wazua Sun, Jul 20, 2025

8 Pages<1234>»
What do 1-bob Airtel calls mean for Safaricom share price?
#21 Posted : Friday, January 14, 2011 6:27:56 AM

Saf should just concentrate on data and mpesa and let airtel run itself rugged, imho as a shareholder. No need to try hanging on to dominant market share while margins and return on investment take a hit.
#22 Posted : Friday, January 14, 2011 7:19:10 AM

@ spark, what % comes from the two compared to voice? Safaricom is still voice dependent and will be for a very long time. Their data rates are higher than the other providers! What to do? Safcon is toast!
X13united
#23 Posted : Friday, January 14, 2011 8:19:15 AM

Atleast someone noticed how safcon has been busy robbing kenyans,their unstandardized billing. The other day they took all my credit thanks to leaving my internet on through the night. Am behind airtel all the way this battle.
chris79
#24 Posted : Friday, January 14, 2011 8:33:39 AM

X13united wrote:
The other day they took all my credit thanks to leaving my internet on through the night.

@X13 united, how do you leave your internet on all night and expect your credit to be still there in the morning?
#25 Posted : Friday, January 14, 2011 8:45:14 AM

X13united wrote:
Atleast someone noticed how safcon has been busy robbing kenyans,their unstandardized billing. The other day they took all my credit thanks to leaving my internet on through the night. Am behind airtel all the way this battle.

Kenyans! Kweli! Do you leave your car running all night then claim ati KK conned you out of petrol?
[Seems you have a Windows machine which does these background downloads automatically + check your anti-virus]
Surealligator
#26 Posted : Friday, January 14, 2011 8:52:49 AM

chris79 wrote:
X13united wrote:
The other day they took all my credit thanks to leaving my internet on through the night.

@X13 united, how do you leave your internet on all night and expect your credit to be still there in the morning?

@Chris79 & VVS

The truth is, my phones have been online more than half of their life, since the introduction of Sonyericsson quickshare and now xperia x10. Once I got OperaMini downloaded, the maximum charged per surfing etc has been 40 cents as far as I did not exit at any given time. Actually, my concern has always been power charge going down. A week or two ago, Safcom caught up with our trick of not subscribing for the internet service officially and man, aint they charging us like in a cyber cafe?

I have to device another approach to beat them at their own game. Just for kicks. I get satisfaction when am able to beat the systems. That's why I suspect the devil might have gotten the better of me.

I argue, Safcom looted from me for so long, I have to do something to get even. That is how I justify being able to go around wicked systems. Am yet to work on Airtel.

To console myself, I usually donate the saved looted money to a needy kid.

Did you know YU is the second largest mobile service provider in Kenya by subscriber base?

Na wewe QW, keep your word to VVS good to keep your swagger.
Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own
#27 Posted : Friday, January 14, 2011 8:56:06 AM

Bad days ahead for the taxman,un healthy busines practise,i dont support the mbaniani's coz they are just spoiling our revenue targets.they say they are not after profits in the short term,why cant they purely make it free?
#28 Posted : Friday, January 14, 2011 9:06:20 AM

@surealligator thats quite an interesting tip...I did realise when using the opera mini sometimes I would browse for free ... but I didnt know safaricom were unaware.

This airtel promotion is God sent No matter what they make I think safaricom should just respond as always. The other Day I was about to switch to YU(I would never switch To Airtel I hate The colour)But Bob revised their sms charges right in time, Now Am waiting for Yu to revise theirs and see If I will switch to them.

I would really like pple to sell their safaricom shares when it hits 3bob I will add some more.

#29 Posted : Friday, January 14, 2011 9:11:19 AM

airtel could be killing itself slowly. We wont wait for long before hearing of massive lay offs, etc. Bad way of doing business especially if their costs are increasing. The customer will be the eventual loser. CCK should step in to curb this madness.
qadaffi
#30 Posted : Friday, January 14, 2011 9:21:13 AM

airtel could be killing itself slowly. We wont wait for long before hearing of massive lay offs, etc.

I really don't care if Airtel commit suicide. My pocket is showing signs of life, at last.
I know some may say that is a simplistic view because of the economic ramifications of lowered taxes etc but for now, I am quite happy to keep it simple.
erifloss
#31 Posted : Friday, January 14, 2011 9:32:35 AM

Michael Joseph exited at the right time. I've been advocating for safcom for long but i'm waiting to see what Bob will do.
Not only has Airtel reduced it's tarriffs but also their way of doing business, they've spoiled the market for telecoms contractors. As long as one has a business name and can work on a BTS, they give you the contract. Contract works that used to go for 200K are now going for as low as 25-50k.
These guys have cut down on their operational & Maintenance costs and i've started realizing that they might be able to sustain this price war coz their bottom line might not be affected in the long run.
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
#32 Posted : Friday, January 14, 2011 10:07:24 AM

The money saved on calls by businesses will be directed to other areas probably spurring more revenues, thereby making up for the drop in tax from telecommunication companies
#33 Posted : Friday, January 14, 2011 10:55:22 AM

Share down and supply very high
#34 Posted : Friday, January 14, 2011 11:21:53 AM

Yu to yu now at 25 cents!!!!
Djinn
#35 Posted : Friday, January 14, 2011 11:37:45 AM

chris79 wrote:
X13united wrote:

@chris79 - not really funny - the billing should be for packets sent and received and not per minute. @x13 united - having said that, perhaps next time make sure your email is off (even web bassed emails like gmail/yahoo/etc) or, if its an email client like outlook/eudora/lotus/etc at least disable the "send/receive after 5/10/15 mins" function. Also, if your AV auto updates, packets will accrue and finally, windows updates - those can be a mother - esp if its a big security patch or upgrade...
Djinn
#36 Posted : Friday, January 14, 2011 11:46:20 AM

Saf should just concentrate on data and mpesa and let airtel run itself rugged, imho as a shareholder. No need to try hanging on to dominant market share while margins and return on investment take a hit.

@Sparky, not quite...at least not for data - one major constraint in terms of increasing consumption of data is the type of device. Less than 2% of total devices in Kenya are 3G. Another 8-10% are WAP enabled or USB dongles. So that leaves abt 88-90 % of devices that cannot consume data except SMS data - but non-SMS data?

The other aspect of data is the enterprise data in which spere SCOM is well placed having offerings like 3G (for personal and SME use), WiMax (for corporate use - they can beat the daylights out of AK if they like and I suppose they are already albeit in a haphazard fashion IMHO), VPNs (by mixing their own connectivity infrastructure with other players like Jamii (metro fibre), KPLC (backhaul), KDN (backhaul), etc etc and plugging in a few gaps using VSAT, Microwave etc. By and large, mobile networks will become the de facto delivery and access network for various services (mobile commerce, mobile government, etc etc)

However, not many people see the desert for the grains of sand....

Having said that, voice remains the bulk of revenues - the only thing is that even despite increasing subscriber numbers, the revenues are not growing - if you look just at that only, it might seem like they are doomed - but they are not.
Djinn
#37 Posted : Friday, January 14, 2011 11:52:39 AM

zedjohn wrote:
Safcom shares are rubish as it is... Airtel will sell the company at a profit once they have more customers, which must have been their plan all along...Come quick, market the name, increase the customer base then back to the bottom line. methinks they'll sell it by year aug, 2011.

No - 1) they cannot attain any ROI that soon. 2)They only just put in place their outsourced model - the rationalisation and consolidation cannot show returns that quickly.

They are in for a slightly longer haul than Zain was - Zain had bags of oil money and needed to put it somewhere - no long term goals...they did and make a penny...
moneydust
#38 Posted : Friday, January 14, 2011 1:36:39 PM

The service seems not to be working..being trying the whole morning to subscribe to no avail

Could it have been a promotional gimmick????
#39 Posted : Saturday, January 15, 2011 12:35:06 PM

moneydust wrote:

The service seems not to be working..being trying the whole morning to subscribe to no avail

Try *111*1# & if that is busy try *111# then go thru the menu
moneydust
#40 Posted : Saturday, January 15, 2011 12:42:00 PM

moneydust wrote:

Try *111*1# & if that is busy try *111# then go thru the menu

Thanks alot vitumob the second option worked now am in..

Kwaheri safaricom..