Tumetoka analogue sasa tuko Digital!!!
Kihara joni
#361 Posted : Saturday, January 17, 2015 4:21:55 PM

Ceinz wrote:
Caveman wrote:
[quote=Gathige]Yangu bado Zimwo. Who has the map details of where N"airobi and its environs"?

Here:
http://jolini.co.ke/digi...ation-do-you-live-here/[/quote]

I don't like these sub-standard, Chinese imports. Where can I get a quality free to air set box??????

Buy a digital tv.

Digital TV will not broadcast pay channels like NatGeo.

I have a Gotv but thinking of getting a startimes also after I bought mum one and found some exiting channels like
Nat Geo gold
Viasat Discovery
Viasat History
Fine Living
and some more beautiful ones
on Gotv I only enjoy
Nat Geo wild
Sony
discovery world
and nickel...something something
cartoon channel

Anyway Mutunga amekalia Digital migration kabisa
#362 Posted : Saturday, January 17, 2015 4:36:36 PM

A quick question to those in the know @Rankaz, Caveman et al. I came across an android smart tv set up box. Has anyone here used it? It promises over 300 channels including those on dstv such NatGeo, premier league, HBO etc via internet. Is it a better option than the ones currently on sale?

Ngong
#363 Posted : Saturday, January 17, 2015 6:48:06 PM

Sasa hii mambo ya local channels kwa Gotv/star itaendaje ama tumetapeliwa?
#364 Posted : Saturday, January 17, 2015 6:53:04 PM

Ceinz wrote:
Caveman wrote:
[quote=Gathige]Yangu bado Zimwo. Who has the map details of where N"airobi and its environs"?

Here:
http://jolini.co.ke/digi...ation-do-you-live-here/[/quote]

I don't like these sub-standard, Chinese imports. Where can I get a quality free to air set box??????

Buy a digital tv.

Digital TV will not broadcast pay channels like NatGeo.

Then get DSTV.
#365 Posted : Saturday, January 17, 2015 8:20:42 PM

Ngong wrote:

It's a pain for MOA to have someone else make money by subscription while they don't
#366 Posted : Saturday, January 17, 2015 8:32:36 PM

I feel GoK should make signet the universal platform. I see a scared MoA forcing us to use their sandukus or get DsTv. I suspect their sandukus will onlyrun their platform
#367 Posted : Saturday, January 17, 2015 8:38:17 PM

Kratos wrote:
A quick question to those in the know @Rankaz, Caveman et al. I came across an android smart tv set up box. Has anyone here used it? It promises over 300 channels including those on dstv such NatGeo, premier league, HBO etc via internet. Is it a better option than the ones currently on sale?

Only if you have access to affordable broadband internet, not the bundles beloved of most of our telcos. I happen to use SRT4922 which is a satellite box with IPTV capabilities. Often, with orange weekly unlimited internet, I'm able to flawlessly tune in to the internet radio stations but the speeds are often insufficient to stream the tv channels.
#368 Posted : Saturday, January 17, 2015 8:52:52 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
Kratos wrote:

Only if you have access to affordable broadband internet, not the bundles beloved of most of our telcos. I happen to use SRT4922 which is a satellite box with IPTV capabilities. Often, with orange weekly unlimited internet, I'm able to flawlessly tune in to the internet radio stations but the speeds are often insufficient to stream the tv channels.

Thanks @Rankaz, there is a guy coming over to show me how it works and its reliability but like you've mentioned about the speeds this might be a challenge since the box doesn't come that cheap to buy then toss it in the bin

#369 Posted : Saturday, January 17, 2015 8:58:36 PM

Kratos wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
Kratos wrote:

Thanks @Rankaz, there is a guy coming over to show me how it works and its reliability but like you've mentioned about the speeds this might be a challenge since the box doesn't come that cheap to buy then toss it in the bin

True. No need to buy then not use it fully.
Ngong
#370 Posted : Saturday, January 17, 2015 9:03:49 PM

Ngong wrote:

It's a pain for MOA to have someone else make money by subscription while they don't

Ngong
#371 Posted : Saturday, January 17, 2015 9:06:44 PM

Ngong wrote:

So in short we need several boxes, ama?
D32
#372 Posted : Saturday, January 17, 2015 11:24:51 PM

Ngong wrote:

They say that it's FTA, but if If they encrypt their signal, you'd need their decoder.

While you are at it (Going Digital), please upgrade the workflow to HD. It is such a turn-off watching poor quality video that's not sharp, that has a distorted aspect ratio, inaccurate color and poor sound.

In fullscreen, compare how CNN looks like vs the rest:

If I was a music artist, I'd not want to showcase my music live via these studios, as the quality output is depressing. If a potential fan who has an eye for quality experiences my performance for the first time with the present quality, that fan might be deterred, not because the music was not good, but because the studio failed to output the music performance with quality.

Would be nice if video looked like this photo:

They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
Caveman
#373 Posted : Sunday, January 18, 2015 8:53:37 AM

Ngong wrote:

MOA set top box will be an FTA. This means it will be able to show all free channels just like the other FTAs. CAK set a standard that any FTA should be able to show all free channels irrespective of the transmitting company. I still bet if you have Jolini, you will not need to go back to your pocket.....NEVER.
#374 Posted : Sunday, January 18, 2015 10:03:10 AM

GoTV_Kenya wrote:
It has come to our attention that four (4) Free-To-Air stations namely Citizen, KTN, NTV and QTV are currently running an infomercial on their platforms specifically advising consumers against purchasing GOtv set top boxes for carrying their content without consent.

GOtv Kenya Limited would like to assure Kenyans that the company operates within the confines of the laws of Kenya. GOtv Kenya has been and continues to air the content of the above mentioned four stations, amongst others, pursuant to a ‘must carry' obligation imposed by Regulation 14 (2) (b) of the Kenya Information and Communications (Broadcasting) Regulations 2009, whose objective is to ensure that the public has access to information.

The Supreme Court, in Supreme Court of Kenya at Nairobi Petition No.14 of 2014 Communications Commission of Kenya & 5 others v Royal Media Services Limited & 5 others by judgment delivered on 29 September 2014, affirmed that the ‘must carry' rule does not infringe on the broadcasters' copyright.

GOtv offers 11 local TV channels and more than 70 additional channels including pay TV and Free to Air Channels on DVB-T2 technology.

GOtv is authorized by the Communications Authority of Kenya, it was the first provider in Kenya to launch DVB-T2 technology over three years ago.

The latest infomercial is not only defamatory of GOtv, misleading to the public but also contemptuous of the court orders stated above.

GOtv shall move to court for contempt proceedings and damages.

We take this opportunity to thank you our valued subscribers for your continued support and to assure you that all content aired on the GOtv platform is legal and legitimate.

Signed,
Felix Kyengo
General Manager - GOtv

Ngong
#375 Posted : Sunday, January 18, 2015 10:46:53 AM

GoTV_Kenya wrote:
It has come to our attention that four (4) Free-To-Air stations namely Citizen, KTN, NTV and QTV are currently running an infomercial on their platforms specifically advising consumers against purchasing GOtv set top boxes for carrying their content without consent.

GOtv Kenya Limited would like to assure Kenyans that the company operates within the confines of the laws of Kenya. GOtv Kenya has been and continues to air the content of the above mentioned four stations, amongst others, pursuant to a ‘must carry' obligation imposed by Regulation 14 (2) (b) of the Kenya Information and Communications (Broadcasting) Regulations 2009, whose objective is to ensure that the public has access to information.

The Supreme Court, in Supreme Court of Kenya at Nairobi Petition No.14 of 2014 Communications Commission of Kenya & 5 others v Royal Media Services Limited & 5 others by judgment delivered on 29 September 2014, affirmed that the ‘must carry' rule does not infringe on the broadcasters' copyright.

GOtv offers 11 local TV channels and more than 70 additional channels including pay TV and Free to Air Channels on DVB-T2 technology.

GOtv is authorized by the Communications Authority of Kenya, it was the first provider in Kenya to launch DVB-T2 technology over three years ago.

The latest infomercial is not only defamatory of GOtv, misleading to the public but also contemptuous of the court orders stated above.

GOtv shall move to court for contempt proceedings and damages.

We take this opportunity to thank you our valued subscribers for your continued support and to assure you that all content aired on the GOtv platform is legal and legitimate.

Signed,
Felix Kyengo
General Manager - GOtv

Thought so too, MOA is becoming cry bebi!
T-Bag
#376 Posted : Monday, January 19, 2015 4:52:38 PM

Seriously wazua!!!!! How many set-top boxes must one own to lead a normal life? With the likes of Citizen, KTN, Nation et all gearing for theirs. So you will need at-least three boxes?

@Mawender, you cannot import affordable Digital TVs from shaina?
I AM trust in GOD, I AM belief in THYSELF
Caveman
#377 Posted : Monday, January 19, 2015 9:46:01 PM

T-Bag wrote:
Seriously wazua!!!!! How many set-top boxes must one own to lead a normal life? With the likes of Citizen, KTN, Nation et all gearing for theirs. So you will need at-least three boxes?

@Mawender, you cannot import affordable Digital TVs from shaina?

You need one free to air set top box. Anything else is not basic.
#378 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 3:21:58 PM

Fimboooo Chapa

CAK withdraws NTV, KTN, Citizen TV digital license over 'misleading ads'
#379 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 3:42:18 PM

Siringi wrote:
Fimboooo Chapa

Very much in order: the infomercial was inaccurate. It's like NTV telling customers not to buy an aerial on the open market, but to wait for an NTV aerial, etc. Ridiculous.
#380 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 3:45:57 PM

Siringi wrote:
Fimboooo Chapa

cak or ca?