18 Pages«<910111213>»
Juba...coup attempt in South Sudan?
#201 Posted : Saturday, May 03, 2014 1:06:42 PM

Robinhood wrote:
it's a shame a white man has to come talk to them in order to seize fire! na mnasemanga mnaonewa!

Hehe smile

Its a shame we have to smile to an error made in a white man's language. Hehe smile cease fire comrade

smile smile smile

smile smile this one is hard to blame on the auto spell smile smile

Well well ladies and gentlemen hii kitu came by ship but ya'all know what I mean.
#202 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2016 7:20:38 AM

enyands
#203 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2016 7:44:53 AM

Tuko na shida sana waafrika . What are these two foolish leaders planning to get after all this ? Be like arap magardens, be patient and eat slowly till full and your turn will come.
#204 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2016 9:46:05 AM

enyands wrote:

Tuko na shida sana waafrika . What are these two foolish leaders planning to get after all this ? Be like arap magardens, be patient and eat slowly till full and your turn will come.

from my pedestrian assessment of matters South Sudan. Kiir and Machar are no longer the sole centers of power! These centers of power delayed the signing and implementation of the peace agreement. I know that people like General 'King' Paul Malong are actually more powerful/influential within the army than Kiir is. I think this particular one blindsided Kiir! The fact that Machar left that palace alive - says a lot!
#205 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2016 7:38:30 PM

#206 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2016 8:05:03 PM

but not sure if they are legit but face value suggests they are. Work of General Malong himself... a power center in his own right.

#207 Posted : Thursday, July 28, 2016 7:35:49 AM

but not sure if they are legit but face value suggests they are. Work of General Malong himself... a power center in his own right.

Machar soldiers are better in trench and bush warfare. Aerial bombardment may not help much esp if as rumoured Machar may be in heavily forested Western Equatorial where he enjoys backing of the locals. he has been tactical by keeping off communication even with close associates hence not easy to track. Soon he may be out of the country and this may complicate situation further as he will build up diplomatic sympathy and build up his arms arsenal.

sanity
#208 Posted : Thursday, July 28, 2016 8:30:16 AM

Gathige wrote:

Machar soldiers are better in trench and bush warfare. Aerial bombardment may not help much esp if as rumoured Machar may be in heavily forested Western Equatorial where he enjoys backing of the locals. he has been tactical by keeping off communication even with close associates hence not easy to track. Soon he may be out of the country and this may complicate situation further as he will build up diplomatic sympathy and build up his arms arsenal.

Cant ascertain the authenticity of the document but its a dangerous precedent if they shoot down UN Planes.that amounts to a War crime.Also a third centre of power may not necessarily be a bad thing at this point.Macharia may become more isolated eventually.Nevertheless the next few weeks will be interesting in this deadly conflict.
Hope is not a strategy
Speculz
#209 Posted : Thursday, July 28, 2016 8:35:00 AM

sanity wrote:
Gathige wrote:

Cant ascertain the authenticity of the document but its a dangerous precedent if they shoot down UN Planes.that amounts to a War crime.Also a third centre of power may not necessarily be a bad thing at this point.Macharia may become more isolated eventually.Nevertheless the next few weeks will be interesting in this deadly conflict.

Machar yawa!

"You can't have everything. Where would you put it?" - Stephen Wright
#210 Posted : Thursday, July 28, 2016 8:50:50 AM

Speculz wrote:
sanity wrote:
Gathige wrote:

Machar yawa!

I know some kenyans in SS who refer to him Macharia as a moniker coz huko kuongea ovyo ovyo may land you in the slammer. But yes - West Equitorian my be protecting him but that is very far from where his money comes from. Unless they get support from Congo or UG - ako na shida. But anyway - this whole battle is pointless, there is nothing to fight for.... really!! nothing... not even sure what they are paying the soldiers using.
#211 Posted : Thursday, July 28, 2016 9:02:50 AM

Speculz wrote:
sanity wrote:
Gathige wrote:

Machar yawa!

I know some kenyans in SS who refer to him Macharia as a moniker coz huko kuongea ovyo ovyo may land you in the slammer. But yes - West Equitorian my be protecting him but that is very far from where his money comes from. Unless they get support from Congo or UG - ako na shida. But anyway - this whole battle is pointless, there is nothing to fight for.... really!! nothing... not even sure what they are paying the soldiers using.

Did you read this story?
http://owaahh.com/blood-money-prison/

#212 Posted : Thursday, July 28, 2016 9:22:21 AM

Speculz wrote:
sanity wrote:
Gathige wrote:

Machar yawa!

The whole battle is about access to state power and control of resources. South Sudan has vast reserves of unexploited natural resources- oil, minerals, timber and vast land with ample water- the nile cuts through the entire length of the country. His soldiers don't really get paid but are part of the cogs wheels to power upon which they will be rewarded. UG is not friendly to Machar but Sudan and Ethiopian have a soft spot for him. The West also supports him and except for the ethnic Dinkas, he has a large following among other South Sudan communities and in a open election, he can easily win. His intelligence networks internally are very good too. It is rumoured a top ex-general is the one who whisked him away after the recent Juba attacks to a safe location.
#213 Posted : Thursday, July 28, 2016 10:08:40 AM

Speculz wrote:
sanity wrote:
Gathige wrote:

Machar yawa!

Did you read this story?
http://owaahh.com/blood-money-prison/

I had heard of this story from Kenyans there but not to that detail. This story was from the "glory days". Oil prices were high - money was flowing e.t.c. it's getting more and more dire by the day - terrible. The Government has no money, South Sudanese army had been allowed to rape women in lieu of wages while fighting rebels. Terrible!! South Sudan is africa's armpit. As soon as the sun goes darkness covers over the land. unless you have a generator. Juba has more hotels that schools... terrible. I heard a story about the office of an MP that was so dark that they decided to handle their business out in the sun. While doing that, the narrator asked - "you don't have power?" and the reply was... I have not had power for 3 weeks. Apparently if you are "lucky" enough to be connected to the national grid... blackouts could be ad infinitum. Terrible place. But I think this problem is simple but the solution is not easy - All these South Sudanese you see there - don't have it's interest at heart. Each has 2 or 3 passports. They have tasted a better life somewhere else and will not spend time building S.S. Everyone has a ticket out! The unlucky ones are the ones who have never stepped out of that place - they pay for it. Personally, I met an MP who does not have a house there!! he lives in a hotel! paying hundreds of dollars a day and is not bothered. Terrible terrible place. Someone once called them VIPs (Very Important Plunderers).
#214 Posted : Thursday, July 28, 2016 10:22:24 AM

Gathige wrote:

The whole battle is about access to state power and control of resources. South Sudan has vast reserves of unexploited natural resources- oil, minerals, timber and vast land with ample water- the nile cuts through the entire length of the country. His soldiers don't really get paid but are part of the cogs wheels to power upon which they will be rewarded. UG is not friendly to Machar but Sudan and Ethiopian have a soft spot for him. The West also supports him and except for the ethnic Dinkas, he has a large following among other South Sudan communities and in a open election, he can easily win. His intelligence networks internally are very good too. It is rumoured a top ex-general is the one who whisked him away after the recent Juba attacks to a safe location.

Yes that's the battle - but it's quite likely that they have already dished out may of these places to foreigners during the war. secondly there are no road networks and it will be a while before some of these places are exploited and commercialized.
my point - if he was holed up somewhere in the north east or east he would be set. West Equitoria (WE) is tough for him since he cannot move north or North east towards the Dinka or east towards Central Equitoria (since the government has lots of forces in CE). To his south - is Uganda a nation hostile to him - unless he decided to go into the congo or central african republic to the west. I think if it's true - he can stay in WE for a while but not perpetually as its easier to lay a siege on him.
In an open election Machar would coz the rest of the groups hate the tall guys... During my stay there I kept on finding myself in discussions about general life issues with equitorians and that would always digress into how 'stupid' or 'how bad' the dinkas were e.t.c. I kept on throwing disclaimers (you don't know who is listening) and ending that story only for another to spring up. it's as if any random question about the weather or food would spiral into how kiir did A or B or C.
#215 Posted : Thursday, July 28, 2016 11:49:45 AM

I have this sinking feeling that this place is going to have a genocide worse than Rwanda. Something unprecedented. I hope Kenyans are moving out.

This Machar guy has been cornered and he is probably planning to take the whole country down with him. Kiir has no brain to realise that you don't seal all exits when you want to kill an enemy.
Anti_Burglar
#216 Posted : Thursday, July 28, 2016 12:02:42 PM

I'm having South Sudan fatigue. How many years of almost uninterrupted war?
#217 Posted : Thursday, July 28, 2016 12:40:11 PM

I have always argued that Kenya has it's issues with ethnicity, we have issues but we have decency. We treat each other with decency. We can say "hao wajaluo" but we have a couple of luo guys we are cool with. We can dismiss hao wakikuyu but we know a couple of kikuyus we can hang around. S.S. has no such thing. they have been fighting since 1955 with small breaks in between civil war... they really don't know anything but war. We know some peace- sometimes uneasy peace but we move forward. We treat our foreigners nicely... a story is told about a Kenyan whose car was hit by a S.S. car and when the police came he ruled in the favor of the South sudanese - when the Kenyan asked he was told
it's your fault! if you hadn't come to south sudan - this accident would not have happened

Who here remembers the demand and supply curve for markets in Business education? I have always pictured it as the sweetspot... the equilibrium

only that the curves are not demand and supply but rather arrogance and ignorance.
sitaki.kujulikana
#218 Posted : Friday, July 29, 2016 12:48:41 PM

why is obama giving speeches instead of kuingilia kati and save the people of south sudan, I mean if he can send drones to bomb kids in syria just to get rid of assad he can at least try to do something, especially considering kuna oil huko.
#219 Posted : Friday, July 29, 2016 6:24:29 PM

It is very easy to criticize politicians and leaders and I know I also do it all the time but of late I have started to think about it seriously and I cannot imagine a more difficult job than being a leader in any semblance of democracy. Hii kazi ya uongozi ni ngumu. I can see what is wrong with the situation in South Sudan but I ask myself if say I was put in Salva Kiir position right now, where would I start? I do not have an inkling of what needs to be done to remedy the situation. It is not a science where there is a known solution to the problem and of all options you may have you have no way of predicting the results until you are deep in it. You just have to pick a direction and start moving and keep moving no matter what because you can't start and change and start in a different direction. If say Obama was today made the president of South Sudan would he be more successful than Salva Kiir over a 5 year 10 year or 15 year period?
sitaki.kujulikana
#220 Posted : Friday, July 29, 2016 6:39:48 PM

It is very easy to criticize politicians and leaders and I know I also do it all the time but of late I have started to think about it seriously and I cannot imagine a more difficult job than being a leader in any semblance of democracy. Hii kazi ya uongozi ni ngumu. I can see what is wrong with the situation in South Sudan but I ask myself if say I was put in Salva Kiir position right now, where would I start? I do not have an inkling of what needs to be done to remedy the situation. It is not a science where there is a known solution to the problem and of all options you may have you have no way of predicting the results until you are deep in it. You just have to pick a direction and start moving and keep moving no matter what because you can't start and change and start in a different direction. If say Obama was today made the president of South Sudan would he be more successful than Salva Kiir over a 5 year 10 year or 15 year period?

Of course leadership dictates the direction, imagine if macha or kir were the anc leaders in the place of mandela back when d-crack was handing over power, or imagine if instead of rao and kibaki it was macha and kir back when we were crying kimeibwa in 2007