Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Applause Applause
#202 Posted : Thursday, October 08, 2015 12:43:22 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
ask any doctor, encouraging overweight and obesity is just plain ignorance

I think everyone agrees obesity is bad and unhealthy.
What we are saying is, curvaceous women takes the day anytime. Beauty, is in the eyes of beholder, so to you and Western standards skinny woman is beautiful, to someone else it is not the case. But when it comes to sexy, warmth, what attract normal man etc... @bigchick will always win.
#203 Posted : Thursday, October 08, 2015 12:55:18 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

What we are saying is, curvaceous women takes the day anytime. Beauty, is in the eyes of beholder, so to you and Western standards skinny woman is beautiful, to someone else it is not the case. But when it comes to sexy, warmth, what attract normal man etc... @bigchick will always win.

@Alph,ba sasa wale wenyu mmewafunga na chandalua kutoka juu hadi chini all day long how do you tell their curviness?

#204 Posted : Thursday, October 08, 2015 1:00:08 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

@Alph,ba sasa wale wenyu mmewafunga na chandalua kutoka juu hadi chini all day long how do you tell their curviness?

Why do you want to see that? People don't display their valuables for everybody to see e.g. gold, pearls, silver, purses with money, etc. It is not for public display, it is private. You keep it safe.

What we are talking about is your own woman. If you prefer her slender, then it's up to you bro. We are not asking you to show her to us.
#205 Posted : Thursday, October 08, 2015 2:08:48 PM

Surprisingly, most here are confusing big and obese.
#206 Posted : Thursday, October 08, 2015 2:16:03 PM

Sometimes those big mamas can mess you up, make you do yourself in before getting proper engagement. Wacha tu smile
#207 Posted : Thursday, October 08, 2015 2:37:38 PM

Sometimes those big mamas can mess you up, make you do yourself in before getting proper engagement. Wacha tu smile

#208 Posted : Thursday, October 08, 2015 2:41:51 PM

A porcupine is the only animal that messes itself up just by watching.Be a mansmile
#209 Posted : Thursday, October 08, 2015 2:42:51 PM

kwanza hiyo golden figure ya 80kgs alitoa wapi? She must have picked it out of her...... sorry back of her head! You cannot just pick random figures... why not 79.8 why not 80.1? Why 80kgs...
Alba
#210 Posted : Thursday, October 08, 2015 3:04:11 PM

In the advent of social media, so called journalists have discarded skills that were considered critical to good journalism. In the past, popular articles were well researched and fact based. Journalists would work with sources to extract facts.

Now lazy journalists just write as if they are posting on facebook or twitter.

Njoki's fat shaming article is typical of the genre of journalism. Daily nation has plenty of these nowadays.
#211 Posted : Thursday, October 08, 2015 3:41:02 PM

Surprisingly, most here are confusing big and obese.

True @guka.
#212 Posted : Thursday, October 08, 2015 4:15:49 PM

Robinhood wrote:

Gracious,haven't met one that big!

sitaki.kujulikana
#213 Posted : Thursday, October 08, 2015 7:24:04 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

then thats ok, I thought we are encouraging people to take pride in unhealthy bmi's, the article mentioned 80kg, thus unless a lady is like 6 feet tall then it is bordering unhealthy.

But who said skinny women are western standards, check any traditional maasai or samburu lady and tell me where you will see curvaceous.

Curves are a western ideal, the traditional african woman is slender and healthy.
#214 Posted : Thursday, October 08, 2015 10:26:32 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

then thats ok, I thought we are encouraging people to take pride in unhealthy bmi's, the article mentioned 80kg, thus unless a lady is like 6 feet tall then it is bordering unhealthy.

But who said skinny women are western standards, check any traditional maasai or samburu lady and tell me where you will see curvaceous.

Curves are a western ideal, the traditional african woman is slender and healthy.

TRUE DAT!

#215 Posted : Friday, October 09, 2015 12:16:01 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

TRUE DAT!

Masai and Samburu are too slender owing to the nature of their lifestyle. Their men overwork them with so much responsibilities and trekking very far for water and sticks to build houses.

But if you transverse other parts of Kenya (or Africa like Uganda, Nigeria etc), you will notice that the women are more rounder and fuller. Their men take up more responsibilities including building houses.
#216 Posted : Friday, October 09, 2015 12:57:10 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

really? Ancient humans considered curvyness as a symbol of fetility as depicted in their art. the fertility goddesses were depicted in stone curvings to be

I actually think what is considered beautiful is what is rare - right? think about it - pointies in kenya, they are thought of as being 'wow'. When you go to a place like SA - they have no identity... literally. We embace them and esteem them. We hear this statement alot...
"anakaa pointie"

when refering to new borns
or
ako na rangi ya "thao"

I remember reading an article about muthoni wanyeki on how she was taken a back when she travelled to the US when she was young. She literally moved down the 'desirability' scale by changing cultures. So here .5 are rare and so we look at them in a different way, in the US or SA - we have generations of them! OK. I think it's the same with africans. We desired what was rare - fat people. the fat people sorry curvy people were rare due to our diet and exercice regime (manual labour). The curvy people were generally those who had people working for them. Does anyone remember the Kabaka Mtesa of UG? he had a thing for fat women - his wives were so fat that they could not move. and not the flowing white dressed venus de milo type people we see in greek/european art from antiquity.
sitaki.kujulikana
#217 Posted : Friday, October 09, 2015 4:28:41 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

really? Ancient humans considered curvyness as a symbol of fetility as depicted in their art. the fertility goddesses were depicted in stone curvings to be

I actually think what is considered beautiful is what is rare - right? think about it - pointies in kenya, they are thought of as being 'wow'. When you go to a place like SA - they have no identity... literally. We embace them and esteem them. We hear this statement alot...
"anakaa pointie"

when refering to new borns
or
ako na rangi ya "thao"

I remember reading an article about muthoni wanyeki on how she was taken a back when she travelled to the US when she was young. She literally moved down the 'desirability' scale by changing cultures. So here .5 are rare and so we look at them in a different way, in the US or SA - we have generations of them! OK. I think it's the same with africans. We desired what was rare - fat people. the fat people sorry curvy people were rare due to our diet and exercice regime (manual labour). The curvy people were generally those who had people working for them. Does anyone remember the Kabaka Mtesa of UG? he had a thing for fat women - his wives were so fat that they could not move. and not the flowing white dressed venus de milo type people we see in greek/european art from antiquity.

But generally the traditional african woman was slender, when you bring in beauty then thats a different point, and every community or society has always had its definition of the same, but you mistake what you consider beauty (pointie) as the norm locally, which I don't think is the point, all those pointies in samburu and nothern kenya (british army) are not held highly in matters beauty

but some drive the point that african women are or were big, I think that is a lie.

infact fat or big was rare in the distant past, and as such curves are a modern western thing since the are the ones who came up with cars and fast food.

But to try and point that curves, big and fat is a traditional african thing is a misconception.
sitaki.kujulikana
#218 Posted : Friday, October 09, 2015 4:36:48 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

TRUE DAT!

Masai and Samburu are too slender owing to the nature of their lifestyle. Their men overwork them with so much responsibilities and trekking very far for water and sticks to build houses.

But if you transverse other parts of Kenya (or Africa like Uganda, Nigeria etc), you will notice that the women are more rounder and fuller. Their men take up more responsibilities including building houses.

You are basing your rounder/fuller observation on a very small set (middle class and upper class), those whose husbands can afford them house servants.

But look at the communities that still observe much of their traditional practices, you will see fuller, rounder was not a common thing. Infact the ronder/fuller women you se are mostly those that have aped a western lifestyle.

There is nothing african about curves and fullness, its very muzungu. if you ask @kiash he will confirm that you are more likely to see more curves and fullness in the west than in africa.

But in honesty, curves, fullness, big ... pose a bigger challenge in matters health, esteem, and generally everyday tasks like walking, hygiene, sharing matatu seats e.t.c
#219 Posted : Friday, October 09, 2015 5:34:09 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

But to try and point that curves, big and fat is a traditional african thing is a misconception.

what I am saying with the example of pointies is THE RARER SOMETHING WAS THE MORE BEAUTIFUL IT WAS SEEN. Generally African women were not fat... of course not! watanonea wapi? so the few fat women (traditionally linked with power) were seen to be desirable. I dare say it that the same was desirable.... fatter men were more desirable - still are in rural areas. so the concept of beauty has nothing to do with majority of your population being 'beautiful'.
#220 Posted : Friday, October 09, 2015 5:39:40 PM

Every time I hear that lie that african women were fat I understand why the education system needs an overhaul.

How could they be fat eating fish and matoke? Or cassava for some?

Being Obese is a disease. Period.

Njoki was on point and our women would do well to listen to her.

Any man who tells you that he loves looking at a naked fat belly hanging over the crotch is lying to you. He has a ndogo ndogo somewhere. Where do you think the name ndogo ndogo came from?

There is rounder not skinny like mzungus. But fat, was not an african tradition.

I'm glad that her rant has made some women consider going to the gym. I promise you, doing so may save you from a ndogo ndogo.