Investor
Stocks
Equity Bank unveils its MVNO strategy
I hear they are planning for a massive marketing campaign to register as many customers as possible. They will for example give free thin sims and give presents as t shirts and pens for those who will join. Hope that will work “Invest in yourself. Your career is the engine of your wealth.”
They have started to construct shop within the banking hall. Will this compromise the banking services? GOOD TO GREAT. KINGOTORE
meme wrote:innovator wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:bird_man wrote:The Equity share mbus has left...50sh printed!60sh here we come! In other news....all branches now have the thin sims ready for all branch customers.Awaiting go-ahead directive from HQ. yay! The regular SIMs are there not sure about the Thin SIMs. Thin sim not yet. Thinb sims were deployed to ALL branches 2 days ago. Waiting for Go ahead of roll out from HO Do I have to be an Ekuete account holder to have a line? Those queues (like Coop) are a nightmare..
Rank: Member Joined: 1/13/2014 Posts: 386 Location: Denmark
Gordon Gekko wrote:meme wrote:innovator wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:bird_man wrote:The Equity share mbus has left...50sh printed!60sh here we come! In other news....all branches now have the thin sims ready for all branch customers.Awaiting go-ahead directive from HQ. yay! The regular SIMs are there not sure about the Thin SIMs. Thin sim not yet. Thinb sims were deployed to ALL branches 2 days ago. Waiting for Go ahead of roll out from HO Do I have to be an Ekuete account holder to have a line? Those queues (like Coop) are a nightmare.. yes.. the service is for equity customers, you can however open an AC and forget about it Seeing is believing
Kingotore wrote:They have started to construct shop within the banking hall. Will this compromise the banking services? I thought it will improve their services! The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
JM on Nation AM Live right now talking about Equity 3.0. He clearly looks excited. Says: - Equity to Equity transactions will be free!!! - Targeting each and every household in Kenya. - Thin sim removes the need for smart phones.
kollabo wrote:JM on Nation AM Live right now talking about Equity 3.0. He clearly looks excited. Says: - Equity to Equity transactions will be free!!! - Targeting each and every household in Kenya. - Thin sim removes the need for smart phones.
I know it will happen. The biggest question is "when will it be?"
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/21/2010 Posts: 6,183 Location: nairobi
Iam equally excited and ready to divorce a green call it. "Don't let the fear of losing be greater than the excitement of winning."
STOCK PRICE GOING NUTS...glad i made my bulk purchase last month
kollabo wrote:JM on Nation AM Live right now talking about Equity 3.0. He clearly looks excited. Says: - Equity to Equity transactions will be free!!! - Targeting each and every household in Kenya. - Thin sim removes the need for smart phones.
Does it include calling (as in Thin-SIM to thin-SIM)? "We" can't allow that! The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
This thin sim biashara will not be a walk in the park for Equity. I doubt they will make any money for the first 2 yrs. Kenyans are peculiar people and we know that price alone is not a major motivator for people to jump ship especially when it comes to telecoms. In addition, Safcom is able to counter any price reductions likely to affect its market. In short Kenyans will benefit from lower prices but it remains to be seen whether this will translate to significant profit for Equity. They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/21/2010 Posts: 6,183 Location: nairobi
Its time to stop the arguement and watch the wrestling. "Don't let the fear of losing be greater than the excitement of winning."
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/2/2009 Posts: 2,458 Location: Nairobi
mlennyma wrote:Its time to stop the arguement and watch the wrestling. Let the Games begin! On the sidelines is the other Green, Member's traditional competitor. I wonder what cards they will play to keep their slim edge in this race.
tom_boy wrote:This thin sim biashara will not be a walk in the park for Equity. I doubt they will make any money for the first 2 yrs. Kenyans are peculiar people and we know that price alone is not a major motivator for people to jump ship especially when it comes to telecoms. In addition, Safcom is able to counter any price reductions likely to affect its market. In short Kenyans will benefit from lower prices but it remains to be seen whether this will translate to significant profit for Equity. I don't share your pessimism. Here is why: 1. Equity already has over 9M members. That is a massive base from which to start. 2. JM has announced that they will be giving the thin SIM to any Kenyan, not just 'Meba' - his target is the 27M Kenyans with a phone. 3. Money transfer at 25 bob, max; plus all the benefits of electronic banking. 4. And don't forget that what Equity has is basically a license to do telkom, not just banking. (The Safaricom strategy has been turned against Safaricom) 5. The nationalism card - Equity is our bank versus, Safaricom is foreign owned/led....etc What does Safaricom have to counter all this? "The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
tom_boy wrote:This thin sim biashara will not be a walk in the park for Equity. I doubt they will make any money for the first 2 yrs. Kenyans are peculiar people and we know that price alone is not a major motivator for people to jump ship especially when it comes to telecoms. In addition, Safcom is able to counter any price reductions likely to affect its market. In short Kenyans will benefit from lower prices but it remains to be seen whether this will translate to significant profit for Equity. Remember the price wars with Airtel led to a 40% drop in profit till they had to increase tariffs. Then they had mpesa to hold subscriber in place. With thin sim, they will have their subscriber numbers but a significant number will start spending less on the Safaricom sim card. it will just be on to receive calls and mpesa
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 1,982 Location: matano manne
Wakanyugi wrote:tom_boy wrote:This thin sim biashara will not be a walk in the park for Equity. I doubt they will make any money for the first 2 yrs. Kenyans are peculiar people and we know that price alone is not a major motivator for people to jump ship especially when it comes to telecoms. In addition, Safcom is able to counter any price reductions likely to affect its market. In short Kenyans will benefit from lower prices but it remains to be seen whether this will translate to significant profit for Equity. I don't share your pessimism. Here is why: 1. Equity already has over 9M members. That is a massive base from which to start. 2. JM has announced that they will be giving the thin SIM to any Kenyan, not just 'Meba' - his target is the 27M Kenyans with a phone. 3. Money transfer at 25 bob, max; plus all the benefits of electronic banking. 4. And don't forget that what Equity has is basically a license to do telkom, not just banking. (The Safaricom strategy has been turned against Safaricom) 5. The nationalism card - Equity is our bank versus, Safaricom is foreign owned/led....etc What does Safaricom have to counter all this? @Wakanyugi, maybe Safaricom would have to go it all out for a banking licence, aggressively trade with the deposits e.g in forex and micro-loans mshwari style reloaded to Mashinani with physical presence. Resources would be an issue though.
Rahatupu wrote:Wakanyugi wrote:tom_boy wrote:This thin sim biashara will not be a walk in the park for Equity. I doubt they will make any money for the first 2 yrs. Kenyans are peculiar people and we know that price alone is not a major motivator for people to jump ship especially when it comes to telecoms. In addition, Safcom is able to counter any price reductions likely to affect its market. In short Kenyans will benefit from lower prices but it remains to be seen whether this will translate to significant profit for Equity. I don't share your pessimism. Here is why: 1. Equity already has over 9M members. That is a massive base from which to start. 2. JM has announced that they will be giving the thin SIM to any Kenyan, not just 'Meba' - his target is the 27M Kenyans with a phone. 3. Money transfer at 25 bob, max; plus all the benefits of electronic banking. 4. And don't forget that what Equity has is basically a license to do telkom, not just banking. (The Safaricom strategy has been turned against Safaricom) 5. The nationalism card - Equity is our bank versus, Safaricom is foreign owned/led....etc What does Safaricom have to counter all this? @Wakanyugi, maybe Safaricom would have to go it all out for a banking licence, aggressively trade with the deposits e.g in forex and micro-loans mshwari style reloaded to Mashinani with physical presence. Resources would be an issue though. They could, although I suspect it would be quite hard to get a bankers license. Plus this would be a hugely distracting move and likely counterproductive. The most likely development I see is, Safaricom spins off M-Pesa and sticks to their core business. Then they can fight off Equity on voice and data, which they understand better than banking. "The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
Wakanyugi wrote:tom_boy wrote:This thin sim biashara will not be a walk in the park for Equity. I doubt they will make any money for the first 2 yrs. Kenyans are peculiar people and we know that price alone is not a major motivator for people to jump ship especially when it comes to telecoms. In addition, Safcom is able to counter any price reductions likely to affect its market. In short Kenyans will benefit from lower prices but it remains to be seen whether this will translate to significant profit for Equity. I don't share your pessimism. Here is why: 1. Equity already has over 9M members. That is a massive base from which to start. 2. JM has announced that they will be giving the thin SIM to any Kenyan, not just 'Meba' - his target is the 27M Kenyans with a phone. 3. Money transfer at 25 bob, max; plus all the benefits of electronic banking. 4. And don't forget that what Equity has is basically a license to do telkom, not just banking. (The Safaricom strategy has been turned against Safaricom) 5. The nationalism card - Equity is our bank versus, Safaricom is foreign owned/led....etc What does Safaricom have to counter all this? I am not being pessimistic, just realistic. A market is divided into segments. Out of the 9 million Equity accounts, probably only about 5 million use Equity as their primary bank, another 2 million use it for long term savings (kwa sababu by the time one has lined up at the branches to access the money, you must really need it) and another 1 million may be dormant accounts (like mine). The Equity customer probably deals in small many transactions per month. This is the customer that Safaricom has already targeted by reducing Mpesa charges to probably approximate those of Equity. I doubt non Equity bank customers will suddenly en-mass join Equity bank just because there is a new sim card with slightly lower "mpesa" charges. The product has to offer more than just price. The price wars of yester years may have affected Safaricom profits but, Safaricom still made profits. Their competitors still made losses despite the price wars. I still think thin sim will not be a walk in the Park for Equity. It may not lead to massive profits as widely expected. They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
tom_boy wrote:Wakanyugi wrote:tom_boy wrote:This thin sim biashara will not be a walk in the park for Equity. I doubt they will make any money for the first 2 yrs. Kenyans are peculiar people and we know that price alone is not a major motivator for people to jump ship especially when it comes to telecoms. In addition, Safcom is able to counter any price reductions likely to affect its market. In short Kenyans will benefit from lower prices but it remains to be seen whether this will translate to significant profit for Equity. I don't share your pessimism. Here is why: 1. Equity already has over 9M members. That is a massive base from which to start. 2. JM has announced that they will be giving the thin SIM to any Kenyan, not just 'Meba' - his target is the 27M Kenyans with a phone. 3. Money transfer at 25 bob, max; plus all the benefits of electronic banking. 4. And don't forget that what Equity has is basically a license to do telkom, not just banking. (The Safaricom strategy has been turned against Safaricom) 5. The nationalism card - Equity is our bank versus, Safaricom is foreign owned/led....etc What does Safaricom have to counter all this? I am not being pessimistic, just realistic. A market is divided into segments. Out of the 9 million Equity accounts, probably only about 5 million use Equity as their primary bank, another 2 million use it for long term savings (kwa sababu by the time one has lined up at the branches to access the money, you must really need it) and another 1 million may be dormant accounts (like mine). The Equity customer probably deals in small many transactions per month. This is the customer that Safaricom has already targeted by reducing Mpesa charges to probably approximate those of Equity. I doubt non Equity bank customers will suddenly en-mass join Equity bank just because there is a new sim card with slightly lower "mpesa" charges. The product has to offer more than just price. The price wars of yester years may have affected Safaricom profits but, Safaricom still made profits. Their competitors still made losses despite the price wars. I still think thin sim will not be a walk in the Park for Equity. It may not lead to massive profits as widely expected. You make good points but the way you want to interpret them, it seems to me, is upside down. 1. With MVNO Equity stands to eat into every product that Safaricom offers - money transfer, data and voice. 2. Safaricom does not threaten Equity's core product - banking - and therefore can not play the kind of offensive game they did on Airtel. 3. To beat M-Pesa Equity is offering a cost of 25 shillings maximum on money transfer, compare this with 300 plus that M-pesa charges you. And you don't even have to change your Phone/M-pesa number to use the thin SIM, only the prefix. 4. For the 9M account holders the cost of most MVNO banking services, money transfer included, is ZERO. I bet with this kind of deal even you will reconsider your dormant account. 5. All this before you have even factored in the operating efficiencies and market penetration that Equity will reap from moving most of their customers to a virtual banking platform. MVNO is a game changer and Equity should make money from it from the get go. Which ever way you look at it, Safaricom/M-Pesa has met its Waterloo. If you don't agree, show me how they are going to respond. Safaricom should have applied for a banking license the day they pissed Mwangi off. "The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
Investor
Stocks
Equity Bank unveils its MVNO strategy