wazua Sun, Aug 10, 2025

13 Pages«<910111213>
2014 KCSE Results!!!
#201 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 10:26:41 AM

I have been supporting a boy whose mum is ailing and jobless.

The boy scored a Meanscore of B+ with the following Eng B-, Kis B+, Maths A, Bio B+, Phy A, Chem A, Geo BB-.

Obviously with the many As in town he may not make it for medicine which I would have loved for him.

What alternatives can he pursue?At what cost ?

Are there organisations willing to sponsor such kids since I may not afford Uni especially Parallel which may be an option if regular does not admit him for a good course

#202 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 10:34:09 AM

The boy scored a Meanscore of B+ with the following Eng B-, Kis B+, Maths A, Bio B+, Phy A, Chem A, Geo BB-.

Obviously with the many As in town he may not make it for medicine which I would have loved for him.

Are there organisations willing to sponsor such kids since I may not afford Uni especially Parallel which may be an option if regular does not admit him for a good course

Applause Applause Well done Bigchick and happy for you the boy performed. Mimi sijui ni kurogwa ama ni nini...all the students I have supported in high school education do not perform well. The one who did the best had C+.(Am glad he also got a small job and is now paying for his parallel degree with very little support from me) Yet I have been supporting quite a number. Maybe the challenge is that I have been going for those in the local schools in shags who have not really impressed me. The C+ one actually was in a private sec school. Kama wa last year amechomoka na C-Sad Sad This year I will need to evaluate where I have been going long.Sad
#203 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 10:34:26 AM

With B+ he will get a regular admission though it possibly will be for a course like BA in Anthropology (no disrespect for the course). Parrallelogram students also get loans these days and Maseno University charges as low as 120K per year so don't despair!!!!
#204 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 10:36:53 AM

Even parallelos are given HELB nowadays unlike our days of Chacha and Cheboi.As for the universities there is KEMU,Presbyterian,UMMA,MKU,,Pioneer,Inoorero,International University,Great Lakes,Dedan Kimathi,Jaramogi Oginga University,Pentecostal University etc. The choice is yours.
#205 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 10:48:30 AM

Applause Applause Well done Bigchick and happy for you the boy performed. Mimi sijui ni kurogwa ama ni nini...all the students I have supported in high school education do not perform well. The one who did the best had C+.(Am glad he also got a small job and is now paying for his parallel degree with very little support from me) Yet I have been supporting quite a number. Maybe the challenge is that I have been going for those in the local schools in shags who have not really impressed me. The C+ one actually was in a private sec school. Kama wa last year amechomoka na C-Sad Sad This year I will need to evaluate where I have been going long.Sad

Effects of mixed day and boarding Sad
#206 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 10:50:10 AM

Be sure to consider what he would love for himself.
#207 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 12:50:48 PM

Thankyou all for the feedback.

Glad to know that parallel do receive loans.Will be visiting them soon as well as checking out the courses at THE, JKUAT and KU.

I will love that he get a medical or Engineering course.

As for Mawinder I reserve my $*&^#£ words on you.In that thread of Unis you were quite vocal negatively on the Unis you have mentioned then you tell me to choose any........

ION does helb give to Masters students?
#208 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 12:56:17 PM

Glad to know that parallel do receive loans.Will be visiting them soon as well as checking out the courses at THE, JKUAT and KU.

As for Mawinder I reserve my $*&^#£ words on you.In that thread of Unis you were quite vocal negatively on the Unis you have mentioned then you tell me to choose any........

Glad that you know serious universities.Had you chosen one from my list,you would be in trouble.HELB also gives to Masters Students loans.
#209 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 1:12:34 PM

Glad that you know serious universities.Had you chosen one from my list,you would be in trouble.HELB also gives to Masters Students loans.

Make sure you clear you undergrad loan before applying for the Masters loan...smile
urstill1
#210 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 2:20:39 PM

Apart from prestige there's nothing much in it. The prestige is even being eroded by unscrupulous admission in our universities and the Indian degrees. My take, afanye Bachelor of Science General, major in Statistics, get a scholarship abroad(they come easy) for post grad and voila, you have an accredited statistician. We have very few of them in Kenya since everyone wants quick cash nobody wants to go the long haul and be outstanding in this field.
kamundu
#211 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 2:21:23 PM

Um Sayala wrote:
Euge wrote:
kamundu wrote:
geccko wrote:
kamundu wrote:
[quote=Othelo]Mangu High School Sad Sad Sad

During my time we did very well. Top 5 most of the time. The school has had a rough time with a sickly plrincipal who later passed on in September 2013 after being in an out of hosi. They will bounce back. Watch this space. So will Starehe and Alliance Girls

That right there is very difficult to achieve once the reverse gear has been engaged. Fact starehe has been in the top 10 only once in the last 4 KCSE's and that was position 7 in 2011.

My old school, the once mighty Njiiri's High School has never been able to do it. Used to be in top 10, potion 5 or 6, consistently in the 90's but has since fallen by the way side. Sad Sad Sad

Weee tutaona. Watch that space

Nimeskia the main problem started when they started ejecting some unwanted madoadoa!!!!!
[/quote

@McDoba are you referring to the tall principal?

Otula?

He is currently in Maseno. Hope the transfer was not based on the 'O' factor.

It wasn't just Otula, the old boys can confirm!!!!

Peace in our Homeland.
#212 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 2:24:06 PM

kamundu wrote:
Um Sayala wrote:
Euge wrote:
kamundu wrote:
geccko wrote:
kamundu wrote:
Mangu High School Sad Sad Sad

During my time we did very well. Top 5 most of the time. The school has had a rough time with a sickly plrincipal who later passed on in September 2013 after being in an out of hosi. They will bounce back. Watch this space. So will Starehe and Alliance Girls

That right there is very difficult to achieve once the reverse gear has been engaged. Fact starehe has been in the top 10 only once in the last 4 KCSE's and that was position 7 in 2011.

My old school, the once mighty Njiiri's High School has never been able to do it. Used to be in top 10, potion 5 or 6, consistently in the 90's but has since fallen by the way side. Sad Sad Sad

Weee tutaona. Watch that space

Nimeskia the main problem started when they started ejecting some unwanted madoadoa!!!!!

@McDoba are you referring to the tall principal?

Otula?

He is currently in Maseno. Hope the transfer was not based on the 'O' factor.

It wasn't just Otula, the old boys can confirm!!!!

The tall principal was chucked coz he was misapropriating money. He was building a house in Kitengela with school funds. Busted with hands in the cookie jar.
Hio ingine si ukweli.

Haters!!!He revived Maseno and at his time the school was better than when it is managed by a "nonthief"
#213 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 2:32:37 PM

urstill1 wrote:

Apart from prestige there's nothing much in it. The prestige is even being eroded by unscrupulous admission in our universities and the Indian degrees. My take, afanye Bachelor of Science General, major in Statistics, get a scholarship abroad(they come easy) for post grad and voila, you have an accredited statistician. We have very few of them in Kenya since everyone wants quick cash nobody wants to go the long haul and be outstanding in this field.

Thankyou...Food for thought.

My only concern is that the situation in this family calls for him to clear studies soonest so that the gets a job or an income generating activity so that he can help his mama.So I was thinking a good course locally that can afford him a job immediately after graduation would be of help then he can specialize later on his own.
#214 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 2:37:18 PM

urstill1 wrote:

My only concern is that the situation in this family calls for him to clear studies soonest so that the gets a job or an income generating activity so that he can help his mama.So I was thinking a good course locally that can afford him a job immediately after graduation would be of help then he can specialize later on his own.

Is there a course nowadays where one is assured of a job placement immediately - I though the government stopped even posting doctors automatically and they have to apply and wait.

at least I know all the other course hakuna assurance

ama @kamundu how does it work
#215 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 3:08:40 PM

urstill1 wrote:

Is there a course nowadays where one is assured of a job placement immediately - I though the government stopped even posting doctors automatically and they have to apply and wait.

at least I know all the other course hakuna assurance

ama @kamundu how does it work

Sorry maybe I did not explain myself well but ni shida ya kizungu.

What I meant is there are courses which once you pursue them you are almost guaranteed of something to do even if not employment from government. For example in medicine its rare to get a qualified Dr idling at home. They do get locums here and there, jobs in private hospitals etc. The same would apply to an electrical engineer. Or so I think....I could be wrong
bebeto
#216 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 3:19:58 PM

Money Whisperer wrote:
A guy got D+ in Starehe, wah!

huyo ni mjinga ya mwisho unless he was sick during exams

yaani people still believe schools pass exams? Not unless there's leakage, outliers are expected! Which is why I believe Alliance results are suspect

Haters!!!!I was at Alliance and they dont steal exams apart from chemistry practicals.A boy I was paying for fees at Alliance scored 8 straight As but I suspect he may not make it for medicine which he wanted.He has changed his mind and decided to pursue the lucrative electrical engineering.

Beatifull course, parralelograms have more than 80% fail rate, hapo hakuna mcheso.....by end of 2nd year they tell their parents they can't handle it and switch to other courses....of cause I'm talking about 'THE'.......don't know about other universities!!!!

Ditto
Hata Moi, engineering is no mean fete. many go to the school, or drop out all together. Same classes for all, no special treatment.
"The chief danger in life is that you may take too many precautions" - Alfred adler
bebeto
#217 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 3:22:23 PM

There!
"The chief danger in life is that you may take too many precautions" - Alfred adler
#218 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 3:24:46 PM

243/500 turns into an A- in four years!!!.....Applause Applause Applause

#219 Posted : Friday, March 07, 2014 9:28:02 AM

Standard reporters continue to disappoint!!!!.....@Mukiha should give them some lessons on numbers!!!!

82 points in KCSE, now with 7 subjects, is an A plain (11.71 points). So, in today (6th March 2014) hard copy Standard story of page 3, was it a typo that on the sub-heading and in the story it is indicated twins Linda Gatwiri Kaaria and Brenda Kinya Kaaria of Materi Girls had an A- of 82 points?

The KNEC results showed A- but you know KNEC does not tell you how they have arrived at that. Our reporter and other gate-keepers did not bother but regurgitate the mean grade and ...mess with addition and division.

Linda Gatwiri scored: English-B+ (10); Kiswahili-A- (11); Maths-A (12); Biology-A- (11); Chemistry-A (12); Geography- A(12); Agriculture-A(12) Business Studies-B+(10).

Brenda Kinya Scored: English-B+ (10); Kiswahili-A- (11); Maths-A (12); Biology-A- (11); Chemistry-A (12); Geography- A(12); Agriculture-A(12) Business Studies-A (12).

English, Kiswahili and Maths are compulsory hence their grades have to be part of a candidate's aggregate. There must be two Sciences (from Biology, Chemistry and Physics - when you take all three, KNEC picks the best two for grading and leaves out one if there is a better performed subject from Humanities or Technical group). Two best performed subjects from the rest are picked to make 7 subjects. NOTE: This applies to candidates who have taken more than 7 subjects as the case of these two.

In this case, therefore, each had 56 points from the first 5 subjects. We should then add to Gatwiri's 56, 24 points from Geography and Agriculture (Business is ignored since it has less points compared with Geography and Agriculture but it can help her get to certain courses that need it).

For Kinya's 56 points, we add 24 from any two picked from Geography, Agriculture and Business Studies.

In other words both Gatwiri and Kinya had a mean grade of A- of 80 points. Divide 80 by 7 and you have 11.42 which is A-. Do I need to remind anyone that 11.42 rounded off to a whole number is 11 (A-) while the same done to 11.71 is 12 (A plain)?

Let me guess the reasoning of this reporter. Is it likely she wrongly picked the best performed 7 subjects? In that case Brenda Kinya will score 82 points (English removed) but Linda Gatwiri will still have 80 points. Allow me to guess again. Did this reporter start with Brenda Kinya's results, picked 7 best performed subjects, got 82 points and concluded the other must be also having 82 as they both have A- (and are identical twins)?
#220 Posted : Wednesday, March 12, 2014 1:18:25 PM

Starehe Principal fired by the School Board due to non performance.