wazua Sun, Jan 5, 2025

15 Pages«<12131415>
Old Nairobi
radiomast
#261 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2018 8:29:25 PM

RFUEA main stand has not changed since the 1940s. Same wooden structure.
#262 Posted : Wednesday, May 16, 2018 9:53:52 AM

Njunge wrote:
Outside Hilton Hotel facing Archives, 1959.

Are you sure this is 1959? StandBank House is not that old.

Maybe 1969.Church house was the tallest building in Nairobi in 1960.

Nairobi used to be soo pretty

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#263 Posted : Friday, June 08, 2018 2:40:17 AM

#264 Posted : Friday, June 08, 2018 9:40:00 AM

Waaah. Those were real barbers then. Very fast and efficient.
#265 Posted : Friday, June 08, 2018 10:58:02 AM

T-Bag wrote:
1909. @angelica-ann relaxes in dala.....

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly U mean I was walking naked the other day? Then you hear some monkeys say women dressing siku hizi provokes men!Shame on you

How I wish I was born in this era where bread could stare at you in its natural form.

ION, it appears the quail biz started long time ago

You can see it in a number of Africa societies.Bread si urembo ni chakula ya watoto
#266 Posted : Friday, August 03, 2018 2:24:39 PM

Another day in the market. The banianis must have been amused.

#267 Posted : Friday, August 03, 2018 2:34:54 PM

Fueling on ngong road Nairobi.

Iganamagana
#268 Posted : Friday, August 03, 2018 2:37:52 PM

Traffic on Uhuru Highway in 1967

Where did the trees go?
#269 Posted : Friday, August 03, 2018 3:19:17 PM

Yaani we didn't fear mosquitoes and other biting insects?
Why couldn't we have full leather clothes covering out entire bodies?

#270 Posted : Friday, August 03, 2018 3:42:14 PM

Then something really sad happened in the city.

#271 Posted : Friday, August 03, 2018 3:54:37 PM

A similar question was asked by Alexander the great to the naked philosophers of India.
#272 Posted : Friday, August 03, 2018 4:46:55 PM

A similar question was asked by Alexander the great to the naked philosophers of India.

The okuyo were always fully clothed in real leather.

#273 Posted : Monday, August 27, 2018 7:23:54 PM

Mombasa, Zanzibar, Seychelles in the 1930s. Am surprised they were very advanced unlike watu-wa-bara who were still walking naked. What i really didn't like is the mzungu commentator calling African dances "childish".

Hmmmn
#274 Posted : Thursday, August 30, 2018 5:53:33 AM

Just amazed at how well planned,clean and modern for the time...Most people then it seems were lean and healthy..

Welcome to Nairobi 1971

https://youtu.be/YUpx2-T6DEg
Ce n’est pas si grave...
kayhara
#275 Posted : Saturday, September 29, 2018 1:27:32 PM

To Each His Own
#276 Posted : Saturday, September 29, 2018 10:00:01 PM

Iganamagana wrote:
Traffic on Uhuru Highway in 1967

Where did the trees go?

wow and Laughing out loudly the trees??
There was no westlands,I bet the next shop was in naivasha.. delamere.

#277 Posted : Monday, February 18, 2019 12:20:09 AM

#278 Posted : Monday, April 15, 2019 2:44:43 PM

Hmmmn wrote:
Just amazed at how well planned,clean and modern for the time...Most people then it seems were lean and healthy..

Even the mzungu tourists were very smart......1960s.

#279 Posted : Sunday, April 28, 2019 2:10:51 PM

Old Nairobi was EXTREMELY DANGEROUS for the natives....

https://www.nation.co.ke...1260-39uxg6z/index.html

Killing Africans was sort of a favourite sport by the whites. Some of the notorious cases included the shooting of 21 unarmed Africans outside the Norfolk Hotel in 1922. It was a common feature for a white settler having an evening drink at the terraces of the Norfolk or the Stanley Hotel to draw his rifle and aim at an African passing by in the distance.

Such a settler would be wildly cheered and offered a drink by colleagues, especially if his shot was so “perfect” that it killed the African at the first aim!

#280 Posted : Sunday, April 28, 2019 10:46:39 PM

Some communities in Kenya still dress this way. As late as 1960s,Okuyos were wearing mithuuru!