wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

18 Pages«<161718
What is a "good salary" in Kenya?
TheGeek
#341 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2016 6:31:39 PM

Flo-ology wrote:
Ryko wrote:
Everything adds up except the school fees ya 1.5M (Outlier) Pesa ya Masters iko apa? If yes then i dont see an issue . You truly live a simple life because you live in a 40k rent. Iyo fee inakumaliza, there is a "class issue apa" when it comes to fee. I think it is easier to control that fee now than later when the kids are all grown up.

To date i still wonder how my dad a primary school teacher, educated the 4 of us in academies, has his own house na we ate chicken when on holiday. How did that Ninja hack? Damn plus he always drank daily na ni beers si busaa. You barely hack this in Nairobi.

MBA @ strath. Wife Masters fee in med and kindergarten fee for my son. Wish I had looked for MBA bargain elsewhere. Any way education is a good investment

The cost of that strath mba you should maximise on the opportunities and networks there.
Otherwise if its just class you are attending please switch.
In the world of securities, courage and patience become the supreme virtues after adequate knowledge and a tested judgment are at hand.
Flo-ology
#342 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2016 7:01:39 PM

guard wrote:
Flo-ology wrote:
Mkondoa Macho wrote:
Flo-ology wrote:
bird_man wrote:
Flo-ology wrote:
My monthly salary is about USD 7,000, wife is KES 150,000; all these gross. Two kids, elder one attending baby class. Got loans to pay, about KES 250,000. Net income from business venture KES 240,000(took a loan for this venture). Food and shopping take about 50k,rent 40k. My wife and I still in school-masters. Still feel that I am constrained since I can barely save 100k every month. My comfortable salary would be KES 1M.

Gaddamit!Where do you take your salary?

Asking the same question. Then I note it's a "hello" so most likely its just to keep the conversation going.

Well, this is the reality. And my life style is a simple one. Let me break down my family expenses. School fees for one year is around 1.5m this translates to around 125k a month. Rent, shopping, food and house help is around 100k, folks in shagz will take another 20k. Car fuel(2cars) is about 50k. Car miscellaneous like insurance roughly 30k. Family entertainment and eat outs will take about 30k. Harambees and contributions will take another 20k. Credit card repayments about 100k. What messed me up was managing credit cards. Net income from salaries for us is about 600k. Do the math... From my perspective what is enough is relative and your class plays a big part in defining your "comfortable salary". By the way my first born is 5 years and the little one 2 years. I am 31 years old and I project expenditure to go up very soon as time advances-much to do with kids education and probably I will need a bigger house.

Which business is that that gets 240k per month??

Boutique.

what kind of Boutique?I'm closing my hardware for the Boutique....d'oh!

A boutique in a good location in the malls can fetch you good returns. One of the best locations is Junction and Sarit. Obviously I won't tell you the kind of boutique I am running... For your information 240k is nothing compared to what other guys are making as long you can manage inventory well. Works better if you have many outlets.
Reflection Eternal
sitaki.kujulikana
#343 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2016 8:27:15 PM

Flo-ology wrote:
guard wrote:
Flo-ology wrote:
Mkondoa Macho wrote:
Flo-ology wrote:
bird_man wrote:
Flo-ology wrote:
My monthly salary is about USD 7,000, wife is KES 150,000; all these gross. Two kids, elder one attending baby class. Got loans to pay, about KES 250,000. Net income from business venture KES 240,000(took a loan for this venture). Food and shopping take about 50k,rent 40k. My wife and I still in school-masters. Still feel that I am constrained since I can barely save 100k every month. My comfortable salary would be KES 1M.

Asking the same question. Then I note it's a "hello" so most likely its just to keep the conversation going.

Well, this is the reality. And my life style is a simple one. Let me break down my family expenses. School fees for one year is around 1.5m this translates to around 125k a month. Rent, shopping, food and house help is around 100k, folks in shagz will take another 20k. Car fuel(2cars) is about 50k. Car miscellaneous like insurance roughly 30k. Family entertainment and eat outs will take about 30k. Harambees and contributions will take another 20k. Credit card repayments about 100k. What messed me up was managing credit cards. Net income from salaries for us is about 600k. Do the math... From my perspective what is enough is relative and your class plays a big part in defining your "comfortable salary". By the way my first born is 5 years and the little one 2 years. I am 31 years old and I project expenditure to go up very soon as time advances-much to do with kids education and probably I will need a bigger house.

Boutique.

A boutique in a good location in the malls can fetch you good returns. One of the best locations is Junction and Sarit. Obviously I won't tell you the kind of boutique I am running... For your information 240k is nothing compared to what other guys are making as long you can manage inventory well. Works better if you have many outlets.

thats real hustle, biashara, kids, school, work, wewe ni super man, but by the time you settle won't the active chunk of your life have passed by, time with kids and stuff, will there be anything worth settling to.
omhangla
#344 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2016 8:34:46 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Flo-ology wrote:
guard wrote:
Flo-ology wrote:
Mkondoa Macho wrote:
Flo-ology wrote:
bird_man wrote:
Flo-ology wrote:

Boutique.

thats real hustle, biashara, kids, school, work, wewe ni super man, but by the time you settle won't the active chunk of your life have passed by, time with kids and stuff, will there be anything worth settling to.

Kwani your kid goes to an international school? and with that salo you should living in your own apartment, house or finalizing on a mortgage or construction.
Flo-ology
#345 Posted : Monday, December 19, 2016 10:40:31 PM

@Omhangla, mortgage is a trap. I think I saw a thread here on mortgage,worth reviewing that thread. Plus I don't think there is an affordable mortgage facility which can afford a decent gated community house/stand alone in nairobi within 15km radius. I feel that space/privacy and kids play area is important when bringing up a young family.
Reflection Eternal
#346 Posted : Tuesday, December 20, 2016 7:37:59 AM

Flo-ology wrote:
guard wrote:
Flo-ology wrote:
Mkondoa Macho wrote:
Flo-ology wrote:
bird_man wrote:
Flo-ology wrote:

Boutique.

That Ksh 50000 for fuel means about 150 km per day for the 2 cars including Sundays assuming 9 km per litre kwani where do you live? Credit card bill of 100k yet entertainment and shopping is already budgeted. 1.5 million fees pa is doubtable unless a lot has changed since I left school.
Your annual salary can buy a whole location huko shagz you are living large
Flo-ology
#347 Posted : Tuesday, December 20, 2016 8:47:36 AM

Flo-ology wrote:
guard wrote:
Flo-ology wrote:
Mkondoa Macho wrote:
Flo-ology wrote:
bird_man wrote:
Flo-ology wrote:

Boutique.

That Ksh 50000 for fuel means about 150 km per day for the 2 cars including Sundays assuming 9 km per litre kwani where do you live? Credit card bill of 100k yet entertainment and shopping is already budgeted. 1.5 million fees pa is doubtable unless a lot has changed since I left school.
Your annual salary can buy a whole location huko shagz you are living large

9km/l in Nairobi? Are you sure you live in Nairobi? Which car is that which gives you 9km/l? Credit can repayment is from shopping which I did for the house which went into excess of 500k. Note that 1.5m fee for three is conservative; try scouting around for a good school

Reflection Eternal
tony stark
#348 Posted : Tuesday, December 20, 2016 10:39:03 AM

Ryko wrote:
Everything adds up except the school fees ya 1.5M (Outlier) Pesa ya Masters iko apa? If yes then i dont see an issue . You truly live a simple life because you live in a 40k rent. Iyo fee inakumaliza, there is a "class issue apa" when it comes to fee. I think it is easier to control that fee now than later when the kids are all grown up.

To date i still wonder how my dad a primary school teacher, educated the 4 of us in academies, has his own house na we ate chicken when on holiday. How did that Ninja hack? Damn plus he always drank daily na ni beers si busaa. You barely hack this in Nairobi.

Labda your dad was a beneficiary of the Moi corruption government. Harambee here and here will saidia.
Corruption lives among us!
Wakanyugi
#349 Posted : Tuesday, December 20, 2016 5:38:55 PM

tony stark wrote:
Ryko wrote:

Labda your dad was a beneficiary of the Moi corruption government. Harambee here and here will saidia.
Corruption lives among us!

Maybe but I doubt it. I too sometimes feel like our parents were a totally different breed. My mother raised three sons, educating them to become professionals without the help of a salary or even a husband.

The current generation has plenty going in our favour, including corruption, yet all we do is whine.

"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
Plimsoul
#350 Posted : Tuesday, December 20, 2016 7:25:18 PM

Plimsoul wrote:

In my case I earn 220k net (with postgraduate degree)

That's about 300k gross. That's a really good salary.

How much do other wazuans working in Kenya make?

{{{{Gross, not including spouse}}}}

That's:
- @hardwood at 300k
- @omhangla at 218k
- @Flo-ology at 700k
- @Flo-ology'd wife at 150k

Any more volunteers so we can build up data points?

You can start a fake account to post if you like.
Mike Ock
#351 Posted : Tuesday, December 20, 2016 10:34:32 PM

@flo-ology you seem to have fallen into the reinvestment 'trap.' You spend most of your money reinvesting for some future that is always round the corner. I hope you take some time to enjoy the fruits of your labour. You can spend your whole life preparing for the future, only for your kids to blow it all after all that sacrifice!
wanyee
#352 Posted : Wednesday, December 21, 2016 11:03:01 AM

Sisi watu wa 30k tunaishi tu these salaries am seeing here..kweri watu apa wako weolthy
#353 Posted : Wednesday, December 21, 2016 3:04:38 PM

wanyee wrote:
Sisi watu wa 30k tunaishi tu these salaries am seeing here..kweri watu apa wako weolthy

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly And they're complaining
There's an old song by a Kyuk musician can't remember whether Ndicu, Maingi or Rugwiti:

Uria Nii ndikitie kuona indo ciathi tutikaigania
Wagia ngaari ukenda ndege, wagia ndege ukenda meeri

CHORUS
Niatia nii ingika mihang'o inyume?
Njukagira nguku ya mbere
Na thina ndunginyuma!

Riria uraririo ni kiea
Nikuri wina Acre ngiri
Na ukirira thina no ararira
Indo ciathi tutikaigania

Ukiria ngima na cumbi
Nikuri uraria na nguku