wazua Tue, Jul 22, 2025

18 Pages<1234>»
KPLC rights interim report -massive under subscription
#21 Posted : Friday, December 24, 2010 9:01:32 AM

Sober wrote:
What basis did D&B use to conclude that there was an undersubscription?

I think they were just being modest. 90% uptake is very good but an oversupscription which is widely expected will put them over the top. KPLC is one of those counter you can say without doubt is a sure thing. 10B in this country has almost become peanuts so I can assure you that the trades that took place between 15th and 22nd must have been huge with the likes of Transcentury (may their founder rest in peace) taking up additional rights. I expect an oversubscrition even before the underwriters come in.

#22 Posted : Friday, December 24, 2010 9:38:17 AM

@2012 i thought the underwriters only come in with an undersubscription (10%) as it stands. those misusing a post under 'investor' should cease. wanajijua
#23 Posted : Friday, December 24, 2010 9:46:32 AM

Sober wrote:
@2012 i thought the underwriters only come in with an undersubscription (10%) as it stands. those misusing a post under 'investor' should cease. wanajijua

@sober to me an oversubscription means that KPLC will receive more than the 9.5 billion they asked for whether its from shareholders or underwriters

Will they be able to achieve this... I think YES
jerry
#24 Posted : Friday, December 24, 2010 11:05:58 AM

Sober wrote:

Whoever imagines there can be an under-subscription is failing to see some facts. About 170,000,000 of 488,630,245 rights were traded leaving 318,630,246 or 319M. 'We' applied for our rights and extra allocation and EB &Centum will take 244,315,122. So it is as if someone is saying the shareholders cannot take up 74M shares(their own and extra allotment) worth only KES 1.5Bn. Is it now more manifest?
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#25 Posted : Friday, December 24, 2010 12:09:25 PM

Those talking of an under are not shareholders here. that is what i an observing because they are talking basing on what they hear. an scared i may not get my full allocation.
jerry
#26 Posted : Friday, December 24, 2010 3:10:56 PM

Sober wrote:
Those talking of an under are not shareholders here. that is what i an observing because they are talking basing on what they hear. an scared i may not get my full allocation.

One thing I'm yet to come into terms with is the underwriting issue. It led to gov not presenting the rts for trading in nse or so I believe. The question now is; how is this underwrighting going to affect allocation of xtra rts?
the deal
#27 Posted : Friday, December 24, 2010 3:18:26 PM

An under subscription is written all over this...i remember few weeks ago some people here said it will be impossible to get the rights of the market..well we bought them...2012 and the rest what will trigger KPLC to rally in the short term, me i say NOTHING...the interim results will be blah blah blah...the way i view it...following the restructuring KPLC has become a long term BUY...there will be no more merger dividends...look at 2013 not 2011...
gesowan
#28 Posted : Saturday, December 25, 2010 1:47:51 AM

i think D&B read the reactions to read 90%.this is not massive
BGL
#29 Posted : Sunday, December 26, 2010 12:25:31 PM

gesowan wrote:
i think D&B read the reactions to read 90%.this is not massive

Kwanza! KPLC Should pay the dividend of 5bob which was due on 15th of this month. I have not seen a cheque or EFT yet. Has anybody received his/her KPLC dividend yet?
On another note an undersubscription being alleged here (i wonder what is the purpose of underwritters or its ignorance by KPLC haters) is only music to my ears since i will get allocation for all the additional rights i applied for.
History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
qw25041985
#30 Posted : Sunday, December 26, 2010 5:30:36 PM

ALL WE ARE saying is that this rights issue will be UNDERSUBSCRIBED .the issue of using the undersubscription to your advantage is all up to you .
But UNDER-SUBSCRIBED this rights issue will be .Fullstop !
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
jerry
#31 Posted : Sunday, December 26, 2010 7:46:41 PM

@qw. If under-subscribed no refund. What is really ur problem?
mzeekijana
#32 Posted : Sunday, December 26, 2010 9:16:46 PM

qw25041985 wrote:
..this rights issue will be UNDERSUBSCRIBED..UNDER-SUBSCRIBED this rights issue will be .Fullstop !

WAPENDE WASIPENDE hii kitu will be..(qw..repeate after me)..UNDER-...Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
qw..u made my evening cool..Laughing out loudly ...
qw25041985
#33 Posted : Sunday, December 26, 2010 10:08:37 PM

@ mzeekijana . u dnt understand .THIS rights issue will be UNDER-SUBSCRIBED !!!!!!!!!!!!! . All the world has to know this small but important truth that unfortunately has evaded even the brilliant minds at wazua ...
Okay . UNDER-SUBSCRIPTION = K.P.L.C rights issue and the equation balances .
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
#34 Posted : Sunday, December 26, 2010 11:31:08 PM

If the subscription rate is even 50 percent , it doesn't matter (as far as KPLC is concerned) as Equity and Centum will ride to the rescue for the other half. So I don't understand why people are fretting. In this case a subscription rate of 50 percent is thus not really an 'undersubscription' as we would call it
gesowan
#35 Posted : Monday, December 27, 2010 8:28:03 AM

let us wait for the final data,but people would wish for under subscription considering some of us bought a hundred shares and then ended up going for several thousands as extra rights so if undersubscription then we get all the extra shares,we never bought the rights,those who bought the rights wishes for an oversubscription,which side of you bread is buttered,did you buy the rights or went for extra shares,
jerry
#36 Posted : Monday, December 27, 2010 8:53:12 AM

@gesowan, u get the rts because u r a subscriber not coz the subscribers haven't taken them up. So u've to consider ALL the rts that will be eventually taken up(incl by EB&CENTUM) b4 u can shout under or over. Meanwhile, BUY more from the market. I repeat; u can't get the rts unless u r a subscriber!
#37 Posted : Monday, December 27, 2010 9:47:40 AM

Guys read previous posts on this issue if you can't get hold of the memorandum. people are just throwing statements here.
an under subscription of 50% means EB + CENTUM will take the rest. KPLC is losing nothing here. an under subscription is the best news for those of up who applied for additional rights because we will get them. guys are jus hating for nothing.
#38 Posted : Monday, December 27, 2010 9:51:16 AM

jerry wrote:
@gesowan, u get the rts because u r a subscriber not coz the subscribers haven't taken them up. So u've to consider ALL the rts that will be eventually taken up(incl by EB&CENTUM) b4 u can shout under or over. Meanwhile, BUY more from the market. I repeat; u can't get the rts unless u r a subscriber!

The extra allocation comes in because of guys who never take up theirs. that's why i'm praying for an under.
#39 Posted : Monday, December 27, 2010 2:55:34 PM

In my opinion it will take a miracle for this issue to be undersubscribed. It will be defying all logic and will top my surprise list of the year ahead of Muthaura. Who would have thought he'd been a naughty boy like Bashir?

gesowan
#40 Posted : Monday, December 27, 2010 8:11:22 PM

@jerry
i meant guys bought the minimum 100 shares then on the PAL form they applied for additional shares eg10,000 hoping to get full allocation incase of under subscription,then there those guys who bought the rights @.55 lets say 10,000,the later wishes for an oversubscription,i hope we are clear.