Investor
Stocks
KQ in 2010-11 (Boom, Bust or Blah)
VituVingiSana wrote:If the strike is not settled bt 4 Nov then it is in KQ's best interest to report lousy results...
IMHO, I hope KQ sacks those who go on strike... Or those who want to stirke should quit & find new jobs... 100,000-120,000/month is nothing to sneeze at... Management is to blame too. After past experience they do not seem to have a strategy of managing unionisable employees!
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,224 Location: Nairobi
PKoli wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:If the strike is not settled bt 4 Nov then it is in KQ's best interest to report lousy results...
IMHO, I hope KQ sacks those who go on strike... Or those who want to stirke should quit & find new jobs... 100,000-120,000/month is nothing to sneeze at... Management is to blame too. After past experience they do not seem to have a strategy of managing unionisable employees! You can never manage unions unless you are ready to bankrupt the company! In USA, the car companies are dying... the airlines are in trouble... In France, the unions are very strong & behind the strikes/protests... In UK, Thatcher stared the unions down... Compare BA vs Ryan Air... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/25/2009 Posts: 4,534 Location: Windhoek/Nairobbery
PKoli wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:If the strike is not settled bt 4 Nov then it is in KQ's best interest to report lousy results...
IMHO, I hope KQ sacks those who go on strike... Or those who want to stirke should quit & find new jobs... 100,000-120,000/month is nothing to sneeze at... Management is to blame too. After past experience they do not seem to have a strategy of managing unionisable employees! Who knows maybe the KQ staff know something we dont know...we might be looking at record profits...and they just want their share albeit at the expense of the shareholder...dividend sticks @ 1bob...no interim dividend of 0.75 bob or end year dividend of 1.75bob...overheads shoot thru the roof...operating margins drop...i'm with TN here...the workers demands r unrealistic...this Kenya/Africa not U.A.E/Emirates(an airline subsidized by their Gava).
KQ reports their 2010/2011 interim results in 2 weeks time i expect foreigners and insiders to start trooping in from next week if my calculations serve me right i expect an EPS of 3.5 (without world cup) and EPS around 4.5...if u factor in the world cup spin off...
Here is an interesting article. http://www.flightglobal....-of-arab-expansion.html
Note that these Arab airlines' aircraft fly 13-14 hours daily whereas many airlines fly only 8 hours. Money is made when aircraft are flying not sitting on the tarmac. @Horton - What is KQ's utilization for 777s? Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
http://www.sunnewsonline...oney-10-21-2010-002.htm
TN talking to the Daily Sun of Nigeria...interview ranges from the recent strike to the decline in profitability.
Tomorrow i will be back on the boards...to grab more KQ @ 43 bob...BE GREEDY WHEN OTHERS ARE FEARFUL...thats what Warren Buffet told me...
I heard a rumor that KQ is introducing ALL-INCLUSIVE flights from NBO-MBA for 7,999/-... Now that would be awesome as a flier lakini even though it would hurt KQ's margins... what happens to the jamaas at Fly540??? Zain vs Safaricom vs Orange = Airtime Wars KQ vs Fly540 vs Jetlink = Airfare Wars Life is getting sweet for consumers! [Now only if I can find a cheaper way to get to the airport! Costs me 1,500/- in Nairobi + 800/- in Mombasa!!!! So my to/fro airport 4,600/- while my plane ride is 8,000/-] Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
I used to save the Nbi taxi fare by taking a bus from the airport to the city centre (50/-) then a cab from town to my house (500/-) as opposed to a cab from my house to the airport (1,800/-). That was until I discovered Modern Coast (not Coast Bus), very comfortable, fast, smooth.
Gordon Gekko wrote:I used to save the Nbi taxi fare by taking a bus from the airport to the city centre (50/-) then a cab from town to my house (500/-) as opposed to a cab from my house to the airport (1,800/-). That was until I discovered Modern Coast (not Coast Bus), very comfortable, fast, smooth. LOL... I have never taken a bus to the airport... Which one from town? And where? [BTW, most of my flights are early AM flights. Often with luggage...] I wish there was a good alternate like an airport shuttle coz I don't need a whole cab! If it wasn't for the cops hassling matatus at JKIA... I would just hire a matatu to take me to JKIA... From town to airport 30/- x 13 passengers = 390/- so paying the Matatu 400/- to drop me off is a good deal for them coz faster! They can always pick passengers on the return! In Kisumu, I took a tuk-tuk to the airport. Jamaa refused to go in & dropped me at the entrance. Lucky for me it was 'dry' + 1 bag coz the road was lousy/murram! Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Gordon Gekko wrote:I used to save the Nbi taxi fare by taking a bus from the airport to the city centre (50/-) then a cab from town to my house (500/-) as opposed to a cab from my house to the airport (1,800/-). That was until I discovered Modern Coast (not Coast Bus), very comfortable, fast, smooth. So still 500/- to Town to pick up the bus? Lakini, at least once you are in Mombasa, you are in town unlike being at the airport... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
VituVingiSana wrote:LOL... I have never taken a bus to the airport... Which one from town? And where?
Route 34 Outside Sabina Joy/Munyiri's Chips shop. They are so many and they have the most delightful crew.
Gordon Gekko wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:LOL... I have never taken a bus to the airport... Which one from town? And where?
Route 34 Outside Sabina Joy/Munyiri's Chips shop. They are so many and they have the most delightful crew. Munyiri's... LOL... I remember that place... It had the largest packets of chips anywhere... Those were the days! Coz we were broke high school kids... so quantity ruled over quality! Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
TWWWAAAACK...My bid @ 43 bob wont go through....
10x daily flights NBO-MBA [50+ flights per week] coz of the 2 dedicated 737-300 for regional flights. Will fly to Malindi in Dec 2010 in conjunction with NBO-Rome flights. http://www.nation.co.ke/...8/-/h3ttfk/-/index.html
More NBO-MBA flights than all the other airlines combined. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
VituVingiSana wrote:10x daily flights NBO-MBA [50+ flights per week] coz of the 2 dedicated 737-300 for regional flights. Will fly to Malindi in Dec 2010 in conjunction with NBO-Rome flights. http://www.nation.co.ke/...8/-/h3ttfk/-/index.html
More NBO-MBA flights than all the other airlines combined. VVS, you really love this counter? Why the unwavering love? BBI will solve it :)
2012 wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:10x daily flights NBO-MBA [50+ flights per week] coz of the 2 dedicated 737-300 for regional flights. Will fly to Malindi in Dec 2010 in conjunction with NBO-Rome flights. http://www.nation.co.ke/...8/-/h3ttfk/-/index.html
More NBO-MBA flights than all the other airlines combined. VVS, you really love this counter? Why the unwavering love? No love for the counter/shares but like the firm [it has faults too] which I think can be very profitable coz only major Sub-Saharan Africa player that is private... SAA & ET are government owned. Lakini at the right price I would sell the shares! I admit I am disappointed at the fall in price but I always buy more [cash depending] any counter that falls... Currently, these are KQ, KK & KPLC... I also like Williamson & Unga... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
VituVingiSana wrote:10x daily flights NBO-MBA [50+ flights per week] coz of the 2 dedicated 737-300 for regional flights. Will fly to Malindi in Dec 2010 in conjunction with NBO-Rome flights. http://www.nation.co.ke/...8/-/h3ttfk/-/index.html
More NBO-MBA flights than all the other airlines combined.  TN is on a war path...fly540???...bdw foreigners have been buying KQ like nobody's business...IATA gives montly updates on how airlines per region are fairing...and Africa has been the leader thus far...that operating profit myt increase 3 folds...5 Nov is make it or break it...
The KQ dividend just hit my account - registered at least 7.8 on the Richter scale. Did anyone see the I&M Building shake?
I guess stanbic building also shook somewhat but not such a high Richter scale.I sold out once it went exdiv. Time is money, so money is time. Money saved is time gained in reverse! Money stores your life’s energy. You expend your energy, get paid money, and store that money for a future purchase made in a currency.
Investor
Stocks
KQ in 2010-11 (Boom, Bust or Blah)