wazua Sun, Jan 19, 2025

19 Pages«<1213141516>»
Why is Africa poor in general compared to the West?
Musimo
#261 Posted : Wednesday, January 27, 2016 12:19:40 PM

whiteowl wrote:
enyands wrote:
whiteowl wrote:
enyands wrote:
I have a question bothering me. Has someone ever wondered why african countries producing oil have oil being sold more expensive per litre than countries that don't produce oil .typical example is Nigeria(2nd world producer yet I saw people lining up to buy petrol ) , Ghana , and the rest . Why is it so ? .can someone explain to me like a 2 year old kid.

same reason we have maize/sugar shortage in Kenya yet we produce the same.

I thought the oil pricing thing is due to them not refining the same, they just sell crude and still have to import the refined products at the same price as everyone.

It would be good to process/refine maize, oil,sugar but the bigger problem is the cartels exploiting people as government stand aside and watch. This why you get very big price disparities across countries that import products like sugar and fuel even after factoring in logistical costs.

So it's the cartel thing just like the coffee thing being talked about on the papers. Now this makes sense

yes and if you don't kick them out of the supply chain you won't be any better even with locally refined/processed goods.

and the heads of this cartels are in bed with our so called leaders...vicious never ending cycle...

For one, Africa isnt poor...look at the minerals in africa currently, plus the lack of development on africa currently. This under-development can take africa far, if leaders seat down and decide to work for the people. the westerners know this, that's why they have restrictions on what type of goods can access their markets and in what quality (Raw,Finished). Intra-africa trade was touted by current president of kenya to eliminate need for mzungu to elevate himself above muafrica,but guys just shrugged him off, while he had a hard-on of a point. currently, west africa markets import most of their foodstuffs from europe,which the europeans have re-exported form other african countries. cut this chain and goods become cheaper, trade between countries flourishes. South africa and th U.S of A currently have trade problems because S.A refused to lower standards for goods produced huko nje not conforming t theirs. Kenyan coffee can never be bought milled because it kills jobs for the mzungu who would want to process it. The good leaders who have a vision for their people in africa are killed (anyone remember Lumumba, the original one not the kenyan one, C.I.A took him out). Look at Gaddafi, people in his country used to receive upkeep from the state whether they were working or not, now see where his country is. Look at all the countries that had an arab spring, before and after: which would you prefer?
Then africans have this notion that another african cannot be right. My siz has a website, studyinkenya.co.ke, she would go to pitch how the website works to university bigwigs and they wouldnt give a second thought to her, she changed tactics and went back with a mzungu who explained exatly what she had told them before, but with the mzungu accent...the next day she was called up to get things running, then we wonder why we will never develop. Mengine mumejionea lakini tutafanyaje jamani?
#262 Posted : Wednesday, January 27, 2016 12:53:02 PM

whiteowl wrote:
enyands wrote:
whiteowl wrote:
enyands wrote:
I have a question bothering me. Has someone ever wondered why african countries producing oil have oil being sold more expensive per litre than countries that don't produce oil .typical example is Nigeria(2nd world producer yet I saw people lining up to buy petrol ) , Ghana , and the rest . Why is it so ? .can someone explain to me like a 2 year old kid.

I thought the oil pricing thing is due to them not refining the same, they just sell crude and still have to import the refined products at the same price as everyone.

It would be good to process/refine maize, oil,sugar but the bigger problem is the cartels exploiting people as government stand aside and watch. This why you get very big price disparities across countries that import products like sugar and fuel even after factoring in logistical costs.

So it's the cartel thing just like the coffee thing being talked about on the papers. Now this makes sense

yes and if you don't kick them out of the supply chain you won't be any better even with locally refined/processed goods.

and the heads of this cartels are in bed with our so called leaders...vicious never ending cycle...

@Maka, your leaders are not in bed with the cartels,the cartel heads are your leaders

Btw did you lay/got laid about that KQ story?
iris
#263 Posted : Wednesday, January 27, 2016 1:30:19 PM

whiteowl wrote:
enyands wrote:
whiteowl wrote:
enyands wrote:

@Maka, your leaders are not in bed with the cartels,the cartel heads are your leaders

Btw did you lay/got laid about that KQ story?

Applause Applause clapping for your clarity of thought. When more Kenyans will be able to cut through the grease, perhaps a glimmer will appear at the end of the tunnel
junior121121
#264 Posted : Wednesday, January 27, 2016 2:15:37 PM

whiteowl wrote:
enyands wrote:
whiteowl wrote:
enyands wrote:

In Nigeria/Angola/Venezuela etc & In my experience - the issue is inefficiencies of their current systems. Most of the refineries use outdated technologies and production is mediocre compared to the other 'developed' countries.

This coupled with other facts like continued pipeline vandalism/ inconsistent power supply for production/ heavy investment from multi nationals like chevron/shell etc (who in turn have refineries that can produce cheaper out of Nigeria/Venezuela) - further discourages investors from refining oil here. Corruption/individual interest also has its part to play (In Nigeria its in the form of 'fuel subsidies'

Fuel station queues are a norm in Nigeria - usually due to the subsidies to the oil marketers being delayed.
Ash Ock
#265 Posted : Wednesday, January 27, 2016 4:26:32 PM

junior121121 wrote:
In Nigeria/Angola/Venezuela etc & In my experience - the issue is inefficiencies of their current systems. Most of the refineries use outdated technologies and production is mediocre compared to the other 'developed' countries.

This coupled with other facts like continued pipeline vandalism/ inconsistent power supply for production/ heavy investment from multi nationals like chevron/shell etc (who in turn have refineries that can produce cheaper out of Nigeria/Venezuela) - further discourages investors from refining oil here. Corruption/individual interest also has its part to play (In Nigeria its in the form of 'fuel subsidies'

Fuel station queues are a norm in Nigeria - usually due to the subsidies to the oil marketers being delayed.

In Venezuela fuel costs about $0.02 per litre (around 2 bob).

http://www.globalpetrolp...ezuela/gasoline_prices/
Sent from my Black Nokia 3310
#266 Posted : Wednesday, January 27, 2016 6:48:14 PM

enyands wrote:

Because they have been cheated that they cannot process their oil and they have to do it elsewhere (in most cases a non-oil producing country) to "benefit" because of the "complexity" of refining. Most African countries lack "continuous improvement" systems or what the Japanese call "Kaizen" such that they don't see the need to keep advancing their techniques and capacities..that is what happened to Rivatex, Kicomi, Pan-Paper, the refinery at Msa etc etc etc...
enyands
#267 Posted : Wednesday, January 27, 2016 8:28:03 PM

enyands wrote:

Because they have been cheated that they cannot process their oil and they have to do it elsewhere (in most cases a non-oil producing country) to "benefit" because of the "complexity" of refining. Most African countries lack "continuous improvement" systems or what the Japanese call "Kaizen" such that they don't see the need to keep advancing their techniques and capacities..that is what happened to Rivatex, Kicomi, Pan-Paper, the refinery at Msa etc etc etc...

Do some of our African leaders take pride in their hollow brains?Zambia president said he is fasting a praying to God to rescue the economy .in short he has chosen to "do nothing and wait for answered prayers" I called it neo - colonialism
S.Mutaga III
#268 Posted : Friday, February 26, 2016 11:36:19 AM

After much research, 3 years after starting this thread, my friend's theory holds. Africa (Kenya) is not poor because we are not intelligent, or because we have few resources. In fact, the average Mwananchi earning an honest wage is doing a great job. Africa is poor because funds meant for development projects is pocketed by politicians. That is the major cause of poverty in Kenya. Politicians are making us poor. Here is a breakdown of some instances (just a tip of a large iceberg), and you will clearly see why we are poor.
NYS Saga = Ksh 791 million unaccounted for
Eurobond Saga = Ksh 250 billion unaccounted for
Goldenberg Saga = Ksh 37 billion at least(153 billion from other sources)This cash is not adjusted for inflation, and was more than 10% of Kenya's GDP for several years
Anglo leasing scandal = 24 million Euros /2.7 billion Ksh (Ksh (Wikipeadia)
Many other scandals we dont know about
The total from the above scandals is about 290 billion Ksh. What can Ksh 290 billion do??
1) Nine Thika Roads (Thika rd cost 33 billion)
2) 1 FULLY EQUIPPED referral hospital (6 billion each) in each of the 47 counties. This would make Kenya a medical tourism destination.
3) This money is enough to irrigate millions of acres and foster food security in Kenya like in Israel.
NB: The above sagas are just a tip of the iceberg. Most of these sagas are the ones we dont hear about. Therefore, dont blame the ordinary Kenyan or the traffic cop, 95% of grand theft is by politicians and top businessmen. Sadly, all individuals implicated in these sagas are enjoying the money in Europe and the US because they stole so much that they can buy justice in Kenya.
According to a study, about 8500 people in Kenya control two-thirds of the Kenyan Economy. Income inequality is that serious. With over 44 million people, it is clear that 0.02% of the population controls 67% of the economy. Link: http://www.businessdaily...4/-/md5kpfz/-/index.html
A successful man is not he who gets the best, it is he who makes the best from what he gets.
Emerger
#269 Posted : Friday, February 26, 2016 11:51:27 AM

S.Mutaga III wrote:
After much research, 3 years after starting this thread, my friend's theory holds. Africa (Kenya) is not poor because we are not intelligent, or because we have few resources. In fact, the average Mwananchi earning an honest wage is doing a great job. Africa is poor because funds meant for development projects is pocketed by politicians. That is the major cause of poverty in Kenya. Politicians are making us poor. Here is a breakdown of some instances (just a tip of a large iceberg), and you will clearly see why we are poor.
Goldenberg Saga = Ksh 37 billion at least(153 billion from other sources)This cash is not adjusted for inflation, and was more than 10% of Kenya's GDP for several years
The total from the above scandals is about 290 billion Ksh. What can Ksh 290 billion do??
2) 1 FULLY EQUIPPED referral hospital (6 billion each) in each of the 47 counties. This would make Kenya a medical tourism destination.
3) This money is enough to irrigate millions of acres and foster food security in Kenya like in Israel.
NB: The above sagas are just a tip of the iceberg. Most of these sagas are the ones we dont hear about. Therefore, dont blame the ordinary Kenyan or the traffic cop, 95% of grand theft is by politicians and top businessmen. Sadly, all individuals implicated in these sagas are enjoying the money in Europe and the US because they stole so much that they can buy justice in Kenya.

Well said Sir.
Politicians have made it a way of life to fleece the kenyans at will and thereafter use them to retain their political seats and the game continues.
The BIG Q is, can we end this?
I strongly believe we can.
We (read voters) keep on bringing them back.
We need to say no by electing responsible people like this Njoroge Man whose characters are way beyond power control.
The youth block holds the big voting block to change the destiny.
Your analysis is as you said a tip of the iceberg there's soo much more.

My thoughts
enyands
#270 Posted : Friday, February 26, 2016 5:48:00 PM

[quote=S.Mutaga III] After much research, 3 years after starting this thread, my friend's theory holds. Africa (Kenya) is not poor because we are not intelligent, or because we have few resources. In fact, the average Mwananchi earning an honest wage is doing a great job. Africa is poor because funds meant for development projects is pocketed by politicians. That is the major cause of poverty in Kenya. Politicians are making us poor. Here is a breakdown of some instances (just a tip of a large iceberg), and you will clearly see why we are poor.
According to a study, about 8500 people in Kenya control two-thirds of the Kenyan Economy. Income inequality is that serious. With over 44 million people, it is clear that 0.02% of the population controls 67% of the economy. Link: http://www.businessdaily.../-/md5kpfz/-/index.html[/quote]

Applause
enyands
#271 Posted : Friday, February 26, 2016 5:54:35 PM

When you have a fair judicial, election body and just politicians you expect just systems of governance. Supreme has turn out terrible ( tonui), election body (chicken gate chairman) ,politicians Jubilee - (nys,eurobond),Cord (Japan embassy scandal,BAT scandal,Mumias Sugar molasses scandal,) there is limited choices for ordinary kenyans.

It has taken foreign countries efforts to sympathize with Kenya. Obama finish corruption or sanctions , Britain chicken gate scandal -successful prosecution and judgment while culprits in kenya enjoy government positions and freedom and not forgetting somaia scandal-jailed , jersey-gichuru and okemwo are the most wanted kenyans .

Voting won't help. All the systems supporting voting have been compromised.kenya needs revolution .serious one.othertimes I ask myself why bother writing and the same people to do changes align themselves on tribal cronies. I respected mutahi ngunyi much but look at him,because his tribal cronies was under Intense attack at nys, he played a role of tribal sanctification to purify the vice....
Gabon as a country has alot of minerals ,90% of it belongs to French .You have the country as a name but the resources belong to France .when will Africa rise ? France has no minerals ,but it's rich because of Africa. The government officials 8n Gabon responsible for contract with France were given few thousand dollars to approve the treaty with France and mortgaged their country for 100 yrs. Foolish people .
muandiwambeu
#272 Posted : Friday, February 26, 2016 6:07:56 PM

enyands wrote:
[quote=S.Mutaga III] After much research, 3 years after starting this thread, my friend's theory holds. Africa (Kenya) is not poor because we are not intelligent, or because we have few resources. In fact, the average Mwananchi earning an honest wage is doing a great job. Africa is poor because funds meant for development projects is pocketed by politicians. That is the major cause of poverty in Kenya. Politicians are making us poor. Here is a breakdown of some instances (just a tip of a large iceberg), and you will clearly see why we are poor.
According to a study, about 8500 people in Kenya control two-thirds of the Kenyan Economy. Income inequality is that serious. With over 44 million people, it is clear that 0.02% of the population controls 67% of the economy. Link: http://www.businessdaily.../-/md5kpfz/-/index.html[/quote]

Applause

Kenya has got nothing to sell @enyands other the fresh lips of our sons and dotas at display in coastlines and man made urban hotel forests where our nation patriotism is sold for a heroism catch of petal fresh green nerds. Out of it comes the dinostars of imoral mortals and valians. I fear for my boy but surely sujui where the nerd is right now, may be signing another xyz ltd nys blahablaha.I will eat mine till I kick, the rest goes to the dogs. I did my part well, and I am ready to prove my case before whatever the deity sir.
,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
muandiwambeu
#273 Posted : Friday, February 26, 2016 6:21:18 PM

enyands wrote:

Here comes another daydreamer, you think systems in whatever country comes for free? Kaizen is perfected in africa at huge costs exported back to Europe or whatever and so pricely across the world as advanced tech. And since we are so blind to see, africa cognially accepts to use their systems as kaizein platforms for the next round of binge. CNC in kenya, now automation across the world, MPESA, now I don't know Bitcoin and encrtomoney, nywele ngumu kazi ngumu malipo kidogo. I work at self employed, Plz do not misquote me.
,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
enyands
#274 Posted : Friday, February 26, 2016 6:33:36 PM

muandiwambeu wrote:
enyands wrote:

Applause

Kenya has got nothing to sell @enyands other the fresh lips of our sons and dotas at display in coastlines and man made urban hotel forests where our nation patriotism is sold for a heroism catch of petal fresh green nerds. Out of it comes the dinostars of imoral mortals and valians. I fear for my boy but surely sujui where the nerd is right now, may be signing another xyz ltd nys blahablaha.I will eat mine till I kick, the rest goes to the dogs. I did my part well, and I am ready to prove my case before whatever the deity sir.

Just to correct you we will have oil coming up, we have mining going on in coast province,we have massive labor force till we are exporting to israel (sad though), we have agriculture so we are ok. Also you don't care about the future of your people .all you care is you eating and your son will take care of himself??? That's the mentality Africans have in general. If you live in the western world you would see much difference how these people plan infrastructure that will last 400 yrs after they are gone.
You are right though ,nywele ngumu kichwa ngumu .I agree on that well.

I have my helmet on ,let the stone rain on me
corporatehousing89
#275 Posted : Monday, February 29, 2016 3:05:14 PM

Rapid economic growth had brought new wealth to the country, helped eliminate poverty, and spurred a building frenzy. But, at the same time, it also brought high levels of debt, an imbalance in growth, and a financial system that depended too heavily on government stimulus and an overly active housing market. Good to note: years before, Japan had gone through a similar series of economic changes and had suffered a decline when the markets could no longer support that kind of growth, jeffrey lipton permanent value.
IndependentTrader.org
#276 Posted : Tuesday, March 29, 2016 11:02:46 PM

Africa is abused by so called 'aid' from its former colonists. Europe stood up to explore the globe due to competition and wars. The loser/less productive one died. After so many centuries the perfect example of what to follow and what to throw away into the trashcan of history. Look at example of Lord Cowperthwaite and Hong Kong(@1hour it starts http://bit.ly/1VRZEZQ)

1. Low tax (politicians still will steal and not pay for the poor - so better is to NOT TAKE FROM THE POOR - leaving the incentive to enjoy full fruits of their labor).
2. Small government = small bureaucracy (so they can still live like lords with prestige etc, but cannot sell all minerals and licensing rights to foreign investors fro pennies) Here I'm not an advocate to introduce MERCANTILISM with huge duties and customs - but it can get popularity, very populist argument but low fares can actually win the elections.
3. No government intervention with monetary policy (look at what FED or ECB have done in the US and EU, USD lost 94% of its worth since 1970's, EU now introduced NIRP - you pay government interest for borrowing them money).
Stable currency pegged to gold or silver, or even Bitcoin.

Africa boasts young, dynamic, brilliant and creative people. I hate seeing them subjugated by the ruling class, the neo-colonists in form of their mostly socialistic governments. Liberty always wins at the end. In life and in economics.
www.independenttrader.org - an objective, impartial financial portal. It unveils true mechanisms that financial markets are driven by. You will find here tools to deconstruct the ‘why’ behind laws governing money and global economy.
#277 Posted : Sunday, May 08, 2016 10:48:59 AM

http://iharare.co.zw/opi...smart-please-read-this/

Came across this interesting read....
#278 Posted : Sunday, May 08, 2016 11:55:57 AM

http://iharare.co.zw/opinionyou-lazy-intellectual-african-scum-if-you-consider-yourself-smart-please-read-this/

Its a curse

COOP 70,000 ABP 15.20; HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
enyands
#279 Posted : Sunday, May 08, 2016 3:03:27 PM

http://iharare.co.zw/opinionyou-lazy-intellectual-african-scum-if-you-consider-yourself-smart-please-read-this/

Its a curse

Sometime here on wazua I used to say "our skin is cursed" that's why even Hindus who are alittle fair skin than us are way smarter. The darker our pigment gets the more lazy and stupid we become. Look at south sudan,with all those minerals all they do is fight constantly ,you will never see mzungu fighting their own.never.

I quote "He paused. “The Bwana has spoken,” he said and grinned. “As long as you are dependent on my plane, I shall feel superior and you my friend shall remain inferior, how about that? The Chinese, Japanese, Indians, even Latinos are a notch better. You Africans are at the bottom of the totem pole.”
enyands
#280 Posted : Tuesday, May 10, 2016 4:12:42 PM

enyands wrote:

Its a curse

Sometime here on wazua I used to say "our skin is cursed" that's why even Hindus who are alittle fair skin than us are way smarter. The darker our pigment gets the more lazy and stupid we become. Look at south sudan,with all those minerals all they do is fight constantly ,you will never see mzungu fighting their own.never.

I quote "He paused. “The Bwana has spoken,” he said and grinned. “As long as you are dependent on my plane, I shall feel superior and you my friend shall remain inferior, how about that? The Chinese, Japanese, Indians, even Latinos are a notch better. You Africans are at the bottom of the totem pole.”