Culture
Why I fear / "hate" Going Home
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
culture is the most important thing in human civilization... you ingrain a good culture and you will raise the standard of life of your children. put emphasis on education and hard work and you will reap benefits. ION placing focus on money is wrong! a culture that places emphasis on money (regardless of how it has been accumulated will end up like 80s Latin america). focus on Music and Sports for culture enhancement is fine BUT SHOULD NEVER BE AT THE DETRIMENT OF EDUCATION (regardless of how much Messi earns... think about the guy paying him). Parents (especially fathers)... Christians - stop taking your kids to those churches that preach daily miracles and supernatural interventions, you are not doing them any favors. Be there for your children. A study was done in kenyan prisons and found that 80% of people in there had absent fathers! Think about it... aren't most Kyuk thugs bearing the surname of their mother? Assist members of your extended family to get post secondary education and you will see a marked difference in a generation. So stop complaining and prepare your children to this future you are talking about! That video has proved just what I had observed in society. (it was actually nice to place a face on to Flynn... the guy who observed the Flynn effect that formed the first scientific backing of my observations and convictions) All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Rank: Member Joined: 7/9/2011 Posts: 730 Location: Nairobi
Haiya Kumbe @kiash went to another forum and they are roasting area code +254 Dissing our capital sitting and Calling It names Rink: Nairipoff . . . Nairobbery compared to majuuGuess they have a point enyewe tunagongwa vibaya This requires a special thread "😖😡KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
@Kiash, wewe baki huko na hawa watu. What does it say about environment affecting someone? Stupid AmericansLuck is when Preparation meets Opportunity. ~ Lucius Annaeus Seneca
Haiya@kiash habari ndio hiyo ---> "nyumbani ni nyumbani" Nyongesa wa muganda been wondering where @kiash i hope nt "😖😡KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/22/2009 Posts: 2,449 Location: Africa
@kiash was literally ran out of town. Where did he/ she disappear to?
kiash wrote:This week’s airport fire confirmed my fears. Whenever I get to leave the comfort of majuu, this happens when I get to the plane and hover over Europe and then when you are done with the Mediterranean, the fear starts at least on the Italian side you might be a bit lucky in case of a plane crash on that side (check those who have been saved at Lampedusa). Once you get to African airspace start maombi coz in case of an accident, you will be ashes. Get home and
Electricity -you do not know when there is rationing or when they will say it’s a generator problem.
When you have electricity, the taps are probably dry no water
Daktari - go out there and get some cold and then get to that hospital, chances of getting the right medication God help
Airport fire/accident - Fire fighters and ambulances will take ages to get to the scene. In case you get to the emergency well the definition of emergency changes.
Wezi - Go out and have some few drinks, take a taxi, you are not a 100% sure you will get home in case the taxi driver ni mwizi pia. Next day take your car or a mat and there you do not know if you will be carjacked.
Police- get hijacked and get to the police station , ouf polisi nao, utumishi kwa wote you might think you are looking for help to go to heaven
TV content - get home and there you switch on the TV, hoping to get some local content and there you go a nollywood film ama zile za kutoka South America.
Politician - they will start telling lies for them to get elected so as to increase their salaries and show their power, petty issues how many cars, body guards blabla some retired ministers elsewhere ride bikes to work. Wakenya wajinga - who will always talk politics even when not necessary Raila hapa, Uhuruto hapa they cannot move on donge!
Football fans - those who are in blue and red jerseys talking about our team, team yenu as if they hold shares in Man uni or Chelsea some stupid ones even commit suicide. Kwenda jogging ama support Rudisha.
Some of those who share my fears just stay put in their countries of residence ulaya
Well, though we can not run away from Home, it is clear that people in key positions have left us on our own! At the mercy of merciless and mind twisted Alshabab http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/b7sfagz/-/index.html
http://www.standardmedia...rrorist-plots-of-attack Just as absolute power corrupts leaders, so does absolute fanaticism blind the people from logic
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/27/2010 Posts: 951 Location: Nyumbani
Siringi wrote:Haiya@kiash habari ndio hiyo ---> "nyumbani ni nyumbani" Nyongesa wa muganda been wondering where @kiash i hope nt This could as well have been put in Kenya @siringi am still around i could not do some comments when sad events took place @ home.
Shak wrote:@kiash was literally ran out of town. Where did he/ she disappear to? @Shak still around was watching it on TV and on Wazua where i remember a few months ago some people said leave things Kenyan thats how they are done and you cannot change the kenyan way of doing things.
murchr wrote:@kiash, now that this land called Kenya is despicable, why not keep off all affair regarding it and change your identity? A majority of the people in this forum have been allover the world, majuu, maupande na machini but the love of the motherland still stands strong. You will go any/everywhere but there will be no feeling like being at home with all those issues you said up there. We criticize yes but we do it constructively, kila nyani na starehe zake, you cant expect us to wag our tails over the NFL, damn we feel more at home watching the EPL, Laliga, and we will not apologize for it you better get used to it. We will fight over RAILONZO/UHURUTO till we get something else to fight over about...thats whats makes us Kenyans and we like it. BTW...we dont fear all those things u mentioned there..arent those cops/doctors/muggers/etc our brothers anyway? When we meet them, we give them a piece of our minds. Potelea mbali, you who lives in glass houses @muchr i wonder what piece of mind you are giving the cops now not those who died on the line of duty saving hundrends of kenyans after the blast but those who slept on their job to avoid this.
kiash wrote:murchr wrote:@kiash, now that this land called Kenya is despicable, why not keep off all affair regarding it and change your identity? A majority of the people in this forum have been allover the world, majuu, maupande na machini but the love of the motherland still stands strong. You will go any/everywhere but there will be no feeling like being at home with all those issues you said up there. We criticize yes but we do it constructively, kila nyani na starehe zake, you cant expect us to wag our tails over the NFL, damn we feel more at home watching the EPL, Laliga, and we will not apologize for it you better get used to it. We will fight over RAILONZO/UHURUTO till we get something else to fight over about...thats whats makes us Kenyans and we like it. BTW...we dont fear all those things u mentioned there..arent those cops/doctors/muggers/etc our brothers anyway? When we meet them, we give them a piece of our minds. Potelea mbali, you who lives in glass houses @muchr i wonder what piece of mind you are giving the cops now not those who died on the line of duty saving hundrends of kenyans after the blast but those who slept on their job to avoid this. Why do you want to make it your business to wonder about what am doing? Get busy doing something constructive. You're not helping yourself "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
At Kiash. Listen dude. I lived in the States for 16 years before i moved back to Kenya early this year. It was time to roll up the sleeves and hightail it out of the States. Was it scary to make the transition? You bet it was, but in retrospect, i know that this was the best thing that happened to me. Does Kenya have issues? of course she does, a dime a dozen. This place looks like who shot John, like a scene out of a horror movie, lol, But what do you expect from a third world country? You don't expect a road network like the ones in the States. This is not Atl or Dallas or NY, this is Africa and instead of complaining about it, do something. It's a challenge and there are a lot of hurdles to skip even when you are trying to do good, but challenges only offer a chance for improvement. I used to complain about everything when i first came back, but i then realized that iwould be better served by taking actions rather than bitching about it everyday. The complaining gets old after a while. So in true Yankee fashion, i try what i can, i don't bribe, i don't trash, i tell people to line up when they act like savages, i talk to managers whenever i see crappy service, whatever i can do to make things better, i make it a point. I won't bore you with all the shit that i have done and am still trying to do but there is a lot of opportunities in Kenya that are ripe for the picking and ready to be exploited. The States affords us a comfortable life. Going to an NBA or NFL game, or doing happy hour with buddies at TGIF, the sense of security that you feel, the efficiency with which things work, clean cities, manicured lawns, i could go on and on, but at the end of the day, there is no better feeling than being at HOME. It just is what it is. I wouldn't trade this feeling for anything. My observation might be a little skewed because if we are to keep it real, Kenya is only good if you have money and can afford life's luxuries, truth be told. If you don't have a good source of income or a plan to make money, then stick it out there. This place is not for the faint hearted. But one thing is for sure, there might never be a more true adage than, East or West, home is always best. I have been all around the world, i have done Summers in Europe and been (in the famous words of Sade) Coast to Coast, LA to Chicago, but home is where the heart is. So quit being an armchair quarterback, get in the game and take some reps if you would like to see a better Kenya. Some of us are knee deep into it, America is not your home, shit just doesnt feel the same out there, there is always something missing, you and i both know this, so instead of being condescending towards your fellow Kenyans, play nice and understand that we might not have an ideal country, but this is our home. It's up to us to make it a better place.
hamburglar wrote:At Kiash. Listen dude. I lived in the States for 16 years before i moved back to Kenya early this year. It was time to roll up the sleeves and hightail it out of the States. Was it scary to make the transition? You bet it was, but in retrospect, i know that this was the best thing that happened to me. Does Kenya have issues? of course she does, a dime a dozen. This place looks like who shot John, like a scene out of a horror movie, lol, But what do you expect from a third world country? You don't expect a road network like the ones in the States. This is not Atl or Dallas or NY, this is Africa and instead of complaining about it, do something. It's a challenge and there are a lot of hurdles to skip even when you are trying to do good, but challenges only offer a chance for improvement. I used to complain about everything when i first came back, but i then realized that iwould be better served by taking actions rather than bitching about it everyday. The complaining gets old after a while. So in true Yankee fashion, i try what i can, i don't bribe, i don't trash, i tell people to line up when they act like savages, i talk to managers whenever i see crappy service, whatever i can do to make things better, i make it a point. I won't bore you with all the shit that i have done and am still trying to do but there is a lot of opportunities in Kenya that are ripe for the picking and ready to be exploited. The States affords us a comfortable life. Going to an NBA or NFL game, or doing happy hour with buddies at TGIF, the sense of security that you feel, the efficiency with which things work, clean cities, manicured lawns, i could go on and on, but at the end of the day, there is no better feeling than being at HOME. It just is what it is. I wouldn't trade this feeling for anything. My observation might be a little skewed because if we are to keep it real, Kenya is only good if you have money and can afford life's luxuries, truth be told. If you don't have a good source of income or a plan to make money, then stick it out there. This place is not for the faint hearted. But one thing is for sure, there might never be a more true adage than, East or West, home is always best. I have been all around the world, i have done Summers in Europe and been (in the famous words of Sade) Coast to Coast, LA to Chicago, but home is where the heart is. So quit being an armchair quarterback, get in the game and take some reps if you would like to see a better Kenya. Some of us are knee deep into it, America is not your home, shit just doesnt feel the same out there, there is always something missing, you and i both know this, so instead of being condescending towards your fellow Kenyans, play nice and understand that we might not have an ideal country, but thi s is our home. It's up to us to make it a better place.
Rank: Member Joined: 10/26/2011 Posts: 181 Location: Nairobi
hamburglar wrote:At Kiash. Listen dude. I lived in the States for 16 years before i moved back to Kenya early this year. It was time to roll up the sleeves and hightail it out of the States. Was it scary to make the transition? You bet it was, but in retrospect, i know that this was the best thing that happened to me. Does Kenya have issues? of course she does, a dime a dozen. This place looks like who shot John, like a scene out of a horror movie, lol, But what do you expect from a third world country? You don't expect a road network like the ones in the States. This is not Atl or Dallas or NY, this is Africa and instead of complaining about it, do something. It's a challenge and there are a lot of hurdles to skip even when you are trying to do good, but challenges only offer a chance for improvement. I used to complain about everything when i first came back, but i then realized that iwould be better served by taking actions rather than bitching about it everyday. The complaining gets old after a while. So in true Yankee fashion, i try what i can, i don't bribe, i don't trash, i tell people to line up when they act like savages, i talk to managers whenever i see crappy service, whatever i can do to make things better, i make it a point. I won't bore you with all the shit that i have done and am still trying to do but there is a lot of opportunities in Kenya that are ripe for the picking and ready to be exploited. The States affords us a comfortable life. Going to an NBA or NFL game, or doing happy hour with buddies at TGIF, the sense of security that you feel, the efficiency with which things work, clean cities, manicured lawns, i could go on and on, but at the end of the day, there is no better feeling than being at HOME. It just is what it is. I wouldn't trade this feeling for anything. My observation might be a little skewed because if we are to keep it real, Kenya is only good if you have money and can afford life's luxuries, truth be told. If you don't have a good source of income or a plan to make money, then stick it out there. This place is not for the faint hearted. But one thing is for sure, there might never be a more true adage than, East or West, home is always best. I have been all around the world, i have done Summers in Europe and been (in the famous words of Sade) Coast to Coast, LA to Chicago, but home is where the heart is. So quit being an armchair quarterback, get in the game and take some reps if you would like to see a better Kenya. Some of us are knee deep into it, America is not your home, shit just doesnt feel the same out there, there is always something missing, you and i both know this, so instead of being condescending towards your fellow Kenyans, play nice and understand that we might not have an ideal country, but this is our home. It's up to us to make it a better place. Harsh but to the point! Well said. I usually do not respond to the mashinani/majuu discussion, but since you have represented my thoughts and feelings well, I gladly First time in history we can save the human race by laying in front of the TV and doing nothing. Let's not screw it up
Rank: User Joined: 9/6/2013 Posts: 1,446 Location: In a house
hamburglar wrote:At Kiash. Listen dude. I lived in the States for 16 years before i moved back to Kenya early this year. It was time to roll up the sleeves and hightail it out of the States. Was it scary to make the transition? You bet it was, but in retrospect, i know that this was the best thing that happened to me. Does Kenya have issues? of course she does, a dime a dozen. This place looks like who shot John, like a scene out of a horror movie, lol, But what do you expect from a third world country? You don't expect a road network like the ones in the States. This is not Atl or Dallas or NY, this is Africa and instead of complaining about it, do something. It's a challenge and there are a lot of hurdles to skip even when you are trying to do good, but challenges only offer a chance for improvement. I used to complain about everything when i first came back, but i then realized that iwould be better served by taking actions rather than bitching about it everyday. The complaining gets old after a while. So in true Yankee fashion, i try what i can, i don't bribe, i don't trash, i tell people to line up when they act like savages, i talk to managers whenever i see crappy service, whatever i can do to make things better, i make it a point. I won't bore you with all the shit that i have done and am still trying to do but there is a lot of opportunities in Kenya that are ripe for the picking and ready to be exploited. The States affords us a comfortable life. Going to an NBA or NFL game, or doing happy hour with buddies at TGIF, the sense of security that you feel, the efficiency with which things work, clean cities, manicured lawns, i could go on and on, but at the end of the day, there is no better feeling than being at HOME. It just is what it is. I wouldn't trade this feeling for anything. My observation might be a little skewed because if we are to keep it real, Kenya is only good if you have money and can afford life's luxuries, truth be told. If you don't have a good source of income or a plan to make money, then stick it out there. This place is not for the faint hearted. But one thing is for sure, there might never be a more true adage than, East or West, home is always best. I have been all around the world, i have done Summers in Europe and been (in the famous words of Sade) Coast to Coast, LA to Chicago, but home is where the heart is. So quit being an armchair quarterback, get in the game and take some reps if you would like to see a better Kenya. Some of us are knee deep into it, America is not your home, shit just doesnt feel the same out there, there is always something missing, you and i both know this, so instead of being condescending towards your fellow Kenyans, play nice and understand that we might not have an ideal country, but this is our home. It's up to us to make it a better place. After getting citizenship!!
Rank: Member Joined: 8/24/2013 Posts: 185 Location: Diaspora
Kenya is a gangster state; rotten to the core and beyond. I've come to the conclusion that we will never change our ways. Corruption, tribalism, insecurity, hypocrisy, looting malls and all other evils will continue to increase.
For me, KDF looting a scene where scores lost their lives and many more were injured is the nadir. Even a trusted institution like the military has been stained by this animalistic greed. The religious community, media, IEBC and Judiciary already gave in a while back so we have nobody to protect us now.
Previously, the middle class and the wealthy felt insulated from the effects of all these evils. Now the Westgate attack has changed all that- it's obvious that everyone loses when corruption is allowed to fester.
But it is still the country of my birth and I have a duty to do my part in making it better. I won't transform Kenya, but let me die trying.
Gangs of New York.. Haiya@Kiash! i.am.back!!!!
I have come to appreciate what @Kiash and the others are talking about. It's called culture shock! it happens when you move back to your native culture as well. no one is immune. there is so much literature on it! http://internationaloffi...edu/cultural_adjustment
http://wwwkrcmar.informa...C6/$FILE/Paper%2021.pdf
Step 1: The Honeymoon StageWhen you first arrive in a new culture, differences are intriguing and you may feel excited, stimulated and curious. Like any new experience, there’s a feeling of euphoria when you first arrive and you’re in awe of the differences you see and experience. You feel excited, stimulated, enriched. During this stage, you still feel close to everything familiar back home. Step 2: The Distress StageA little later, differences create an impact. Everything you’re experiencing no longer feels new; in fact, it’s starting to get you down. You feel confused, isolated or inadequate and realise that your familiar support systems (e.g. family and friends) are not easily accessible. Step 3: Re-integration StageDuring this stage, you start winging about your new home. You dislike the culture, the language, the food. You reject it as inferior. You may even develop some prejudices towards the new culture. You’re angry, frustrated and even feel hostile to those around you. You wonder why you made the decision to change. You start to idealise life “back home” and compare your current culture to what is familiar. Don’t worry. This is absolutely normal and a healthy reaction – it means you’re adjusting. You are reconnecting with what you value about yourself and your own culture. Step 4: Autonomy StageThis is the first stage in acceptance. Sometimes called the emergence stage when you start to come out of the ‘fog’ and finally begin to feel like yourself again. You start to accept the differences and feel like you can begin to live with them. You feel more confident and better able to cope with any problems that may arise based on your growing experience. You no longer feel isolated and instead you’re able to look at the world around you and appreciate where you are. Step 5: Independence StageYou are yourself again! You embrace the new culture and see everything in a new, yet realistic light. Things start to become enjoyable. You feel comfortable, confident, able to make decisions based on your own preferences and values. You no longer feel alone and isolated. You understand and appreciate both the differences and similarities of both your own and the new culture. You start to feel at home. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
So @kiash is still at honeymoon stage? Dude has a long way to go. i.am.back!!!!
harrydre wrote:So @kiash is still at honeymoon stage? Dude has a long way to go. some persons have analysed it much further.... the longer you are in a certain culture the more you get accustomed to it. when you get back to your native culture you may experience/feel Quote: sense of loss, impatient, apathetic,confused, irritable, depressed,ready to cry, frustrated, withdrawn,isolated, thwarted, helpless, afraid, angry, vulnerable, exhausted, need to complain, inadequate, panic, desire to resign, overwhelmed, homesick, need to 'get out', self-doubt,insomnia, resentful, bewildered, disoriented, contemptuous of clients, pessimistic ,cynical, unable to concentrate, hopeless, physically ill, hostile, rejected, fatigued, distrusting, unaccepted, different, alienated, anxiety, lonely, disenchanted, suspicious
all characteristic of the dis-integration stage. I think @Kiash has been in the US for so long that periodic immersions into our culture push him to the dis-integration stage but he does not stick long enough to sort out his personal and deeper cultural issues that he has with his native land. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Culture
Why I fear / "hate" Going Home