wazua Thu, Mar 26, 2026

New safaricom sms rates
#11 Posted : Friday, January 07, 2011 4:54:19 PM

Meanwhile in the Twitterverse-
MMuendo pokes: Bob Collymore, you finally live up to your name. SMS's at a bob.
Bobcollymore responds: I'll be living up to my name when you guys start to Call More!
webish
#12 Posted : Friday, January 07, 2011 5:36:23 PM

muganda wrote:
Bobcollymore responds: I'll be living up to my name when you guys start to Call More!

Hahahaha... Dead!

Life is joy, death is peace, but the transition is very difficult.
#13 Posted : Friday, January 07, 2011 6:34:24 PM

kenmac wrote:
its two way......
Either they lost a lot of cash during the festive season to airtel as everybody sent their forwarded SMes,
or everyone subscribed to the 20 bob offer for 100 SMes, and bob realised the cow wasn't giving expected milk.....a little bit late, but it's not yet too late to learn.....

Or it was evil genius.

Maybe they decided to lower the charges a couple of weeks ago but someone said "let's do it after the festive season. Millions of smses are sent then and people have money to burn so they wont mind much". A small committee was formed, numbers were crunched, projections were made etc. etc. and they decided to shelf the reduction till January are as their F.O. probably put it "a couple of millions later". We will never know unless you have an insider.
#14 Posted : Friday, January 07, 2011 9:58:10 PM

@ maich, from the news it looks like big brother CCK had to bulldoze safaricom to this rates.................
chris79
#15 Posted : Saturday, January 08, 2011 7:08:16 AM

Airtel Orange and yu have been subsidising the cost of text messages by up to 50% all this time. Safaricom was simply waiting for the interconnect rates to go down.
#16 Posted : Saturday, January 08, 2011 9:01:17 AM

Partly true @chris79, but not entirely so - CCK didn't regulate SMS rates within network and hence Safaricom's SMS bundles.

Come to think of it, CCK of these regulators seems to have taken care of wananchi most, even inspiring ERC, IRA etc. But here goes:

"Mobile service operators are now required to immediately implement lower SMS termination rates with effect from January 1," said CCK in a statement on Friday.

"The firms are expected to interconnect at Sh0.60 per SMS and reduce progressively to Sh0.05 by 2013, according to the prescribed glide path."

http://www.standardmedia...id=14&j&m&d
#17 Posted : Saturday, January 08, 2011 9:55:09 AM

muganda wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Applause
#18 Posted : Saturday, January 08, 2011 10:59:26 AM

pressure is good. i just received a text this morning.
i hate it because i had just acquired my second fone specifically for zain and sms was the most used feature.
#19 Posted : Saturday, January 08, 2011 12:16:08 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:
muganda wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Applause

@Intel,

And Thus will run the line 'Bob Collymore of Call More'
mozenrat
#20 Posted : Saturday, January 08, 2011 6:59:22 PM

KenyanLyrics wrote:
The only language Safcon undersstands is that of money. Kudos to all those who boycotted Safcon SMS to force them to make this change

Keep your ears to the ground bwana.. It was a reaction to CCK directive that sms interconnection rates are now capped at 60 cents effective 1st Jan down from 2 shillings.