#281 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2016 1:34:11 PM

watesh wrote:
mlennyma wrote:
watesh wrote:
The demand has shot up massively. Supply drying up

Signs were clear yesterday, many wazuans have no intention of buying anything, however this reverse will depend on the banks Q3 and Q4 we might see a second adjustment if the effect is steep

Q3 will be solid results. Q4 and H1 2017 will be a taste of the new law if old loans are repriced to 14.5%

This will not happen. Old loans cannot be renegotiated arbitrarily. It will be challenged in court

If they dont reprice the old loans, the customer will move to another bank get a cheaper loan and pay off that expensive one.

Easier said than done. Negotiation fee at 2.5 to 3 percent plus secured facilities have the legal charge locked on encumberance. Barrier to exit is high.. A prudent borrower would rather renegotiate with current bank

COOP 255,000 ABP 15.85; KQ 544,100 ABP 7.15; MTN 23,800 ABP 5.20
streetwise
#282 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2016 1:36:52 PM

What did I say in the morning.
#283 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2016 1:43:44 PM

streetwise wrote:
What did I say in the morning.

I hope you don't have amnesia.. Lol

Wakanyugi
#284 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2016 2:00:01 PM

mlennyma wrote:
watesh wrote:
The demand has shot up massively. Supply drying up

Signs were clear yesterday, many wazuans have no intention of buying anything, however this reverse will depend on the banks Q3 and Q4 we might see a second adjustment if the effect is steep

So if all it takes to stop the carnage is for Banks 'kusalimu amri' why are others not doing it?

Bullishness? Or bull headedness?
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
Magnate
#285 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2016 2:07:19 PM

mlennyma wrote:
Equity bado kuna vita the buyers and seller's are yet to settle on a deal

I have jumped in with one foot to test the waters @26.25 intending to exit at T+3 whatever the outcome
No diagnosis,no pragnosis,no pragnosis no profit......Jesse livermore
watesh
#286 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2016 2:07:34 PM

KCB supply has dried up at the moment just around 150k shares up for grabs
#287 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2016 2:28:54 PM

watesh wrote:

We are going to be fine..

instinct
#288 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2016 2:32:58 PM

watesh wrote:

any move towards 30 will be violently resisted...
#289 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2016 2:36:00 PM

instinct wrote:
watesh wrote:

And to imagine that I sold KCB at KES 61

Sir invest
#290 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2016 3:18:40 PM

Who has the link to the NSE stock demand and supply live.......share.
hisah
#291 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2016 4:02:01 PM

Sir invest wrote:
Who has the link to the NSE stock demand and supply live.......share.

Rich Live
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Goldilocks Reloaded
#292 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2016 5:40:13 PM

watesh wrote:
Goldilocks Reloaded wrote:
I am not a prophet like @Obiero but as i said yesterday the bottom is nigh. The banks may still experience selling pressure as the bears especially the foreigners rush to sell to the new bulls but the price should stabilise here before heading up (depending on the results of course).

On another note; someone educate me (not a guru in this), in UK and other such countries where interest rate margins are very small, how do the likes of BBK and SCBK make their profits?

CREDIT CARDS thats where the margins are. 242 million credit card purchase were made in the UK in just November. 45% of the amount spend incurred interest. Average interest rates are 10.4%.
In the US the most profitable banks Jp Morgan Chase, Wells Fargo, Citigroup have a large portion of income from investment banking.
Lets look at JP Morgan & Chase which owns the Chase brand in the US which big in retail banking and credit cards. Over 60 million households.
45% of their revenue was from retail banking (general mwananchi products like credit cards, loans, mortgages etc)
35% from investment banking
13% from asset management
7% from commercial and corporate banking

Generally in terms of income 46% is from net interest income while 54% is from non interest income (fees)
In Wells Fargo (biggest in retail) 53% net interest income while 47% non interest income
35%

How many Kenyans with bank account have CREDIT cards?

MEAGER!!!!!!!!

@Watesh the analysis is very well received. Our banks still have a lot of learning and business model rethinking to do to get to that level. I spent some time in UK and credit cards were being sent daily through mail packaged with very enticing niceties as if it was the best Christmas gift a bank can give you. This drove and continues to drive uptake of credit cards in those economies. Don't be surprised to see this as a new warfront for the banks. It already started but will intensify. Woe unto those who fall into the credit card trap as it is a pit that only gets deeper unless you have other solid sources of revenue and a vault full of discipline.
Go for a business that any idiot can run – because sooner or later, any idiot is probably going to run it – Peter Lynch
Goldilocks Reloaded
#293 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2016 5:45:36 PM

instinct wrote:
watesh wrote:

@Obiero i fell into the trap of holding Equity and Simba at post 55 (i became quite passive unintentionally as the prices fell). That is why I am not selling at sub-40. Been accumulating more as the prices have been going down. I would rather write-off (forget) the amount for the next 10 years than sell at these prices. Am accumulating even more.
Go for a business that any idiot can run – because sooner or later, any idiot is probably going to run it – Peter Lynch
Aguytrying
#294 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2016 6:15:10 PM

instinct wrote:
watesh wrote:

@Obiero i fell into the trap of holding Equity and Simba at post 55 (i became quite passive unintentionally as the prices fell). That is why I am not selling at sub-40. Been accumulating more as the prices have been going down. I would rather write-off (forget) the amount for the next 10 years than sell at these prices. Am accumulating even more.

The big boys have come out to play yesterday and today.
Meanwhile Today I joined member properly! Shoot first ask questions last. Like @Goldilocks. I'm keeping them for a very long time. If it goes lower like say 20.00 I'll buy more. Was too hard to ignore at these prices and has been a target of mine for a long long time.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#295 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2016 6:49:33 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
instinct wrote:
watesh wrote:

Meanwhile Today I joined member properly! Shoot first ask questions last. Like @Goldilocks. I'm keeping them for a very long time. If it goes lower like say 20.00 I'll buy more. Was too hard to ignore at these prices and has been a target of mine for a long long time.

@Goldi @aguy it's time to buy

#296 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2016 7:31:49 PM

watesh wrote:
I am not a prophet like @Obiero but as i said yesterday the bottom is nigh. The banks may still experience selling pressure as the bears especially the foreigners rush to sell to the new bulls but the price should stabilise here before heading up (depending on the results of course).

On another note; someone educate me (not a guru in this), in UK and other such countries where interest rate margins are very small, how do the likes of BBK and SCBK make their profits?

CREDIT CARDS thats where the margins are. 242 million credit card purchase were made in the UK in just November. 45% of the amount spend incurred interest. Average interest rates are 10.4%.
In the US the most profitable banks Jp Morgan Chase, Wells Fargo, Citigroup have a large portion of income from investment banking.
Lets look at JP Morgan & Chase which owns the Chase brand in the US which big in retail banking and credit cards. Over 60 million households.
45% of their revenue was from retail banking (general mwananchi products like credit cards, loans, mortgages etc)
35% from investment banking
13% from asset management
7% from commercial and corporate banking

Generally in terms of income 46% is from net interest income while 54% is from non interest income (fees)
In Wells Fargo (biggest in retail) 53% net interest income while 47% non interest income
35%

How many Kenyans with bank account have CREDIT cards?

MEAGER!!!!!!!!

@Watesh the analysis is very well received. Our banks still have a lot of learning and business model rethinking to do to get to that level. I spent some time in UK and credit cards were being sent daily through mail packaged with very enticing niceties as if it was the best Christmas gift a bank can give you. This drove and continues to drive uptake of credit cards in those economies. Don't be surprised to see this as a new warfront for the banks. It already started but will intensify. Woe unto those who fall into the credit card trap as it is a pit that only gets deeper unless you have other solid sources of revenue and a vault full of discipline.

Barclays Bank had started hawking credit cards some years back. I found one of their "marketing executives" trying to sign up our watchman. And the guy was almost signing up. He had been fed with lofty bullsh!t that he had totally bought. Selling points - He doesn't have to apply for advance anymore. He can simply go to an ATM and withdraw (to be deducted from the salary). He doesn't have to stress about school fees. He can simply use the card. Bla bla bla. The guy couldn't wait to sign. Wacha I explained to the watchman what he was about to get himself into!!! The Barclays Bank fellow felt like killing me!
#297 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2016 7:41:40 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
instinct wrote:
watesh wrote:

@Goldi @aguy it's time to buy

Loading my account kesho. I hope the take off is not as crazy as the slide. I want to add Member and HF. Na Co-op pia.

I have been eyeing KCB too but I might not buy in this first round. I want to throw stupid money at Equity. HF I should also add substantially given that at one point I was waiting for 20/=.

Luckily, just like you guys, I am not investing grocery money!!!
muandiwambeu
#298 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2016 11:46:12 PM

instinct wrote:
watesh wrote:

ilocks

@goldilocksz why not just hold till dust settles than chase the demon to hell.
,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
PKoli
#299 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2016 11:46:27 PM

instinct wrote:
watesh wrote:

I think kcb and equity will be comfortably in the 30s zone by end of Friday this week.
PKoli
#300 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2016 11:48:13 PM

instinct wrote:
watesh wrote:

I think kcb and equity will be comfortably in the 30s zone by end of Friday this week.