wazua Sat, Jan 25, 2025

37 Pages«<1617181920>»
Crazy Nairobi traffic!!
#341 Posted : Monday, March 09, 2015 11:21:46 AM

Rules. No handcarts apparently. Useless rule, will never be enforced.

5 minute waiting time for psvs at stages. Another useless rule, impossible to enforce.

Stupid solutions so far.
Atalaku
#342 Posted : Monday, March 09, 2015 11:25:14 AM

Havent we heard this before?

#343 Posted : Monday, March 09, 2015 11:27:02 AM

Atalaku wrote:

Measures or recommendations?
#344 Posted : Monday, March 09, 2015 11:29:04 AM

Waste of time. Why weren't traffic cops present at this meeting?
#345 Posted : Monday, March 09, 2015 11:31:17 AM

Rules. No handcarts apparently. Useless rule, will never be enforced.

5 minute waiting time for psvs at stages. Another useless rule, impossible to enforce.

Stupid solutions so far.

What about cows, donkeys etc?

They should ban all private vehicles in CBD, relocate government offices and services to Kajiado, konza and Turkana
#346 Posted : Monday, March 09, 2015 11:32:24 AM

Atalaku wrote:

Eti about to announce, kwani ni golden bullet?

eco
#347 Posted : Monday, March 09, 2015 11:39:33 AM

Decongesting Nairobi Traffic will only be possible the moment the authorities will develop infrastructure for 'Sharing the Road'. I presented a memorandum on this this to the Committee that was collecting public views on Decongesting Traffic in Nairobi. I do not know what happened of the result or report!

Our mistake is being too comfortable in the cars. We build roads for cars, instead of for people! We should facilitate safe people's movement and passages from point A to B, not cars et al. That said, Nairobi needs a Task Force for planning, developing and maintaining 'Non-Motorised Transport' infrastructure, including cycle and walking paths as a quick win in the short term. In the long term however, we need to develop 'Urban trains, Metros and Trams' for mass transport. Addis Ababa have engaged two Chinese companies to do this. I believe it is achievable.

Second solution is to move towards self governance as opposed to enforcement, or command and control (in all public sectors, including security). People obey rules when they see a cop, which makes things worse as our enforcement arm is very weak compared to the growing population.

Third, is to change the traffic laws to reflect reality on the ground, revise curricula for driving schools, and tighten test requirements.

Fourth, come up with a bio-driving license (National ID too, with chip for data), that can accumulate data on traffic behaviors of drivers. Repeat offenders should have their licences cancelled or suspended.
UpcomingPaperChaser
#348 Posted : Monday, March 09, 2015 12:01:18 PM

@#%& Nairobi traffic.

Traffic in Dar Es Salaam is worse, heri Nairobi its mostly during peak times, but Dar even at 11 no movement!!
Enjoy every moment of your life, you never know when your time will come.
#349 Posted : Monday, March 09, 2015 12:02:43 PM

UpcomingPaperChaser wrote:
@#%& Nairobi traffic.

Traffic in Dar Es Salaam is worse, heri Nairobi its mostly during peak times, but Dar even at 11 no movement!!

So we should'nt improve our traffic management just because our neighbors are worse off?
UpcomingPaperChaser
#350 Posted : Monday, March 09, 2015 12:05:33 PM

As opposed to all that, i think most Kenyans are unhealthy. They should therefore be made to walk. All PSV vehicles shouldnt enter town, and people should walk to get them. For instance, all Thika Road pedestrians to be dropped at Ngara, all Waiyaki Way, Kangemi and Kikuyu passengers to be dropped hizo sides za Chiromo, Ngong Road waachwe hapo community, eastlanders waachwe Nyayo!! CBD itakuwa much better
UpcomingPaperChaser
#351 Posted : Monday, March 09, 2015 12:07:44 PM

@#%& Nairobi traffic.

So we should'nt improve our traffic management just because our neighbors are worse off?

So we should improve it so that we do not escalate to their levels and be like them or lest we be like them. are you now happy?
kalenjinherdsboy
#352 Posted : Monday, March 09, 2015 12:13:49 PM

Atalaku wrote:

Hii kitu itachanganyisha the average driver in Nairobi. Simple concepts like waiting for the exit to clear up defeat us.
#353 Posted : Monday, March 09, 2015 12:17:34 PM

kalenjinherdsboy wrote:
Atalaku wrote:

Hii kitu itachanganyisha the average driver in Nairobi. Simple concepts like waiting for the exit to clear up defeat us.

We just need a change in a change in attitude and mentality by way of heavy punitive measures to any traffic offenders including pedestrians
#354 Posted : Monday, March 09, 2015 12:45:12 PM

kalenjinherdsboy wrote:
Atalaku wrote:

We just need a change in a change in attitude and mentality by way of heavy punitive measures to any traffic offenders including pedestrians

sasa how do pedestrians come in, never seen a people jam when guys, say are heading to industrial area in the mornings, they move smoothly in one big mass.
#355 Posted : Monday, March 09, 2015 12:51:32 PM

As opposed to all that, i think most Kenyans are unhealthy. They should therefore be made to walk. All PSV vehicles shouldnt enter town, and people should walk to get them. For instance, all Thika Road pedestrians to be dropped at Ngara, all Waiyaki Way, Kangemi and Kikuyu passengers to be dropped hizo sides za Chiromo, Ngong Road waachwe hapo community, eastlanders waachwe Nyayo!! CBD itakuwa much better

... and the upcomingpaperchaser should be allowed to zoom into the cbd in his pajero io. smile
Lakini mimi iko support your recommendation, but in a more broader way - ban all cars (apart from the president's, deputy president, leader of opposition and may be the governor) from the cbd - then turn all those parking areas into markets and allow hawkers to come in and trade their wares (and charge each hawker 200 bob per day).
wal6807
#356 Posted : Monday, March 09, 2015 12:53:43 PM

eco wrote:
Decongesting Nairobi Traffic will only be possible the moment the authorities will develop infrastructure for 'Sharing the Road'. I presented a memorandum on this this to the Committee that was collecting public views on Decongesting Traffic in Nairobi. I do not know what happened of the result or report!

Our mistake is being too comfortable in the cars. We build roads for cars, instead of for people! We should facilitate safe people's movement and passages from point A to B, not cars et al. That said, Nairobi needs a Task Force for planning, developing and maintaining 'Non-Motorised Transport' infrastructure, including cycle and walking paths as a quick win in the short term. In the long term however, we need to develop 'Urban trains, Metros and Trams' for mass transport. Addis Ababa have engaged two Chinese companies to do this. I believe it is achievable.

Second solution is to move towards self governance as opposed to enforcement, or command and control (in all public sectors, including security). People obey rules when they see a cop, which makes things worse as our enforcement arm is very weak compared to the growing population.

Third, is to change the traffic laws to reflect reality on the ground, revise curricula for driving schools, and tighten test requirements.

Fourth, come up with a bio-driving license (National ID too, with chip for data), that can accumulate data on traffic behaviors of drivers. Repeat offenders should have their licences cancelled or suspended.

this is so true , in Nairobi residential areas i think only the new Ring road Westlands and prob Mbagathi rd seem to have been designed with pedestrians in mind. For rest i think planners assumed only cars matterSad
"Children today are tyrants. They contradict their parents, gobble their food, and tyrannize their teachers."
•Socrates (470?-399 BC)
#357 Posted : Monday, March 09, 2015 1:19:06 PM

... and the upcomingpaperchaser should be allowed to zoom into the cbd in his pajero io. smile
Lakini mimi iko support your recommendation, but in a more broader way - ban all cars (apart from the president's, deputy president, leader of opposition and may be the governor) from the cbd - then turn all those parking areas into markets and allow hawkers to come in and trade their wares (and charge each hawker 200 bob per day).

Have you not seen pedestrians cross the road when its clearly green for cars and red for pedestrians thus forcing motorists to slow down and cause jam at the intersection/roundabout?
#358 Posted : Monday, March 09, 2015 1:28:47 PM

Have you not seen pedestrians cross the road when its clearly green for cars and red for pedestrians thus forcing motorists to slow down and cause jam at the intersection/roundabout?

Hapo sawa, but then we would need a slight change to the curriculum to include timers on the traffic lights, I think most of us pedestrians do not know the meaning of the lights and its not a deliberate effort to inconvenience the motorists its just that we need a bit of sensitizing on the same.
Atalaku
#359 Posted : Monday, March 09, 2015 1:32:17 PM

@Swenani...Always wondered why... When it is green for Cars to go is when a multitude of people prepare to cross and when it is red for people to cross, they are busy staring at the vehicles... This causes a whole confusion and vehicle pile... Now some basic education is required on these...What education does the traffic police department provide to people?
#360 Posted : Monday, March 09, 2015 1:34:52 PM

Hapo sawa, but then we would need a slight change to the curriculum to include timers on the traffic lights, I think most of us pedestrians are ignorant.

That's better,we need punitive measures in place.Kenya is not a logical functioning society