Investor
Economy
IMF: Kenya's economy self reliant, don't need EU
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/21/2010 Posts: 6,675 Location: Nairobi
a4architect.com wrote:The more kenya maintains minimal contact with the west, the more our economy improves. @wazua how may any reasonable individual respond to this statement?? Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
Mkeiyd after rereading your post, I can conclude that you are a defeatist. You are running scared coz of what the west will do to Kenya, yet the west has repeatedly said they will uphold elections results if they are free and fair. What you are basically asking us, is to accept neocolonialism, in a gracious manner. I will let you know that the west has never acted out of generosity, if they act, its because it serves their interests. So saying that western companies in Kenya are basically there because they are benevolent is a bit of a stretch. Im curious to see a factual case of how " Kenya benefits more from BAT than shareholders"? Corporations only set up shop to maximize profits, if there are no profits, they close shop. Its in Kenya's best interests to have friendly relations with the west, but it is in the west's interests even more to retain Kenya as an ally. Kenya is strategically located and the West is doing everything in its power to ensure that Kenya does not forge lasting ties with China. Also Kenya just discovered oil, it would be unwise of the west to cut ties with Kenya, coz even though they may not need the oil, they wouldnt want China to have a controlling stake of it. We are in arguably the contemporary form of gold rush, with China and the US fighting over African resources, but Africans have no clue of the power they hold, and would rather dance along to yester years propaganda. The world has moved on, its time our thinking also moved on. Unless you are asking us to accept the position of always being a recepient, your argument makes no sense. We have begged for aid all these years, yet the common man's life has not improved, now you are asking us not to anger the west, just so we can continue getting aid. Please read Dead Aid, and then contemplate on the fact that oil has been discovered in Kenya. Why beg for breadcrumbs when you can now bake your own bread? http://www.cbc.ca/passio...day/feature_171207.html
http://www.google.com/ur...3VQExB5gAJKRTAvWfNfyMOQ
Nabwire wrote:Mkeiyd after rereading your post, I can conclude that you are a defeatist. You are running scared coz of what the west will do to Kenya, yet the west has repeatedly said they will uphold elections results if they are free and fair. What you are basically asking us, is to accept neocolonialism, in a gracious manner. I will let you know that the west has never acted out of generosity, if they act, its because it serves their interests. So saying that western companies in Kenya are basically there because they are benevolent is a bit of a stretch. Im curious to see a factual case of how " Kenya benefits more from BAT than shareholders"? Corporations only set up shop to maximize profits, if there are no profits, they close shop. Its in Kenya's best interests to have friendly relations with the west, but it is in the west's interests even more to retain Kenya as an ally. Kenya is strategically located and the West is doing everything in its power to ensure that Kenya does not forge lasting ties with China. Also Kenya just discovered oil, it would be unwise of the west to cut ties with Kenya, coz even though they may not need the oil, they wouldnt want China to have a controlling stake of it. We are in arguably the contemporary form of gold rush, with China and the US fighting over African resources, but Africans have no clue of the power they hold, and would rather dance along to yester years propaganda. The world has moved on, its time our thinking also moved on. Unless you are asking us to accept the position of always being a recepient, your argument makes no sense. We have begged for aid all these years, yet the common man's life has not improved, now you are asking us not to anger the west, just so we can continue getting aid. Please read Dead Aid, and then contemplate on the fact that oil has been discovered in Kenya. Why beg for breadcrumbs when you can now bake your own bread? http://www.cbc.ca/passio...day/feature_171207.html
Excellent...well said. One very unfortunate thing that colonization did to us was not to believe in ourselves. The Chinese refused to be belittled look at them now. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Member Joined: 11/16/2011 Posts: 196 Location: united states of africa
murchr wrote:Nabwire wrote:Mkeiyd after rereading your post, I can conclude that you are a defeatist. You are running scared coz of what the west will do to Kenya, yet the west has repeatedly said they will uphold elections results if they are free and fair. What you are basically asking us, is to accept neocolonialism, in a gracious manner. I will let you know that the west has never acted out of generosity, if they act, its because it serves their interests. So saying that western companies in Kenya are basically there because they are benevolent is a bit of a stretch. Im curious to see a factual case of how " Kenya benefits more from BAT than shareholders"? Corporations only set up shop to maximize profits, if there are no profits, they close shop. Its in Kenya's best interests to have friendly relations with the west, but it is in the west's interests even more to retain Kenya as an ally. Kenya is strategically located and the West is doing everything in its power to ensure that Kenya does not forge lasting ties with China. Also Kenya just discovered oil, it would be unwise of the west to cut ties with Kenya, coz even though they may not need the oil, they wouldnt want China to have a controlling stake of it. We are in arguably the contemporary form of gold rush, with China and the US fighting over African resources, but Africans have no clue of the power they hold, and would rather dance along to yester years propaganda. The world has moved on, its time our thinking also moved on. Unless you are asking us to accept the position of always being a recepient, your argument makes no sense. We have begged for aid all these years, yet the common man's life has not improved, now you are asking us not to anger the west, just so we can continue getting aid. Please read Dead Aid, and then contemplate on the fact that oil has been discovered in Kenya. Why beg for breadcrumbs when you can now bake your own bread? http://www.cbc.ca/passio...day/feature_171207.html
Excellent...well said. One very unfortunate thing that colonization did to us was not to believe in ourselves. The Chinese refused to be belittled look at them now. It all has to do with Psychology. Teach a people to be proud of themselves, that they are superior, talented and give them a white jesus etc and that's what they are going to believe but with Africa, its worship the west. Pathetic. Anyways, for those who got ideas especially technological ideas, let me know. I can either buy your idea and patent it somewhere else, then set shop in Kenya or fund your idea 100% as long as I get my money back plus the profits. Energy.
Sad sad sad. What the eastern propagandists haven't yet gotten is, we are not kissing mzungu's butt, and we are not begging for aid though we need it anyway, but we cannot cut off a critical market for our produce just to be FREE! FREE? In the modern world? Btw, FREE FROM WHAT? I would unequivocally state that no country is free in this planet. Listening to the chest thumpers' hubris is very interesting. One of the largest trading partners for china n BRICS is the west. If the chinese didn't cut off their ties with the west, who are we? Is Kenya greater than S. Korea? Japan, Taiwan, Indonesia, China? Cut the cheap braggadocio people, and stop twisting the truth. And if the plan by uhuruto is to isolate us from this market, then they should be jailed. But I'm sure they know better than many wazuans not to upset the master. They won't. In fact, they will be ridden like horses coz for a fact, they badly need the west, who will capitalise on their ICC woes to get what they want. Or nabwire n maji maji want to tell us uhuruto want to fail in their leadership? I don't think so. The west largely earns kenya foreign exchange. China DRAINS it with the unfavourable balance of trade in products that eventually kill our local firms, including TOOTHPICKS!!!. Not many pple understand how the world works today it seems, and that Globalization means nyet to them chest beaters. This education system of ours needs a complete overhaul. My final question, have these thumpers ever given zimbabwe a thought? Why are they in the doldrums? Why hadn't china or the BRICS lifted the shithole up? A section of the govt was sanctioned, and the whole country went up in flames. They seem to enjoy it though, and seemingly, educated kenyans envy them. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Simon wewe husaidiki, ati free from what? Yours is not even neocolonialism, you want us to go back to the dark days of slavery. And this is not about east or west, its about knowing what power you possess and using it to your advantage. And quit with the often cited propaganda of China and BRICS do business with the west, ofcourse they do, but they do it on their terms, no one is advocating for cutting off the west. I'd suggest you read a couple of books on how this game is played, or at the very least take an intro IR class. Just cool down and ask yourself why would kasin Barry devote his very precious time to make a video addressing Kenyan voters.Why would the leader of the free world waste his time talking to Kenyan voters? If you think the US will let Kenya fall exclusively into the hands of China, you should think again.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 7/5/2010 Posts: 2,061 Location: Nairobi
simonkabz wrote:Sad sad sad.
What the eastern propagandists haven't yet gotten is, we are not kissing mzungu's butt, and we are not begging for aid though we need it anyway, but we cannot cut off a critical market for our produce just to be FREE! FREE? In the modern world? Btw, FREE FROM WHAT? I would unequivocally state that no country is free in this planet. Listening to the chest thumpers' hubris is very interesting. One of the largest trading partners for china n BRICS is the west. If the chinese didn't cut off their ties with the west, who are we? Is Kenya greater than S. Korea? Japan, Taiwan, Indonesia, China? Cut the cheap braggadocio people, and stop twisting the truth. And if the plan by uhuruto is to isolate us from this market, then they should be jailed. But I'm sure they know better than many wazuans not to upset the master. They won't. In fact, they will be ridden like horses coz for a fact, they badly need the west, who will capitalise on their ICC woes to get what they want. Or nabwire n maji maji want to tell us uhuruto want to fail in their leadership? I don't think so. The west largely earns kenya foreign exchange. China DRAINS it with the unfavourable balance of trade in products that eventually kill our local firms, including TOOTHPICKS!!!. Not many pple understand how the world works today it seems, and that Globalization means nyet to them chest beaters. This education system of ours needs a complete overhaul.
My final question, have these thumpers ever given zimbabwe a thought? Why are they in the doldrums? Why hadn't china or the BRICS lifted the shithole up? A section of the govt was sanctioned, and the whole country went up in flames. They seem to enjoy it though, and seemingly, educated kenyans envy them. I have some stats here from our very own Bureau of Statistics. http://www.knbs.or.ke/trade_balance.php
In '000 In '000 ______________ Exports(2010)___Imports(2010)___Balance(2010) Canada____________1,169,832_______7,067,926______(5,898,094) USA______________22,522,182______39,315,581_____(16,793,398) Western Europe 100,122,690_____176,205,709_____(76,083,019) China_____________2,511,547_____120,648,247____(118,136,700) We exported a paltry 2.5 billion worth of Kenyan produce to our steadfast friends the Chinese  importing a massive 120B, resulting in a crushing 118 billion balance of trade. The 2.5 billion export figure we achieved with the Chinese clearly is much better,..by leaps and bounds, than the 123.8 billion we managed to export to the Americas and Western Europe by some reasoning around here. Also, the 118 billion trade deficit with China alone surpasses the 98 billion deficit with the West. Isn't that awesome?? NKT.  Little knowledge is truly dangerous
^^^^^^ Quicksand, there are no lies in mathematics. Its so good to see people approach this issue with statistics, rather than tribal goggles. China has 250M, yes 250 million people BELOW the poverty line. A country that cannot feed its own is going to come feed you?? Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
Good Lord Almighty, have some pride!!Grown men wondering how China will feed you?? You have oil now for Christs sake, grab the opportunity!!! Wacha nikalale coz enyewe there's someone who once said that often times liberated slaves will demand to go back to their masters coz atleast at the masters house, they will be fed. Lemme let you guys wallow in your ignorance, then 10 years later,you'll be crying about how Kenya is so unfair, only the rich get opportunities, then you wonder why these junguus look down on you.
KulaRaha wrote:^^^^^^ Quicksand, there are no lies in mathematics.
Its so good to see people approach this issue with statistics, rather than tribal goggles.
China has 250M, yes 250 million people BELOW the poverty line. A country that cannot feed its own is going to come feed you?? Numbers dont lie....indeed the west does need us...so those dreaming of sanctions should snap out of it How about FDI? http://www.businessdaily...8/-/1lnvlmz/-/index.html"There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Investor
Economy
IMF: Kenya's economy self reliant, don't need EU