
#40 Posted : Friday, January 28, 2011 12:32:17 PM

http://reut.rs/gOcoQC Its official now according to Watch Dog Genghis Capital is the Best Broker.
It's easy for investors to get emotional and prejudiced when trading, but computers don't