Why dustbowl is the future
#221 Posted : Monday, April 08, 2019 3:29:48 PM

limanika wrote:
NewMoney wrote:
limanika wrote:
Is this road necessary at this time? Or it's meant to kill china's belt &road

Nairobi-Mombasa highway has been under-capacity for decades. Driving from Nairobi to Mombasa takes at least 8 hours when it should only take 5 hours in a private vehicle. It is also very dangerous to overtake and you are going to to be in a dozen near-misses on your way.

I can't wait for this road. I prefer going vacationing by road over any other faster means due to the flexibility, convenience and scenery it offers.

Of course, the US will be killing 2 birds with one stone here.

It's fancy to have all this, but is it viable to do all these projects on same corridor at once? Has somebody worked out the details to confirm both the road and SGR each will generate enough stimulus to the economy to repay the loans or we'll end up being auctioned by the Chinese and the Americans?

The expressway is something we don't need at all. I understand Nairobi-Mau Summit highway but hii hapana

If there's a feasibility study, it must've been done by the same Americans
Wa-TanoTena wamekula. d'oh!
MugundaMan
#222 Posted : Tuesday, April 09, 2019 11:00:03 AM

The expressway is not only highly needed it is inevitable from an economic perspective. Anyone who has slept on Mombasa road due to jam that blocked this corridor in the past can tell you that for free. It is funny how many argue that SGR is not "breaking even" yet are yet to tell us if Southern Bypass has "broken even" given zero shillings are collected from it yearly. Public goods like expressways and railways are not gauged by how they "break even" but by how much they create economic efficiencies and spillover benefits that are economy wide that add to GDP. Why do these Ferras think our economy has been growing at an average of 5% plus since 2002. From planting and selling beans? Has Sasumua dam broken even? What about Nyali bridge? The cabro pavements in the CBD, have they broken even or have they helped you walk more efficiently to work instead of wallowing in mud and spending extra money to get a shoe shine? Have the public footbridges on Mombasa road that cost hundreds of millions of shillings "broken even"? Tukiinya twetu tweli tuna tuwatu twa maanjabu tena Sana.
MugundaMan
#223 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2019 4:52:11 AM

https://www.nation.co.ke...0m/996-5062668-bormo8z/

New Market for Kitengela encounters same woes as Ngong Market. Why do these traders love to delay the inevitable? A new market is in their interest and protests will just delay the benefits that will accrue to them. In Ngong they sabotaged the project for years. Thank God Ngong market - the largest in East and Central Africa - is finally rising up as we speak!
MugundaMan
#224 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2019 4:54:12 AM

On a lighter note, DC is also the place of choice for national prayers and fasting, rogue pastors or performing said prayers and fasts notwithstanding.

https://www.tuko.co.ke/3...s-pray-kenya.html#302102
limanika
#225 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2019 8:48:13 AM

MugundaMan wrote:
The expressway is not only highly needed it is inevitable from an economic perspective. Anyone who has slept on Mombasa road due to jam that blocked this corridor in the past can tell you that for free. It is funny how many argue that SGR is not "breaking even" yet are yet to tell us if Southern Bypass has "broken even" given zero shillings are collected from it yearly. Public goods like expressways and railways are not gauged by how they "break even" but by how much they create economic efficiencies and spillover benefits that are economy wide that add to GDP. Why do these Ferras think our economy has been growing at an average of 5% plus since 2002. From planting and selling beans? Has Sasumua dam broken even? What about Nyali bridge? The cabro pavements in the CBD, have they broken even or have they helped you walk more efficiently to work instead of wallowing in mud and spending extra money to get a shoe shine? Have the public footbridges on Mombasa road that cost hundreds of millions of shillings "broken even"? Tukiinya twetu tweli tuna tuwatu twa maanjabu tena Sana.

Ours is constructive criticism not blind optisim. We want to avoid the road srilanka and zambia have travelled. Do you know Zambia & Srilanka, with growth rates just about 5% and debt to GDP ratio just about 70% are facing debt repayment crisis after years of heavy borrowing? Do you know that not very long ago Ukraine defaulted on loan payment when their debt to GDP ratio was just 30%?

Do the math and tell us where our debt levels are headed when you add 300b for express way and 400 for SGR last mile.

We need govt to evaluate projects for feasibility before putting pen to paper, not just serving foreign interests. I like more what Ngilu and Kibwana are doing. Creating jobs. Its such that can help us borrow more and repay. FYI, Japan with growth rate of sub 2% and debt to GDP ratio above 200% (worse than zambia and srilanka to laymen) is still meeting its obligations coz of prudent management which is lacking this side of the world
nairobby
#226 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2019 12:49:31 PM

MugundaMan wrote:

1. SGR is going to cost a trillion shillings
2. It was touted as a project that would pay for itself, read the "feasibility report" that China itself did, which we now know was hogwash.
3. A 3rd world country borrowing that kind of money to build a railway (which is archaic technology anyway) while people die hungry and schools/hospitals are in a dire state is nonsensical at best.
4. Thika Road feasibility study explained what its economic benefits would be, essentially how it could explain its cost.
5. Research first and understand things, these are billion dollar projects not a cabro pavement to your house.
nairobby
#227 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2019 1:01:40 PM

Anyway, with regards to capital gains, I think the area to look at in DC is Tuala. It's the first town on SGR Phase 2A with a passenger station, <10 mins to Nairobi Terminus meaning easy access onward to Nairobi CBD. It's close to Rongai as well and the road infrastructure is set to improve. Entry price is lower than its environs.
Fyatu
#228 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2019 1:29:53 PM

nairobby wrote:
Anyway, with regards to capital gains, I think the area to look at in DC is Tuala. It's the first town on SGR Phase 2A with a passenger station, <10 mins to Nairobi Terminus meaning easy access onward to Nairobi CBD. It's close to Rongai as well and the road infrastructure is set to improve. Entry price is lower than its environs.

<10 minutes yes, but >2hrs on Mombasa rd. Traffic. Sometimes i wonder if the government ministers and permanent secretaries use their brains or bollocks(bums for the fairer sex) to thinks
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
nairobby
#229 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2019 2:37:52 PM

Fyatu wrote:
nairobby wrote:

<10 minutes yes, but >2hrs on Mombasa rd. Traffic. Sometimes i wonder if the government ministers and permanent secretaries use their brains or bollocks(bums for the fairer sex) to thinks

There is a train from Nairobi Terminus(Syokimau) to Nairobi Railway station in CBD using the kawaida rail. No going on the road!
limanika
#230 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2019 2:43:27 PM

Fyatu wrote:
nairobby wrote:

There's something wrong with the way dynamic duo run govt. These are not the days when policy documents, feasibility studies would be developed by technocrats and then taken up the chain for approval / adoption. These days the projects are conceived at the top and work of ministry technocrats is reduced to tracking progress, no questions asked. All the structures built since independence on economic planning and public financial management have been turned upside down and replaced with nothing
MugundaMan
#231 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2019 2:59:29 PM

nairobby wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:

2. It was touted as a project that would pay for itself, read the "feasibility report" that China itself did, which we now know was hogwash.
3. A 3rd world country borrowing that kind of money to build a railway (which is archaic technology anyway) while people die hungry and schools/hospitals are in a dire state is nonsensical at best.
4. Thika Road feasibility study explained what its economic benefits would be, essentially how it could explain its cost.
5. Research first and understand things, these are billion dollar projects not a cabro pavement to your house.

1. So? Putting into calculation the multiplier effect of SGR on the economy. How many trillions has it generated economy-wide? 40k direct jobs alone is not mandazi you eat for breakfast. Research how much SGR has added to GDP before useme gitu.
2. SGR is teetering on the brink of breaking even on cargo, and it is not even getting warmed up yet smile. Wait till it fikas Champarra.
3. Ati Kii? Laughing out loudly what is nonsensical is to believe you can feed everybody and provide First World healthcare and water to everyone without a competitive, growing economy courtesy of projects like SGR to foot the bill. China's proven model of build infra efficiencies first has no match in the world today. Your type of thinking belongs in communist Russia of the 1950s.
4. Asante. SGR is almost there as well. Be patient.
5. Nothing worth responding to hapa

Shalom.
Fyatu
#232 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2019 3:28:08 PM

nairobby wrote:
Fyatu wrote:
nairobby wrote:

There is a train from Nairobi Terminus(Syokimau) to Nairobi Railway station in CBD using the kawaida rail. No going on the road!

Fair enough..i highly suspect the train from Syokimau only does 3 trips to-and-fro CBD. At 6AM to Syoks and back to CBD at 8 thereabouts. Back to Syoks at around Midday and back to CBD at 1PM ferrying folk from inter-county SGR and the last one to Syoks at 6:30PM which ferries folk from Mombasa to CBD at 7:30PM.

The French president was here the other day and spoke kizungu mingi about lite rail. Whether this is the usual hot-air we are now accustomed to or not we shall wait and see...sanasana my prayers is that this is not hot air(kama affordable housing)
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
nairobby
#233 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2019 3:35:00 PM

Fyatu wrote:
nairobby wrote:
Fyatu wrote:
nairobby wrote:

Fair enough..i highly suspect the train from Syokimau only does 3 trips to-and-fro CBD. At 6AM to Syoks and back to CBD at 8 thereabouts. Back to Syoks at around Midday and back to CBD at 1PM ferrying folk from inter-county SGR and the last one to Syoks at 6:30PM which ferries folk from Mombasa to CBD at 7:30PM.

The French president was here the other day and spoke kizungu mingi about lite rail. Whether this is the usual hot-air we are now accustomed to or not we shall wait and see...sanasana my prayers is that this is not hot air(kama affordable housing)

It will all be integrated according to that commuter plan by govt. When 2A is done Rongai & Ngong people will access CBD through the SGR to Syokimau then the meter gauge to CBD. I wish I could find the map it was posted by PS Hinga on Twitter
nairobby
#234 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2019 3:42:38 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
nairobby wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:

1. So? Putting into calculation the multiplier effect of SGR on the economy. How many trillions has it generated economy-wide? 40k direct jobs alone is not mandazi you eat for breakfast. Research how much SGR has added to GDP before useme gitu.
2. SGR is teetering on the brink of breaking even on cargo, and it is not even getting warmed up yet smile. Wait till it fikas Champarra.
3. Ati Kii? Laughing out loudly what is nonsensical is to believe you can feed everybody and provide First World healthcare and water to everyone without a competitive, growing economy courtesy of projects like SGR to foot the bill. China's proven model of build infra efficiencies first has no match in the world today. Your type of thinking belongs in communist Russia of the 1950s.

Shalom.

1. How much has it added to the economy? Give me figures, attach statistical reports from relevant bodies too. 40k direct jobs Liar support your claim with facts
2. The same SGR govt is paying 1b a month to run is "breaking even"?Laughing out loudly Shame on you give me a break! It can't even make enough money to sustain its operations
3. SGR cannot even afford to pay for its own operations and you think it will generate economic benefit to such levelLiar We are spending all this money on a train and you think we can't feed our own people! It's more than enough for that
4. A $5billion investment can't explain it's benefit but you want patience. Laughable. It is even more expensive than road now, only way it is surviving is by forcing importers to use it
5. It is a pointless project with 0 value for money. It would only make sense if we made Uganda pay for it from Naivasha since they are the only ones who will benefit Laughing out loudly
MugundaMan
#235 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2019 3:55:57 PM

nairobby wrote:

There is no passenger station in Tuala. Rongai and Ngong (Kangawa) are the major ones in DC. Athi River for all intents and purposes should be renamed Kitengela Station given it serves the economic and population muscle of Kitengela.
nairobby
#236 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2019 3:58:45 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
nairobby wrote:

There is no passenger station in Tuala. Rongai and Ngong (Kangawa) are the major ones in DC. Athi River for all intents and purposes should be renamed Kitengela Station given it serves the economic and population muscle of Kitengela.

There is a passenger station in Tuala
MugundaMan
#237 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2019 3:58:48 PM

nairobby wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
nairobby wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:

Shalom.

1. How much has it added to the economy? Give me figures, attach statistical reports from relevant bodies too. 40k direct jobs Liar support your claim with facts
2. The same SGR govt is paying 1b a month to run is "breaking even"?Laughing out loudly Shame on you give me a break! It can't even make enough money to sustain its operations
3. SGR cannot even afford to pay for its own operations and you think it will generate economic benefit to such levelLiar We are spending all this money on a train and you think we can't feed our own people! It's more than enough for that
4. A $5billion investment can't explain it's benefit but you want patience. Laughable. It is even more expensive than road now, only way it is surviving is by forcing importers to use it
5. It is a pointless project with 0 value for money. It would only make sense if we made Uganda pay for it from Naivasha since they are the only ones who will benefit Laughing out loudly

Which planet are you living on mbradza? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

On 40000 jobs

http://www.kenyanews.go....-is-90-percent-complete/
MugundaMan
#238 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2019 4:04:53 PM

On almost breaking even:
https://www.google.com/a...asAMP-kbn5xy/index.html

10 b is not your mum's ugali papa, and cargo volumes are GROWING monthly yet cargo services began just juzi juzi. By next year Ati "breaking even" will not be a point of discussion. But of course you miss the bigger picture -the economic efficiencies and spillover benefits SGR has bestowed upon the Kenyan economy. But I can tell you might have not taken any basic economics classes given your amateurish arguments regarding public goods and their function in society. Especially a rapidly developing one like Kenya.
MugundaMan
#239 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2019 4:07:39 PM

nairobby wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
nairobby wrote:

There is a passenger station in Tuala

Are you even in Kenya?
nairobby
#240 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2019 4:13:04 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
On almost breaking even:
https://www.google.com/a...asAMP-kbn5xy/index.html

10 b is not your mum's ugali papa, and cargo volumes are GROWING monthly yet cargo services began just juzi juzi. By next year Ati "breaking even" will not be a point of discussion. But of course you miss the bigger picture -the economic efficiencies and spillover benefits SGR has bestowed upon the Kenyan economy. But I can tell you might have not taken any basic economics classes given your amateurish arguments regarding public goods and their function in society. Especially a rapidly developing one like Kenya.

"The revenues were not enough to meet the operation costs, which were earlier estimated at Sh1 billion a month or Sh12 billion a year." - The $3billion investment that was touted to pay for itself can't even break even? This is on top of it being subsidisedLaughing out loudly If we remove the subsidy it is nowhere close to breaking even!